Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles Reviews (105)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2015-01-14 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The purchase of this bike was my first motorcycle and I still own and drive it everyday. I drove the bike from Connecticut to South Carolina and the bike performed very good on the highway and still runs very good with regular maintenance done according to the chart. I just had my third set of tires put on the bike so I'm ready for many more miles. I purchased my bike in Groton, CT and the staff was very friendly and helpful to a first time rider, very good on the price and would recommend them to anyone. My bike is stock from the factory and have not put on any accessories yet, but I'm getting saddlebags soon.
- Rick Haney, Summerville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-10-29 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the bike I traded in, just because I wanted something a bit larger. The 900 was reliable and awesome. It is a great midsize or starter bike. I hope it finds a great home!
- M Farkas , Berlin, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-06-04 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a project bike for urban use. I picked up a used VN900 Classic with low miles, Cobra exhaust, ECU and air intake. I knew immediately I was going to make it into a bobber. Riding it home in stock form, the stock seat is rough. Only after about 30 - 45 minutes my butt was sore. It's similar to a VStar 650's seat. It's not a big deal as this was going to change. It's down on power, which I expected. I have a Roadstar 1700 and sold a Triumph Speed triple 1050 to get this Vulcan. Again, not a big deal for around town. On the freeway, 60 is the sweet spot, 70 is where the engine revs are getting high. On the plus side, the gas needle doesn't budge which is awesome. The Cobra dragster exhaust doesn't sound that great. It's loud with no character. I put some different baffles in which helped some. There's lots of plastic which surprised me. Fenders, side covers, engine covers, all plastic! As a bobber, this is a great, fun bike. I haven't touch my Roadstar in months, preferring the Vulcan. It's a lot lighter, more nimble and a kick in the pants to ride. I put on tracker bars and Avon grips which totally changes the ride character to something you want to ride aggressive.
- Lanu, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-05-17 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First I love this bike and would buy it again. The only problem I've had is the kick stand wore out at 15,000 miles. It had to be welded and re-drilled. Apparently this is a common problem. The seat needs to be softer. I get a sore butt after 30 minutes. A smaller person may not have a problem. You will need a windshield if you go faster than 50-55. If you don't have a windshield, better hang on tight! At 65+ mph., it has a vibration that will hurt after a few minutes. This is a common problem of this model. I get 42 mpg. with or without a passenger. It has plenty of power, the balance is great and it is really fun to ride.
- Lou, Kathleen, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-30 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are wondering if this bike is too big for you, it's not! At first I was intimitated by anything over 500ccs. After taking the MSF course, my confidence returned and I was ready to try the big metal (well, the medium metal). The Vulcan 900 inspires confidence with stable handling, excellent (but not extreme) performance, and iron-clad reliability. Unlike other reviewers, I have no issue with the seat. The only issues I have are with a lack of a tach, and the inaccurate gas gauge (good thing the low fuel light is good! I've only gone 900 miles with my Vulcan so far, and I've kept the speed below 65 mph, but gas mileage has been 56 mpg. This really is a great bike for someone coming back to the sport.
- Cliptwings, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-27 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike in March, 2009 and have done about 7000 miles on it. I mostly commute to work. I have done 2-up, short road trips with my wife. The bike handles very well and has enough power when riding solo. The mileage is great. Until 5k, I was getting 45 mpg and now i get 50 mpg riding solo. It looks are nice and no heat issues at all as it's liquid cooled. There are no mechanical issues with the bike yet. I got the oil change done three times so far and nothing else. Riding two up, 900 cc is not enough on highways. Its not that it's really bad, but you have just enough power. If you want sudden acceleration in 5th, you won't have enough left. The seat is not too comfortable. After 1.5 hrs, you feel you have to get down and stretch After riding this bike for close to year and half, I feel that this is a very good entry level cruiser bike for people to get into riding. It might not be a good choice if you want to use it for 2-up riding and long distance trips.
- Ved, Fremont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used (5800k) this spring after 16 years of not having one. My last bike was an 84 Honda V45 Magna. I'm very pleased with the power and seating position of this bike. It feels light and is easy to handle at low speeds. It goes down the road arrow straight and is very smooth. After about 60 MPH though, there is some vibration but not unbearable. The bike should have a 6th gear for the open road. I plan on replacing the front pully on the belt drive to help with this. The bike is fuel injected so it starts nice on cooler days. I find the suspension to be much better than on the old Magna. The seat is not bad but is a little hard on my old butt on longer rides. She doesn`t have the snap of the old Magna.....but I didn`t expect it to. Oh and did I mention I love the sound of those Cobra pipes.
- Force, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-25 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike about 3 weeks ago. I have only rode dirt bikes and that was 30 years ago. I am still a newby, but so far I love this bike. It is very easy to ride and every time I get on it, I don't want to get off. It just keeps getting better. It has plenty of power and looks great. I got the plasma blue and it gets a lot of attention. It's everything that I think a motorcycle should be and more. This one is a keeper.
- gene martin, greenwood, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-15 2010 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lots of wind blast, and has a nasty engine vibration @70 mph but smoothes out at @75-80ish mph. Once you install the windshield (a must)this bike is a dream to ride. It has all the power you need in a crusier. It's nimble like a 500 (could use a 6th gear for intersrate riding) but can still run with the big boys. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Louis, Kathleen, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-10 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My experience has been positive. I find that the balance is excellent it is almost impossible to roll over the bike. The 900 Classic has just enough power to satify my needs and the confort is very satifactory on long rides.
- Jim Smyth, Lilburn, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-12 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a slight absence from riding {37 years} I decided it was time to get on the road again. My son-in-law bought a VN900 Custom and I was hooked. Searched all MC's and chose the VN 900 Classic. Reasons: weight, power, looks, seat height, and price. This bike fit all the above and more. I got the Plasma blue and I get lots of compliments on it. I go on cruises with around 40 to 50 other riders all kinds of bikes Harleys, Honda Goldwings, Kawai 1700, etc. I have no problem staying with the pack I can even leave a few behind [Like a few HD 1200}. One thing I think a lot of us wish it had was a 6th gear.
- Jim W., Monroeville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-25 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like so many others, I love this bike, but it needs a 6th gear for the hiway.
- DRP, Ankey, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-18 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great horse- I use it for commute and cruising. Excellent combo of power and maneuverability.
- emm, winter springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-16 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded an s-40 suzuki in june for my 900 classic and was amazed at how much of a difference there was in the ride and handling. Also was impressed on how easy it was to go from an s-40 suzuki to a 900 classic. didn't even hardly need to get out of the parking lot on my road test and it already started to feel like I had been riding this bike for a long time. The balance and handling is perfect. The bike also has plenty of power and torque to take you anywhere you want to ride even with a passenger on the rear which is the main reason I traded my s-40 in because after I purchased my s-40. My wife decided she would like to start going along on rides and there just wasn't enough room or comfort on the smaller s-40. But we have no problem with either on the 900 classic. We can both ride all day long and be comfortable. I would recommend anyone to buy this bike if they are looking for a new bike that will handle two up riding and will still have power and comfort to spare.
- darrell smith, buffalo mills, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-03 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased 6/26/2009 and I haven't ridden for over 41 years. Last bike was a 650 Triumph Bonneville. This bike is a dream to ride and very easy to ride. Taking short turns is not tasking at all. The ride is awesome. Ride it to work everyday about 32 miles one way. Couldn't ask for a better Motorcycle for the price. Gas mileage is unreal (51).
- JoeW, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-11 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't compare this motorcycle to any other as this is my first bike ever. However, I am very satisfied with my Vulcan 900 Classic. It's everything I wanted in a motorcycle and then some. I don't regret my choice and would make it again.
- Tony Green, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-30 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought the bike in July 09. Love it, love it, love it. Great balance and power my brother owns a Honda ACE have no trouble keeping up with him or passing him for that matter. Can't wait to add my up grades, pipes, seat and sissy bar. Was thinking about a V-Star, don't regret my purchase plus saved a few bucks, too.
- William B, Edinburg, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-26 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have gotten back into riding after 20 years and decided this was what I wanted. I love the looks of the bike, she is dependable, balanced nicely, and just big enough to ride with the big dogs. If you haven't tried this bike I would suggest doing so...and you will see what I am talking about. I LOVE this bike!
- Sue P, Brookings, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-29 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After getting back into riding after a 15 year absence, I chose this bike for it's look and balance. I have been very impressed with the power and smoothness of the bike. Two friends have the Honda VTX 1300s and we have taken many trips, including the NC mountains and there has never been any time I felt a lack of power. The only thing I would change is the seat. It gets very uncomfortable after about 45 minutes, but that was changed by the purchase of an Air Hawk seat cushion, now I can ride for hours without any discomfort. If I had to purchase a bike today, this would still be my choice.
- Gary Powell, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-14 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The two best features are EFI, which means easy, quick starts every time at any temperature. And it has a no-fuss quiet belt drive. Even with counterbalancers some vibration finds its way through the bar grips and seat. With heat shields over the exhaust you never have to worry about exhaust discoloring. At speeds over 60 it could use an overdrive 6th gear. It looks like a bigger bike but is 100-200 pounds lighter due to liberal use of plastic covers and fenders, but they still look new after three years. Some may feel a little overtaxed riding 2-up if total weight is over 350 lbs. It is the best looking bike in its size category and is liquid cooled for quieter, longer life operation. It is easy to scrape the floorboards on aggressive corners, especially 2-up. The stock exhaust sounds better now than when new; there is no need to replace it. It is a great choice in this size category of cruiser.
- SteveK, Bloomington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-13 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You won't be disappointed in the 900 Vulcan Classic. Its looks get nods from the most avid riders. You'll love the comfort and ride characteristics this bike offers. I took a 400 mile (one day) round trip in January 08, and although normal fatigue settled in, the bike performed flawlessly. This is a great buy for the beginner or experienced rider! Thanks to the folks at the dealership for turning me on to this bike!
- Mick Shane, Olathe, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-21 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A+ to the engineers at Kawasaki. It's the perfect combination of performance, size, styling and value. I bought this bike new in October 07 and I can't stay off of it. I have put 3700 winter miles on it. I find myself riding in temperatures down in the 40s. I stepped up from a VN750, mainly because I like the big bike look that it has. I never would have expected it to handle as well as it does. The only complaint I have is the seat. After about 60 miles in the saddle it gets very uncomfortable. My replacement Mustang seat is on the way. I plan on adding V & H slash cut staggered pipes and a fuel processor. The bike is awesome.
- chris cosminsky, manchester, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-19 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 2007 model and got a great deal. I already have 600 miles in 3 weeks. 109 miles (Santa Clarita to Santa Barbara) on 1.785 gal (91 octane). that's 60 mpg at speeds up to 85 MPH! My butt ached after 75 miles; otherwise the bike is strong, agile, smooth and has a nice roar. It gets a lot of compliments... even from 10 year old kids! I last rode a Suzuki 440 GS in the 1980s. It only took an hour of riding around the Park-n-Ride parking lot to get the hang of riding my VN900. My next road trip is Las Vegas, about 264 miles (one way). I am looking forward to it.
- ed, canyon country, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-18 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at some other brands and models and ended up buying the Kawasaki 2007 Vulcan 900 Classic LT model. It has not disappointed me. I ride 2-up most of the time and this bike hauls our butts any where we want to go. It also blows the doors off other stock bikes. Not only did I save a lot of money, I don't have to worry about taking remote rides as I know it 100% reliable.
- j mc donald, osoyoos , British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-20 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an overall beauty! It has plenty of power, and is comfortable with the stock seat. My legs are short, so I can stretch out without using my freeway bars. Smooth shifting, and nice pick-up. It does wind up at higher speeds, but that's ok with me. It is a soft ride at any speed. There are no vibrations at all. I can get Dunlop front and rear tires. I have 800 miles on my bike, and have never had to change the tires. They are only half worn down. I also get 56 miles to the gallon. This bike has never had any problems, except it needed a replacement horn. The original one died. But so far the bike is an overall winner in my book!
- Amymay1976, NPR, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: