Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles Reviews (128)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-04-09 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A buddy of mine bought this bike to get his license on. I've gotten to ride it a good bit since it's stored in my garage. I've been riding for years and am normally a sport/sport-standard type of rider, but this Vulcan 500 is FUN. It doesn't suffer from most of the traditional cruiser flaws - it is relatively light weight, it handles well and it accelerates surprisingly fast. The 500cc parallel twin pulls hard through all the gears, but it's still very newby-friendly. The long wheel base makes it a little tough to maneuver in parking lots, but other than that no complaints at all. Maybe a center stand would have been nice (it is chain driven), but it fits on my rearstand just fine. The swingarm is even the same width as my sport bike.
- niteowl72, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-04 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it July 10 for my wife. She had just completed a bike course. She tried out several different bikes, and found this one to be the best overall for easy of handling, and power vs. size. Plus it seems to have been made with a smaller framed person in mind. The bike is excellent around town, and for short day trips; but, it's a little light for extended trip riding. I just bought her the 900 Vulcan for extended trips. The saleswoman at the dealership was great.
- D. NETTLES, LEXINGTON, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-01 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a lady in my late 50's and wanting to ride - this bike is wonderful. My son and I along with a friend all go riding on weekends and it is able to keep up with the bigger bikes. Never did I think I would be riding a bike. But I choose the right one as it is easy to handle. I love it.
- Cathy, Bowling Green, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-21 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a 500ltd after fighting to touch the ground on a 1100 Shadow. Size matters in the fact at 59 years old I want fit and comfort. When I was younger I wanted to look cool and now I want to be cool. This little big bike has plenty of get up and go and I found it to handle truck drafts close to my big cruiser. I am just puttering through the break in. I did punch it enough to tell it will haul me plenty fast.
- Ricki Russell, Rochester, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-30 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 2nd bike. First one was a Harley Sportster which I found very top heavy and difficult to hold up since I'm a short person. I sold it and bought the Vulcan 500. I love this bike and it has a lot of power. The only thing I have trouble with is the brakes squeak, but that's minor and fixable.
- Trina, Santa Fe, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-25 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for anyone who feels the need for speed or just to know you got speed when you want it, in cruiser style. This is my 2nd bike (first bike was a 250), 2nd year driver and this bike rides like a charm and it is comfortable for me and the speed changes are very smooth. I recommend this 'speeder' to anyone interested in a 5-star machine!
- Pink, E.Norriton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-01 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Highly recommend for beginner. Can match speed with any traffic. Not so forked out in front so you have great control.
- L Larson, Mequon, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-14 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love mine. It's been very dependable. Gas mileage is great. If I really, really get on it the MPG is 45. When I decide to drive it sensibly I have gotten just over 60 MPG. I'm looking at getting a 900 classic only because I'm starting to take longer trips with passengers. I've taken the 500 on overnight trips by myself over 4 hours away and was very comfortable on it. Perfect bike for a high school kid.
- Lyle Hoffman, Edgar, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-02 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike seemed small for my frame but I've found it very comfortable and exceptionally easy to ride. It's a bit cumbersome in slow parking lot but has a nice balance while using the friction zone in very low speed. On the highway this can kick ass at 75 and can move me on and up to speed of traffic in no time. It also seems like the 6 speed really makes a difference on the freeway. I'm averaging over 50 MPG but even though this is a 4 gallon tank it seems to conk out until I switch the fuel valve to the reserve setting at about 115 to 135 miles. Then I basically end up adding about 2 gallons of gas. Two gallons in reserve just seems a bit excessive for me. If you want a bike that makes a lot of noise this is not the bike for you. It has a quiet almost stealth like rumble. I love it. All in all a good starter bike with the power and HP to get you going.
- Surfmurf, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-18 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this last Monday. If you want a bike that can handle highway speeds without working the engine too hard and be comfortable at the same time, this bike will meet your needs. It has a solid feel and is easy to handle in slower traffic. You can run all day at 75 if you so desire. I'm not one for being on any motorcycle riding the interstate, but it will do the job. My gas mileage for highway is right at 57 MPG. If the two lane highway and city crusing is what you want in a motorcycle, this will fill the bill.
- Roger Petersen, Grand Island, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-01 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my '04 Vulcan 500 for approx. 2 years now. I bought it used from the original owner who had put 14,000 miles on it. It's been a wonderfully reliable, beautiful bike. I took a 2500 mile tour last summer and I concluded that it is not the most comfortable ride (probably because of it's small size and not so cushiony stock seat). Nevertheless, I have been overall extremely satisfied with this bike.
- Oscar Z, Ogden, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-28 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike in July of 2008 and love it. My last bike I owned was a 1982 Yamaha Exciter 250 back in the early 80s. This bike run great and I do plan on buying a bigger bike in the near future and a sport bike (all Kawasaki's)and planning to get a tourer bike (Kawasaki also--YES KAWASAKI YOU SOLD ME TO YOUR COMPANY...LOL). I would recommend this bike for beginners and advanced bikers. It holds it own with bigger bikes twice it's size. One ride I took last month, I kept up with sport bikes that were in 1000cc range and smaller, it surprised me with its power to keep up with them.
- Michael Mapes, Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-28 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a new rider fresh out of the MSF course, I couldn't have chosen a better first bike. Erring on the side of caution, I almost got a 250cc cruiser (like the one I trained on in the MSF), but thankfully I decided to go with a 500cc and couldn't be happier that I did. In my humble opinion it's the best first cruiser that you can buy as a new rider. Now that I've ridden if for 1 1/2 seasons I've kind of outgrown it and am in the market for a new Vulcan 900 Classic LT. Unlike many new riders, I'm careful to not get in over my head on a bike. I bought my first sport bike in April and it's a 650, and I can tell you that I'm not going to outgrow that bike for a while. I've put tons of miles on the Vulcan 500 with absolutely no problems whatsoever. I highly recommend it to the new rider!
- Tony, Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-22 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an amazing bike! I just completed my first season as a rider and love this bike! I bought it in May 2008 and fell in love with it right away. It rides smooth, has a great seat height and looks fantastic. I can't wait for next riding season!
- Laura, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-15 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having never ridden before, I bought a new 2008 500 LTD not knowing whether or not I was even going to like riding. I love this bike. The price was right and it has more than enough power for me. I am not even close to being a small person, but this bike has plenty of power to spare. I have ridden solo, have gone on large group rides, and have taken a two hundred mile trip. I have no problem at all keeping up with the big bikes. It will do more, but 70 MPH has been about my limit so far. It doesn't even feel stressed at that speed. I can't speak to it having enough power when riding double, but I don't think it can be beat for the price. The only problem I have found is not being easily able to find many aftermarket accessories for it. They are out there though if you look hard enough.
- Rick, Carrollton, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-22 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle. I love it! After the 1000 mile break in it is crazy fast! I weigh 215 lbs. and it can beat any car off the line and gets up to 70 mph quick! It will top out at over 100 mph but I haven't tried that yet! I get 55 miles per gallon. It feels steady in the wind and the forward controls are great. I financed it through Kawasaki and payments are really affordable for the first 2 years! Full coverage insurance with an additional $10k in medical coverage was affordable too. It would be less if I lived outside of Michigan! The only problem I had with it so far was the battery terminal connector was loose which caused it to cut off power to the bike while riding, but that was under warranty. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone. I will never NEED a bigger bike. The vertical twin engine can beat most 750s with no problem!
- Nick, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-22 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
perfect starter bikeThis bike really does everything you could ask of a bike in this size and class. I get 53 or more miles per gallon. The bike is plenty fast and goes well on the highway if you obey traffic laws (if you want to ride 95 plus miles per hour for long periods of time then you probably should get something else or get the aftermarket sprocket belt drive to lower the r's). It goes from 0 to 70 plus very quickly and you can ride it all day long at 80 mph and still get 50 plus mpg. I honestly feel that if you want a good reliable bike that doesn't cost a ton this is a great choice. It is a very forgiving bike and very rider friendly so it is the perfect bike for someone just learning to ride and should prove to be very enjoyable for many years. If you get a windshield I would suggest the larger one if you get the Kawasaki one though you may want to check on a Memphis Shades or some other aftermarket one.
- Streetsweeper, St louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2007 Vulcan 500LTD for about three months now. My husband has the Vulcan 900LTD and I was learning to ride on that. It was too heavy and bulky for me. The 500 is perfect. The weight of the bike is such that it is not uncomfortable for me to hold it up. It has incredible power. I ride with a group that includes many bigger and high powered bikes and I am able to cruise with them easier at 75 to 80mph.
- Bobbie, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-17 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought my bike today. I rode all day(thank god I was off work). Still in the break in, of course, but the bike has plenty of power and uses no gas. After about an hour and a half of riding, my butt was really feeling it. I'm going to see if I can get a Mustang seat and the bike would be perfect then. Overall, best bang for the buck and gas mileage.
- Byron, Griffin, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-12 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike new as a birthday gift for my wife. My initial impression was positive. Very good fit and finish for an entry level bike. Negatives would be the obvious tank seam, plastic chrome in abundance, and side panels that are not color matched to tank and fenders. Also, the stock seat becomes uncomfortable after 65 miles of constant riding, still looking for an aftermarket seat that will fit. The bike starts with some difficulty on extremely hot or cold days. Needs full choke for several minutes before engine won't stall when in 1st gear. Now to the positives! This bike is everything I've come to expect from Kawasaki = Great value, Excellent reliability, Nice styling, and good build quality. I just wish that the aftermarket companies would get on board so accessories would be more abundant for this nice little bike. Would definitely recommend this bike for 1st timers as well as experienced riders who live in the inner cities and need a quick handling, reliable, and suprisingly fast commuter bike.
- Emil Bart, Mukwonago, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-09 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I still love it. It's light enough to make it nimble, but heavy enough to avoid being blown around by the wind. I ride it mainly on local two-lane highways and backroads. It has plenty of power. Great looking bike that receives many compliments. The only drawback I see is the tubed tires, which I may change to tubeless one day. Belt drive would also be nice, but I'm in the routine of keeping the chain cleaned and lubed.
- David, Cartersville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-06 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. I am surprised by the ample power and great handling. It is the most comfortable bike I have ever sat on. There is little to no vibration. People always complement this bike on the road. I highly recommend this bike.
- Ron C., Rockland, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-21 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. I wanted to get the 900, but am glad I have this one. It is fun to ride with plenty of power and easy to handle. I have ridden with a passenger on the highway with ease. Great bike.
- Adam, Newton, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-03 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'd say this bike is just about perfect. It does the whole cruiser thing very well despite being a 500. I love the smooth performance and ride. It doesn't have the big V twin rumble or noise, so it may not appeal to the straight pipe have to pay $20,000 for a bike crowd. It is a vertical twin displacing only 500 cc, so it will rev higher than a big Hog on the highway, but it's so smooth you really can't tell unless you listen for the pitch of the exhaust. I would like a little more power, but I feel very confident in traffic of any kind. Smooth comfortable reliable. Those are the best words to describe this bike.
- Mark, Peoria, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-07 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike a couple weeks ago new. I was worried that it wouldn't be big enough for me but after riding back and forth to work every day my worries have gone away. This is a great bike. It runs great and it looks good too. I don't like the noisy brakes in the front but I am very happy with bike.
- ted b, firestone, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: