Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles Reviews (53)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-06-15 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought Nomad new in June, 2004. 33748 miles now and no problems as of yet. During winter I did preventative maintenance such as greased swing arm bearings and drive shaft universals. Next winter I plan to grease piviot bearings on front end. July, 2006 we made a 3700 mile rount trip to Grand Canyon then back thru the Colorado Rockies, the Nomad preformed great at all altitudes. Have been getting 43 to 46 mpg. Would definitely buy another Nomad if they were as good and smooth as this one.
- J. Morrow, N/E, AR., Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-25 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2004 Nomad from a private party through a dealer in Shrewsbury, Ma. The bike had about 6,300 miles on it and was in like new condition. Now has 13,400 and running great. Being the biggest and heaviest bike I've owned was a problem until I learned how to handle it. (a few drops in the first few months) To help the sluggish low end I installed a TFI fuel injector module and V & H pipes. Nice sound. Switching over to Amsoil full synthetic motorcycle oil immediately made the shifting much smoother. This is a great bike and I'd buy another.
- Bob T, Somers, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-04 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have returned to riding after 19 yrs. A serious crash kept me off bikes for those years. I just bought my Nomad used, had 2400 miles and found it here. I am thoroughly pleased with this machine, powerful, loaded, excellent riding single or with my beautiful wife. Can't wait to go on a long ride to flush out any real issues.
- Bob L, Hughson, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-09 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now that I've had the Nomad for just over a year and have 9200 miles on it, I'm just as pleased with it as I was when I wrote the first review on 07/29/2005. I can't stay off the machine !! I run all my errands on it, and only take the car for large items when shopping - then go back with the bike for the small stuff. The noisy engine used to bother me and now it's music to my ears - it runs like a top !! A trip from Denver to Virginia Beach and back, was a blast on this machine !!
- Anonymous, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-18 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Nomad is made to ride. If you want to ride any long distance and enjoy yourself this, is the bike. You could spend thousands of dollars more and buy an H-D - and not get the comfort and reliability that this bike offers. Compare them, you will agree too. I have spent 600 miles in the saddle in one day, and went dancing that night.... Let's ride!
- Tim Cometman, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-13 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote a review in 11/2000... here it is almost 5 years later. I now have 25,000+ miles on my nomad. I've added many more accessories to it including a Mustang seat. I'm on my third set of tires. Go with the Metzelers--what a difference they make! The only maintenance other than oil and tires has been new water pump seal at 15,000 and clutch plates and springs at 20,000 miles. Many call it my Harley--and I proudly say "it's not a Harley" (it's half the price and twice the reliability). Not to mention that when I ride with Harley riders, I'm way faster at passing the semi trucks on the freeway than they are. I'm keeping this one and hoping to get 100,000 miles.
- anonymous, st. cloud , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-05 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a rider for 50 years, and after having been away from riding for 3 years, the yearn to travel on two wheels was just impossible to ignore. So after 20 some bikes, including my last one a 1985 Yamaha Venture (17 years / 200,000kms), I decided to buy a new Nomad. Having put some 25,000 kms on it in about 6 months, I believe I'm now in a position to give it a fair and accurate review. On the plus side, it is one of the most flexible bikes around, in that it can easily be adapted for full touring, or left as is as a cruiser. The motor is truly one of the most magnificent units in the motorcycle world. Although it only produces 67 hp, at no time do you feel underpowered due to it's massive torque. It is smooth at any rpm level, and never feels as if it is working in the least, even fully loaded and steaming up high mountain passes at high speed. The overall ride is smooth, fuel economy is excellent 50 mpg Canadian (unless the bike is modified from stock which seems to decrease that significantly), and it cruises all day at 75 to 85 mph at a low 2500 to 3200 rpm. It's a real "looker". I am routinely queried at stop light by people, some of whom don't even ride, about the make, with the inevitable comment.."Boy,that's the best looking Harley I've ever seen". From my perspective, it is in my opinion, the best overall choice I could have made for full touring short of buying a Gold Wing. This is an all around fully satisfactory motorcycle. On the con side, nothing is perfect including the Nomad. After 8 hours in the saddle, the rear, back portion of the seat which has a 45 degree slope, tends to put pressure on the tailbone, resulting in discomfort. The need for high test gas is a minor annoyance, albeit only to the pocketbook when you go to fill up. Continual high speed, high heat driving will eat tires within 10,000 kms as I found out in two days of high speed driving across North Dakota and Montana (this bike is heavy, which does add to overall comfort and stability though). A factory supplied tachometer would be nice, although they are easy enough to add aftermarket. The ride is smooth and fully controllable around any curves, and with fuel injection, it is totally oblivious to high altitude (10,000 feet plus in Colorado). The hard bags carry a lot of gear once you get bag liners for them (TLC Products on e bay), are completely waterproof unless overloaded, but I badly miss a tailtrunk, which would be a good factory option for this machine. The rear air shocks are fully adjustable for weight and don't seem to adversely affect handling at any setting. The front shocks can be a bit choppy over certain kinds of sharp pavement, but overall acceptable. And best of all, the price is one of the lowest available for a reasonably equipped cruiser. I would have had to pay a full $10,000 more for a Gold Wing, and in doing so, lost all the magnificent appeal of a V twin motorcycle Having just returned from a three week, 12,000 km tour of Montana, Utah and Arizona, I can honestly say that I am chomping at the bit to hit the road again on this wonderful motorcycle. Ride safe all
- R.H.Campbell, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-18 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After learning to ride and survive on my 1100 Shadow Spirit over the past 3 years, I was ready to move up to a larger bike and had been anticipating that Kawasaki would finally put the 1600 engine on the Nomad. Well, when they did, I knew it was the bike for me. I got it for my 50th birthday and have put all of 100 miles on it today. My initial impressions are all good. The bike is well balanced with a low COG which makes handling in tight spots relatively easy. It seems to hug the road and responds well to slight steering input; really a very nimble bike, but only if you finesse it instead of trying to manhandle it. The stock seat is very comfortable and the windshield provides a good "air bubble" with no buffeting, at least not at break-in speed (which is under 60mph). I can't wait to see what she feels like at higher speeds. I can tell this bike is going to have power to spare and feels "torquee", even at low speeds. I have no plans to customize or change anything at this point... all the stock components seem more than adequate to me. The only complaint is that the engine has died twice while decelerating, after releasing the throttle it started right back up, but I keep expecting it to happen again. I'll check back with the dealer if it continues. I reset the idle adjustment, which hopefully will help. All in all, a great bike and certainly worth the wait... here's to the next 50 years! Ride safe.
- Psyclist, Brandon, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-27 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was tired of fixing my 1998 H-D FXSTC and wondering if it would start next time I rode. It also had a lot of miles on it, so it was time for a change. After doing a lot of research, and as an owner of two Voyagers, I headed in the Kawasaki direction. Loved everything about the Nomad--looks, quality, price, reliability, dealer, etc. Bought a new '03 model in '04, primarily because of the color scheme but also because I got a good deal. Have put over 7000 miles on last season from short trips to long ones. I do not have one complaint and have not looked back from my H-D days. Can't wait for the '05 riding season to start.
- Bob Nelson, Brandon, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-19 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A pleasant surprise this bike has turned out for me. I purchased the 04 Nomad about 4 months ago and have accrued 5000 miles on it thus far. It hasn't disappointed me as yet. I ride and ride long and hard. From the kiss of the sun to the sting of the rain, I'm comfortable. Here in FL, you get a good taste of each. I replaced the exhaust system with a Vance & Hines system as well as a light bar and Sissy bar. No other modifications. I wasn't looking for blinding speed, just comfort with a good sound. It delivers. There is a small oversight. Consider checking the oil by your self on a trip. No dipstick! You know what I mean!! See Ya'll at Bike week.
- Dandy Don, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-17 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my new 2004 Nomad Fi in Sept of '04, and have put around 1,200 miles on it before it got too cold to ride. Although this is my first bike in 10 years, I've ridden bikes all my life, and I have to say this one beats them all. (So far anyway) I've given the bike an overall rating of 5 stars based on the 4 catergories and I'll do my best to break them out for you.<br /> Reliability: 5 Stars<br /> As mention above, I've only had the bike since Sept. and only ridden it approx. 1,200 miles. So as far a reliability, no problems what so ever. Starts on first try, every time!<Br> Performance: 4 Stars<br /> The only slight flaw with this bike is the get up and go! I knew prior to buying the bike was not known as a speedster, and I wasn't looking for that. I do however want to know when I hit the gas to pass a car, the speed will be there. In this area, the Nomad was a little sluggish.<br /> Comfort: 5 Stars<br /> If you're looking for a comfortable bike for the long weekend rides, I don't think you'll find a better bike than the Nomad. As you can tell by my personal info above, I'm a big guy, and I was worried comfort could be an issue. No issue what so ever on the Nomad. With the couple of add on's (Highway pegs, throttle lock) I intend on adding, I'm planning my first long haul trip this spring down to FL.<br /> Quality: 5 Stars<br /> I would put the overall quality of the bike up against any other bike. And with the cost difference, the Nomad can't be beat. Again, take this review for what it is worth. I've only had the bike for 4 1/2 months and only rode it 1,200 miles, but so far, so good! I will try and update, when I get another 12-1,500 miles on it.
- Dave M, Hershey, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-03 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an Nomad FI 3 months ago with 9,000 miles. This is bike #6. I'm 62 years young and have owned several I-4's and last year bought my first v-twin, a Honda Shadow Tourer twin. I was shocked that a twin could be so smooth. My wife rides with me everywhere so I felt a need to step up to a larger bike. My Nomad exceeds all my expectations. The smoothness of this bike is phenominal and almost compares to a Goldwing. I love the touring capability of this bike. The wind buffeting was cured with the Edmonds lowers but the best addition was a Rifle direct-fit replacement windshield which comes in 3 heights. Get the one that fits your style so that it can be run in the lowest adjustment. This is the best wind protection you can get from a windscreen. I here riders complain about tire wear and noise from cupping. I learned in a hurry that tire pressure is one of the most important maintenance items on this bike. Keep the tires inflated at least 2 lbs. above recommended by Kawasaki. This will almost eliminate cupping and will do wonders for gas mileage and also give a noticeable increase in performance. Before buying this bike I checked out "The Popular" twin and this bike has features "The Popular" twin only wishes for (hydraulic clutch, water cooled, shaft drive, looks &#038; price). Needless to say, "I LOVE MY NOMAD"!
- Milton Faglier, Stockbridge, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-01 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride lots of miles every year. This has been a great bike and is my main trasportation. I ride it most every day and I have never looked back. Kawasaki has done a great job with this bike.
- Madrider, Greenville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
don't be misled by the 500K figure above - that's just a SWAG about the number of miles I've ridden in the past 20 years. I've owned a lot of bikes and liked most of them pretty well. My machines have ranged from a 1966 Yamaha 350, 2 stroke - on which I traveled widely over the US and Canada - to my latest bike, a 2002, 1500 Nomad FI. I bought the Nomad because at age 66 I found myself increasingly concerned about not being able to flatfoot my BMW R1100RT. I loved that RT on the road but I have to say that the Nomad is nearly as quiet and just as vibration free as the Bemmer. I've put my Nomad through the paces on a number of extended tours, from prairie to desert to mountain roads. It is a pleasure to ride. And it's the right height for me. When I'm on the road there is a feeling of steadiness that only comes from a big touring bike. Kawasaki builds a winner here!
- Jack Casner, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-06 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After spending about a year and a half on a 2003 Kawi Voyager XII, comparing it to the Nomad is like apple and oranges (I-4 vs. V-twin). The Voyager was great but I never used or needed all the gadgets and it just wasn't my style. The Nomad is terrific! Just a great "meat and potatoes" touring bike made for long hauls. Being only 5'8", the seat height was better for me. Long rides are a piece of cake on the Nomad. I even got caught in a heavy rainstorm and the bike pulled through like a tank! I keep hearing that the Vulcan is slow. Granted, it would probably have trouble keeping up with my 2003 Voyager XII in an all out race, but who the heck buys these things to brag about the speed??? Having said that, after riding over 20 years &#038; having owned several models, makes and sizes of bikes, the Nomad has plenty of power for its purpose. I can easily get up to 80 in a snap riding 2-up or solo (with plenty of throttle left) and she's rock solid at any speed. I've also read about vibration in some reviews...I can only guess some of the riders are new to large V-twins. Part of the charm is the RUMBLE. It has great torque for pulling hills and handles quite well for such a heavy bike. You gotta love the cool hard bags! Hissing from gas tank a little strange, but so far this is a great bike. I can't seem to stay off the thing. I keep finding excuses to take her out on the backroads, freeway, downtown, etc! This bike is at home anywhere you take it. Read the reviews by many Pros! Even they can't stay off it!
- W. Wysong, Spring Hill, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-26 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 04, blue and silver in October. I was considering a vstar 1000 but was talked into riding this first and didn't even take the vstar for a test ride. Less than 1/2 mile and I was sold. (Had an older 88 goldwing - very awkward before for my very first bike). The nomad, has less power than other vtwin cruisers but seems to allow me to keep up with my friends on their harleys. Had to install a tach to see what the engine is doing in the midst of their loud pipes. Stock seat is the biggest drawback on this rig, it and the stock pillion are not very comfortable for long rides. Overall, I am very pleased and would recommend it to anyone. I was a beginning rider when I bought it and it has been easy to ride.
- Patrick George, Maple Valley, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded up from a Honda Sabre 1100cc last Sept 03, to the 04 Nomad. I could not be more pleased with my purchase. Longer rides (over 300 miles) in one day don't wear me down like my last bike did. Most everyone makes note of the Nomad's speed, these folks must have just got off a sports bike to make such a statement. I find this bike to be a great long haul cruiser, if you're in a hurry buy a sports tourer.
- C.B., Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-21 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First the bad news &#8211; it ain&#8217;t a Harley. On the other hand, I haven&#8217;t ridden a Harley regularly since the shovelhead era, so that&#8217;s not a factor at my house. My 1999 Nomad is almost everything that I hoped my earlier bikes would be; stylish, reliable, and comfortable on the long road, as well as modestly priced. And it is certainly all of those things; but, frankly, engine power is only about on par with a good, healthy 80-inch shovelhead HD, in my opinion &#8211; and mine, like many 1999 models, refuses to shift fast. Performance wise, Goldwings and even Fathead HDs can usually walk away from me (mine is the carbureted model, and I weigh 270#s). On the other hand, the Nomad has almost no quirks from a comfort, maintenance or performance standpoint. Gas and an occasional oil-change is about all that is required. On a recent 2500 mile summer tour (a little over 1250# in touring trim, with passenger and gas), the Nomad consistently turned in 38-41mpg. Total oil consumption was less than a half a pint (about 200cc, 20W50 synthetic-blend). Out of habit from my Limey and Harley riding days, I carried a fairly large tool kit and spare parts inventory, but only used about 12 inches of parachute cord to replace a piece I had lost. Reliability was just wonderful. No pings (even when heavy, climbing through the Alleghenies) on 87-89 octane and nothing rattled loose. I did blow the air-shock balance tube, but that wasn&#8217;t a Kawasaki part, so I can&#8217;t blame the Nomad. Easy fix, anyway. We bought our Nomad used, after reading a lot about it. The first year we put about 7000 miles on it, replaced the rear Bridgestone with a Metzler (wonderful) and added a throttle lock. Otherwise we&#8217;ve done very little other than the most routine maintenance. With overhead cams, dual-plug heads, shaft drive and a quality finish, this is what Milwaukee should have been building. Oh, the brakes &#8211; wonderful! And while the top-end power isn&#8217;t breath-taking, the low-end torque means you can moonlight competing in tractor-pulls. Like some, I do wish my Nomad had at least a 5.0 gallon gas tank (like the newer FI models), but truthfully it has only been a factor once when I was trying to punch through a 130++ mile rain-squall, and even then 4.2 still left over a gallon and a half in reserve. It has always started easily (even in sub-freezing weather), and while I have in mind a few doodads, I&#8217;m not remotely in the market for a replacement.
- LFB, Fairfax County, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-29 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this cycle in Nov. of 2001, traded it in on my wife's new Mazda 6 in April of 2003(currently working in Djibouti,Africa). While I had it I was very pleased with it overall. Only down side was did not have very high end power. But I didn't buy it for a race bike but as a cruiser and at that it was outstanding. Put a little over 13,000 miles on it in just a little under a year of riding. Gas mileage was between 39-42 mpg. Usually comfortable on trips, but when I went to Tampa from Pensacola seat was uncomfortable because (found out later) I was wearing a back pack and it interfered with normal riding position on the seat. On the way back, strapped backpack to rear seat and was very comfortable. It did want to keep going and had no troubles with it at all. Only other complaint was gas tank was way too small, should have 5-5.5 gallon tank at minimum. New FI model does (5 gallon) but need 91 octane minimum. Moving up to Goldwing because I'm want more options and luggage carrying capacity.
- Dennis C, Molino, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-22 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
90% of my riding is two-up running at the speed limit (am a somewhat senior rider). Very comfortable, handles the twisties nicely for such a corpulent machine &#8211; but likes tire pressures at the very top of what the owner&#8217;s manual calls for (shocks set at about mid-point). Our Nomad has slightly over 17K miles: gets 40-42mpg at 60-65mph, and about 36-38mpg when running consistently near 75mph with a passenger. Very easy starter, rain or shine &#8211; even after sitting covered in the snow. Next tires will not be the Bridgestones &#8211; they hold the road fine, but sound like snow-tires. Paint and chrome great quality &#8211; easy to keep polished, and the saddle bags seem water-tight. Very low maintenance: gas, oil, occasional filter and the polish rag, and go. And the best part, you don&#8217;t see eight-two bazillion of `em wherever you go.
- Larry, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-19 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 99 green Nomad in May of 99. It`s a great looking bike and I get a lot of comments about how good it looks. While that sure makes a person feel good, quality and dependability has not been there for me. I`ve had the bike 3 years now and I`ve got 27000 miles on the bike. First, seal problems with the final gear case. Then oil leak sending oil all over right leg. Dealer fixed it. Oh well, try again. Oil leak started again. Got it back, and it leaked in another place. Back in shop. They kept bike two weeks this time. Fixed problem, for a little while anyway. During second year, clutch went out. First they said the clutch wasn`t covered under warranty. I called Kaw and raised heck. They took it apart and found it was an assembly problem and found out from kaw how to fix. Then struck another oil leak. Back in shop while they ordered parts again. Lost three weeks riding time. Now I seem to be having problems with the clutch again. I`m 48 years old and have been riding most of my life and till this bike I have never had to replace a clutch in a bike, but this bike is eating them up. It`s not a fast bike and it doesn`t take much to lean enough to send sparks off the floor boards. Not a big enough gas tank and lacks in MPG. The air shocks have never held air more than a day, and when I asked the dealer about it I was told that the shocks do not hold air long. So I just don`t bother putting air in them. The dealer told me that it wasn`t that kawasakis aren`t any good, but that It`s just my bike that`s basically substandard. He told me I needed to trade it in on another Kaw and the nest one would be better. Yeah Right. So I just started trying to trade the bike in for a new bike, and found that this bike doesn`t hold value worth a flip. I`m going to loose my shirt on this bike because I can`t seem to get much of anything for it in trade on any bike. Like I say, It`s a great looking bike but not much else to say for it.
- Dave Brewer, Navasota, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-15 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike in South Dakota as I couldn't find what I wanted in ND after doing a demo ride at the Sturgis Rally in August, 2001. Loved the ride and looks of the bike, got 500 miles on and it developed a loud noise in the rear end, dealer said ride it. After 2500 miles the noise was worse. Excellent service as the salesman met us half way (we are over 300 miles from the dealer)and took the bike back to fix. The bearing went out in the final drive. Went to get it in Nov. while there put another 250 miles on which it developed an antifreeze and oil leak. Hopefully they have it fixed. It was delivered back to our door in Nov. by the regional rep. out of Minot, ND. To cold to ride now, will find out in the spring if it works. They also gave us an extra year of warranty.
- Norris Anderson, Center, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-08 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 99 in 8-02 and painted it white for use as a funeral escort service because it closely resembled the Police harleys they use. It was always Dependable and Comfortable. It is Much smoother than the Honda 1100 Shadow I rented once. Minuses: Would soon go into a violent shimmy if I let go the bars above 35. Broke 5 speedo cables, all replaced under wty, no chg. Small oil leak from rocker cover area, required motor removal, 2dy downtime, under wty, no chg. shallow cornering angles before draging. Much worse riding double. Not very powerful in stock config. Saddlebags were very expensive to replace. One bag was $1100 plus $143 for trim strips. Top speed 105, and after hop-up, 115. Pluses: added hypercharger and Vance&#038;: Hines bagger pipes, $900. Then it would keep up with the Police harleys on hard runs. Add saddlebag top rails. Good investment in bag protection from scratches, and adds to the looks. Add Running lights and visors for them and headlights. Adds a lot to the looks. Got lots of compliments on this bike.
- Mac McKnight, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-18 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I baught a used Green/Green 99 Nomad about 1 month ago. The bike runs smoothly and is easy to handle. I have had many positive looks, comments etc. The Gas Tank is a little small, I find that for around town - to/from work I am in the mid 30's MPG wise. From my research, I believe that this can be improved upon.. a few accesories/replacements of items for better tuning and MPG. Will find out more as time and money allow. I also found a great support site of fellow Vulcan owners - www.VROC.org - Stands for Vulcan Riders and Owners Club.
- Dave Polister, Alamogordo, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-09 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike in June of 99. Being new to bike riding I started with a 600 Honda Shadow to learn on. Once I got used to riding for about 6 months I went looking for a bigger bike and all the ones I set on intimated me for they were nothing but big bruisers, for I am a short man. Then I set on the Nomad and I was hooked. This is the best balanced machine and the most comfortable on the planet. I have also talked with several people that own a Nomad and have ridden a host of other bikes and they agree. I believe it is the most bang for the buck, and for the price of a HD about $25 Grand, I could have the baddest Nomad in the State. But I must say that when you buy one you had better be in for the long haul because the resale value is very poor. I have $17 grand in mine and the blue book is only $7800. I must admit the gas mileage is not the greatest and the fuel tank could be bigger, and it could use a little more roll-on power in high gear. The truth is if you want to go fast buy a crotch rocket. If you are in a hurry to get where you are going and don't want to stop for gas every 100 miles take the family car. And if you want an over-priced status symbol get a HD. But if you want a good touring bike that wont put you in the poor house, and it can run loaded down and keep up with the traffic (but I suggest take the back roads) The Nomad is the best. I have learned 3 things about riding -- It is all about the journey, your prayer life will increase, and if you ever loose your fear of motorcycles get rid of them. In closing the Nomad is 750 pounds of gleaming steel and sex appeal, the tower of power the bike of the hour, too sweet to be sour. YOU GOTTA GETHA SOME OF THIS!!!
- Mark Irwin, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: