Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles Reviews (43)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-11-16 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 ZR7 new in the Spring of 2003. It was my first street bike (although I've been riding dirtbikes since I was 8, I was 24 when I bought this). Very easy to ride. Very easy on gas (50-60 mpg). A lot of bang for the bucks. A Corbin seat is a must if you want to put 200+ miles/day on. It's a low tech bike, but it beats sitting around the house all weekend!
- DP, Far North, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-17 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding this bike for about a year now and it's great. If you are a person who is interested in getting into riding, this bike is for you. It has plenty of power so you won't grow out of it right away. The riding position is very comfortable for a long ride. It is also great for city riding. It is very maneuverable in and out of traffic lights. I have been using it for communting to work and school. Well what are you waiting for? Go for it!
- Frank, Fullerton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-02 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a bone stock 2000 zr-7, and frankly, it is one of the best all-around motorcycles out there. Sure the "standard" design has left most American buyers wanting for some time now, since the early 80's and the Zephyrs in fact, but this is the best attempt at retaking that ground that I have seen. I bought it early in 2004, with a scant 2800 miles on it. This bike is still in perfect condition and looks great. The design is muscular and just SCREAMS power. The motor could be worked up quickly with the addition of a decent slip on (read "not so cheap yoshimura or such") and re-jeting or any host of other minor mods, and handling would be helped by some harder springs and maybe a change of tire to something a bit more sporting, but as is, from the showroom floor.. this bike is a nearly perfect daily drive. Enough power to get the jump on most things, and while it may not have the death-wish pull of most liquid-cooled fours, that are the rage these days, it DOES have a center stand, ample aftermarket, and well heck! it even still looks good! And insuring a bike with almost no plastic is a great thing to come by when you're in college and have to spend all your money on beer and books. I give this bike a 5 star rating only because 6 isn't an option. Congrats to Kawasaki for making yet another wonderfully useful machine.
- Hawk, Ames , Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-23 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 ZR7 new in April 2003, so I got a real sweet deal on it. The only times that it has been back to the dealer was for valve adjustments at 650 miles & tires/valve adjustment at 8350 miles. I've put 8250 miles on it in the first season that I had it. It's been a great all around bike. I installed a mid sized wind screen and bought a set of soft bags and have had no problem putting 1500+ miles in a week of riding. No, it's not as fast as a Yamaha FZ1 or Suzuki Bandit 1200, but it's a whole lot cheaper to insure.
- DEP, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-24 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What's deceiving about this motorcycle is that it looks like a hooligan bike. This bike looks a lot like the Honda 919, Honda 599 and the Suzuki SV650, all of which are excellent hooligan bikes. So, a lot of people bought the ZR 7 thinking that they were going to get a hooligan wheelie-machine. The ZR 7 is more like the Honda Nighthawk...just with a sportier look. The ZR 7 has a lot of great features: good looks, dual front disc brakes, mono-shock rear suspension, center stand, a large metal gas tank, and a beefy 170 rear tire. It beats the Nighthawk 750 all day long in my opinion. The Nighthawk 750 is what this bike should be compared to...not fuel injected hooligan bikes. This bike is fun and does what it's supposed to do very well. This bike can't keep up with any 600cc sportsbike. It's a commuter with bullet-proof reliability, a comfortable seating position, and a look that doesn't' scream "NERD" like some other commuters. If you can pick one up for under $2,000, then it's a good deal I guess, and there's a lot of fun to be had on it. It's a shame that Kawasaki didn't design the performance of this bike to match the looks. They realized their mistake and made the Z750...what this bike should've been in the first place.
- John Shumpert, Chattanooga, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-21 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I bought it in July of 03' and I'm having a blast! It's easy to handle and the color is beautiful. I won't stand out amoung most other street bikes, but I love it. I want to add fairings and I'll be good for at least two more seasons.
- Kim, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-04 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great price. Adequate power to ride around on, lots of potential as with all bikes in its UJM heritage. A great bike for tinkering. Not sorry I bought it in the least, but the transmission is as slow and klunky as they come. Understears a bit, easy to fix, but disappointing on the twisty bits riding it home from its previous garage.
- Howard, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-28 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Unfortunately, no amount of aftermarket parts are going to wake this bike up. It's just too old tech and far too heavy to really feel potent. A pipe and a jet kit will help it to feel a bit more lively, but it's never going to endear the kind of passion something like the SV650 does off the showroom floor. A shame as the motor lets down an otherwise nice package. Nice handling, comfy, and fairly spacious, it assumes the perhaps unwanted role of sport-tourer behind the likes of lighter, more agile, and quicker sporty standards. Have a look at the engine as it rests in the frame- it's a crime that something that large contributes more mass than it does power. It's looks say streetfighter or boulevard bad boy, but it's more roadside diner patron than muscled athlete. Too much lard. A good choice for the more conservative and relaxed rider who wants to tour? Even that pursuit is hobbled by a five speed gear box. It just feels way too frantic and stressed on the freeway, and you'll be forever searching for that sixth gear.
- Mort Williams, Homina, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-09 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes of all descriptions for over 25 years. After moving back into the London and losing my garage my old bike had to go :(. It wasn't long before I was miserable and missing two wheels just too much so off I headed to my local bike dealer to fix the problem. City riding was going to be the main use of the bike with a few tours and the bikers joy of Sundays in the country, so I really needed an all rounder. I am also a pretty big guy and the fashion for today's pocket rockets are just too small for me to be comfortable on for any period of time so after looking at all the usual Hornets, fazers and bandits, along with their sportier cousins I confounded everone that knows me by buying the ZR7! Let me explain why - The ZR7 is not a fashion statement and its not a super speed machine, what it is is a superb all-rounder that does most things very well at a really reasonable purchase price and with far lower running and insurance costs than most bikes around this size. I commute on it into the City most days and its low speed handling is great, in the UK we can lane split even in very heavy traffic (so long as you are careful). When you get to open roads you can wind up the motor and make excellent progress and while never leading the pack most riders while find it hard to lose a Z even on twisty sections. On rideouts with friends it is often commented that even though they are pushing it they just can't seem to shake the 'ol girl off their tails. On longer runs I am convinced that this is a bike that covers ground really well and better than virtually every other bike in its class - the reason is the combination of comfort and endurance (you can easily exceed 200 miles on a tank). You don't need to stop every hour to flex the wrists and walk around for 10 minutes to get the feeling back in the butt! Slip a Yoshi can on to make the noise just right, add a bikini fairing and you've got a bike for all round fun and entertainment. I have had mine for two years now and I can say that even though she has to be parked on the street in all weathers she is still in very good condition - with only a little corrosion showing. Not bad when you consider that I ride all year round in all weathers. This bike makes a great deal of sense for riders that arn't impressed by top speed but want a bike that can hustle along when needed and be comfortable on longer trips. Reliablility is excellent and there has been no sign of the starting problems other have seen. I do use premium unleaded all the time though. If you returning or a new rider this bike has a lot to offer at a great price (in the UK you can pick then up easily for around $3500 for a minter).
- Dumb Ape, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-07 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my 1990 GPz900R A7 Ninja for a second hand bike with low klms on it. I've read the reviews - www.motorcycledaily.com, www.motorbyte.com, www.mcreports.com, www.activebike.com and www.powersportsnetwork.com. Love the bike, plenty of torque over the complete rev range. There's a huge storage area under the seat. The bike is real easy to service, has a centre stand and the rear suspension linkageas all have grease nipples. I find the seat and the riding position quite comfortable. The bike feels well balanced and lighter than you'd expect. It's really economical. I did 300klm and only used 15.5 litres! There are some down sides - I feel like there should be a 6th gear ( my GPz900R had 6 gears, so that may also account for that some what). There is some vibration. The mirrors are quite narrow - hard to see what's behind you. The pilion seat has a steep forward angle on it and the pillion is constantly trying to stop themselves from sliding into your back. All these nits can be easily fixed, see www.zr-7.com I'm keeping mine!
- Jenny, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-26 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased it used in July 2001 with low mileage. This is my first street bike and so far I am satisfied with what I paid for. Enough power to get away from those #@! idiot drivers. Easy bike to maneuver between traffic. Had a few close calls and bike handled perfectly. So far added Hotgrips, Carbon Buell Flyscreen, Progressive Springs and awaiting LeoVinci oval muffler. At 110 kph (about 60mph) engine sounds like it is straining and vibrates. When ridden above 60 mph vibration disappears. Taken it up to 170 kph (mph?) for short periods and it handled fine. Like they say this is a great all-arounder. Safe riding to all!
- Greg, Yokohama, JPN, Japan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-13 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was a little heavy at first. Handle bar buzzing is a little annoying, but after market bars are the best quick fix. Time proven powerplant and quick handleing make this a strong ride for young and old. Apperance and color is very cool,, bottom line...
- Jerry, Long Island N.Y.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-18 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Covered 3700 mi on new ZR7S. Installed dynojet jet to pep up response and couple other accessories. New Corbin seat looks good on the bike and improves comfort. I have found that this weight bike (440lb dry) seems to be a good all around weight, heavy enough on the highway and light enough around town. My 1st bike with a fixed fairing and it keeps the bike stable and with the optional hard bags have not felt instability at up to 90-95mph. Looked at and rode many different bikes before riding this one and have found the bike to be a real keeper!
- Allen Peat, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-04 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was an upgrade from my starter bike, a Nighthawk. The ZR-7S is comfortable & zips when you need it to. The seating position makes my sport bike friends jealous and they are impressed with its smooth shifting and cornering. I haven't had a problem starting as with other riders, but throttle response can be jerky at times. Maybe a jet kit will help. The gas gauge buries itself in the red WAY before it's time to switch to reserve which is kind of annoying. Can't wait to add the hard bags !
- Alisha, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-31 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ive only had my 2001 zr-7s for a little over a month now but really like it. It is my first street bike after years of off-roading so it is a learning curve. I will probably ride this bike for 6 months to a year before moving up to a bigger bike. I like the power although it could be geared somewhat taller for freeway use. Ive had the most fun on city streets though as I am keeping the revs down for break in. A little buzzy but a pair of pro grip model 724 grips helps a great deal.. I think it was a good choice for my first street bike as i was originally going for the zr1200s but thought that was too much as a first bike. Maybe next bike!
- Scott, Brea, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-14 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm having the exact same problems as Bob (see his review). After my bike has been run for awhile, and it sits a few hours, it will not start. Doesn't matter what choke position I use. Anyone have any ideas? Other than this problem, this has been a great bike.
- Eric, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-13 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike. I had Honda 360 many years ago. I ride this bike to work every nice day. I normal hate commuting, but this bike makes it enjoyable. I was originally looking to buy a Honda but decided on this bike for the semi-upright riding position. My brother-in-law has a Suzuki Katana and his arms and hands get tired from the riding position. The bike is well balance and maneuvers quit well.
- Andy Szekely, Stamford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-12 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If your looking for a bike that is comfortable enough to take out on the interstate for a long ride and is light and maneuverable enough for dense city traffic, this would be a good choice. I purchased my 2001 ZR7S about 2 months and 1700 miles ago. It maybe doesn't get the rave reviews and notoriety by magazine writers that some other bikes get, but I find it to be an excellent choice for a number of reasons. It looks pretty good. It's not too small for me (I'm 6' 185 lbs.). I like the simplicity of the engine with its oil-air cooled 738cc 2 valve per cylinder engine and low compression ratio at 9.5:1 (it runs fine on low octane regular gas). A good amount of torque. Great gas mileage, about 53 mpg on the highway and 46 mpg in the city. No it won't due 160 MPH with the crotch rockets, but has plenty speed for passing or cruising at a high rate. A sixth gear would be nice or if 5th was taller. Some times I'm looking for another gear as it's at about 5000 rpms at 80 MPH, but it doesn't feel buzzy to me. This bike probably won't impress to many people on bike night, if that's important to you, but it will impress the person who owns and rides it regularly.
- keith, Kenner, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-25 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There's a reason this 750 costs so little compared to other sportbikes out there-- don't make the same mistake I did. DO SOME RESEARCH BEFORE YOU BUY!!! Just because it's a 750 doesn't mean it's fast. Heaviest and slowest bike in its class, folks. If you want a bike to learn on, this one's great-- but you'll probably get bored with it pretty quick if you're at all interested in performance. If you just want a bike for transportation, then this bike has the price to make it worth your while. If you're looking for speed, you'd best look elsewhere.
- Eric, Flint, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-23 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a year ago and only drive it if conditions are right (dry, sun,70's etc.) I have just over 2k on it. I love it but when it has been sitting for a few hrs (cold) I have a hard time starting it. I do it just like the book says but it wont stay started -- open the choke all the way if it is below 90 deg. outside, hit the button, it starts then stops. Hit it again and it just cranks and cranks. Anyone have a similar prob? Lemme know, thanks
- Bob, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-21 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my blue ZR-7S for about three weeks and 1000 km (625 mi.). I am still breaking it in so I haven't gone above 6000 rpm yet, but there is no doubt that this bike has enough power and a very linear powerband. Power is available from low mid-range. It has a great, raspy sound. A great all-round engine! Can't wait until I can really twist the throttle and slingshot out of corners. The bike holds its line superbly when cornering, also when road surface is rough and uneven. I've stiffened the rear suspension slightly compared to stock setting to better suit my 85 kg (190 lbs.), which improved handling even further. The fairing works reasonably well and takes the pressure off your chest at highway speeds and the white instrument faces look good. The tank is huge, all breaking power you need is there and the finish and build quality seems to be of very high standards. If you want an all-round bike that won't dig deep caverns in your wallet, buy one - you won't regret it!
- Thomas, Sweden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-12 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 9 months of trying to get into the MSF course, I finally did it. Completed the course last week and got my endorsement. I would highly recommend the course to anyone considering getting into this sport. The instructors were very thorough, patient and gave us quite a few riding tips. Half of the class was riders with some experience and they though it was well worth the time. I had my eye on the 2001 model. Looked very intimidating for a first bike but I thought what the hell, I'll get used to it in time. The dealer happened to have a (Y2K) with 3000 miles that was just traded, got it for $1700 less than the new one, being a Cherry as my Harley friends call me I needed to buy some gear, you can buy a lot of accessories for $1700. The dealer even drove it home for me for free (30 miles), great service from Good Time Powersports in Cleveland. Yeah, it's not reported to be the fastest or the best out there for sport/Touring riders or even the most popular but that's just fine with me. Insurance was very cheap, $170/year Just spent the last few days getting a feel for the bike. It's amazing how easy it is to ride this bike, very smooth and easy to handle. It feels light and gentle at lower speeds but kick it up a notch and BAM it goes. Thanks go out to all the other rider reviews, wishing all of you a safe and fun summer. If you're thinking of buying this bike and you're new like me, don't think, just do it.
- M. Martinez, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
have had bike about 3 weeks have 1300 miles is one of the best handling machines have ever ridden. a little buzzy but getting better with mileage very pleased with performance in higher rpm ranges only problem i am having is a charging system failure dealer said he has never seen this problem before never thought a standard could be so much fun
- mike overs sr, Vineland, NJ

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-25 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a Harley but got so frustrated at the super marked up price tags and got you buy the you know what adittude from the dealers. I walked in the local kawasaki place and fell in love with the looks of the zr-7 well I should have done some reseach on it first i dont recommend this bike for big guys go with the 1200 I expected more power and the thing will vibrate your arms and legs to sleep after 45 mins of riding its also cold blooded (hard to start cold) owell I can't complain to much for the $5800 price tag
- michael biron, Keene, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-11 2000 Kawasaki ZR-7 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 6,000 miles on my ZR-7 not too bad since I purchased it in Aug of 2000. I now average 90 miles per day to and from work. 75% of my drive is freeway the other 25% is a farm road. Before I started wearing my winter gear I was averaging 48 mpg (average speed 70 mph), with the additional drag from my winter gear and head winds my mileage has dropped to 43 mpg. At about 3,000 miles I noticed an increase in engine vibration that I found somewhat annoying during my freeway commute. This vibration resulted in my hands going numb after about 10 minutes at highway speeds. I have also noticed a high frequency whine coming from the front end; I contribute this to the front tire at freeway speeds. The bike pulls well with a single rider at 70 to 85 mph on the freeway. At higher speeds the front end begins to get a little light and windblast increases considerably. Riding the bike on secondary roads is very fun. The bike pulls and turns well in to corners. Nevertheless, I still enjoy riding the bike, yes even in the winter. I have given some thought to upgrading to either the ZR-1200 or a touring bike with a full faring, but I have a hard time justifying it when I look at the economy and performance I presently have. More later at my next update
- MM, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: