Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles Reviews (94)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-07-15 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode this bike for 26,000 miles. It's very reliable, has a comfortable seating position for taller riders, will cruise all day, 2 up, loaded at 75 mph. and nice big saddlebags. It is a heavy bike, but handles well for it's size.
- Anonymous, Clark County, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-31 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's the most dependable bike I have had so far. I love its comfort and balance and its ability to hold the road in the windy conditions.
- kent adams, rolla, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-11 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in 2008 from a local dealer. The guy that owned it took very good care of it. I have only had it serviced and just bought a new battery for it. This bike is plenty fast enough, it is pwerful and has lot of torque. I have the black over red color scheme and I get compliments on it all the time. One nice thing, when you are on it for any length of time, you want to be on it longer, it's that comfortable to take on longer trips. I like the shaft drive and it does very well on mileage. I chose this one over two other bikes, both were Harley Davidsons. The Nomad has it all over most bikes this size hands down. Keep it serviced and it'll serve you forever.
- Al, Congress, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-17 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2002 Nomad at an auction w/34000 miles on it. The seller had put screws on the chain tensioners to hide the engine problems so I put the bike in the shop and had the motor rebuilt. I've ridden the bike with my wife and I have to say, it's turned out to be the nicest bike around in looks, comfort and size. Harley riders criticize a lot about anything other than a Harley but being a Harley owner many times in 53 years of riding, this bike blows you away. I pass every thing on the road and the ride and look makes Harleys look like junk minibikes.
- Dana, Greenville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS BIKE IS A WORKING HORSE, THE WIFE GIVES IT THUMBS UP. VERY COMFORTABLE RIDE AROUND TOWN OR LONG DISTANCE, GETS GOOD MILEAGE ON FREEWAY OR LOCAL HIGHWAY. FUEL LIGHTS COMES ON AT 165 MILES AND COULD GO FOR ANOTHER 35 MILES, BUT PREFER TO FILL UP WHEN LIGHT COMES ON. THIS BIKE IS HEAVY BUT FAST ENOUGH FOR ME, NO COMPLAINTS - JUST ONE GREAT BIKE.
- ASERO, TACOMA, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-29 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding my 2003 Nomad 1500Fi for about a year now, I'm still satisfied that I bought the best bike in this class for the money. The comfort and performance are tops. I'm pleased with the relatively high top-end gear ratios, which makes cruising at interstate speeds comfortable and easy. However, one should be prepared to stop frequently for fuel, as I have only been able to get about 100-120 miles before the low-fuel indicator light turns on. I don't know how much farther I could go before running out of fuel, since there is no reserve, but this seems a bit low considering the size of the fuel tank. Still, that's a couple of hours' of cruising on secondary roads, so it's something I've learned to live with. More than a bit annoying is the location of the ignition switch and choke knob, both down below the front of the tank on the downtune. I can only wonder what the designers were thinking when they chose such an out-of-the way and hard to reach spot. Shortly after buying the bike used with 9000 miles, I had to replace the power control/FI module, but everything else has been fine since. My wife is happy with the comfort of the passenger seat. There is plenty of room for gear in the backs and on the optional luggage rack, although the bags are a bit too narrow to stow a full-face helmet. I guess that's the trade-off for their cool, sleek look.
- Greg, Peoria, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-25 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Nomad with 9,800 miles on it in July of 2005. Since then it has been used for everything from commuting to work to a 5,000 mile road trip through wind and rain and it has performed flawlessly. I am short so the only thing that was needed for comfort was to tilt the handlebars back a little and lower the windshield. On the road trip I put in a couple of 900 mile plus days on I-40 and found the seat uncomfortable but don't have anything to compare it to. Sitting in an easy chair for that long would not be great. The only repairs I've seen are tire replacements. Fuel use is on average 40 mpg just about anywhere. It is very stable on the highway with the wind from big trucks all around. Any excuse to ride is a good one and every day is a good day to ride.
- Ric, Glendale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-25 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded up from a 800 Classic and it was worth every inexpensive penny to do it... that's according to my wife which now rides comfortably with me. I bought my Nomad in Feb. of 2004 and rode it from the dealership in a Minnesota February (Granted it was a above average temp that day, 46) It was refreshing to see people give me a thumbs up while I did. This bike has been a treat, excellenet ride, I have plenty of power and it's easy to take care of, easy to tinker with. Only problem I had was that the cooling system hoses were not tightened all the way so it leaked some anti-freeze which I caught quickly. Once tighted, that was it.
- Eric Resnikoff, Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-10 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
03 Nomad more than makes the grade! It may be a bit small ride to some but I just finished Dallas to Atlanta, by way of Memphis, to visit family. Total distance was 1,888 miles and the bike was flawless. Hot, cool or rainy weather it was solid in every category. I have owned the bike for about two months and this was the real test. (My other ride is a 97 BMW R1100RT.) Stock seat is very comfortable and roomy. Couple that with the highway pegs and you have a lot of positions to choose from to maintain comfort on a long ride. Gas mileage was about 38 MPG at speeds primarily in the 70 to 75 MPH range. Did a combo of US Highway/State road and Interstate and never felt I lacked power or handling ability. Great bike. Mine is not a strictly stock set up (see upgrades).
- Carl Stewart, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-13 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was a previous sportbike rider, so the change to a cruiser was a big one to say the least.. lower center of gravity, but an immensely enjoyable and comfortable ride... does get some buffeting , but nothing like a naked sport bike... needing super gas is unfortunate, but gas mileage hangs in the 38-40 range.. time to accessorize and add to an already fun few weeks (bought used, only 1000 miles are mine so far)... bike speaks for itself in more ways than 1 (vance and hines pipes w/ power commander)
- Bob Massey, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-08 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 15000 miles on my '01 Nomad FI. Very comfortable for long rides. I ride with Gold Wing riders and they require a butt stop before I do. The fuel mileage is a bit lower than I would like, avg 37mpg. My wife and I ride two up on annual road trips and she loves it. Lots of power, low speed handling is a bit on the heavy side, but then so is the bike. In the rain, on the highway, in the wind this bike is very stable. The goat belly will have to go, looks bad and absorbs too much of the v-twin rumble. This cruiser is very easy to modify with lots of after market and F&S parts available.
- clyde torvik, blaine, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-11 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2003 model (brand new)in April of 2004. At first I had to get used to its weight (about 800lbs) since I traded in my Honda Shadow Spirit 750 (which by the way was a great bike too). Once you get used to the weight of this bike it's all good. You can really load it up and go as far as you want. Me and my wife took a two week road trip from Monroe, Washington to Lake Tahoe and back by the California and Oregon coast and it was the best vacation we ever had. We were fully loaded (Huge sissy bar bag and sizable tank bag) and rode in extremely hot weather as well as in mild weather, averaging 450 miles per day and this bike ran superb. It's very comfortable, handles very well even on twisties and has enough power to carry you up the steepest hills without problems. The only complaint I have, I had to have my driveshaft changed (under warranty) at about 600 miles. I believe that this is the best long distance cruiser out there.
- Roman, Monroe, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-11 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The '03 Nomad FI is a wonderful bike. With the Cobra pipes, 2000 fuel pros, and K&N air filter, it runs like tarzan. I've had a Harley, and I got tired of the shake, and the stuff falling off. I've been a cycle nut for 40 years, and this has been the best ride yet. Ain't nothing better. Ride safe!
- t. marshall, dover, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-08 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We bought a Nomad last February of 2004. I fell in love with the body style and overall look, and the price agreed with us too. It fits me like a glove, it handles great and is smooth as silk. 2 up riding isn't a problem, it's not a racing machine, highway riding is very nice, the mileage could be a bit better, but I'm not fussing. I had a problem with an o-ring in the rear final gear case, causing gear oil to come out the shaft drive at the rubber boot. The problem was fixed and Kawasaki covered it. I bought a cycle to enjoy life because riding is what I like. Machines have problems, expect them to happen to the best of cycles, hopefully they happen while it's still under warranty. I rate this bike a five star machine, it rides like a dream, shifts into gear with ease, cruises down the road like a cruiser should, and the looks, man does this bike look sharp. Sure I would love a Road King, I love Harley's but with a family I got a bike for less and looks really nice. I'm very happy with our Kawasaki Vulcan Nomad FI 2003 [black]. It's funny because people think it's a Harley or an Indian and they freak out when I show them the Kawasaki label, one guy was totally amazed and very impressed.
- martin wood, kansas city, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-06 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 800 about a year ago and I sure loved that machine, but my wife could not ride with me, it hurt her to ride so I moved up to the Kawasaki Nomad. What a difference now. My wife loves to ride with me at any time. We just put over 1500 miles on the bike in about a week. Some people say that the milage for this machine is low, but that's wrong because I get over 47 miles to the gallon, have rode over 160 miles and still had fuel left. This is just a great machine.
- r c melman, adrian, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-02 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a vulcan 800 a last year, great for beginning. This year I traded it for my nomad. I call it my cadillac. This bike is my life ( next to my wife and doberman). Going from an 800 to the nomad is not all that hard to get used to, if you know how to ride. it will almost drive itself. I would strongly suggest it to anyone.
- wayne clifford, greensburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-14 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've racked up a bunch of miles on my '03 Nomad and it just keeps getting better each day. It is a very reliable machine. Besides changing the oil/filter every 3000 miles I have replaced the clutch spring twice (easy to do). The last time I got the Barnett Clutch Spring with Judges thrust washers so I'll never have to replace the spring again. I would highly recommend this bike, as it is almost maintenance free, just add gas and go, go, go.
- Quinton Grubbs, Macon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-09 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having jumped from an 800 Classic to this was a different world especially on a long ride. With a set of V&H Bagger Duals, this is good looking, great sounding, and beautiful ride. Couldn't be happier with my Nomad! Not as peppy as the 800 was after being piped and re-jetted. But, I haven't gone the route of the "power commander" upgrade for the FI yet either.
- Dkummer, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-08 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Brand new bike. Third weekend out. Some vibration but overall a smooth, comfortable ride with lots of power and torque to spare. Handles beautifully even in difficult situations. Turns like a lighter bike. Great fun to ride and a world class "babe-magnet"!
- Stan Shaw, Stockbridge, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-18 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding Harley's and Honda's for years, I found a crusier that's truly fun to ride. This bike is made for two riders. After 12000 plus miles the only complaint is buying tires too often.
- Patrick Roy, Estes Park, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-18 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We purchased the 2003 Nomad FI new last year after careful consideration. We considered the Gold Wing, the Harley FL's, and the Yamaha Venture. With a good (okay, great) discount from our local Dealer, we decided on the Nomad and am very glad we did. The bike handles and rides very well. 80% of the time I ride with my wife as a passenger, and she loves it. The Nomad is several inches longer than the Harley FL's, providing more room for the wife and I. The Gold Wing had plenty of room between us, but the foot peg placement for the driver was restrictive and did not give my 6'2" - 6'3" frame enough room. Plus, even though I love sport bikes, we both have come to appreciate the floorboards, front and back. The Windshield does a great job of blocking/breaking the wind, though I did make replacement lowers as the stock lowers caused significant wind turbulence. I can comfortably ride the bike anytime the temp is above 40 degrees, thanks to the large windshield and lowers. The handlebars, controls, mirrors, fit me perfectly--it is by far the most comfortable bike I have ridden. Controls are easily accessed, even with thick winter gloves. The wide / large tires, brakes, and front forks inspire confidence and easily support and stop our combined weight of close to 400 pounds. The bike looks great and gets lots of positive comments. The saddlebags have a nice rounded shape, unlike the squared-off bags of the Harley FL. The bags open on the side, not the top. At first I was a bit anxious about the side opening bags, but after using the bike for a year, we love them. We added a Harley FL tourpak that holds our two helmets, jackets, and so forth. It was an expensive, but great addition. On the downside...the power and rear shocks. I cannot understand how a 4 valve per cylinder, 1500CC engine puts out such little horsepower. I've been around and know about low RPM tuning for HP/Torque power bands, but this bike should put out at least 60-65 HP. The torque is fine, and once up to speed you can cruise all day, with passenger, at 90MPH--we've done it. But roll-ons and initial acceleration is sub standard. There is no initial surge or rush. Several owners I know have added the Vance and Hines Dual Bagger exhausts and K&N air cleaners and claim the power is much improved. But by the time you buy the pipes, air cleaner, and FI power commander, you've spent the better part of $1,000. The rear shocks are air adjustable but they're a pain to adjust and get dialed in. Riding solo, they are fine. But adjusting them for the wife and I is a pain. I purchased a special air pump for the shocks, but still I would prefer a good set of Progressives--at $450 we'll do it this year. Summary: If I had the choice, I would buy the Nomad again. No question. We love it. The price is right. It looks great. Is the best bike we've tried on for two-up riding. I would prefer a more powerful engine, but the bike lulls along very well once up to speed. It is stable, comfortable, reliable, just a very good two-wheel deal! Looks wise, it is a great-looking bike. It does not quite have the chrome and class of a Harley FL, but then again, what does? But again, it is very hard to justify the price difference.
- Jack Loganbill, Woodridge, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-11 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A buddy of mine paid way to much for a Harley, with 19k on it, when we left the dealership to go to Nashville which is forty miles four things fell of the bike, then after we got home the thing started dripping oil. I have a Vulcan 1500, which I've had for four years, and all I have done is changed the oil and put new tires on it. Hello!!??
- t marshall, dover, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-02 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2001 FI Nomad. I now have 75,000 miles on it. I have maintained it well, it still run's like a clock. Last year out west. This year never had a bit of touble. Just change the oil every 3000 miles an its a great ride.
- william O'Donnell, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-03 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for nearly 15 years and have been on a bunch of different bikes. Everything I've read about this machine is true. I have zero complaints, and no regrets. I mainly use mine to commute to work, and find the hard bags provide more than ample room for my needs. Power delivery is very smooth and plentifull. I agree with other post saying "if you are looking for a cruiser, you won't be disappointed with this bike." There are a lot of "Harley guys" where I work, and I think it's hilarious how they feel they have to start "talking up" their machines and "justifying" the expense everytime I park near them. Plain and simple.....Love it!!!
- Max, Warner Robins, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm amazed by those who think the bike lacks power; it's a cruiser, not a sport bike, and a GREAT one. Very comfortable, very smooth, and it's almost unbelievable how beautifully it handles INCLUDING at low speeds. Love it. I've been riding since '67, got old enough that comfort comes first now, and this bike has that in spades.
- Bill Lloyd, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: