Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles Reviews (93)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-06-01 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Want to commute on a comfortable motorcycle that is nimble in the city and cruises great on the highway? Want to get good gas mileage (50-60 mpg.)? Want to look good on a classic? Want to lean into corners more than the average cruiser? Want to be able to rev you rpm. and feel sporty? Want to perform better and faster than the 1300-1600 cruisers? Want to have lower insurance rates and low ownership costs? If the above criteria is what you are looking for in a motorcycle, look no further. Even in 2014, this cruiser still beats what else is available. I'll be riding this for a long time. Knock on wood, but no problems or maintenance issues. I get to enjoy riding this more than having to fix something. Feel confident to take this on a long trip.
- parpar, bethesda, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-06-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am on my second Vulcan 800 Classic. The first one was nice but a little bit of rust from the previous owner not keeping it garaged bothered me. I found a great deal on a VTX so I sold my first Vulcan. I later realized how much I missed my first Vulcan that the first opportunity I got to get another one, I did. I could not be happier. This one had no rust and looked great. I can cruise around with other cruisers or wind it up to be a little more sporty. It loves to cruise at 80-85 and the engine feels so smooth at that speed. I think it has the same sweet spot as my VTX 1300 but this Vulcan is only an 800. Slow speed manuevers are much easier than my old Shadow 750 and VTX, too. I've had cruisers, standards and sportbikes and this one is perfect as it is between the average cruiser and standard. It handles well and inspires confidence. Like I mentioned before, the Vulcan likes to rev so be aware that you might be going faster than you thought. After 16 bikes in six years, I think I found the perfect one for me. It gets 48-55 mpg. and it is easy to get out of the garage without the weight being overbearing. It is perfect in the city and comfortable on the highway.
- par, dc, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-13 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from a previous owner who customized it and babied it, basically. She has about 20,000 miles and feels like she only has about 1,000! This bike is comfortable and easy to ride/control! I bought a "Johnny Pag" 300cc brand new for $3,300 and thought I was getting a deal!! I rode the thing for 300 miles and was scared I was going to kill myself only going 40 miles an hour! Something definitely wasn't right...so I looked into trading her in for a bigger better bike. When I came across this, the dealer promised me I would have a blast with this bike and even talked me out of getting a Sportster 883 and it was so worth it!! I can't stop thinking about it when I'm not riding and I ride it every chance I get!! I love it!! I feel safe and I know I can rely on it! I would recommend this bike to anyone, especially if your not wanting to spend thousands on a "Harley"! Personally, I think this bike beats out a Harley all day!!
- Anna, New Bedford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got a used 05 Vulcan Classic 800 with ONLY 3200 miles for a great price. I wasn't planning to buy this bike. I was visiting the dealer to trade in my old bike for a new V Star 1300 Tourer. Instead I purchased the Vulcan 800 Classic and kept my old bike. The bike fits me perfectly. It is not over powered, but not slow either. Top speed on a flat road was 110 mph in 4th gear, but I pegged the speedometer in 5th gear on a downhill. The bike was stable at those speeds; slight wobble, but it wasn't bad. A former bike I owned was uncomfortable and unstable above 70 mph. This Vulcan 800 has the same acceleration and power as that bike but without the issues. This bike is about evenly matched with the 1100 cruisers. I ride with the big boys and I can keep up with this bike. I am very happy so far.
- Bart, State College, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went intent on buying a Honda Shadow, but after rode off the lot with my 05 Vulcan 800 Classic. This is a great motorcycle. Plenty of power for a mid-sized bike, but the handling and the feel of the motorcycle are unbelievable.
- Jerald Starnes, Lancaster, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-04 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike new in 1999. I loved it the first time I rode it. I've riden it all over Ohio and Michigan. I'm getting it ready for this riding season, looking forward to many miles and hours of fun. If all goes right, I will be riding it to Albuquerque, New Mexico to visit my best friend this summer.
- Ed Miller, Killbuck, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-27 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike! As a matter of fact, I like the bike so much, I went out and bought another one for my wife. Now she loves hers too! I ride most everyday to work, since I work 10 different counties in my state. After riding all day long, I will come home and she's ready to go riding...I'll be tired and will usually say, Not tonight honey, I have a headache...
- Duane Hill, Tullahoma, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike, and still is (obviously). I looked around at all the dealers and couldn't find a nicer looking cruiser for the price, and honestly, with no regard to price, this was my favorite looking bike anyway. It has nice metallic paint and a nice pin stripe to accent it. There is no end to chrome on this thing, it has a nice big chrome headlight, and really has that old school look. Very nice looking spoked wheels too. It is most definitely a knock off of a Harley Softtail, but I like it. I like it's styling more than the Harley. And there is no comparison on price. I got a great deal because it was last years model they still had in the showroom and wanted to clear it out, it was discounter, and had no frieght or pdi. The bike is nice to ride, smooth, easy to handle, and has lots of power. I've rode through the mountains with it about 3 times now, and it was great. The seat gets a little hard after too many hours, but I'm sure sitting on most bike seats would yeild the same results on long trips. It also has an easy to use steering lock and helmet lock (my new bike I got (enduro) has the steering lock in an awkward spot). Anyways, I am very happy with my bike, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a stylish cruiser... And this 800cc v-twin definetly has lots of power...
- Jim, Abbotsford, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-12 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I give it 5 stars now only because we tore it down and started over. I won't even get into the internal parts we replaced in the engine and a rebuild of the carb, but now it runs like a bike should and you can feel the power and smooth performance it should have had to start with. Take some advice keep and eye on it. You will need to do a lot of motor work in the next 10/15 thousand miles. Have a buyer so now I can get a Honda or one of the top rated bikes. Beware of the dealer you buy from. Last time here so ride safe folks.
- DLR, Madison, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-07 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have sold my '01 Nomad and purchased an '06 HD Ultra. I could not bring myself to sell the 800. My wife got her license this last July and has taken over the 800. My son and daughter also ride the 800 when they come with on tours. Much to my son's distress I put the orig pipes back on at my wife's request. I've installed a Cobra light bar and a flip a lever throttle lock as well as hiway pegs and desert daugs. I have had many offers to purchase this bike but I'm going to keep it period. I get a real kick out of some people who mistake it for a HD Heritage. I replaced the orig tires with Dunlop D404's and they have held up very well hand the handling is spot on. I agree with the reviewer that mentioned the negitive fuel pressure issue. The change to prime or res is the quick fix and is not worthy of a ding in the quality area. This is a great bike! You can't go wrong with the 800. Ride safe!
- Clyde Torvik, Blaine, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-10 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a bigger than average guy, I have a penchant to do things with a skeptical outlook. I wanted to resume riding, but had no idea what I needed or wanted in a bike. It was near the end of summer and I didn't want to spend a ton and find out I was not happy with my decision. I considered the 800 classic a good way to return to the bike riding world, and gain back my skills. What a horse. This puppy could bark, and yet didn't wake the neighborhood: it could keep up at highway speeds and my additional size wasn't a deterrent to its willingness to step up and go. The bike has a great torque range and a smoothly increasing acceleration rate. It has been a great reintroduction to riding, and if I can afford to get its bigger brother and keep the 800 for my city cruiser, I will. If I had to start over again, I would still buy this bike.
- Phil Schroeder, Edmonton, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-03 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2002 about 4 days ago and already put 325 miles on it which, if any one knows Sept weather here, can be a real drag. Bought mine at a local Harley shop. Wow - side by side with a fat boy! I'll take the Harley look with the Kawasaki reliability. It was piped and jetted which adds to the already awesome power. Lots of factory chrome with some extras. Nice chrome drag bars and forward controls. ONE AWESOME BIKE!! What a change from my first bike!
- Ron , Utica , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-03 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had not ridden for 17 years, so I needed something mid sized to ride. I was VERY pleasantly surprised by this bike; it's fast, easy to handle, responsive, kicks butt at lower speeds, has an amazing fuel economy even with the mods I've done already. Could do with a larger tank, but that's down the road. Can't bear to get off it. I ride as long as there is no ice/snow on the road. Had it just under a year now, am sure it will be there for a few more yet.
- Warren, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-08 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic last summer, and weather permitting, have ridden it every chance I get. I commute 45 miles one-way to work and it's perfectly comfortable. The forward foot pegs make for easy highway riding and the low seat height makes it comfortable in town as well. The gears are spaced apart such that it never has any unexpected low-end surprises, yet can pull away from the pack without gasping for air. I mostly like the wide stance: It has a fatter tank than what I was used to, and the foot pegs put my feet a little farther apart than on my old Honda 600 so that makes it feel like a bigger bike, without the weight of a bigger bike. I've had a Honda Magna, Yamaha XT225, Kawasaki Ninja 600 and a Yamaha Virago, and although I loved all my other bikes as well, this is the one I'll probably always keep. It looks good, performs above what I expected, and is comfortable in the saddle. The foot pegs do come stock with the metal feelers on the ends, so that when cornering they will scrape. Not to worry, you're probably not exceeding the limits of the bike, it's just the pegs. Just let 'em drag around the corner. I do.
- D. Kellan, Columbia, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-30 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding a while. For a long time I looked for the perfect ride and found it. My favorite feature on it was a smaller tank. I have yet to see another like it and the grey/pink paint job is girly. My 800 has been off road thanks to my newly-riding hubby has kissed a few cars and even though she runs like a champion. It has also been a great learning bike for my hubby. I just cannot say enough good about this bike. I have never been stranded in about 1 year and 2 months time - not once! The 800 has enough power for my hubby and me to cruise around town together.
- owner/rider, Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-09 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Vulcan 800 Classic for two weeks and could not be happier with it. I can't compare this bike to any other because it is my first, but I should have gotten one years ago, I am having a ball. I haven't had a problem with the seat yet, maybe that's because my face hurts from smiling so much. I intend to get the factory tachometer, windshield and floorboards. Have Fun.
- Rob Tate, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-10 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike 2 months ago and have only 160 miles on it but the bike measures up to the positive reviews I've read. It has great handling and power, excellent gas mileage and wonderful looks!!! (My brother-in-law asked if I was riding a "Victory!" - not at the price I paid!!!) The seat sucks after 45 minutes, but I get the impression that every Japanese cruiser on the market has a lousy seat, given the reviews I've read. Can't imagine why they (the Japanese) haven't discovered closed-cell foam...??? A replacement with a Mustang, Corbin or "Piper Enterprise" option will take care of that problem - then I doubt you'll have anything to complain about on this bike!<br /> I considered the aftermarket Belt Drive but they get bad reviews - "Wide-drive Belt Drive" destroys the lower end of your engine. Given the nature of modern-day chains, a little WD-40 to clean the thing will take care of maintenance issues and really negates the need for a belt-drive option. Also, you can swap out the sprockets to get great highway RPM's and mileage (17/38 or 18/40 does the trick... gives you a 450 RPM reduction). <br /> Great bike - highly recommend it to new or returning riders!
- Larry M, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-03 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. Not to discount what the others have said, but one of the reasons I picked this bike is BECAUSE of the seat and how soft and comfortable it is. I have absolutely no complaints about his bike. I love it, and when it gets old I will trade in for the latest and great new model.
- Carol, Sterling, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-22 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reading all the reviews of the mid size bikes, I decided to go ride each one and buy the best. I rode the 800 classic, the Shadow ACE (which I was going to buy before the comparison) and the Suzuki C50 in one morning. I didn't try the Yamaha 650 because I just didn't think the engine would have enough power compared to the 800. After the three rides I rode the 800 Classic again just to be sure. Absolutely the best ride, with most power, best handling and least vibration. In 5 weeks I have 2035 miles and have loved every straight stretch and every turn!
- J P LAVA, State College, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-08 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a novice rider,just started riding in July 05. I took a motorcycle basic rider safety course which I can't even tell you how priceless it was. I got my license! I was looking into mid-sized metrics since Harleys are simply out of this world in prices. I really liked the Honda Shadow Spirit 750 until I put my butt on a Vulcan 800 Classic and I knew this was the bike for me. I bought an 01 that only had 4000 miles on it from a friend who already put a couple of grand into it in accessories and it was much cheaper than a new one. Anyway, this bike rocks, it's quick, comfortable, easy to manuver and looks so nice when the sun hits the georgeous metallic red paint and extra chrome that's on it. So far I've had no problems with the bike and it's easy to maintain. I took a couple of somewhat long rides and it was pretty comfortable on the highway but the back winding roads is where this motorcycle shines. Dipping the bike around turns and rolling on the throttle, man I simply 'dance' with the bike. I was riding with a Yamaha silverado 1100, a Harley dyna and Harley Night Train and easily kept up. I can see me one day moving up to a bigger bike but it won't be anytime soon as I intend on getting plenty of miles out of this baby, I love it!
- Rob Gerardi, Ronkonkoma, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-07 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE this Bike! I had a sega 650 crotch rocket and had much fun, BUT THIS bike rides and runs like a dream!!! I LOVE the style which is why I bought it and get compliments from every one, even H-D owners! Get a windshield though, as it tends to buffet in high winds and helps with cross winds. I will upgrade to a larger version as I wish it was a shaft drive. It's an excellent upgrade bike but is a little loose in tight turns. But all in all, I would buy it again and I will keep this one just for love and looks!
- frzb, topeka, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a new rider and after getting my basics down on my husband's old Suzuki Savage, we decided to upgrade to the Vulcan 800 classic. When I sat on the bike my first reaction was that it was way too big for me to handle. My husband explained that the low center of gravity would make it easy for me to handle. He was so right. As soon as I rode it, I felt completely comfortable! The ride is incredibly smooth, the enging purrs and it handles corners like a dream. There is plenty of power if needed but the acceleration is so gentle it doesn't throw me back like the other bike. And is it ever beautiful!
- photogirlPDX, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-09 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been extremely reliable. It rides well; has decent power. I like its looks and it's stable on the road...even in windy conditions. I know that I'm tall for this bike and need more seat space and leg room. Has any other tall rider found a seat that affords a little "tail bone" room? Given my inexperience, I don't regret my choice of bikes one bit!
- Tom U, Hanover Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-28 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a babe.<br /> The ride is the only thing I have a slight disagreement with and it is only due to the hot looking corbin seat on my 800 with the extra stuff on her. A bit more padding on the seat would have helped this reviewer, but I wouldn't change the look of this beauty for comfort anyway...<br /> It is fast and growly with the special pipes, hot special handlebars.<br /> All in all, I'm in love again...<br /> By the way, some of my friends told me I should have bought a harley...<br /> I asked them why?
- rich, elk point, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2005 Vulcan classic, it is a joy to get on and just go anywhere. I had a factory windshield and backrest put on when I purchased the bike but I wannted to ask other owners about an aftermarket seat. I don't think the factory seat is all that comfortable, so I know the passenger seat can't be either. If someone has a reccomendation please let me know. I want to keep the backrest so the replacement seat will have to fit accordingly. Other than that, this is the best bike I ever owned!!
- KThompsen, Watertown, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: