Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles Reviews (115)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-12-12 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello. The Kawasaki VN1600 Classic Nomad is indeed a solid reliable machine and is quite well built. The solid alloy wheels are a bonus as spoked wheels tend to rust so no problems with the wheels. Some may find on second-hand machines they have a front wobble (speed wobble) but knowing many other owners, this is down to the tire having a run off or is not seated correctly. A simple tire change sorts this out. There is plenty of room with the side panniers and rack and it's a nice machine to ride on. My mpg. is around 42.5 per gallon of petrol (gas)but I have had the standard exhaust removed (very heavy) and had the Vance and Hines sent over from the USA (Bagshots) so maybe this and the combination of a new air filter and power commander has an effect on fuel consumption. You receive the screen and side panniers as standard and this VN series has the pipes on each side for a more balanced look. I do find that spraying your machine with WD40 or other water retardant helps the bikes wires to become dependable in the long run. Please note that once the VN refused to turn over but do not take it to bits looking for a fault if it was working fine. Check the clutch wires on the lever (2 wires covered in a plastic shroud) as they tend to come off if not secure and can be overlooked.
- Jeff Marrin, Billingham, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-06 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very good, reliable and strong bike with a certain retro look and feeling in a modern package. I get a lot of compliments everywhere I go with her. The only thing I do not like that much is the low gas mileage, true, I ride fast... Very ergonomic off the shelf, I sat on a stock Road King and immediately wanted to change the seat, bar, etc - the Nomad feels cozy compared to a few bikes. I just simply love her - as the last year of her production I can feel that it is a well thought through bike.
- Gabor Lorincz, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-09 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last bike was a 2006 Suzuki C-50, a really good bike that gave my wife and I 24,000 miles of smiles in two years. The only downside was it's buzziness at interstate speeds. In October of '07 we test rode a Nomad, after that it was a matter of time.... In Oct'08 I took my C-50 in for scheduled maintenance and left with an '06 Green/Silver Nomad. This bike is great! Smooth as silk at all speeds, the extra weight smooths out the ride and resists the push from wind gusts. There is ample room for both rider and passenger and the saddlebags have plenty of room for a weekend away.
- Tom Mayberry, Cabot, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-25 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fantastic machine, runs like a tank, but smooth as silk. Gobs of torque and lots of power (see upgrades). Wife and I rode two up to our rally in South Dakota (5500 kms)trouble free, wonderful cruiser. Best bike I've owned in 30 years and at a great price. Did have to upgrade the seat though, bought a mustang set with backrest and that cured the sore butt problem.
- KB Clark, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I STILL LOVE THIS BIKE AFTER 15 MOS AND OVER 11,000 MILES. I JUST BOUGHT A DUNLAP ELITE III REAR TIRE. THE INDEPENDENT DEALER WHO I BOUGHT IT FROM AND INSTALLED HAD A GOLDWING WITH THE ELITE III WITH OVER 18,000 MILES AND STILL PLENTY OF TREAD. IT'S STILL CRANK AND RIDE WITH NO PROBLEMS. AFTER 2 HARLEYS THIS IS THE BEST BIKE I've EVER OWNED. GO GET ONE.
- Jim Johnson, Attalla, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my Suzuki M50 for a 2007 black Nomad. I was looking to upgrade in order to take some road trips and this was the perfect bike. The Nomad has plenty of power and torque. The weight of the Nomad took a little getting use to but it's amazingly stable at low speeds. I encourage people to shop around but you won't find a better bang for the buck than the Nomad.
- boomer, lucas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-14 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently I got my 2008 Nomad, a leftover that was the dealership owner's demo, so it had 1289 miles on it already, but I got it for a steal! I had to ride it some 500 miles home, and have had the bike for only a few days, but that's enough time to know this is a bike in a catagory all its own. Just as the title suggests; the bike is awe inspiring. From the first time I sat on it, I knew it was the one. I looked for a new bike for about 2 years before finally looking in the right place. I talked myself into and out of all different types of motorcycles. This one does everything I was looking for it to do, and does it very well. I do a lot of 2 up riding with my wife, and she was a major deciding factor. I wasn't going to buy a bike that made her uncomfortable. The seat is quite good for a stocker, and I'm sure that an aftermarket would work just as well, but we'll stick with it for now. Performance of the bike is jaw dropping. It's like an elephant that has the speed and agility of a leopard. Dossile at times when you want it to be, but open the throttle and hold on! Cornering on this bike is simple, the easiest I've ever experienced. There is no mid-turn wobble, and it doesn't try to fall over once into the turn. Every aspect of ridiing the bike is a pleasure. That leads to my main point. If you're looking for a bike that you don't have to try and enjoy, look no further. Every second on this bike, from the time I start it to the time I shut it down, is pure joy. No loud exhaust to annoy me in 15 minutes. No wind in my face to burn me up in a half an hour. Just me, the bike, and the road (oh, and the wife).
- Danno, Des Moines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-09 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Every bike has its pros and cons. Starting with power this bike has pleanty of it you will never feel the need of a six gear on the high way you can almost cruise on fourth at 70. And what a sweet rumble. Great for long hauls the 5.3 gal tank is very convienient getting around 200 plus a tank. As far as comfort it has a nice stock seat but exceptional comfort for your passenger. A supremely comfortable seat with a thick back rest to compliment it as well as air plush suspension. The only complaint I have is that I wish my arms were an inch longer so that I wouldn't have to stretch as much. After about an hour I'm a little sore but that's not the bikes fault. My only other con is that I see other large cruisers with larger more comfortable seats. But they have to make a sacrifice with compensating with a smaller gas tank. Would I ever trade this bike in? Yes but only when the wheels fall off, this ones a keeper!!! ps. if your badge of honor paint wears out don't sell it. just re-paint it.
- Nate , Greenville , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-05 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sold an 07 2000 Classic Lt, white with the titanium trim, and bought this black and silver Nomad, as I've had two earlier ones, a 99 and 02, and felt that I wanted another one although I really liked the LT. Have had the Nomad now for about 2,000 miles and have really enjoyed it. Put on V&Hs, got the mustang seat and backrest ordered, although the stock seat isn't bad. It's been a slow go getting my wife to accept that I sold the LT as she really liked it and feels that it was more comfortable (and better looking) than the Nomad, thus the mustang seat, hoping it will make her like it more. Have added the studded tank bra, saddlebag chaps and windshield bag, so with the studded mustang seat and matching passenger backrest, it's coming along and is looking pretty good. I regret selling the LT sometimes as it was a great looking bike, very comfortable even with the stock seats especially the passenger seat according to my wife. don't let anyone fool you, the 1600 Nomads will not run with the 2000's, I know from experience, but I really like my Nomad and am glad that I made the trade. The Nomads are just really nice riding bikes, run very well and mine isn't too bad on fuel, usually getting high 30's and low 40's and they are easy to maintain and reliable. The hard bags are hard to beat and a great benefit on these bikes. If you go with the Nomad, you won't regret it.
- r.t., groesbeck, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-02 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I am in my third year with this bike and love it more today then when I bought it. It just seems to get better and better. Performance is great, Ride is smooth, LOOKS GREAT. This bike is everything I thought it would be after months and months of research back in 07. If there is anything I could say negative, it would be the heat that comes off the engine when sitting at stop light or in traffic in HOT weather.
- Ted, Louisville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-16 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my first Kawasaki Vulcan Nomad in 2008. It was a used 2007 bike with approx. 6500 miles on it. It was love at first sight. A great ride and all the power you'd ever want. I liked the bike so much that I ended up buying another. I got a great price in January of 2009 on a new 2006(new non-current), which included tax and a 24 month warranty. If all the bikes that I've ridden, the Nomad is the most comfortable and best looking bike that I've had the pleasure to ride and own.
- Randy Olson, Spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-04 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike was a Honda Shadow 750. It was a great bike, but I wanted a serious long distance cruiser. The first time I saw a Nomad it was love at first sight. That was in 2005. When I had a shot at owning the 08 Nomad I couldn't pass it up. It was everything I wanted. Terrific looks, easy handling, and quiet power. One year and 10,000 miles later I have not a single regret.
- Scott Cross, Justin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-17 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2008 Nomad is my second Kawasaki. Call me a repeat buyer; very satisfied with the quality, safety and comfort of this bike. I put almost 5k miles on it the first season which included a 10 day tour of Nova Scotia. The Nomad is smooth, powerful, confident and well managed in all situations. This bike is one sweet ride!
- Bob Spear, Wilton, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-29 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned the 1600 Nomad since September of 2007 and have not regretted the purchase one bit. This bike has power, handling, and looks. I replaced the stock mufflers with Vance and Hines Bagger Duals earlier this year, but just reinstalled the stocks mufflers and find I like the quiet presence better. The bike runs and rides like a dream and I would recommend it to anyone looking for touring or just for weekend cruises.
- Wayne Morse, Titusville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-15 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the first day I got my Nomad, I was very impressed with the handling and center of balance. I ride whenever I get some spare time; of course I always find time. It's just a pleasure to ride. In an industry magazine 4 out 4 people pick the Nomad as the best ride. I have an opinion to agree. If you're looking for a good touring bike the Kawi Nomad is the best pick! don't just sit there; for the price it's a steal!
- George C. MacGirvin, Lawton, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-03 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride my bike whenever I get a chance. As a member of Blue Knights XVIII (Florida Chapter), my wife and I get to ride with groups a lot. I love the bike. It's smooth, quiet on the ears and awesome on the interstate. I rode the bike from Bradenton, FL to Murphy, NC, then onto the Dragons Tail and back home. The last day we rode over 700 miles in one day. I cannot say enough about this bike, its comfort and strengths. Kawasaki hit a home run with this bike. MPG average is 40-42.
- Ken Pearson, Bradenton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-06-08 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I first fell in love with the looks, then got on and am hooked for life. Man, what a ride. I had a Honda Ace Tourer and a Suzuki 700 Intruder before this fine machine. The Nomad will impress anyone who dares to ride it. My friends and ridin' bud who owns a fine Yamaha 1700 Road Star drove it on the way back from buying it. He said it rides better than his. He's also impressed on how it's dressed. My wife even loves it, but hates to say it.
- Larry Hill, Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-11 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
more like a locomotive I have been very pleased with our '07 Nomad, purchased new-in-the-box in February '08. I take issue with some who say the seat is uncomfortable, and the paint isn't up to snuff. EXCELLENT paint job! Seat is the most comfortable OEM seat out there. Like all new seats, it takes a while to break in. This bike's forte is all day, long-distance cruising at highway speeds. Gobs of torque and great stability on the road. This is definitely one of the very best motorcycles I've owned in 50 years of riding. A KEEPER!
- Smokey, Selma, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-27 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since I was 15 years old. I was brought up on British bikes and owned a Harley Sportster 1972 in California. Velocette, BSA, Matchless, Nortons, Kawasaki 1000, and Yamaha FZ1. I spent a year on the internet and road tested new Harleys and new Yamaha Stars. At the end of my search for a cruiser I purchased the Nomad. The Harleys were cool, the Yamaha's transmission and power were impressive, but the Nomad had it all, plus it is water-cooled to boot. I love riding this machine. I now own a 2005 FZ 1000 and the Nomad. I cannot stay off of the Nomad. Fun in the Florida sun.
- czvet, Venus, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-21 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in March 2007 slightly used from a dealer in Florida and took her for its first trip from Whitby to New Jersey to visit a buddy in August. I rode for 10 hours straight with stops just for gas. It was the most comfortable ride I have ever had. Propped up my backpack as a backrest (Have since put on a real backrest) and just rode. On the return trip I had to ride through heavy rain and the bike tracked as well as it did during the dry period. I can't say enough about this bike. Comfort, good looks and plenty of grunt. This bike just loves the highway!
- John, Whitby, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-03 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 50 yrs old and have just completed a 6700 km (4163 miles) ride during Sept 07 including riding all around Victoria and Tasmania and then riding back from Melbourne in 4 days with the wife. Had the bike since new and it had performed faultlessly, comfortably, economically and with great style. I could have also sold it 10 times over to onlookers! Previous bike was a 1996 Vulcan Classic but this has been the best of all the bikes I have owned. Highly recommend it to anyone looking at buying a touring cruiser. She comes with everything you would need and we carried all our gear in the 2 panniers easily. Brilliant bike!
- Paul Bachman, Perth, West Australia, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-20 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a perfect touring cruiser. It has speed, power, and with a few additions, comfort. I never had a miscue from this machine. My longest ride has been 3500 miles and I also ride it daily. It gets me to work or play in style and comfort.
- Tom Shelly, League City, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-16 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since I was 10 years old and I am now 50. I have owned every kind of motorcycle you can think of. My last bike was an 1800 VTX and I love it, but I have been wanting to try a Nomad for about two years. I love the ride. The only complaint I had was the power; that might be because I was used to the 1800. I changed the pipes out to Cobra. This helped a lot. But I would buy this bike again for the looks and the ride. This is a great bike!
- EDDIE, FLORENCE, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2004 1500 and I love it! I upgraded from a 2000 Shadow Spirit and am so glad I did! This bike is classy, fun to ride and will take you cross-country and back if you want. It is even great on slow-speed maneuvers! If you buy one, you won't be sorry! You don't need many options because this one comes loaded really well. Low maintenance with the hydraulic lifters!
- Steve Jaeger, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-12 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike a couple of weeks ago and already have 1010 miles on it. So far, not a single complaint! We (the wife and I) have gone on a couple of poker runs, as well as ridden around the local area. Enjoy!
- Mike Floyd, Peoria, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: