Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles Reviews (74)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-19 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used with the 2000 miles on it. I like the bike except the stock seating position seems a little cramped, need some highways pegs I guess, but something to strecth out a little more. The brakes are weird for 6 pistons, I mean the front is touch almost grabby, but the rear seems soft, but once you get used to it you can manipulate them fine. Performance is definitely not a highlight on this bike as it is stock. HD wideglides will take this bike off the line. But I have read on here of guys putting about an extra 20 HP on these bikes, and that would do it for sure. So if you want preformance, get ready to add a few hundred bucks. I have V&H Pipes on it and they sound great, not too loud but just right. All my stock badges are removed and everyone stares at it. So you can be sure you will riding a nice bike. Over all, I would say Kawasaki built a good bike. I like it.
- Stephen, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-09 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It took more than 16 years to get a bike again. Lots of visits to the showroom to drool. Had to bring a friend to test ride because I did not have a license. The folks at the shop were right about jumping in over my head but, of course, I bought it anyway. I was a bit intimidated going from a 750 to 1500 with all those years in between. I love the bike. Can not think of anything I would trade for it. It sounds great (Vance & Hines) and rides great. Surprisingly smooth with lots of power. The only down for me are the drag bars which are not terribly comfortable when you have short arms. If practical, I will change them and, plan to put heel/toe controls on it.
- Dorfner, C., Downingtown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-12 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Meanie used with 3,500 miles on her and have put 12,000 miles on her since 04. Very stable at over 100 mph and very reliable in all but the coldest conditions. I have installed a DG Hard Krome exxcelerator pipe and Thunder mfg big air kit with power commander unit. Mods have changed stock rear wheel hp from 55 to 72. Torque up from 70 to 83. Not too shabby for the price paid. I would probably buy it again. Very striking in appearance, but I wish Kawasaki wouldn't have put those stupid tribal stickers on the tank. Would also love this bike more with mid-controls instead of the medium forward ones.
- Emil, Mukwonago, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only riding two years, first bike a 95 Virago 750. I wanted a cruiser with a some punch and this is it. I've ridden larger machines but none as quick and fun as this. Have bags and memphis wind shield, added some chrome but the rest is stock. I push it hard all the time and it has never let me down. Sound is fine for me as I don't need it extremely loud. The candy gold gets looks all the time, lots of compliments. Only complaint is the fuel warning light comes on when there is more than 2 gallons left in the big 5 gallon tank. On very long rides, I do get a bit of a pain between the shoulders due to the bar position but nothing that doesn't go away after a short break. Great handling machine even when topped out at 185KM/hr, no wobble, and awesome braking. You can get down low in the curves and scrape the pegs without feeling the least bit out of control with the low profile radial tires.
- Ron, St.Albert, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before buying my 2002 mean streak, I searched on the web to find this site on the rider reviews. Because of the great reviews, I finally bought my bike at a low mileage (almost brand new at 2200 miles because the owner was starting a new family in 2003 and didn't have the time) and WOW I couldn't believe it's great handling. All around phenominal bike!
- Gilles C., Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-02 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As this is my first bike, I researched and reviewed bikes for about 3 years before settling on my '03 Streak. Once I decided on and bought the Streak, the rest is history! I've never made a purchase in my 42 years that was so perfectly matched to me. It's an eye catcher; many people think it costs much more just based on its appearance. It's equally at home cruising the city, going hard and fast or touring through the backcountry. It rides comfortably and I've never gotten road rash on my many 250 - 300 mile trips. In my opinion, it's the best mix of cruiser, with power, sport bike handling and touring sensibility.
- Dave "Da OvaSeea", Victoria, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-03 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the Mean streak for almost 4 years now and "never" had a single problem with it. It's reliability is great. Kawasaki has a steady customer here.
- Steve W., Linden, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-27 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I researched this bike for several months befor buying it. I wanted a EFI, shaft drive, liquid cooled, cruiser. I was told a 1300 is good for highway cruising and 1600 is great. So I went for 1500 in the meanstreak. The brakes are great but take getting used to due to 6 pistons stopping the front. Torque is great for take offs, throttle control is great. No overheating in the Texas spring so far. Hope it continues!
- moochie, Bedford, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-22 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riden for 20+ years. Not a weekend warrior, but I ride a minimum of 300 days per year. Have tried so on many different bikes. Believe when I say The Mean Streak is a pleasure. It's got a great disign, tons of power and is well engineered which makes it easy to control. The price is also unbeatable!!
- TD, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-10 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding this past summer and the bike that I started on was the Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak. Over the past summer my Dad and I made six trips and went over 3000 miles. With most of our riding in Montana and Idaho, we got a lot of riding on winding roads, hills, and going through small towns. The bike handles corners well and is smooth at both high and low speeds. I have never had a problem with its performance when it's really cold or hot out. The cylinders do put off a lot of heat, however, and wearing chaps is a must, I've found. My bike is all stock with an after market windshield, and I can't say that it lacks in any area.
- Nathan Hall, Milltown, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-24 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would never buy a Kawasaki again. The first 15 months it was in the shop for 4 months. All the problems I have read about I have experienced with the exception of a few. People that think it is a good bike either are used to riding Harleys, or do not ride it enough to see it break down a lot. First year it was in the shop 3 times for oil leaks from the rear cylinder, and will continue to if you put 500 miles on a day. Driveline will play out around 10 thousand miles and start making noises and surge unless you are traveling fast enough. Underpowered 61hp but if you ride a Harley you are used to this. However with pipes, a powercommander, and an air filter make a huge difference. I can keep 600 sport bikes at bay light to light and the bike will wheelie (pull the tire 4 inches off the ground). Fork seal leak, had idle problems. Tail light burns out prematurely from the bike's vibrations through fender, I am being picky here. The bike is remarkably smooth in the saddle though. I will say the bike looks real cool, and I get compliments every time I take it out. Had problems with the rear disc that was warped, how I don't know because I don't use it, rear bearing played out also, probably why disc was warped. I'm going to sell it though because the city is too large where I live and people do not know how to drive.
- Pete, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-23 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hear some folks say the Meanie doesn't have enough power. That may be, but it has plenty for me. If you want something to kill yourself on, get a sportbike.I currently have 23000 miles on it with absolutely NO problems. I also currently own a '97 Vulcan Classic with 43000 miles. Sadly, I've had to have an all new wiring harness installed ($500.00 worth) because the original one wore through from vibration, and I've had a complete replacement stock exhaust system installed because the original one rotted out($1500.00 worth) but overall, it's been a great motorcycle also. Ride safe!
- James K. Carlson, Wallingford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-16 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
13,000 miles in a year, have made trips to the Smoky's from FL and many other long rides without incident and much comfort. Had a recall to replace the oil filter with the pineapple type, didn't like that. Have moved to plus gas, seems to perform better without backfire or hesitation. Still averaging about 47 mpg with highway riding.
- Gene, Pinellas Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-16 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If your looking for a bike that is all there,the MEAN STREAK is for you. I had a budget to work with and for the money, she can't be touched. I threw the Vanes & Hines Longshots on and she sounds great. Big head turner! I am a first time bike owner and she rides great. Great balance and clean look. The bike is easy to custom out! The only slight drawback is it's a little sluggish on throttle response. don't get me wrong ....PLENTY OF POWER THERE!!!! I will take care of that with a Power Commander & hypercharge air intake. Do not hesitate to buy the bike. You will be glad you DID!!!!
- David Drezek, North Providence, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 31 years old and have never owned or riden a motorcycle (even though I always wanted one). I finally started to get the bug and I ended up with a brand new 2003 Mean Streak. I looked at all the companies and all the reviews. I choose the Meanie as it looks big enough, but is easy enough to handle for a newbie like me. I have only 200 miles on the bike, but I have loved every minute of it. No problems as of yet, and it has been so easy to manuever and train on. I love the looks, but the seat needs to go. I have a wife who is itching to ride, so I purcased a Mustang seat. I also will be getting a tad louder pipes that the factory installed ones (a bit too quiet). I was so impressed with the quality of the parts and componetry. I love my meanie and hope to have many fun memories on it!
- Mark Shields, Zimmerman, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-09 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Mean Streak new several months ago. It has plenty of power, torque, and smooth shifting. One of the best suspensions I've ever seen on a cruiser. I've been riding for 26 years and I've been on a lot of cruisers, so take my word when I tell you that this bike is a winner. The only problem experienced was a loose heat shield on the exhaust, but that was easily fixed. Excellent bike. Would like to see a 2000cc engine on this bike if possible!
- CJ, Marion, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-03 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked it up after a month of comparative looking. Kawasaki was the brand, the Streak is the ONE! Very pleased. Sweet ride...handling 10 stars, value 20 stars!
- Blackhorse, Oregon City, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-31 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best, hands down. Sounds great, looks great, and rides great. I looked at the VTX and V-Star. Nothing compares to this bike, thank you Kawasaki for this great ride. I am sold.
- Curtis Boyte, Mendenhall, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-08 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my Meanie new in Jan.2003. This bike rocks! I've owned a lot bikes, too many to list but none compare to the Mean Streak. It handles like a sportbike.
- Rich Henigin, Blairsville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-26 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2003 Mean Streak. I bought it in February of 2003. I have owned a 1974 750 Honda, 1985 Kawasaki 750 2 stroke (it was fast), and a 1993 KZ 1000 police bike (it was fast). The Mean Streak is fast. I broke it in hard and will race anyone. I have had no problems at all. I use 93-octane fuel. Changed the seat to a 2-passenger seat but it needs more padding. Added Le Saddle bags, hard shell and shield. They made going on rides with my wife and myself easier.
- larry edwards, franklin, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-22 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the Mean Streak now for two months and have 3300 miles on it.If you are looking for a cruiser that has good proformance look no further.Handling breaking power and shifting very good.It handles very well off road too.
- David Niehaus, Roswell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-09 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This being my first bike I really don't have anything to compare with. However it is everything I read about, it has a VERY smooth comfortable ride. I did read some reports about the power issue, to me if you want ALL POWER buy a Crotch Rocket. But if you want a ride that is easy on the body and More than enough power to get out of the way.... Then the MEAN STREAK is the bike for you.
- Jon, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-02 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Mean Streak from the original owner with 625 miles on it. He had the dealer install V&H pipes so that was a bonus. Plus, I got the original exhaust system. It was too much bike for him as he wasn't an experienced rider. This is my first cruiser except for a HD Sportster I had years ago. Overall, I like the Mean Streak. Power wise, it has enough for me. I've thought about installing a Power Commander but hate to screw around with the factory settings. I have a ZX10 with pipes and DynoJet and it doesn't run right yet so I hate to mess with the Mean Streak. I find that the rear shocks are a little stiff for me. Too much of a jarring ride on rough roads. I put some air in them and that helped but still pretty stiff. The transmission shifts like butter - smoothest shifting bike I've ever owned. The neutral light and high beam light are misplaced. You have to look down to see them. I'd prefer the two lights be placed between the speedo and tach. I think that some of the chrome accessories are way overpriced and what is with the "stick-on" pieces? A chrome piece with "sticky-back" to hold it in place sucks. I purchased a Corbin seat and found that it was like sitting on a brick. Extremely hard and it didn't fit my butt at all. I like the looks of the Corbin seat but comfort comes first with me. The stock seat is way better than the Corbin in my opinion and I've had a lot of bikes with Corbin seats. Gas mileage is great, I average around 50 MPG. I've ridden around 2,500 miles and so far, no problems. I wish it was better suited to fitting bolt-on saddlebags. Great ride, great brakes, great sound with the V&H pipes. Would I buy one again? You bet!!
- Rich, Chico, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-09 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I cannot stop raving about my beautiful 2002 Mean Streak. It has the best of both worlds- Great cruiser styling and crotch rocket like handling. I dont know what they are talking about when they say that this bike has a lack of power- sure my Vance and Hines drag pipes help a little but if this bike had any more power I would not know what to do with it. Highly Recommend!
- C. Parke, Richmond, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-29 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just had my Meanie 2 days and Im smilin - laughin, best bike Ive ever owned. I bought it new an 02 with custom purple flames its awesome. Know what you mean about the gas tank whistle I wondered what that was too. Seat is so comfortable, best ever and the bike is very classy lookin and technically SWEET!! Girl rider
- starhawk, Iowa City, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: