Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles Reviews (42)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-03-10 2012 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a brand new Vulcan from the Kawasaki dealer in Auburn, NY from Steve and it is outstanding. The service department and every one out there are very professional and I would recomend if you buy a motorcycle, you buy it from them.
- C.Festa, Auburn, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-11 2012 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this motorcycle! I've been riding full time for over 30 years now and owned more bikes than I can count. This Vulcan 900 Custom Special Edition not only looks good, it also performs and handles better than I ever expected. The tall, thin front wheel handles corners exceptionally well, the engine is quiet, powerful with loads of torque with a quiet, yet deep and authoritive exhaust note that is music to the ears. The transmission is tight and shifts beautifully. The clutch has a nice firm feel. The stock drivers seat is very comfortable. It's much better than the Star 950's seat that we traded in. My wife hasn't complained about the passenger seat but we have not taken any all-day rides yet. If she doesn't complain we're keeping the stock seat. The bike is still in break-in period but from what I can tell it is already one of my all-time favorites. This is my first (well 2nd, bought a 2012 Ninja 650R a couple of weeks ago) Kawasaki in 20 years. I've been overlooking the brand and that was a mistake. I purchased the Ninja as a toy for myself and was so impressed with it that I decided to try the Custom. It was one of the best decisions I've made in a long time. I am very impressed. I think you are going to love it, too. Ride safe!
- Alex Baker, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-19 2010 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is new, broke her in coming home from Peacocks approx. 100 miles. The power was good, ride was great, comfy, with a plush suspension and saddle. I have degenerative discs in my back so comfort is a must. I found the ride exellent. I spent two hours on the bike with no issues. I had not ridden in a while but I found the controls and handling very familiar. It was like riding an old friend. I am glad to have made the purchase. The bike looks awesome - fit and finish are top rate. There is very little vibration, excellent for a belt drive. This bike is a headturner, the local guys all stopped and drooled when I got home. If you want a crusier to motor on, this is it. It handles very good indeed and the list of custom parts is one of the most exstensive I have seen. It's the best bang for the buck and then some for sure.
- TIM, East Jordan, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-28 2010 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it and put around 8,000 miles on it. It has great power around town and the interstate. There is some vibration between 65 and 75 mph. but smooths out above 100 mph. and tops out around 120 mph. There is plenty of torque for two up easy cruising at 75 mph. on the interstate with good roll on throttle for passing. It has great styling and above average comfort for all day crusing.
- rob, hyattsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-09 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All my friends ride Harley's, but I like to be the rebel of the group. I purchased this cycle on the recommendation from my insurance agent. She couldn't have picked a better bike. I love the looks and performance. I average 47 mpg., purchased the RPM warranty and the only thing I have to do is put gas in her. The only negative I have would be the exhaust note is weak but an aftermarket pipe will fix that.
- James, concord, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-16 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Beyond the great looks, this bike is very comfortable and has all the power and acceleration I require and more. It is a lot of fun in the curves and also handles the city streets very well. I ran bumpy roads with no discomfort. I get many compliments and people are surprised to hear the low list price. This is my first cruiser and if it lasts until my retirement, it will be my last.
- John, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just sold my 900 Custom. It was a great bike that had awesome performance and fuel economy. It just wasn't suited for two up riding for any great distance. I replaced it with a Nomad and I really wish I could have kept both. If you're looking for an entry level bike or just an economical around town cruiser that can do the occasional highway run, get yourself a 900 Custom. You won't be sorry.
- Lindsay, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-26 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 23 y/o female, riding since age 16. This is my 2nd bike, 2009 VN900C. All I can say is WOW. This bike is really impressive, rockin' 903cc. The drag bars and the 21 inch front wheel give it a very 'custom' look. I get a lot of compliments and confused looks from people trying to figure out what kinda bike this is. I stripped all the Vulcan and Kawasaki emblems right after I got it home. The comfort level is pretty nice. I just put a Saddleman Renegade solo seat on it this past weekend. The gel seat really makes a difference with longer rides. The 'get up and go' this bike exceeds its competition by far! I ride HARD and don't give this thing any slack. The Cobra Speedster Swept pipes, wow, are amazing. The sound this sucker puts out is by far VERY impressive for a 900. My dad's got a Vulcan 2000, and even he's a bit jealous that Cobra doesn't produce these for the 2000. Kuryakyn makes some great eye candy for these bikes. Upgrades, so far, are listed below if you're interested. As far as mileage goes, it's about average. Remember, I dog the hell outta this thing riding between town and highway, and I'm still getting over 45mpg. The handling of VN900C impressed me. That bike front wheel is so smooth and reallly hugs the turns. Upgrades and accessories are fairly reasonable and affordable. Only visual complaint I have with the custom, is the gap between the rear tire and the fender. Dropping the rear end approx 1.5-2 inches would make it perfect. I think that's next on the to-do list. About $200, not bad. All in all, I love this bike. It's very eye catching, very comfortable, and the power its putting out compared to the Vstar and Honda's Shadow is way more impressive. I went from an '06 Vstar 650 Classic. Great bike, but nothing beats the VN900c in my book. Great bike for female riders, very affordable, very striking bike! My dad's 265lbs and 6'4, even he loves the ride. These bikes are attractive STOCK, but make sure you put your own touch on it, give it that real 'CUSTOM' look.
- Mari Okes, Lynchburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-09 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great bike purchased used. I have been extremely pleased with my purchase and the overall experience.
- Roger Helgerson, Longview, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike pulls hard all through the gears, looks amazing, mine is red, lots of chrome(plastic)but will never rust, seat good for 150 kms than it gets uncomfortable for me, gel cushion is a dream. Controls fit me perfect, and bike handles, and corners awesome, scrapped pegs maybe half a dozen times...All in all a great bike for a great price.
- Cliff, Mount Pleasant, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-05 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year after researching for weeks (months?) I determined this was the bike for me. A few weeks later, my wife buys a zero mile '07 model for my birthday. Needless to say, she's a keeper (the wife!) My checklist was : cruiser style, aircooled, belt drive, tubeless tires (no spoked wheels), leg room, fuel-injected, and less than a 1200cc engine. Perfection...or, almost. The seat just can't be used for more than 45 min or 1 hour...the gearbox makes some extra noise when shifting gears (so what) and they didn't put enough chrome on it stock for my taste. However, I could not ask for a better fit to my criteria. Well done, Kawasaki.
- Larry, Brandon, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-05 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nice bike especially for the price. Has plenty of power around town and can still get up to speed when on the highway. Although it feels like it needs a 6th gear but 5th gear still can hit triple digits (not that you should be going that fast) *wink wink* Only thing I had a problem with was how quiet it was. Most stock bikes are quiet so that's not much of a complant. I just put some vance and hines slash cut staggered on, and it sounds amazing.
- Scott, Spring Grove, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-20 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First motorcycle, could not be happier with my choice. I agree I wish there was a sixth gear for highway cruising but, I usually hit the back roads and have no problems keeping up with bigger CC bikes. Awesome quality/ fit and finish.
- James Saffery, Concord, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-25 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very happy with the Kawi 900 custom. It has great power and acceleration. The only complaint I have is it feels like it needs a 6th gear. It revs high at 70 mph and above and vibrates a good bit. As soon as I can, I'm going to add an overdrive pulley to decrease RPM at higher speeds. Other than that, I can find nothing else wrong with it considering the price. Fuel injection and the belt drive are great; it's almost like getting upgraded for free. It looks cool and garners a lot of compliments.
- RMH, macon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-04 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned and ridden many bikes and have even done the coast-to-coast thing a time or two. I've always been a sportbike kind of guy but after my last coast-to-coast I started seriously considering a cruiser. I spent probably 3 months comparing similar bikes in this size range and really couldn't find anything better. You just can't beat a fuel injected, liquid cooled, belt-driven bike that looks and sounds this darn good. It's literally the best of all worlds. You don't have to worry about whether or not the bike will start in the mornings (no matter how cold or hot). You don't have to worry about greasing a chain or not being able to change the final gearing as with a shaft drive. The motor runs a little high in 5th gear, but you become used to it, or go and buy the pulleys from Scootworks. Many have complained about the seat but I have found it to be plenty comfortable, even on my 500 mile rides. The one thing that I would probably change is the handlebars though. She could use a little more pull-back and maybe another inch or two in height. don't worry about the front tire either, it's got plenty of grip. It's a great bike, especially for taller people. It's hard to find a cruiser that feels this big unless you sit on Suzuki's M109. No Harley will compare to how this thing stretches out. If you can find one give it a shot.
- Bryan , Athens, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-13 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First a disclaimer. I'm a new motorcycle rider and owner, so apply that to this review accordingly. How I interpret the rating system. 5 stars is a near flawless bike, 4 stars is a above average bike, 3 stars is an average bike, 2 stars a below average bike and 1 star is a pile of junk. First the cons: 1. The speedometer is off; as much as 10%. At a speedometer reading above 70, the bike begins to vibrate. If you read any of the online motorcycle reviews, you'll see people wishing for a 6th gear. Scootworks is selling a front and rear pulley that reduces highway RPMs and improves the speedometer accuracy. This is the primary reason I gave the bike 4 stars instead of 5. Why didn't Kawasaki fix this to begin with, if Scootworks can? 2. The seat is uncomfortable. I added a gel pad and a memory foam insert from knoplace. I know all stock seats suck. I didn't count this against the rating. 3. A lot of plastic. I would have liked to see more chrome. 4. The exhaust spits and putters when decelerating. This is due to all the EPA regulations, so I didn't count this against the rating. Now the good stuff: 1. The bike looks great. I love the wide rear tire and the skinny narrow front tire. 2. The bike runs great (other than the vibration above 70). 3. The bike is reliable. Always starts. Shifting is smooth and easy. 4. The bike handles great. I disagree with some online reviews about the skinny front tire does not inspire confidence. I have no trouble in the winding hilly roads around Austin. 5. The bike has plenty of torque for a newbie like me. 6. The price is right. If this is the style bike your looking for, I highly recommend it.
- David , Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-09 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Everyone that has ridden it comments on how smooth it is and how it has little to no vibration at high speeds. I fell in love with the drag bars and front rim. By the way it is my first bike.
- Scott, Hiram, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-08 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was looking for a bike, I narrowed it down to a ZZR600 and a Vulcan 900 custom. I know- two totally different bikes and the Vulcan won! I have had sport bikes before and now, a bit older and wiser, did not want to kill myself on a sportbike like I almost had a few times before. I did test drive both, and the ZZR600 was the most uncomfortable bike I have ever ridden..but to the Vulcan now. I love this bike. I get comments wherever I stop and it is a head turner. It sounds great with stock pipes (will upgrade though for more power). This bike will take corners like you would not believe. My brother rides a 1200 Sportster and while he spanks me off the line, I kill him in the corners (when I catch up). This leads me to the one downfall, this is not a powerful bike. It is a 900cc cruiser and most cruisers are a bit bigger and faster. I have driven many bikes in my day and I am impressed by this bike. If you want a solid comfortable bike that is great to drive, I would recommend this one. It does have some vibration at highway speed and is a bit noisy, but you get over this quick once you start riding. Only down fall is the power but again it is a 900cc cruiser. All in all I am glad I bought this bike and would recommend it to anyone.
- Tim D, Syracuse , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-21 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this bike last Wednesday, so I'm still breaking it in and getting used to it. So far, I love it. The bike is smooth and comfortable and makes the drive to work a lot more fun. Only complaint I have, and it's a minor one, is I wish I had a tach on it to keep better tabs on revs. Not a big deal, but I miss having one. Price was a major concern in getting this bike...it was a lot easier to handle than say, a Harley that I don't think is as well made. I'm VERY pleased with the bike as a whole.
- Budd4766, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm not a novice rider. I've had various bikes growing up, but this one beats them all. I have read several reviews from this web site regarding the various manufacturers out there and went to the dealers to test ride and visually see the bikes (you can't judge by looking at brochures). For me, all of the Metric bikes will give you pretty much the same reliability, minus a lemon in the bunch (IT DOES HAPPEN). For me it's the maintainance and appearance. I didn't want to buy a bike that you have to service every time you want to go ride(HARLEY) or have it be an act of congress to maintain (COST)(HARLEY). But all that aside it boils down to what appeals to what the individual thinks. don't get me wrong Harley has some fantastic looking bikes, even had two myself, but what they are asking for them now and as tempermental as they are, I'll pass. The 900 custom was a new design for 2007. I didn't know about it until I passed by a dealer and saw one on display outside. NICE...I thought. The whole design was outstanding. I test rode it the following weekend, talked to the service techs (a must for any new bike or someone who's just starting out) and then bought it. Now 2000 miles later it's still a great ride. Power, stability, comfort, it's all there. First bike or just adding it to the collection, do it, you will not be disappointed, go ride one, you'll see what I'm talking about. The bike I purchased was fixed up a bit. Cobra Slashdown Speedsters and a sissy bar. The exhaust added more power according to the tech who installed them and then rode it. I had to see the difference, so I took one out that had the factory exhaust. The difference was like night and day. I was amazed at the difference.
- Paul Brinkman, Azle, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-15 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife purchased this for her first bike. I notice most reviews rate it 5 Star (They're right). It walks away from my Road Glide, no problem. It has lots of low end torque. It would be nice if it had more gear for highway speeds (70+). The Hard Krome pipes really made the difference.
- Eric, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up this bike for my wife in April. If I would have spent 13-16 grand to get a bike like this as some of the HD guys do, I would say, well, okay it's nice. But, for the price, this thing is simply incredible. Very smooth at 65-75 mph highway riding. Handling is neutral, which makes it perfect for anyone to ride. Roll on the power at 60 mph, and it out run my bother-in-laws 1500 Wing until we backed off at 95 mph...GREAT! The wife hasn't ridden much cause I need to move the front pegs back a couple inches as her 5 feet of tall put her legs all the way out. I own an 03 Wing, Rocket3, and a ZRX1200 and this beauty still inpressed me, which usually takes a lot. Slap on some bags, fill it with gas, and I'd leave Iowa for the west coast in a flash!
- Barry, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-13 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've spent years looking around and visiting many dealerships- most were sick of seeing me until the 900 Custom came out. I was determined not to buy a carburetor system again and was thrilled that Kawasaki went to fuel injection. I knew I didn't want a bike trying to imitate Harley Davidson style. The 900 gives me my own style and new age technologies that Honda and Yamaha didn't offer. Sound great, feels great, looks great and was affordable.
- Mike Frey, Meriden, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-31 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally got just what I wanted. One of the best looking bikes on the road, especially at the price. The ride seems more at home under 125 km/hr, but I got this for comfort and style. Couldn't be happier!
- J. Elliott, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-27 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Should have gotten this ride as soon as it was available. Sweet is a good description. It did vibrate a little more than I thought was usual for first 300 mi. during the break-in period, but after that it smoothed out very nicely. The more miles the smoother the ride. It has great torque thought out the lower RPM range, but I have found that that the gearing could be a little bit more for highway speeds (75+). Ergo's seem to be fine for my style of riding posture and extra pounds, but it would be nice if the handlebars were adjustable vs. fixed. All in all though, very pleased with it, and would highly reccommend this bike to anyone looking for a middleweight size cruiser. Easy at the gas pump (50.9 mpg. avg. Premium fuel), plenty of power, and handling is very light and sure. I look forward to more pleasurable miles on my 900 Custom. Kudo's Kawasaki!
- Wayneo, Boiling Springs, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: