Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles Reviews (112)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-05-17 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike used. Pearl white(which seems to be the majority color on these reviews.) Already had power commander, bags, engine guard, 360 pegs, front and rear floor boards, mustang seat, trailer hitch, light bar, and vance&hines power shots, and windshield. It had 7500 miles on it. Purchased it in 09 at local kawasaki dealer. Purchased it for what I consider a steal. This bike is definitely the bomb. Well worth every penny. Just like other reviews no complaints with the power here. This is a keeper.
- Smcnamara, knox, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-03 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a new rider at 60 years old. I originally bought an 800 of a different brand and put 3000 miles on it; then traded it for a '08 1600 Vulcan with 3000 miles. I took it to TX in some bad weather and back in rain, wind and fog. The Vulcan was the right choice. It is very reliable, has good brakes, suspension and easy handling with large, dry saddlebags. It has the power necessary to merge and perform lane changes on the highway. Even with the windshield and Saddleman mounted on it, the bike did well in most winds. It is a bit thirsty though at 38 mpg average and a 160 mile range before looking for gas. It's the right choice for long trips and fun locally. Crash bars are handy for 5 mph drops (twice - ooops) as they protect all but the mirrors.
- Peter de Pontbriand, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-19 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely no problems with this bike. Performs and handles great. Balance is amazing.
- G-Man, Burlington, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-12 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had mine for a year and a half and find it to be an excellent bike. I have had it up over a hundred miles an hour and it rides smooth as glass like you are going sixty. This is my first Kawasaki but it won't be my last. I have Vance and Hines pipes which make it sound like a whole other bike. Mine has a hypercharger also. It works great.
- Keith, Searcy, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike 3 months ago as a left over from '06. What a great bike! I love it. It has great balance and power. After a few accessories to make it mine, I get a lot of good compliments. This bike rocks!
- Jim Tharp, vero beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-26 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't owned a bike in over 20 years. My last bike was a Honda 750 that was stolen over 20 years ago. During this time I have admired many different bikes and also priced many different bikes. Finally it was time to purchase a new bike. I researched bikes for several months prior to purchasing my 1600 Classic. The 1600 had the look I was searching for and the options that I really desired. From the time I drove it off the lot, it has handled exceptionally. As a testament to this, I went and took my license test with this bike after only two weeks of riding with my permit. It handled the test course with no problems. I do find it a little bit top heavy, but the handling on it is great. I commute on the highway on a daily basis and this bike is heavy enough to not get pushed around by wind gusts from the big trucks. I did add a windshield to the bike, and I wish it was just another couple of inches taller. It shields the body great, but it catches the top of my helmet and I have to constantly adjust my helmet because of it. But if that is the worst thing that happens, that is not bad.
- SC_RIDER, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-09 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I admit I thought all these 5 star reviews were, well, a little generous and a product of Kawasaki fans. I guess I'm now a Kawasaki fan. After a full riding season (sort of) on this bike, I can only say it's excellent. No problems whatsoever, and a joy to ride. This is my first bike in a while, ad it took a little to get used to the size of the bike, but once you get accustomed to the weight, ride, and handling, it's excellent. Engine produces a broad torque curve and plenty of highway horsepower. Stock suspension is more than adequate, and adding a little air to the rear shocks helps with pasengers and full loads. Low speed handling isn't bad at all, and riding it in rush hour traffic poses few problems. Gas mileage has been 40 to 45MPG, depending on driving conditions. My only complaint is the seat, and I've installed a Roho Airhawk seat cushion until I get a third party seat (probably a Mustang). With the Airhawk, all-day rides are no problem, but I'd prefer a better seat. Also, a little more cornering clearance would help, but here again it's a very minor issue that appears very infrequently. Stock tires are very good (Bridgestone Exalto) and stick well wet or dry. Overall, the Vulcan seems to be a bike that may not be the best at any one thing, but does everything very, very well.
- David M., Boxford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-01 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased my 1600 in March of 2006. 18,000 miles later it has been a smooth and trouble free bike. don't hesitate to get this bike or the Nomad. One thing, I went with a 150 rear tire instead of the stock 170 and improved my mileage by about 4 mpg. Getting 46-47 on the highway now.
- Tommy Smith, Garner, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-20 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not ridden for 15 years, when I started searching for a bike I looked for 4 months. Originally, I wanted a HD until I saw the price tag; I began to settle on a Star 1300 until I saw the Vulcan 1600. It was the last 06 on the floor at half the price of a HD fat boy. I have only 400 miles on it and love it. Handles well for the riding I do. I am pleased with this purchase.
- Jess, Hudson, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-13 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding my 1600 Classic for 14 months, and have put on almost 12000 miles. It serves as my daily commuter (20 miles every day) and my touring transportation. With only regular oil/filter changes and routine service, she has never let me down. The power is more than adequate, even loaded down for an extended road trip. She's no crotch rocket for sure, but the handling is quite nimble for a heavy cruiser. (I've been known to drag a floorboard more than a few times.) Although the ergonomics were acceptable right off the showroom floor, I have added a few accessories (see below)to enhance the touring capabilities and comfort. In all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the 1600 Classic to anyone looking for a solid, reliable cruiser.
- Gary, Sherwood, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-10 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used with 7700 miles on her. I added bags and lots of chrome. Just did the 8500 miles service where they adjusted everything. Then I put Metzlers Marathon 880s on. WOW! This bike was incredibly great since day one and now it's even better. Getting ready to put s&s type thunder air, vance and hines big shots and a power commander 3. Read the reviews on the Harleys and am so glad I went metric. I want a Harley too someday if they ever go with liquid cooled engines with dual brakes. Super smoooooth cruiser and set it up for touring too, you won't be disappointed.
- rasvulcan, Beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-09 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
New owner! First time entry. So hey all! Feels great! Had a 98 Yamaha V-Star 650. Big difference! Fairly new rider and just enjoying riding. Wish I rode a lot sooner. Lots of power and still breaking her in. Very pleased overall. Can't wait to do a long ride. Read through other entries and cool to see previous riders. Look forward to hearing back. Ride safe!
- finone, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-16 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike at a great price! Style, technology, class, reliability, not overdone and overpriced like some other bikes (read: Roadliner, M109R, every HD on the road). Just a straight up, solid cruiser that handles and rides great.
- Marco Bruno, Palm Springs, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-19 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In September of this year someone pulled out in front of me and totaled my 800 Classic. Came close to totalling me also. After some time in the hospital, the wife asked me if I was getting another motorcycle. My reply was, just as soon as I can get back on one and we have the money. December 15th I picked up my new 1600 Classic. This machine is incredible. With the shaft drive it is so smooth. I actually think it rides better that the 800 did. I can't wait to get it broke in. I have already ordered a lot of goodies for it.
- Steve, Anderson, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-17 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 2005 1600 Classic in Jan 2006 and the odo now has 9700+ miles on it and I've loved putting every one of them on. I moved up from a VStar650 Classic to the Vulcan 1600 Classic. Unfortunately the odo and speedometer is about 10% generous. I couldn't have asked for a smoother, easier to ride bike. I'd like a nicer fitting seat but I can easily go 1.5 hours before getting a bit of numb-butt.
- Steve, Pickerington, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-07 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I upgraded from a Shadow Aero 1100 to the 1600 Classic. I have put over 2000 miles on it since I bought it in August. The bike rides better than expected. The performance is better than any cruiser I have rode in the past. The mag wheels and dual front disk brakes really give the bike a tough look. The power is unremarkable. I had great dealer support.
- Brian Garrison, Joplin, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-04 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After selling my 73 Shovel Head of 20+ years due to serious finacial woes, I decided it was time to put my knees in the wind. Having never ridden a foreign bike of any kind, I never really gave them much thought. After owning numerous Bonnevilles (newest being 68 TT120R), an awesome Norton 850 Commando and the mentioned H-D, I started shopping. Everyone should own at least one HD, if you haven't, you don't have the right to bad mouth them. Not overly impressed with any HD except Sceaming Eagle Electraglide, price was ridiculous. New Bonnevilles just ain't got that old soul and then I saw the 1600 Classic. Fell in love with tank shape, huge fat fenders, big headlight, front end and rakish stance. Love it! Most well mannered bike, most balanced bike I've ridden. Just begs to run at 80+ mph. Still can't beleive I bought Kawasaki.
- mike earley, lagrange, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-28 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As mentioned, I'm a pretty good size guy, and the upgrade from the Vulcan 1500 (which I loved) to the 1600 was worth the money. That one inch makes a huge difference. The bike rides like a dream. The only minor issues I have is the rattles I hear in the front, and a SMALL issue with the seats. I think my recliner gets uncomfortable after a while though. I am very happy with the bike and get compliments from riders regularly. Even had a Harley rider tell me that my bike is a much better bike for the money. I don't know if I have the need for a Harley anymore.
- Jeff, Joplin, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are thinking about buying a really cool looking bike with great performance and style, than this is the bike for you. It is about half the price of a Harley and is so much of a better deal and the quality has been a proven factor through out many years. I am very well pleased of this bike and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice powerful bike without digging in to your pocketbook. Plus Kawasaki has one of the best reliability of all bikes put together. Check it out!! I know you are going to like it. This bike will bring you many years of enjoyment and you don't have to worry about it breaking down on you like all the bikes you see on the side of the road. See you on the road and have a safe and fun time.
- Wynn, North Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I have ever owned. It is very well balanced and user friendly. The clutch is easy to engage and there is more than enough power. The seat is comfortable for someone my size and weight and is positioned so that I can keep my back straight while riding. The clutch and brake levers have too long of a pull; I have large hands, and have to set the levers on the smallest adjustments. Kawasaki's head lamp and signal lamps work very well at night and give you a clear view of the road. The fuel tank is a very large - 5.3 gallons and is one of the reasons I considered the Vulcan 1600. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase, and expect to have many enjoyable miles ahead. One more thing, this bike is not made for everyone, the reach to the handle bars is very long due to the fuel tank length compared to a Yamaha 1100 classic, and the weight of the bike can be overwhelming when making tight slow speed maneuvers.
- PAUL SHEPHERD, TONOPAH, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-31 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after I snookered my wife into riding my 800 Classic. Now we both ride and it's much better than riding two-up. I would rate the fuel injection and low maintenance as the highs, although the looks are a definite winner. I have owned this bike for 3 years and have twelve thousand miles on it and I have no regrets about my choice. I don't look longingly at any one else's ride and have had many good remarks from friends and strangers about mine. I run 20-50 oil and it seems to run better than 10-40.
- keith day, anchorage , Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-18 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved up to the 1600 from a 750 Shadow. The power and comfort are a big improvement. I originally wanted to buy the 1500 but what sold me on the 1600 were the lower seat height and cast wheels. NO valve adjustments also won it over other makes. The only negative factor is the need for premium fuel. I am slight of build but this big bike is very easily manageable. Give it a look-see before getting something smaller.
- Ozzie Vater, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-14 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a 1997 800 Marauder....to a brand new 06 V Storm 650........back to a cruiser. This time I went for a bigger bike and I'm sure glad I did. As someone posted, this bike is the Lincoln Town Car of cruisers. Shifting is smooth as butter; bike is very low to the ground, and looks sharp. The only reason I have the comfort rating at 4 is due to the seat, but I always take into account a new seat when I buy a new bike. I already have a dual mustang with driver backrest on the way! At first, I was a little intimidated by the weight of this beast but I'm getting used to it now. On the highway I don't get blown around by trucks and the bike doesn't even rev high when I'm cruising in 5th gear at say 75mph. One downfall, like most cruisers, is no tachometer installed. I think they should come standard; it's pretty stupid as a tach would help shifting. The analog speedometer is nice looking, and the digital clock, trip meter, and gas gauge are very nice and helpful. Just bought all the stuff needed to do my own 600 mile service. LOVE not having to oil a chain! Another thing I'd like to mention is how nice the stock pipes sound. Sure they're quiet, but they give a nice low rumble. Can't wait to see how new pipes will sound on this beast. This is the bike I will definitely keep for a long time to come.
- S.D.Willie, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The fuel tank whistles when it's hot to let out vapor. Yes, you can hear the electric fan kick on when you're stopped at a light - but I challenge you to listen for it rolling down the road. If you don't start the bike in neutral, it might jump a little forward since it's got a hydraulic clutch. Ride is great, handles smooth. Love the acceleration. I've added some things, which make it all the better. You can't get a better deal than this on a cruiser. Shaft drive, fuel-injected, liquid-cooled. Gets about 36-38 mpg for me.
- Clint, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-19 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in a Yamaha V-Star 1100 ( 2005 ). To much vibration @ 65-70 MPH. 2006 Vulcan 1600 Classic rides smooth as glass. Great power and feel. Cornering is excellent. Super Bike for the price. Try it you'll love it.
- Jim Ziegler, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: