Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles Reviews (43)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-04-11 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
best bike I have ever owned!I LOVE this bike! From its appearance to its performance and reliability, it has been an excellent experience. I spent years wanting one since early 1999 when reports first surfaced of this bike. It took years to finally make a decision. In fact, it was my learning that the 1500 had been retired in 2005 and the fact that it appeared the 800 would follow that finally got me to buy, and I have not looked back since. Who could not fall for those beautiful lines! The bike has really proven to be very comfortable on short and long rides. Overall quality is excellent with no mechanical issues to date. I love the attention she gets! I have taken her on a couple of longer trips and, although she is only an 800CC, I find she can keep up with just about any other cruiser out there. The chain maintenance is something to keep in mind, however it is not that bad and I much prefer the look of the 800s concealed suspension and hard tail look. I would highly recommend the bike and hope to enjoy it for years to come.
- F. Salcedo, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-13 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, I wouldn't change it for any other bike, I'm in it for the long haul. When I was looking for a cruiser for the first time, I looked at every motorcycle dealer site just looking for something that catches my eyes. When I came on about the Kawasaki site and saw the drifter, I told my wife that I just have to have it; I made a few phone calls every one told me that it's a special order so I started to shop around for the lowest price. So far, I bought my bike in the spring/summer off 2005. Overall, I give it a 5 star. But I wish that the double seat with hardware wouldn't cost so much...
- J.R., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After nearly 10,000mi.I still love this bike. You have to like its looks, though, which I do. It's not a powerhouse but then again my last bike was a Suzuki GSX-R 750. This bike is VERY smooth and is quite comfortable, even for two. The only downside is the seat/rear fender setup. You can only ride a passenger if you buy a double seat and rear subframe (from Kaw. $$$$). Also, saddlebag options are limited because of this. Again, it's worth it to me to ride something different. PS: This is my 15th bike.
- R., Fort Smith, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-23 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The comfort is awesome! I thought I would miss my old bike but when I picked up my Drifter and shifted into second there was no looking back. Ride is smooth and the looks of the bike are great. Extremely nice fit for tall riders (6ft).....Seat is awesome!!!!!Handles wonderful.....5 stars Kawasaki....you did it right!
- B, Galena, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-21 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ride on this bike is much nicer then the 800 classic. I feel fewer bumps on the road, and the ride is easier to handle. Even for my size, I don't feel it is too big for me, yet it still would be big enough for someone around 6'0"
- Becky, Powell, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-19 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was not into the whole retro thing, until I rode this bike. It is nimble, quick and just molds to you. Kawasaki has really got the mix of modern and old school down pat. I am fully impressed with this bike and plan to have it for a long time...
- Kim, Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-12 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great looking motorcycle. I'm a new rider and it's got enough power for me. That bike will do over 80 all day. The look is just great. For the money it's a great buy. You get a lot for your buck. You can ride this bike all day and night no problem. The only thing I don't like is no fuel gauge.
- Alex, Point Pleasant, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-08 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great starter bike for any average height man. This is a smooth looking, and riding bike. I have been riding my 2003 Drifter since December 2004. It had only 600 miles on it. It has been a solid bike to learn on because it has a low seat height, wide tires, and is very comfortable. The longest I have ridden is about 110 miles / day. My butt was a little sore because the seat does not give too much. (I am a new rider too though). It could use a slightly longer seat to stretch out, but you could buy cruise pegs too. The floorboards are awesome, and add a lot of comfort too. You don't have to wear thick healed boots either. Performance - Here goes. Plenty of throttle, good stopping. Firm front end, squishy comfortable rear end. (I think that is because I am 250 lbs.)
- john ryan, tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-07 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This 800 Drifter is a super clean bike. With hardchrome pipes and rejetting it runs and sounds great. There's lots of power! It's a dream come true for me. It looks great with bags, a windshield, and full seat.
- walt lechman, guntersville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-13 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a Drifter 800 five weeks ago. It has been a great starter bike for me. I love the look and feel.
- Michael, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-26 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have owned my Drifter for about 5 months now and couldn't have asked for a better bike. I love the Indian look and yet it still has a style all its own. I have shown it twice already and took second in the imports on one show and took best of show in the other. The bike is a looker.
- Lyn, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and let me tell you, the ride is so smooth it has me smilin' down the road. The light weight is easy for me to handle and it's pick up and go gets me in and out of traffic easily. Love the look of the old style too. that's what originally caught my eye. Girls, this is definitely the bike of the year for us!!!
- Christl McKenney, Cameron park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-30 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my drifter. It is the perfect size, not too big or heavy for a female who wants to ride. My first bike ever was a 1985 honda shadow vt750. The drifter is like riding a cadilac compared to that. I've had other bikes, but not one this cool looking or fun to ride. The only thing that I have a problem with is it seems to bounce a little, but I'm hoping it's just the tires.
- m wood, bradford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-14 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my drifter about 2 months and love it. The looks are so diverse there is no problem telling what kind of bike it is. The ride was not what I wanted so I added a Corbin seat which helped. The power is not as great as my 1200 is but I can still ride with the big boys. I have no regrets in buying this bike. Makes an old man look good. The pipes make this bike stand out.
- robbie Wilkerson, conway, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-17 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is actually a 2000. I wanted one before the dual seat was removed and the blacked out frame replaced by chrome. The only thing I wish is that the chain drive was a belt. There's a company that sells just such a kit, but reviews are about 50/50.
- Dallas, Philadelphia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm in total all with my bike. It not only looks good, feels good it performs awesome! I've done some modifications, like a hypercharger, jets and exhaust but can't tell you how many looks and questions I get about the 800 Drifter. It has a lot more power and appeal than a Yamaha V-Star. More hp than a Sportster also doesn't shake at 70mph or above. Would highly recommend.
- Jonathan Soto, Longmont, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-10 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 800 Drifter as an "around town" bike. I've added all the accessories I could find, even a hand shifter conversion. The bike has plenty of power and is lightweight. My father had a surplus "30.50" Indian and the 800 comes closest to the look of an antique Indian. My other bike is a 2002 Gold Wing, which is why the Drifter is for local riding. By the way a 1950 Chief weighed 550 pounds, made 50 horsepower and had hydraulic forks. Sounds like the specs of an 800.
- Kelly, Lockport, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-14 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike that I have ever owned. I bought for the looks and have been pleasantly surprised by its performance. I would much rather ride my drifter than my friends V-star or another friends Valkerie tourer. The only thing that could make it better would be louder pipes from the factory, but that is just a minor thing. Great bike!!!
- Jason, Copperas Cove, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-11 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I OWN A 2000 800 DRIFTER. I BOUGHT IT NEW. I've BEEN RIDING BIKES FOR OVER 30YRS. THIS HAS TO BE ONE OF THE SMOOTHEST RIDING CRUSIERS I've RIDDEN. OTHER THAN FULL DRESS BIKES. I've ADDED A WINDSHEILD BACKREST SADDLEBAGS AND CUSTOM PIPES. MY GIRLFRIEND WHO HAS BACK PROBLEMS CAN RIDE ALL DAY WITHOUT PROBLEMS WHERE AS A HARLEY CAUSES GREAT DISCOMFORT. IT HAS GREAT POWER AND CRUISES GREAT UNDER LOAD. I've BEEN ON POKER/RALLY RUNS WITH FULL PACK AND TENT AND SADDLE BAGS LOADED. DEFINITELY NO COMPLAINTS.
- RON TODISH, OKLAHOMA CITY, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-04 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned this bike for about 6 months (bought in Jan 03). It's great for Sunday morning cruises. The power is adequate for solo riding. The front brake is noisy (sometimes sounds like I'm grinding gravel) but works fine. I even took it to the dealer to verify. I was told it was because the drifter uses metallic brake pads. The cooling system is great for riding in the hot Texas summers. Only comes on when I'm waiting on a traffic light. Gas mileage is about 40 mpg on regular. I hit the reserve at about 120 miles. Cleaning the chain is a pain. I had to buy a motorcycle jack to lift the bike up. I am still using the stock pipes because I can't see forking over $500 dollars for more decibels. I bought the bike to ride it--not to listen to it! I still get a lot of looks from other bikers (even the sacred HD riders). The reason this bike didn't get 5 stars is because I am getting a very noticeable vibration (from the engine?) after riding for about an hour. I can ride about 200 miles in one day before I really want to get off to give my hiney a break. Oh, if you decide you want to change your solo seat for a double, be ready to dish out about $800.00 (ouch!). A quote I saw on a t-shirt: "You'll never see a motorcycle parked outside of a shrink's office!!!" Live to Ride...
- Lupe Sosa, Jr., Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-27 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 3rd year on the Drifter 800 and I must say that it is great bike. The only part needed was a starter relay and with over 33,000 miles of starts, I cant complain.Yes at this point 33,000 + and no problems.Drift on!!
- Joe KIng, Holley, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-29 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You either love the look or hate it....and I love it. I am impressed mostly with the looks, and the handling, although scraping the floorboards is common in the turns. Not much power compared to my prior rides, but very comfortable, and I am almost 6' 2". I put on some aftermarket handlebar pullbacks to raise the bars two inches, and also installed a windshield, light bar and engine guards...all of which look good and are quite functional. Mechanically, the chain is a pain to lube, but I bought an engine stand to make it easier. The bike is cold blooded, and even on a warm afternoon, needs the choke for the first five minutes or so. Braking is amazingly good. I wish it had a sixth gear.......all in all, much nicer than the 1500 Drifter, and a top choice for a light cruiser, if zero to sixty isnt' important to you anymore.....
- gor4844, matawan, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-20 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning one of these for just a few weeks, I can assure you that I have yet to find an unbecoming or awkward view of the bike, it is all eye candy everywhere you look ! Be prepared to get looks everywhere you go, and it's just a kick in the pants to have the oldtimers come up and tell me about their Indians back in the day. After riding a 1500 Vulcan it is very clear, the 800 is the one to have. Not because it does look more authentic to the Indian, but because, as one test rider remarked: "Dude, it's just like a Dirt Bike!". Monoshock, good old fashioned chain drive and the wide handlebars give you the feeling of riding a vintage hardtail machine, except that all the little bumps in the road don't bother you a bit.,and you don't need to carry a toolbox with you. Sitting perfectly upright with your feet directly beneath you, controlling the weight of the bike in turns is effortless and easy. The wide handle bar is as comfortable as it looks, as is the wide Solo Seat and vibration is not a problem there or on the handlebar. It is almost ironic how a bike as pretentious and preposterous as this fake Kawasaki Indian would turn out to be such a breakthrough in motorcycle design because it actually manages to save all the desirable attributes of a vintage machine while eliminating all the undesirable ones. Gone are hard to reach rusty bolts inside the fender, hello lightweight, easy to unbolt and install pastic fenders. Goodbye shaky iffy drum brake, hi there Ninja disc brakes. What makes this bike a breakthrough is that it is greater than the sum of its indivdual parts. It feels raw, but it is in fact buttery smooth. The Drifter 800 is capable of reaching and maintaining speeds of up to 90 mph effortlessly, but what makes it great is that it does not invite you to do so. It is the least hurried motorcycle I have ever ridden. It's not a Harley, nor is it a "girlie bike" as others have claimed, but it is a perfect beginners bike and best described as Wolf in Sheeps Clothing. Few bikes have ever offered themselves up to having so much fun, both riding one and customizing it. How many bikes are there that would look just as good or better if you painted all the chrome black? Last but not least, Kawasaki is not asking for too much money, and that was a deciding factor for me. Looking at the quality and the workmanship of the Drifter, I was ok with what I was getting for my Dollar. But now, having spent some miles on it, I must admit: I have stolen from the Kawasaki Heavy Industries Corporation.
- 7, Grand Junction, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-14 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i picked up my bike may 3.i rode it around the block i loved it first ride since 1983.everyone loves its looks. its like owning a custom bike.kawasaki should keep making it,give all those indian lovers an option. let the good times roll.
- drifter dave, fostoria, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-21 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Drifter Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
hi drifter, iam 32 years old and i e-mail you from greece europe. i think that kawasaki drifter 800 is very successful model. its a retro cruiser, reminiscent of the 1940s'. i bought it 2 years ago and iam satisfied. i would prefer fenders be made from iron (plastic is so phoney).on the other hand chrome is all over. i recoment it. for your information this bike is more expensive here in europe than us. its price is 9700$ (new). take care.panos
- Panos, Salonica, Greece

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: