Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles Reviews (71)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2017-08-20 2011 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No issues, good deal. Seller up front and came through.
- Mark, Reno, NV

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-01 2010 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is exactly what a street legal sportbike should be. It responds quickly to its rider's inputs with both handling and acceleration. Acceleration is very strong. It is one of the most comfortable motorcycles I've ever ridden, and I've ridden a lot. Fuel mileage is about on par with other 1000cc bikes, between 36 - 40 mpgs. If you like your bike to perform strong 2nd gear power-wheelies, this is the bike for you!
- Pete, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-01 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Z1000 for five years and now started riding on a FZ600. When I got more riding time in and wanted more power, I bought the Z1000. It has all the power you need and moves around like a 600cc bike. The only problem with the bike is the driver's seat is hard and the rearview mirrors show your elbows no matter how you try to adjust them. But the bike pulls like a mad dragon over 4,000 rpms. and a gentle one below that mark. But overall I love this bike.
- Robert Stevenson, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-25 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this beauty as a holdover in 05 for 2100 below retail, and it's the best money I've ever spent. As others have mentioned, I've never owned a bike that got so much attention. I guess it's because it doesn't look like everyone else's V-twin clone. I really enjoy walking to it after a day at work and saying to myself.."that's a cool bike!" I'm not bothered much by the vibration issue, lucky I guess. But I do get some serious butt burn from that seat. Maybe time for my first upgrade..a Corbin seat. Oh yeah, I love the pipes too, remind me of my old Z-1, hence the license plate StillZ1.
- StillZ1, Duluth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-23 2010 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Loving the all new design for the Z. Aggressive looks and a nice riding stance means one happy rider. The sound (with stock pipes) is mean and lets the rider know they are on a high rev'er. The power comes on smooth and predictable with ample over-rev. This bike is a HUGE leap forward for Kaw's Z line. I'm getting ready to go Duc hunting on this sucker! Watch out Hypers.
- RW, Aurora, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-11 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in April 2003. I've loved it from first sight. I've always got a lot of looks on this bike because they are unique. The stock seat is uncomfortable but a Corbin took care of that and the rest is history. I've done some mods to it and still love it. I do some commuting back and forth to work in the summer, but mainly ride on my days off for fun.
- Tim Anders, Pfafftown, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-06 2004 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike. It is very quick but you can still go for a long ride and stay comfortable.
- Red rocket, Lebanon , New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-01 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in Aug. 08 right toward the end of the season. It was a brand new 06 that never sold and didn't have a mile on it. I love the bike. It has a custom pearl white paint job so that it looks more like a 08 than a 06 and I like it a lot more than the stock blue. This bike rips! On my last time out this fall I lined it up next to my buddy's 750 and blew him away off the line. It also handles better than my old bike which was a 600. This bike is great for every type of riding. For longer rides it is about as comfortable as a sportbike can get. And for performance this thing is fast and it handles great. I love this bike and plan on riding it for quite a while.
- Bill, Roseville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-03 2005 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Kawasaki Z1000 is by far the best bike I have ever owned! Not only does it handle nicely, get great gas mileage, and ride fairly comfortably; the power is incredible. I have put almost 8000 miles on it just this summer alone without a single problem, which is great. Not to mention that insurance is very affordable! The other cool thing about this bike is that mods are practically limitless, and no one has one, let alone knows what it is, so it works as a conversation starter. If you want a 140HP engine (after some work) slung between two tires, this is the bike for you.
- Neal, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-31 2007 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Z-1000 is a great bike and I highly recommend it. To understand my opinion on the bike I will give you a little on my riding history as you can better understand what I am comparing it to. I am 50 yrs old and starting riding again after a 30 yr hiatus. I have owned 4 bikes over the last 2 years. Suzuki Intruder 1400 (a cruiser felt too much like a lounge chair and was not nearly fast enough), Buell Firebolt which was very smooth, good torque but not a real sport bike (look out for the '08 - things are changing), GSX-R 750 (this bike had wild explosive acceleration, but for my 6 ft frame it was very uncomfortable: neck, hands, and legs were all uncomfortable), I owned all three at the same time and would ride them alternately. I sold them all in May 2007 and bought a 2007 Z1000. What I dislike about this bike is very minor: I am not wild about the mirrors - can't see very well around my arms - they are always in the way (to me this is a nit), seat is known for being hard but on a bike like this a firm seat is not uncommon. What do I like about this bike: It has exception power at any rev level. From 2500 on up it takes off when you hit the throttle. You can ride in a very relaxed manner (low revs almost cruising) and gun the throttle and really take off. Or you can drive it like a sport bike and get high performance sensations. Sport bikes only like going fast, cruisers tend to like gentle speeds, the Z1000 is fun to drive slowly and fun to drive fast (it's really hybrid in this regard). As far to high end racing like performance my GSX-R750 was capable of running circles around the Z1000, but to be very, very honest, the GSXR-750 could perform way beyond my skill and unless one is buying a bike with track days in mind the super high end performance that you are NOT getting from the Z1000 you can't apply on the streets anyway (my opinion). The riding position is very comfortable and natural. You have about 2 to 3 inches more of leg room than a sport bike so the legs and hips are happy. The upright position is great on the back, neck and hands. Over 75 miles per hour you do feel like your upper chest and helmet is pushing a lot of air. If you find yourself doing a lot of extended highway speeds a shield would be helpful. The bike does have a shorter wheelbase than most bikes making it very happy in twisties. I went up to the Dragon's Tail in TN/NC and the bike was wonderful thru all the mountain roads. I rode pretty much the entire weekend and found the bike quite comfortable. Some of the reviews complained about the front suspension. I am not that hardcore of a rider that I have ever come close to reaching the limits of what the suspension was happy handling. Let's discuss appearance. At the Dragon's Tail, there are a bunch of stops where there were hundreds of riders taking a break (grabbing drinks and food). Everyone would stop and look at the bike. The bike is a 'looker it's unique and it's uncommon here in the States. I kid-you-not I felt a little like a rock star. Every place we went guys were coming over looking at the bike and asking questions. You know I think it's the exhaust pipes. All these guys that complain about the pipes heck why be like everyone else and have the same bland pipes like everyone else. Alas beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Finally when I bought this bike I was looking at a KTM Super Duke and the Z1000. With the money I saved on the Z1000 I have enough money left over to buy a dual-sport (looking at a used KTM 450 EXC). This is a great bike and I am very happy I purchased it. Hope you find this helpful.
- Jerome Pepin, Melbourne Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2007 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up my 07 Z1000 yesterday. Am coming off a CBR600 F3 so this is quite a step. Since I've only had the bike one day I can only give my initial impressions. Of course I love the way the bike looks! The seating position is just about perfect though the seat is killing me - it is really hard. I'm going to give it some time to see if the foam softens up a bit, if not I'll be looking for an alternative (could be I just have a bony butt). Because this is the break in period I haven't wound it up (trying to keep it below 5k RPM)but so far the power delivery is excellent and smooth - no downshifting required to get around someone, this thing just goes. The brakes also feel great and have more than enough power for around town. One other downside is the mirrors; I can't see anything behind me, though this is a problem with most sport bikes. I'll be looking for a solution to this also. All in all I can't stop grinning and think I made the right choice. If I remember I'll add a follow on post in a few months, after she's broken in. Oh yeah, this bike is getting TONS of looks! Too bad no one seems to be into bikes like this...their loss.
- Chad, Everett, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-14 2007 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's really nice to be able to comfortably ride Mrs. Z1000 up to the back side of the mountain with a lot of my friends (GSXR owners), shred the mountain side with them, and ride 50 miles back to the city! She is so strong in low rpms all the way up to redline! I assumed with it not having too much wind protection that might be an issue...NOPE. The saddest thing about it is there's only like 2 of these in the state. Oh well just more fun for me. Thanks Kawi!!
- Anonymous, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-19 2005 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had this bike for a while now and found there were a couple of problems. (1) You have to shift hard into second gear; (2) there is a vibration in the bars that make your hands numb after 1/2 an hour of riding; (3) the seat sucks on any trip over 2 hours. With a couple of after market parts and some tweaking, this bike is a butt-kicker; I had it to 165mph at 9 grand and keeping up with smaller bikes on the twisties without a problem. I would say this bike is worth the money and then some!
- Joe, Budd Lake, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2004 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Z1000 is my eighth bike and I have been riding for 35 years. About 6 months ago, I traded up from a 99 ZRX1100-which was a beautiful bike to this bike-an orange Z1000. I was surprized how much lighter this bike felt-50 pounds lighter. It is a small bike but is very comfortable for my size. The power is delivered differently than the ZRX- this one is more dependent on a few revs than the ZRX and the Z1000 is quite a bit faster once the revs start to build. The handling is wonderful and I am not bothered by the vibs others talk about. I thought I would miss the ZRX but this bike is a quantum leap forward- 6 speeds, fuel injection, 125 hp and 50 lbs. less and it sounds so nice as the revs build. It howls!
- stuartb333, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-19 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought mine with 221 miles on it, and it came with a full Akropovic race exhaust and a power commander. Trying to run it in is like trying to stop a bomb going off!! It is mental but absolutley fantastic!! So much fun and can be layed down with so little effort great for round town and twisty back roads. I find motorway (Freeway) riding on it slightly dull as this thing excels at cornering and that's when the huge smile appears :) But then I can hang on the throttle until its run in. Red mist difficult to shake off ;)
- Aaron, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-03 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike, very nimble. It suprises a lot of people with it's power. My only complaint is the seat, after half an hour or so, my rear start to hurt. Otherwise great bike, lots of power and good looks.
- John, So. Glens alls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a blast bought new in 03 and still love it. Was originally looking for a supersport but after one test ride, never looked back. Have a mate with an 05 ZX10 who pulls away on the straight on the race track but always catch him in first corner. Being naked only issue is long runs on the freeway when you have no choice, but that just means you should take the fun way home. Could do with more low down pull under 4000rpm, but you just ride around it. If you're after a bike that gets you around town, race track or even weekend runs, this bike does it all in an upright comfortable position. Only issue I found was that the steering was light over 120mph, but this is because the suspension was not set for my weight. Also added a steering dampner for good measure.
- Mudgee2005, Sydney , Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2003 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this one in the orange. The miles let you know that it is only an "in town" bike. The power and the looks just always set it apart from the rest. Powerwheelies/burnouts are never hard to do. Great all around in town bike. Seat is not meant for any long distance riding. A buzz from the engine is quickly cured by some #8 leadshot in the bar. Clutch lever rattle is solved with a piece felt. One of the few fuel injection bikes that is spot on from the factory. Enough low end grunt to easily pull through traffic. The price was soooooo right for the perfomance and handling.
- rider, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-30 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to own a Honda/Yamaha dealership back in the day, I've ridden almost everything. This is one of the most impressive bikes I've ever ridden and or owned. The last Kawasaki I owned that performed this well was an H 1 tripe back in the day. The mirror's had to be changed, the licence plate area streamlined by Sean at Streetfighters in San Francisco.
- Al Carlos, Pacifica, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-29 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 03 as a dealer left over for $2000. less then msrp. I just got back from riding from Jackson Mi. To the Sue and back in two days. The seat could use some help , but other then that it has performed awesome. I am on the urge of replacing the original tires. Can you say 7500 miles on Bridgestone Battleaxe tires. Love the bike and would buy it again. Oh and it is pearl Orange.
- Bulldog, Jackson, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-12 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike looks great! This is a great naked bike with great mid range power. Wheelie in 1st and 2nd fairly easy. I would like more low end power but come-on who really complains about 90mph in 2nd gear. The bike is nimble in corners but lacks comfort in its seat. I don't like the rubber mounted handle bars and the clutch vibrates constantly. Over all it is great and I commute 5 days a week 20 miles each way. I think the bike is a good value. I would recommend a larger front sprocket for better low end power!
- chad, rancho santa margarita, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-30 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is a rock. No problems at all. Ridden many 200-300 mile days. She's always wound up and ready to annihilate 95% of any other vehicle on the road. If you want to be mellow and just cruise down the slab she's smooth as silk. Mileage wildly varies I've had over 40 and barely over 30 depending on city/highway/country roads and how much throttle I give her. Anything people have slammed this bike for can be modded out at a small expense. So far the Z has not let me down in any way.
- sm, oakland, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-28 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike I have seen so far - Had to turn up on spring in rear for myself but I have to say the smoothest ride I have been on quick, sleek - the girls love it too, haha! Did a few mods to it, changed the undertail and front short stocks windscreen had to get changed over and the pipes are also done! Anyone interested in changing over pipes should do Laser Deeptone if you care for the 4 pipe look also boosts it 10-12 hp yikes!
- Alex A, Malden, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-23 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I first saw this bike in the store I wasn't too particular about it, but when I started comparing it to the usual 636 and the other bikes there.... IT WAS HOT. I guess because I hadn't seen it anywhere before. It does tend to ride a little bit different "funny" after being laid down during a wreck, but I guess any bike would. Overall, it's a great bike.
- marcus miller , aiea, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-10 2006 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a fantastic bike!!! It is great and very comfortable on the highway. The response is fast and the style is another thing altogether!
- SUE, SANTA MARIA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: