Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

112 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jim Tharp

vero beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2008-11-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike 3 months ago as a left over from '06. What a great bike! I love it. It has great balance and power. After a few accessories to make it mine, I get a lot of good compliments. This bike rocks!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Smcnamara

knox, Indiana

Reviewed on 2010-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike used. Pearl white(which seems to be the majority color on these reviews.) Already had power commander, bags, engine guard, 360 pegs, front and rear floor boards, mustang seat, trailer hitch, light bar, and vance&hines power shots, and windshield. It had 7500 miles on it. Purchased it in 09 at local kawasaki dealer. Purchased it for what I consider a steal. This bike is definitely the bomb. Well worth every penny. Just like other reviews no complaints with the power here. This is a keeper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter de Pontbriand

Nashua, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2009-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a new rider at 60 years old. I originally bought an 800 of a different brand and put 3000 miles on it; then traded it for a '08 1600 Vulcan with 3000 miles. I took it to TX in some bad weather and back in rain, wind and fog. The Vulcan was the right choice. It is very reliable, has good brakes, suspension and easy handling with large, dry saddlebags. It has the power necessary to merge and perform lane changes on the highway. Even with the windshield and Saddleman mounted on it, the bike did well in most winds. It is a bit thirsty though at 38 mpg average and a 160 mile range before looking for gas. It's the right choice for long trips and fun locally. Crash bars are handy for 5 mph drops (twice - ooops) as they protect all but the mirrors.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G-Man

Burlington, Iowa

Reviewed on 2009-07-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Absolutely no problems with this bike. Performs and handles great. Balance is amazing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith

Searcy, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2009-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had mine for a year and a half and find it to be an excellent bike. I have had it up over a hundred miles an hour and it rides smooth as glass like you are going sixty. This is my first Kawasaki but it won't be my last. I have Vance and Hines pipes which make it sound like a whole other bike. Mine has a hypercharger also. It works great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

SC_RIDER

Charleston, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2008-09-26

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I haven't owned a bike in over 20 years. My last bike was a Honda 750 that was stolen over 20 years ago. During this time I have admired many different bikes and also priced many different bikes. Finally it was time to purchase a new bike. I researched bikes for several months prior to purchasing my 1600 Classic. The 1600 had the look I was searching for and the options that I really desired. From the time I drove it off the lot, it has handled exceptionally. As a testament to this, I went and took my license test with this bike after only two weeks of riding with my permit. It handled the test course with no problems. I do find it a little bit top heavy, but the handling on it is great. I commute on the highway on a daily basis and this bike is heavy enough to not get pushed around by wind gusts from the big trucks. I did add a windshield to the bike, and I wish it was just another couple of inches taller. It shields the body great, but it catches the top of my helmet and I have to constantly adjust my helmet because of it. But if that is the worst thing that happens, that is not bad.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David M.

Boxford, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2007-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I admit I thought all these 5 star reviews were, well, a little generous and a product of Kawasaki fans. I guess I'm now a Kawasaki fan. After a full riding season (sort of) on this bike, I can only say it's excellent. No problems whatsoever, and a joy to ride. This is my first bike in a while, ad it took a little to get used to the size of the bike, but once you get accustomed to the weight, ride, and handling, it's excellent. Engine produces a broad torque curve and plenty of highway horsepower. Stock suspension is more than adequate, and adding a little air to the rear shocks helps with pasengers and full loads. Low speed handling isn't bad at all, and riding it in rush hour traffic poses few problems. Gas mileage has been 40 to 45MPG, depending on driving conditions. My only complaint is the seat, and I've installed a Roho Airhawk seat cushion until I get a third party seat (probably a Mustang). With the Airhawk, all-day rides are no problem, but I'd prefer a better seat. Also, a little more cornering clearance would help, but here again it's a very minor issue that appears very infrequently. Stock tires are very good (Bridgestone Exalto) and stick well wet or dry. Overall, the Vulcan seems to be a bike that may not be the best at any one thing, but does everything very, very well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tommy Smith

Garner, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-09-01

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased my 1600 in March of 2006. 18,000 miles later it has been a smooth and trouble free bike. don't hesitate to get this bike or the Nomad. One thing, I went with a 150 rear tire instead of the stock 170 and improved my mileage by about 4 mpg. Getting 46-47 on the highway now.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jess

Hudson, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have not ridden for 15 years, when I started searching for a bike I looked for 4 months. Originally, I wanted a HD until I saw the price tag; I began to settle on a Star 1300 until I saw the Vulcan 1600. It was the last 06 on the floor at half the price of a HD fat boy. I have only 400 miles on it and love it. Handles well for the riding I do. I am pleased with this purchase.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary

Sherwood, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2007-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding my 1600 Classic for 14 months, and have put on almost 12000 miles. It serves as my daily commuter (20 miles every day) and my touring transportation. With only regular oil/filter changes and routine service, she has never let me down. The power is more than adequate, even loaded down for an extended road trip. She's no crotch rocket for sure, but the handling is quite nimble for a heavy cruiser. (I've been known to drag a floorboard more than a few times.) Although the ergonomics were acceptable right off the showroom floor, I have added a few accessories (see below)to enhance the touring capabilities and comfort. In all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the 1600 Classic to anyone looking for a solid, reliable cruiser.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 12
  • 1 - 10 of 112 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: