Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles Reviews (43)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-14 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had an 800 (review on here too) and loved it. So a few years later after missing baby blue, I found a nice Drifter with only 6,600 miles on her. She has performed flawlessy and have her dialed in with windshield adjusted, handlebars dropped back 2" It has plenty of power & loves to do 80 mph. all day long. I need to get rid of pinging at full throttle, but then one doesn't need full tilt often. But Vulcan Drifter rider group has a solution (and more on many small issues).
- Craig Williams, Laguna Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-25 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has style and power! It draws ooh's and ah's from other bikers and non-bikers. It's 'not-an-Indian' design is timeless, and its technology is futuristic. I added a windshield, Corbin seat, and Vance & Hines Longshots, for comfort and great sound. Very reliable and handles great. Soon to be a collectors item, if you can find anyone who wants to part with theirs!
- Drifter, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-21 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have thought about whether I would trade this bike for a top-of-the-line Harley and the answer is no. Not that the bike is that valuable, but because I am that happy with it. Very little maintenance has been needed (speedometer cable) and I have to admit I maxed it out at 130 mph to see what it could do in a safe environment. I don't see this bike dying before 100,000 miles.
- ed krumm, levittown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-30 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has fine performance, an exceptional vintage style, is technologically way ahead of other brands and is a thing of beauty. And... 50 MPG! Mine was bought new in '06, yes really! It's a fine unit with air shocks, drive shaft and fuel injection. Mine was bought with the Samson Samurai Long Cannons already installed. I consider this one of the luckiest days of my short 55 year life! I will never sell this beauty. I do believe I am going to paint the silver areas of fenders and tank in some shade of red.
- Nick Nichols, Pueblo West, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-01 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this new '04 1500 Drifter in '06. It was unsold new stock. It came complete with Samson long cannons and only 5 miles on the odometer. Man, sometimes a fellow just gets lucky. It is a true 49+ mpg machine with drive shaft, fuel injection and retro style. It is big, fast, comfortable and super dependable. This is MY cycle. I don't know why I would ever sell it. What a deal.
- John Nichols, Pueblo West, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-07 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Drifter new in 2000. I have traveled long distances as much as 700 miles in a day on the stock 2 up seat and was very comfortable. I have traveled extensively in the mountains with switchbacks and it handled like a dream. Acceleration was fantastic out of the tight corners, clearance was adequate, dragged a few foot boards from time to time. Not only does it handle extremely well, it is a great looking bike doing it. I will never sell my Drifter. When I die they will need to dig a big hole so it can be parked next to me. I have ridden a Honda Goldwing, it is a nice bike. I also own a Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe, but my pick, without a doubt is my Drifter. I put over 14000 miles on last year and plan to do more this year. We will see how my Drifter performs in the Rockies in June. Riding to Eureka Springs, Arkansas Drift In October 07. I ride, I do not trailer. The best bike I have ever ridden, this includes a hands down favorite over any Harley I have ridden.
- Ron Ottow (Dancing Bear), Knox, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a continuation. Last April I bought my Drifter. Put about 5000 miles on it, 100% maintence free miles other then tires and back breaks. It's Sept. 6th now... It has stock seat and has never bothered me. It's powerful enough to make u smile all day long while on it. Smooth riding machine with no complaints at all...
- Don, stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-13 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike as a leftover in 2001 at a very attractive price. Before it I had ridden a Kawasaki Voyager XII touring bike, which was excellent, but limited on leg and knee room for me. The Drifter is much better and has the best stock seat I have ever sat on, better than some of the custom seats I've ridden. Power is good stock, but nothing earthshaking for 1500cc. I installed a Vance and Hines Long Shots exhaust system and drilled holes in the air cleaner cover and it gave it a bunch more power, especially in the mid range and top end. The biggest problem with Drifters is finding accessories. Kawasaki didn't sell very many of them, particularly the earlier models and there just isn't much out there. Overall it's a good bike and I'm satisfied with it. By the way, mine averages 40mpg and uses no oil.
- Smokey Strodtman, Gilliam, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-04 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a new rider of only 2yrs, and a married woman w/an empty nest syndrom, I decided to start my adventures on 04' 1500 Vulcan Drifter. This bike is very heavy for my petite frame, yet is stable, the heaviness of the bike takes wind gusts wonderfully, has the get up & go when needed, reliable, and beautiful looking bike. I've ridden other street bikes (HD), and this cruiser has little or no vibration in comparison with other cruisers. The ride is smooth and comfortable for long or short distance rides. Because of this bike being very heavy to tighter turns (my driveway & parking spaces) I was considering purchasing a lighter street bike. The review about lowering it 2inches is what I'll try first. I am looking into adjusting the handle bars for better reach. The only neg is the stock headlight is inadequate for night rides. Overall this bike is reliable and gorgeous, I love my Gertie!
- Julie Farmer, Menifee, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1500 drifter is by far the number 1 bike for comfort, style & trouble free riding I have ever owned! In a world where everyone is trying to look like a Harley, it's nice to know someone didn't follow the popular trend!!! P.S. It doesn't hurt that every time you park it some where it draws a lot of looks & thumbs up.
- robert, cartersville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you want a big beautiful, powerful bike to cruise for a couple hours on sunny Sundays, the big drifter is perfect. However, setting up the bike for bags is a little tricky, expensive and less than ideal. The two up seat ruins the looks of the bike. Its suspension is not terrible, but it does have a bit of that floaty/bouncy feeling. The rear brake is probably the best I've ever used, it's very progressive and the long heavy bike makes it work very well. The front will stop you fine, for a cruiser, but has a fairly wooden feel. The seat is ok and the position is chair like with plenty of room on the floor boards, of course all your weight is on your rear end, so a sore fanny can be expected on longer rides. If you want to travel at freeway speeds your arms will get tired from holding you up... unless you get a wind shield which I think ruins the looks and then you may have to deal with fixing a buffeting problem. I trade mine in for a 2005 Triumph Sprint ST as I wanted something a bit more practical and safe for daily riding and better setup for longer trips. But the Drifter will always have a piece of my heart if only for its looks.
- Jeremy C, Woodinville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-11 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the king of style! It looks and feels like it rolled right out of a Bogart movie, but a closer look will reveal an assortment of high tech features that any motorcycle engineer would admire. For sheer power and comfort, this is a great bike. And if you're a little taller than some, you'll especially like the large frame and taller seat. The Drifter is the tallest (and longest) cruiser on the market. You won't be sorry.
- Joshua Lane, Linden, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-26 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 32 year ownership hiatus I decided that I was getting bored with hot rod and custom cars. When I saw the '03 Drifter 1500 I knew that I had to have one to complement my '41 Ford. Now the Ford will be going because I'm having so much fun on two wheels. I am riding again with the same crowd from years gone by. Our day trips through New England and New York are usually about 600 miles round trip. This is the most comfortable bike that I have owned or ridden. It gets more attention than the H-D's that I ride with. Most think that it's a new Indian. They are surprised when I tell them about it. I could have bought another bike to be like everyone else but this one is so unique. This is a very satisfying machine that is comfortable, reliable, has good fuel economy and a very torquey engine. Throttle response is crisp and right there when needed. It's very smooth and vibration free. This will be the bike that I retire with as I am 56 years of age, and feel like I'm 24 when I ride. I put on 6,000 miles last year and loved every minute. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for an unusual big V-twin cruiser.
- Rocco Guarnagia, Walpole, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-05 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my drifter 3 months ago with hopes of being able to ride with Rods And Screws in my spine. I was told it would be too rough and I would sell it very shortly. Well I'm here to tell you that I have put almost 6000 miles on my 2003 Drifter with almost no pain at all. The only pain comes from my butt getting sore from riding so much! I'm keeping it!!! The HD sportsters can get me off the line, but I own them after 50 mph and the Big Twins might as well not even try! It's a little on the heavy side but thats what I like about it and at the Harley Shows it gets plenty of lookers. I've been told that it looks ten time better then the late Indians and I must agree! The Japanese hit a winner with this bike and I'm now looking for a second drifter to trick out. If you like to ride for hours, be looked at, and pick up the ladies then this is the bike for you! The Kawasaki Drifter sounds more like a Harley than Harley does once the pipes were added.
- Mr. Roach, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-24 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've rode many bikes, and this one is by far the nicest ride. It's comfortable, smooth, and has all the giddy-up I need. I have a faster bike, but not a nicer one. I used to work in an "American" bike shop, and let me tell you, if you're buying a bike to pick up scooter trash, buy American. If you want to ride day-in, and day-out, and not worry about your mount, buy Kawasaki.
- Roadkill, Pike's Peak Region, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-10 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since I was 10. I worked in a bike shop and a great many friends' own bikes, so I've been aboard quite a few. I currently own two Kawasaki's, one older KZ1000 and a 2001 Drifter 1500. Now I like my KZ, it's quick enough and fast enough to make you think wow, I ought to slow down. But my Drifter is so much nicer, it's comfortable enough to ride all day long, and while it's performance doesn't quite keep up with the KZ, who cares? This bike is by far superior to most. Styling is tops, Performance is still fantastic, (my KZ is WAY above average). All in all this is one bad motor scooter.
- Steve , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-10 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also own a Honda GoldWing, which of course I use for the long hauls. But the Drifter is my 'fun bike'. I have loved the look ever since I first saw one, but now that I own one, I am even more impressed. You can keep you look-alike Harleys; the Drifter gives me way more style and power. A fine ride and an eye-catcher to boot.
- Drifting Jay, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-25 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2000 Drifter for 3 years. I bought it new. In that time I've put 85,000 miles on it. that's right 85,000 miles. I had Harleys and Yamahas before and this bile beats them hands down. I recommend anyone get a Vulcan even if it's not a Drifter. You can't beat the engine, price, style or power.
- J F Terry, King George, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-10 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought one - an 800 - my second bike. My first bike was like riding a sprited jackrabbit. This one is like floating atop a thunder-head. Powerful, fast, beautifully responsive, smooth as silk. Sounds great with the factory pipes (I'm not a loud-freak, but it's got a real just-right rumble). I'm not a snob - I don't care who built a bike, what race of people or where they come from on the globe. I don't care what the parts are made of, as long as they provide form AND impeccable function (the Corvette ain't all metal, either.) Having said this, I think this is the sharpest-looking bike I've ever seen on the market, period. that's why I bought one. The rest is gravy - and delicious! The price left me incredulous (in a good way, for a change).
- Jonathan Wright, East Coulee, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-10 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love everything about this bike. No problems with it. Had it a year. Fast runs great, comfortable ride. Turns heads.
- Griffin, Fairview, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-09 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 2000 Drifter for one season, and I love it. I traded my 2001 Sportster (1200) even on it and I feel I came out way ahead on the deal. My bike was a left over at a local dealer and fortunately for me the shop owner rode her for 500 miles, but titled her new to me. The shop owner put on Roadhouse pipes, some very tasteful pin stripping, and a windshield. I have added a Mustang seat cover, that makes the bike look too cool. My Sportster looked good, but nobody ever came up to me in a parking lot and complemented me on it. This has happened at least a half dozen times on my Drifter. It's gold (or beige) and looks great. I took the AMAs' Experienced Rider course on her the first month I owned it, so you know it must handle well. My first ride on her was in the rain and on the highway, and it was the best ride I'd ever had. The Drifter is the best kept secret in motorcycling. Buy one.
- anonymous, cincinnati

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-06 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 99 beauty and I mean the look you just can`t deny, but all the accessories I brought was very expensive and with no directions. I have factory sattlebags and I brought the rangers, but found out after the trouble of putting them on and having a time in doing so that the ones that should go on the double seat 1500 should be the maveric, so needless to say that these rub alittle on the rear shocks and speaking of shocks (look out for the leaking) both of mine are gone and the bike is a remember 99. all in all the rest is great....jp
- james pratt, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-13 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I been on alot of motorcycles ,Harleys and international this Kawasaki driffter really caught be by suprise I enjoyed the whole riding expirence I give it an a+.
- Matt Locricchio, Clinton TWP, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-11 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 1999 J model Drifter new in 2000 and have since racked up over 15000 miles on the motorcycle. It rides and handles excellently. The power is very good and has the best standard seat in the industry. This cycle has only two small short comings in my opinion. The first one is the the speedometer cable broke with only 13000 miles on the clock, and the other is that it seems to be rather thirsty and I have only been able to average about 32 miles per gallon.
- sherman adams, san jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-30 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have enjoyed my Vulcan Drifter for the past year. It is easy to handle, rides great, and looks very 'retro'. Great bike.
- Fernie, El Paso, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: