Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles Reviews (67)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-13 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an '04 meanstreak and love it. It handles very well and has plenty of power. It's a very smooth ride. I think this '08 is a steal at a great price.
- brian, somerset, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-19 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought my 2006 meanstreak after owning a 2006 ZX636 sportbike and was very impressed with this bike from the first day. It is black and fully chromed out with aftermarket parts and really steps up to the plate. The overall design is nice with its flowing lines from the handlebars to the back fender, Kawasaki was successful at creating that sexy line which most manufacturers work hard to achieve. The ride is comfortable with a leaned back riding position. The distinctive exhaust note is very pleasing especially when you upgrade to Vance & Hines longshots and power commander with all the right settings dialled in. Overall I am very satisfied with this bike and find it a challenge to think about replacing it.
- Fabian Bishop, Christ Church, St. Thomas, Barbados

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-22 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike out of the box but some modes makes it even better. Quality and performance of the bike has been outstanding. don't know why Kawasaki dropped it from their line in 2009. My bike is the solid black. I can't stand the red and black limited version.
- Ken Holmes, Medical Lake, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-03 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a used 2008 Mean Streak with 424 miles on the odometer. I've ridden it for the past couple of days and am truly impressed. For all its power, it is very civilized, not at all squirrley, and exceptionally well balanced for a 650# machine. It has a broad and smooth power band, so it's very easy to find yourself going 70 MPH without even noticicing it. I have the black tank (not flames) and it's a real head turner. People walk up to it when parked and study it. Now selling my Yamaha Classic V Star 650 whis is an exceptional bike as well.
- Vincent Bozzone, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-21 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike. I also ride a sportbike, but wanted something for longer rides...not being quite ready for an old man cruiser, I looked into the power cruiser market. Love the styling of the Meanstreak! This thing handles great for a big bike! Plenty of power, great looks, sweet growl from my Cobra Speedster Shorts...catches eyes and comments everywhere I go. I highly recommend one to someone who wants performance and comfort, with a lot of flare, without looking like an old man.
- skbrown9, Hudson Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-13 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my 07 Mean Streak (Special Edition) for a year now and I love it. I went to shop for a bike, and having not owned one for about 15 years, I really didn't know what I was looking for. I'm kind of a big guy and I started by looking at bikes that were in the 850 to 1100cc size range. My salesperson went with it for a while but then figured he'd better let me know I would not be happy with a bike of that size. that's when I saw the Streak. The normal ones are nice looking but they had one special edition that I kept coming back to. Needless to say I bought it, and I ride every chance I get. The sales guy was right about the power; I'm very happy with it. It can take me and a passenger along without even feeling it (kind of the difference of riding a pony and then a Clydesdale). I've been on the freeway in the wrong lane with the offramp coming up fast; all I did was goose it a little and I left everyone in the dust and was on the ramp in a flash. The bike is comfortable, powerful, sleek, handles like a dream and was a perfect fit for me.
- Scott Wiles, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-07 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I knew I would own a Mean Streak the moment I saw the '05 special edition orange. At that time, it was a bit out of my price range, so I settled for a Kawi 800 classic. It was a nice bike, but more power was needed so after 1 1/2 years I traded up to the '06, special edition, red and black Mean Streak. At first I was not as impressed with the color scheme and it must have been mutual with others because it was in the local showroom from 2006 into 2007 without being purchased. As I took it out for a test drive it became apparent that you have to get those red accents into the sun to give them justice. They seemed to pop off the black and quickly changed my perceptions. By the time I returned I was already smitten and finished the paperwork. Although taller than average, I weigh only 155 and with just 3 years of around town riding experience, I LOVE the way this bike handles. Very smooth operation throughout and well placed gauges and controls make for an unbelievably easy learning curve. It eats up switchbacks for lunch and could not be more fun to ride. When reviewed against the Harley V-Rod, Honda VTX 1800 and the Yamaha Warrior (around 1700 cc), all of them are great looking bikes. The Mean Streak is always pegged as the underpowered of the group and as far as flat out, off-the-line speed they are probably correct. But to me, when you consider styling, price, handling and the fact that this bike still has tons of power; one cannot afford to pass this by (and you can always upgrade performance parts).
- Tom, Vernal, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-28 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride everyday... that is until I became married with children. Well the kids are grown now and so I decided to ride again. I bought a 2006 Meanie last spring and at first thought it was just too much bike for my old butt. After a couple months of riding almost every day it became obvious that it not only wasn't too much bike but I actually wanted more. After upgrading the exhaust, adding a K&N filter, power commander and some perks (shorty windshield, removable saddle bags and rear bag, passenger backrest, etc.) it is the PERFECT bike for me. Handles like a dream when I fly through the twisties with sports bikes, out guns as well as out handles my buddies on their Harleys, stops on a dime (several dogs owe mother Kaw their lives for putting on those brakes), cruises beautifully on long trips and performs well in freezing rain (ALWAYS bring your warm clothes and rain gear with you this time of year). Add very reliable to the above list and it is definitely the best bike for me. Looks hot, performs hot and is hot. Plus, it taught me how to ride again.
- Dutch, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-01 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just cam back from an 8 day, 6 State, 1900 mile road trip. This baby did fantastic riding the Dragon 129. The power is there from low to high end. I can cruise on the Interstate at 90mph with no problems. I added short Barons boards on it and it helped on my long rides. I have added too many extras to list. You just can't stop.
- rich, Boynton Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a brief hiatus of 30 or so years I am back to riding again. The family is now raised and I am compelled by high fuel prices (5% rationalization) to pick up where I left off when I started this whole family, career thing a few years back. I bought my Meanie new after quite bit of research online and a decision that it was the one I wanted. I have put 1700 miles on it in about a month and haven't regretted a minute of it. Smooth acceleration at all speeds, easy to handle at high speeds and fun on the twisties. Set the rear shocks for 2 up and roll on with her on the back. The bike gets LOTS of looks and compliments. Has plenty of power (no stage 1 for me), and there is nothing like passing a group of HA's on their hogs with my shiny, new rice burner and wearing a suit on my way to work. Especially when they tried to prevent it by staying ahead.
- Suit-on-a-bike, Ozark Mountains, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-09 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 3 bikes. A 2006 Suzuki GSXR 750, a 2005 Harley Davidson Roadking Custom, and a 2005 Mean Streak. I ride the MS the most by far. It far out performs the HD and is in the area for comfort but I will admit that the HD does have a much nicer stock seat. All three bikes are stock with the exception of a cruise control on the Road King and the Mean Streak. The MS runs better (more power, way better handling) and is way better for price. Fuel consumption is much better also. The stock seat on the MS is good for one person but for two it is not great. (who wants a passenger anyway?) I drive the GSXR some but super hard on the butt. Fun for when you want to fly. But the MS is the best bike that I have ever owned. A great bike for on the highway as well as around town. At 135km/h with my wife on the back you can just turn the right dial and my Mean Streak just smiles back at me and pulls on. I am thinking of trading the HD but I will always keep my Mean Streak. Bla Bla Bla I could go on and on about the good things but here are the bad. I would like to be find a better windshield. Not for full time but now and again I want to let my wife ride the Road King and I would like to have a big windshield. Every big one out there looks funny because the guages are in front of the bars and it does not work well. I would like to see a cover over the exposed frame just behind the handle bar mount like most other bikes. That is all.
- Barry B, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-29 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this cruiser to take on a trip to Key West. I got it used off of ebay and was a bit nervous purchasing it online. The transaction turned out to go very smoothly and I have been so very happy with the bike. I didn't like the look of the radiator stock, so I got a chrome cover to break it up a little bit. The handling of the bike is amazing, it is very smooth on the interstate and it will handle turns beautifully. Although I was a little disappointed in the power, it will outrun almost any of the other cruisers out there. But a V-Rod, Warrior, Valkarie or another of the muscle bikes would probably beat it in a straight line. The Mean Streak deserves this category from a handling and stopping perspective, but is a littly iffy on the muscle side. But considering the cost, I can't imagine a better deal. I rode it 3000 miles to Key West and back and literally did not have a single issue. When I got home my Cobra slashdowns had arrived and after installing them the backfire was significant enough to warrant the fuel processor. I hope that may give it a little more power although many people would argue it doesn't need it. The bike will also stop on a dime, ensuring a lot more confidence in going a little faster if one so chooses. Overall I really can't say enough about Kawasaki. I was previsouly a Yamaha man but this bike has changed my outlook. And there is no need to compare it to a Harley unless you are so hell bent on buying American...the V-Rod is the only bike that MIGHT outperform and with some customization you will love the looks. And from what I can gather on reliability issues, like it or not the Japanese bikes are just better than the Harleys at half the cost. I was skeptical of the bike and am typically a harsher critic, but honestly I can't imagine being disappointed in purchasing one of these Mean Streaks. Happy riding!!!
- Cliff Crank, Ripley, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-28 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 02 I ride is like flying down the road in an easy-chair. So SMOOTH, NO vibration and very quick. My wife has a Softail and I can ride it whenever I like, but would much rather put the miles on the Mean Streak. Added some Vance-Hines Longshots and it has a remarkable sound! It ROCKS!
- Scott C., Des Moines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-11 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got 2 other bikes and this is by far the most comfortable. Great handling, with plenty of power for my needs. Low maintenance too with hydraulic valves, shaft drive and fuel injection. Totally pleased!!
- dave, el mirage, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-26 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this baby in Feb 05. Changed the oil every 2000 mi. All fluids every 10,000 and have gone through 2 sets of tires and brakes-still running just like the day I got her. I rode Hardleys never again. The 95 cubic inches of this bike are what 1 less than the new Hardleys at twice the price. What Hardley ever went 42,000 without needing an engine and tranny rebuild? Thought so! I would like a bigger machine - a Warrior, VTX 1800 or a Victory which isn't much bigger at all. I live in Arizona where we ride all year. I do not get that great of gas mileage and never did. Maybe 30mpg. But at 80mph the tach is showing about 3300 rpm in 5th gear-I have ridden the sh** out of this bike with no appreciable problems whatsoever. Buy one, you'll like it!
- NoHardleys4me, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-31 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not ridden in over 15 years and was having a hard time deciding between the V-Star 1100 with their great low price, a V-Max which I've wanted since I bought my last street bike, a 1988 700, and the MS. As my fever to have a new bike grew higher, I visited my local Kawi shop only to find they had a new ebony 06 still in the box. While they were putting it together, they let me borrow a little 150 enduro to ride on a little dirt track to see if I could still ride. Yep, just like getting back on a bike. 3 pm I pulled out of the shop and head home on my new 1600 MS. Even though I haven't ridden in forever the MS was a breeze. A little choppy on the very low end, but sweet as honey on the open road. After about 200 miles, I know I would have tired of the V Star 1000 series right away. Nice power in town and on the open road. I'm a little bit of a straight-away speed freak and the MS fills that niche. Only problem I have is the break in period has me keep it below 3 g's. But bi aside, 100 mph is no problem at a little over 4g's. The big MS dog wants to run. I'll be very happy with this bike for a long time and I got it at a great deal on it too. Wife, who doesn't ride much, found the back seat surprisingly comfy riding around town, but tired of it after about an hour. don't know if there is more bang for the buck than an MS. I would recommend the MS to anyone.
- Earl, Great Falls , Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-28 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2004 Mean Streak used with 1300 miles on it. I put 5000 flawless miles on it the first year. Absolutely no problems, liquid cooling and fuel injection is the way to go. Plenty of power, great stance, a step up from anything that Honda and Yamaha has to offer. Could use a smidgen more power, but again, I'm pretty frickin heavy! A++++.
- Matt , Loudon, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-07 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the special edition in February. What a great looking bike. I get looks and comments on it every where(even by Harley riders). Every one wants to know if I did the paint scheme my self. I have taken it on a couple 150 milers and I feel great afterwards the positioning and seat are very comfortable. It is a very balanced machine with plenty of power. I would recommend the Meanstreak to anyone who loves to ride. It's having the power and maneuverability of a sports bike with the look and comfort of a cruiser. Love it!
- Bruce Gardner, Havelock, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-18 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for years, it took me a year looking for an upgrade between Honda, Yamaha, and Suzuki, until I found the Kaw Mean Streak SE. When I saw her on the internet, I called the dealer and they said to me that only there was 5 bikes brought to the island. So I visited the dealer saw her and fell in love. Still in b-i period, but runs great, the adj. the rear shocks is A+, her movements are precise, it has sporty brakes, shaft is a most, the engine sounds as if it had a monster that wants to go out, the driving position is very comfortable, the FI is phenomenal, liquid and fan cooling are great for slow traffic, but it is a Special Edition and I have the 4th out of 5. They all look and ask me that if it was painted or if it came from those colors.
- Jorge Sanabria, Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-04 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike and I can not get off of it. The comfort and performance are heads above the rest as I have ridden Harley, Suzuki, Yamaha and Victory. This bike is an attention grabber! Every where I go someone always wants to know all about it. If you want a helluva a bike, this is the bike for you. You will not go wrong.
- Fester, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-31 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my blk/red '06 Meanie for almost a year now and am still loving the ride. The red tribal graphics on black has been a great platform to build on. With a few add ons, I have one custom looking bike without breaking the bank. It will out perform any Hardley out there and looks so much better for about half the price. Have been riding for 29 years and it just does not get any better.
- Dan, Sparks, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-04 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode and tested every larger Metric Cruiser and American Made Cruiser made for 2006 when I came across the Mean Streak. It just fit right, and rode great. I must have test rode it 4 times and the dealer finally said, Face it, you love it. It's for you. He was right, after a 100 mile ride, I felt great and loved its power and response. I recommend it to all who want a quality bike.
- Brian E. Force, Mount Vernon, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up an 05 left over. Plenty of bike for the money. Handles well. The brakes are excellent. This is a very powerful bike. And isn't it pretty?
- Mark s, waretpwn , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-19 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cruiser, and I must say I think I've found a winner. I came off of a 600cc sport bike and this bike is a great transition into the world of cruisers. It is light and nimble enough to be tossed into turns almost like a sportbike. It is powerful enough to take on most bikes in it's class. The handle bars are about two inches too far forward for any real long distance cruising for me. But I found a set of chrome risers that just screw right on and extend the bars about 1.5 to 2 inches back for only $115.00. I would recommend this bike to anyone, especially someone who is coming off a sportbike and wants a cruiser. The drag bars are great and the stock exhaust is good (but I will be putting on a set of Hark Krome 2 into 1 sideburners soon). Overall this is a fantastic bike, especially because I bought an 05' left over and walked about the door with a great deal. The only problem I have had so far was the license plate mount was rattling like crazy, but I played with the flynuts on the back of it and fixed the problem in a few minutes. GREAT BIKE!!!
- Brian, Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-01 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Mean Streak caught me totally off guard. I never expected a Kawi to ride and perform like this. I have ridden in 3 rides with several hundred other bikes of all types and the Mean Streak sticks out. I get more questions than ever with any other bike. Smooth and tranquil with plenty of energy.
- david holifield, laurel, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: