Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles Reviews (64)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-08-09 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a returning biker who finally got a deal I couldn't refuse. This is my first cruiser and my maturing body absolutely loves it. Lots of room for this older belly to hang out without hitting tank and a great Mustang gel seat that feels more comfortable than anything in my home. I got the bike equipped with a Kuryaken Hyper Charger and 2" slash cut Cobra Pipes which provides ample power out of this 805cc engine. When I went in for a safety check, the dealer thought it was a Harley! Awesome sound, very comfy seat, and 45mpg. Happy in Hawaii...
- Flash, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-11 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This being my third bike since a beginner 15 years ago, I have to say, not bad. The stock seat sucks, as most stock seats do, so I'd recommend getting rid of that. Maintenance wise, not much is needed over the long haul except for oil changes and such. that's a good thing, because any work to be done is a pain as it's hard to get to anything without moving a lot of other things out of the way. That being said, anyone with mechanical aptitude can work on this bike. I've changed the leaking coolant pipe on the right cover, the chain and sprockets, front brake pads twice, and the light switch. There are a lot of aftermarket parts for this bike and mods are easy to do. The high rpm's at highway speeds are annoying, so do what I did. When it's time to change the sprockets, get the rear one with less teeth. I went from the 42 stock to a 39, and wow! Now I can peg the speedo.
- Ron, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-10 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My VN800A is just a hair over 44,000 miles and still running strong. Recently had the oil changed and the carbs cleaned and it runs as good as the day I bought it new. This bike is almost bulletproof. It even survived my wife using it for the DOD required MSF course.
- Chris, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-29 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I went to look at this, basically stock, bike I was surprised. I am a large man, but it fit pretty well, and the first time I rode it the power it had with me on it was very pleasing. Now if I can find a fault with it, it would be that my long old legs need a bit more room, but that can be remedied with forward controls, which I wanted anyway. Personally I think the bike is better suited for a shorter individual, if someone wants to keep it stock. Since I have plans to customize it I am not concerned. I have found many aftermarket parts to do what I want. Having a steak appetite and a hamburger budget, this suits what I want very well in balance, comfort, and power.
- Mad Drake, Oskaloosa, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Found this one for sale, PAY OFF. Had 1230 miles and a GREAT champange color with Buffalo saddle bags. Rides VERY nice, handles great and with myself and my wife, NOT A PROBLEM. Plenty of power. No maintenance. Feels like it will run forever. Have been driving it back and forth to work,(100 Miles round trip) and still want to ride when I get home.
- Eddie Rachinskas, Port Deposit, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-06 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Vulcan 800 Clsssic was a really nice bike when I bought it, but after doing some upgrades it's one of my favorite bkes of the last 30 years. I have made the fit and comfort better by adding forward coontrols and a Mustang seat. The performance was enhanced by adding a Hypercharger, Vance & Hines unbaffled pipes, and rejetting to a size #180 main. Reliability and 'cool factor' enhanced by adding a Wide Drive belt drive conversion. This bike will now outrun most any Harley you'll come up on, and will hang with a Mean Streak or a 1400 Intruder in a straight line race. It handles and corners better than either. All while getting over 50mpg. Coolness defined.
- Doby, Santa Fe, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-16 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a 1998 that I bought used. Put 14,000 miles on it pretty quick. Engine came apart, but not Kawasaki problem. Looks like prior owner was messing with it inside. Bought 2004 with 2200 miles. Now have 16,000 + miles on it. This bike is great. My wife and I ride two-up and put a weeks worth of gear in my dresser mounted to the sissybar. We both are not small people but the bike handles it well. Pipes and a hyper charger changed the bike to the point where we can keep up with the big boys in the mountains of New York with no problem. One caution! The bike when loaded with two people and 60 lbs of gear on the back will not hesitate to lift the front wheel off in an aggresive start, such as pulling out into heavy traffic or just showing off. Love my Vulcan!
- Craig Fenoff, Lehighton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-04 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was the first bike that I ever rode and owned. I could not have asked for a better starter bike than this one. It is easy to ride and has nice power and performance. Anyone can ride this bike. It is so easy to control and ride. Another quality Kawasaki product.
- Fester, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-05 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a bike I've wanted since 2001. Now that I finally have the 2001 and it's 2006, I'm loving it. This has got to be one of the best inexpensive cruiser looking bikes one could buy. I've done a few changes to mine but I'm not done. When it is done I want it to look the same, yet totally different. Plus it's easy to find good parts for. P.S. Make your own FWD Controls...
- James F-, Elk River, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-11 1999 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden many miles in this seat and the handling and reliability cannot be beat. The bike turns heads and in my opinion is one of the most reliable bikes on the market!
- DL Sanders, Glendale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-10 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Started riding on May 13 2007. Bought a new 2006 Honda Rebel and rode it 1200 miles just to realize it is much too small for my size and not stable in side winds. After passing the MSF course, I purchased (07/19) a used 2003 Vulcan 800 A9 with 2550 miles on it that has not been ridden for 2 years. After puring into the fuel tank Sea Foam, as well as Yamaha special solution into the carburator, the bike came alive and runs like a champ since than. 80 MPH on highway - no problem. 50 mph in 2nd gear - no problem. Accelerates, cruises and overall performs beyond expectations. Yea, it has chain which requires cleaning (I do it every 1500 miles) and yes, it is carburated, so it needs some warming in cold days. But I have ridden it in temperatures between 35 - 90 F and had no issues. One of the best deals you can get as a used bike. 5 star all the way.
- Zohar Rennert, Merion Station, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-13 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2005 VN800 Classic in January 2006 to get back into riding after a 30 year absence. I have found this bike to be very reliable, fun to ride and I feel very safe on it. The only complaint I have is with the stock seat. After 80 miles on the saddle, it's a butt killer and you have to take a break! Dealer satisfaction is extremely high; I could not ask for better support and service from them.
- Bob Spear, Wilton, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-06 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Vulcan with 400 miles on it in Oct, 2005 and I've put over 3600 miles on it. I love riding it, with just the right amount of power to keep up with my riding group it's been a joy to ride. Everywhere I go someone comments on how nice it is and they love the color. I rode when I was much younger but I hadn't rode in over 25 years when I bought this bike, it was like riding a bike, it just came back naturally. I don't think you'll be disappointed in this bike at all.
- Donna, Mendenhall, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-22 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike, rides well, I can't get enough. Wow power is there when needed, I also bought mine used and someone put straight pipes on it, I love them too. Used to think too loud, but grew on me. Wouldn't sell for anything.
- Sean, Clinton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-22 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 8000 miles I still really dig this ride. Handles very well in the city , country or at 85 on the highway. The seat gets a little uncomfortable on long rides and that I will be changing soon. The 900 looks like a nice ride but from what I have heard other than some cosmetics , not much of an upgrade.
- Tommy01801, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-17 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great. I am a recovering sportbike addict, so I needed something lightweight with plenty of power, and nice styling. I am still breaking this bike in, so I have not really gotten to see what it is capable of. But in the parking garage the other day I goosed the throttle just to get a little taste, and the front wheel came off the ground just a bit. The bike is a bit asthmatic (coughs & wheezes) when it comes out of the box, so plan on a jet kit and aftermarket pipe almost immediately. Do this along with an aftermarket intake system, and not much this side of a sportbike will be able to keep up with you through the gears.
- PC, Surprise, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-08 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding my Vulcan 800A for about 3 months now and close to the 1000 mile break-in. The ride is actually getting smoother as it gets closer to total break-in. I had it on the highway at about 80mph -- a little more weight would probably provide more steadinesses, but I kept up with traffic without vibration. I did some accessorizing: windshield, floorboards, saddlebags and a mustang seat. The seat is the ultimate; I was able to do 100 miles in one day without much fuss.
- Michael, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-12 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 800 Vulcan for about three weeks now. This is a really comfortable bike that performs well. My wife and I ride together and she finds that the rear seat is the most comfortable of any other bike. Can't wait to upgrade the exhaust and add a backrest. Love the way this bike looks, it turns some heads. The price on this bike can't be beat, lots of bang for your buck. Would highly recommend this bike to anyone.
- K. Story, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-14 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was caught between purchasing a Yamaha 1100 or a Kawasaki 800 and am glad that I bought the 800 as a new rider. Having had a chance to work with the bike, I am well pleased that the engine has plenty of power for an 800cc size and good shifting through the gears. Things nice to see on the bike are a steering lock and helmet lock for convenience, soft ride, comfortable seat (have not been on 2 hour+ long ride yet). The handle bars are more narrow than others but did not cause any conflicts. The throttle is smooth and pick-up is surprisingly swift. Good sporty bike. When I buy another, I will still keep this one for sport riding. Gives me an appreciation for having a sporty looking machine, and probably will next purchase a SuperSport 1500cc+. Remember... it's all about having a good time and this bike will give it to you.
- Benjamin Huff, Laytonsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally have the new pipes installed. I changed from the Vance and Hines Cruzerz to the DG Hard Krome 2 and 1/2 inch classic shorts. What a difference! My Vulcan is like a whole new bike with these pipes. This bike was made to have a good exhaust system on it. There is a definite increase in power and the bike just sounds great. The more I ride this bike the more I like it. Great Metric Cruiser all around. I am real glad I opted against the purhcase one of the more popular HD cruiser makes.
- Daniel Rembish, Mount Joy, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-30 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 4500 wonderful miles on my bike and it's still a thrill to ride. For me it has been very comfortable on trips and as reliable as a rock. Since I bought it I have installed a sissy bar and vance and hines cruzers and they not only enhance the look of my bike but they also sound awesome. I've been getting a consistent 54 miles to the gallon out on the road even at freeway speeds. These bikes are absolutely incredible as far as durability. The used bike I rode was a 95 model with over 48,000 miles on it and it was just as tight as a new bike. That was the test ride that convinced me to buy this one in the first place. If I have any complaint at all it would be that I would rather it had belt drive instead of chain and kawasaki needs to build this in a larger displacent version in order to get me to trade up. Otherwise, when I get new bike fever again I'm going to trade it in on the exact same thing. Ride safe !
- Doug, Camdenton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-03 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for about 3 months and I just got a New 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 800. It is my first bike ever. I have about 123 miles on it and I am still breaking it in. But for my first bike I can say that there is nothing wrong with it. The size and the power of it is great. And Also I am 6 ft. tall and I am comfortable when riding. I looked at the 750 and I didn't like the way I felt so I went up to the 800. All and all I have to say that the Vulcan 800 is one of the best bikes out the for the price.
- Kyle, Elgin, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-27 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the Classic model. Excellent starter bike for a newbie my size. Still a comfortable ride and looks great. Out of the pocket performance was comparable a buddy's Katana 600. Doesn't really like anything above 90mph, but it will do it with room to spare. Hey, it's a cruiser. The only real thing that bothers me is the chain-drive. It makes it impossible to keep the rear-wheel clean, wire-spokes are a pain to clean. Handles VERY nice through the turns, and is overall very maneuverable. I definitely recommend this bike.
- Scott, St. Charles, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-08 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am about to top 20K on a 2003 800A, runs as good as when it came off the showroom floor.
- Chris Steinbach, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-02 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my new Vulcan 800A for 3 days now. I am very impressed with the overall quality of this bike. And believe me I studied the market before buying. It truly is the best value out there. In my opinion the pictures on Kawasaki's site do not do this bike justice. Seeing it in person, it is much more impressive. It looks fantastic. And with a few modifications it will look devastating. It is the perfect bike to modify to the max. The price leaves a lot of room in the budget for modifications. And you'll want to make a few; the stock exhaust is way to quiet. My impressions riding so far. Love the tall and skinny front tire with spoke wheel, it looks very cool. The motor is the most impressive part of this package. It's got guts, stock right off the show room floor it will surprise you. Your smile gets bigger and bigger. Handling is good, the fork is raked out so this is not a sport bike, and the brakes are average but adequate so again this isn't a bike to ride hard at the limits all the time but that isn't my thing anyway. Change the seat ASAP, I do not care for the way it feels and I think it looks atrocious. If you get one you won't be disappointed.
- Jon H., Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: