Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles Reviews (126)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-07-03 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up an '03 blue Rex with 800 miles. I wanted a bike to replace the '85 Gs 1150e I bought new and sold years ago. My old bike had lots of hop-up work done - K&N pods, jet kit, Supertrap S.S. full 4-1 baffeled sys., undercut gears, rearsets, clipons, frt. springs, etc., plus some Racer Supply engine work. My rex is still stock, however in comparison to my worked 1150, the Rex is very impressive right out the box! Upgrade the frt. springs & valves and she'll be fine. I'll leave her stock except for letting the engine breathe with a new filter and end can. This bike is great if you're a general street warrior. I like being able to ride softly but at the same time know I have a tiger by the tail. When your riding down the road in the proper power range in any gear and crank the throttle, the Rex screams forward with relentless thrust. It has big bike world class thrust. The Rex requires extra body imput to track a tight line. Things happen quick on this big fast bike. Newbees will be way over their heads once they wake this tiger.
- Rick, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-29 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 45 years. Club raced a lot in the 70's and 80's. The Kawasaki 1200R is the best all around street rocket I've ever owned. My other is a fully restosed 83 CB1100F with 33mm smooth bores. It's fun and makes smile a lot but the Kawasaki with full Muzzy system is the best ever. Happy riding my Brothers!
- Larry Shaw, Nederland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-26 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this thing! It has gobs of power throughout the rev range - it has so much low end that you can loaf along in 5th gear at 35 mph but cranks on top as well. It gets great mileage, has excellent handling for the weight and is extremely comfortable (with a seat swap). The retro style is way cool. My other bike tends to sit in the garage because the ZREX is so much more fun to ride.
- Jim Westcott, Marshfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-06-06 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The past 3 years of ownership have been a real pleasure. The bike still looks and performs as new. Actually, it probably performs a little better than new since it is well broken in. I get a consistent 46-47 mpg at mild to moderate speeds. Stock suspension works well for my style of riding. It took me a while to dial it in but the fellas at the dealership are a wealth of information regarding just about any aspect of this bike. The ergonomics are great for us middle age folk who don't appreciate any additional shoulder, back, neck, and wrist pains. There is not much wind protection above 65-70 mph. I recommend buying something else if the wind bothers you a lot. The aftermarket wind screens help a little but not much. I don't ride that fast so wind is not an issue for me. This bike is a true all around performer with great manners at low speeds. It is a fairly large bike but once underway it is very manageable. I appreciate the heft because cross winds don't upset it very much. I think the looks are brilliantly executed for those of us who appreciate this bikes origin. My overall impressions of this motorcycle are very positive and feel that it won't let me down due to its simplicity and rock solid reliability. There is no better value for the money that I know of.
- Bill, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-09 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With good rubber, and a sorted suspension, Oh yeah and a scosch of rider skill, this bike will embarrass sportier bikes with ease. She pulls like a train from the bottom up, and on less than 10/10ths roads, she will not let you down. Makes a great track bike on the weekend and then a great commute bike for daily riding.
- merlin, Buffalo City , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-03 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always wanted a ZRX1200R. When I heard the are going out of production in Australia, I rushed out & purchased a new ZRX1200R. 2007 is the year the ZRX is to be discontinued in OZ so I purchased a brand new 06 model. I was looking @ the 06 & 07 ZRX's side by side in the show room & went for the 06 due to I liked the colour more than the 07 model ZRX. These bikes do everything well. They handle, brake, and perform very well considering their price. I owned a GSX1400K5 & can only say the ZRX1200R is a winner & has more power & handles much better than my previous GSX1400K5. It will be sad to see the ZRX finally take a bow, long live the muscle bikes...
- MEAN 1, Melbourne , Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-14 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can you say aout the best bike out there? My 2005 has a relaxed riding position, powerful motor and great looking too. Always get lots of comments on this bike. Put on the MRA Vario windscreen for increased protection, ChuckC's mirror extenders and Oxford tankbag. This bike is easy to ride but has a mighty bark when you twist the throttle. Kawasaki engines are overbuilt and will last - period. Get one if you can find one - as 2005 was the last year!
- Mark, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am entering my 3rd year with my REX and it still continues to impress me ride after ride with its real world power, handling and reliability. Mine is all stock and starts up every time I hit the button. Can't say enough about the practicality of this sport/standard. Fun to ride as a communter or in the twisties. More than enough power to keep up with and in some cases beat the sport bike riders. It's just a plain old fun bike. Out of the 10 bikes I have owned, this one is my all-time favorite.
- DA, Carterville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-30 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ve been riding for 38 yrs. Had 33 bikes. The last few yrs have had Busa, GSXR, TLR, CBR, all big bores. The Zrex is the best all around bike I've had the pleasure of owning. Great torque, awesome real world riding positon, classic looks and I just couldn't say no to the candy blue retro machine. Once in a while I miss the top end of the GSXRs but when I pull up to a stop light I'm reminded of just how uncomfortable those other bikes were and when the light goes green and I wheelie away in comfort with a smile. I think how someone at Kawi must have done their homework.
- Sparticus, San Diego, , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a stock ZRX 1200R. I have been riding bikes since the 60's. The ZRX has a very streetable power band that pulls strong from 2500 RPM. It is a very fast bike but the powerband makes it reasonably forgiving. It turns around 4000 RPM at 75MPH. The seating position is upright but slightly forward with the stock seat. Highway handling is good and the smooth motor means there is no handle bar buzz until you get out of the double digits. Being a virtually naked bike, it doesn't offer a lot of wind protection. The bikes true strong suit is a daily commuter for city riders. It has great low speed stabilty and the wide powerband makes it a great bike for the city. The suspension is more than adequate for anyone that isn't going to do a lot of canyon carving. ZRX's are a bargain in the market place and tend to be highly sought after for drag bikes and for making naked street fighters. For those wanting a budget ride, the ZRX is a no brainer.
- Tbirds, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-30 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had many a bike over the years and have always loved the stump pulling power of a torque monster. This Hooligan is just such a bike. Plenty on tap all the time and everywhere and the cool factor is off the charts. The green ones are the fastest.
- MeRliN, Buffalo City, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-02 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Owned/ridden many bikes. This is one of my favorites--does everything very well. Does get a little uncomfortable on longer rides with the stock seat, but that's easily improved with a Corbin.
- Joe Fecher, Ellington, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-17 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 ZRX and bought it last November. I have been commuting on it and have gone on several long rides. I sure like the power and the way it handles. I'm a pretty big guy so I need a good size bike to look normal on. This bike has tons of power and great looks that gets the heads turning. My gas mileage has been great, about 43 around town and 48 on the freeway at 75/80 mph. I haven't touched the engine with any custom performance mods because it's fast enough for me. I have added a Laminar lip, engine guards, a back rack and a little billet aluminum extras but overall it's stock. The only gripe I have is on my last long trip to LaGuna Seca in July I had major seat pain. The stock seat is not good for long time cruises. I had a little pillow under me for a while, which helped, but an aftermarket seat is definitely in the future or a good gel pad. I am very pleased with this bike and love the low maintenance. don't worry about breaking down on this ride because the engine is bullet proof. Ride safe everyone and be careful with the power of the ZRX1200R.
- Bill Mahon, Citrus Heights, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like our old 2000 ZRX1100, the 2005 ZRX1200R is one sweet machine. For passengers the Gunfighter & Lady Corbin seat with back rest is a must. My wife contends her riding pleasure has increased 100 fold. She no longer fears of flying off the bike when I accelerate (and I do accelerate!!!!)
- ZRX Veteran, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-09 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is not my first ZRX. I had an 01 a few years ago that I put 10,000 miles on. It was a great bike but fool that I am I sold it. Well a year later I had to have another one and found someone who was willing to sell me their 04. I have owned maybe 30 to 35 motorcycles in my life and the ZRX is the only motorcycle that I sold that I had to get back. When I die my son will get two motorcycles because I will never sell my 1800 Goldwing or my ZRX. What can I say about the ZRX? It is an excellent bike for an older individual. Plenty of power, handling, and comfort. No it is not cutting edge but it works great for me. If I could only have one bike the ZRX would be it. Torque monster and plenty of aftermarket stuff so you can make it your own. There is nothing that can't be improved on the bike if you have the money to spend. I don't like stock bikes because I don't want to have someone pull up to me at a stoplight on the exact same motorcycle. Fat chance that that will happen. I probably have about forty mods that makes my motorcycle mine. If you can find a low mileage ZRX by all means give it a try. In my mind it is one of the best kept secrets in motorcycling.
- Ben Zeppa, Sun City, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-29 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 01, used with 702 miles on it. Now my ZRX has 2400 miles on it. The gears are wearing in Very Smoothly. The Power is outrageous. I was cruising at 110 mph in 4th, rolled on full, shifted up to 5th at 130 mph (on a track of coarse). After 5K rpm the 1200 really comes alive. This is the last bike I'll ever buy. It's VERY comfi, im 6'4". Easy to work on and modify.
- Monty, Clinton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-30 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike new in November 2004. This bike is heavy but handles and feels much lighter once your start moving. It corners really well. I like the seating position and the seat itself is great. But, I've only done some 200-mile trips at a time. It has plenty of torque, just roll on the throttle and it goes. No problems so far. I'm averaging about 43mpg. I didn't buy the bike for the fuel mileage, but I've been pleased with the efficiency. The suspension is very good. The mirrors could be a bit wider. When new, the shifting was too notchy, but now that I have accumulated a few miles, it shifts smoothly. A very high quality bike that you don't meet yourself on every few minutes like the sport bikes.
- Bill Austin, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-18 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has the ultimate combination of style, power and comfort. It has the low-end torque of a big V-twin with the endless top-end of a multi. Completely easy to ride, very docile, yet will carve corners or BLAST down straights to suit your mood. Great suspension, smooth power delivery, comfy ergos. The seat is the only negative, but it is OK for about an hour. This bike gives me a thrill every time I get on it.
- Paul, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-08 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I couldn't be happier, it goes like a bat outta hell, and I'm not hunched over the tank. It really is the all around bike. I ride with three Harleys, two Buells and a 'Busa. I know I'm going to go through tires but I just can't lay off it. It's impossible to walk past this bike without wanting to go for a ride. The seat does get a little hard but twist your wrist and your butt feels better!
- Scot, Freehold, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-18 2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 05 zrx for about 4 months now and ride when I can. It is a solid bike which feels like it was made just for me. Ergonomically speaking I really have no issues. It appears laid out with my frame in mind. The bike feels planted for my type of riding. It handles directional inputs well and inspires trust. Fit and finish are as good as any I've observed. Kawasaki motors are both stout and reliable and that goes with any machine they make. In other words, reliability is a non-issue. The bike has consistently delivered 50 plus mpg with mild to moderate power application. Not bad for a motor that is barely broken in. I am completely satisfied with this purchase.
- Bill, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-13 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this in a moment of weakness, lusting after it on a showroom floor when it caught my eye. I haven't regretted it! I cannot say enough about its good looks, its power delivery and sheer AMOUNT of power. Comfy, but make sure to get a Corbin or similar seat upgrade... makes a huge difference in your ability to stay comfy for rides over an hour. Mine is Candy Blue, and it's gotten a lot of looks and impressed/intimidated looks from the other cycle riders. One doesn't look at "1200" on a badge and not think twice about racing it. Anyway, besides its power, it is really EASY to ride, very forgiving, if not slightly heavy. Great for tall riders, too.
- Daniel, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-17 2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a fantastic bike. Massive torque, untold power, terrific styling... it just goes on and on. I had owned Hondas up to this point but when I saw a ZRX1200R I just fell for it. Love at first sight. I love retro styling so this was the bike for me right off the bat. This is a lean, mean muscle machine and it is NOT for the weak at heart. In fact if you have a pacemaker I recommend staying away from this rocket. I think the bike handles great. Then again, I'm not a bike guru. I just like to cruise and feel the wind and be outdoors. Every now and then I take her up beyond 4000 or 5000 RPM's just to enjoy the rush, but for the most part, I'm all about shillin'. If I wanted a race bike I would have bought a GSXR or something. I don't like being bent over the tank like a monkey when I ride. I've never understood that riding position. It is SO uncomfortable. The ZRX has the perfect riding position for me - although I was surprised at how high the pegs were... or how low the seat was. Anyways I'm going to get a Corbin and I hear it will lift me up an inch or two and that should be just right. I think this is one terrific bike and I would highly recommend it to anyone. I will probably always keep mine because it's timeless looking and has all the power I will ever need.
- WestSyeed, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-09 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ZRX1200R is an awsome all around motorcycle, this is my second ZRex, the first was a 2000 ZRX1100R, but the increased engine size & torque really shows up with the extra 100cc engine size. The color is different from the early model, a darker metallic green, and has some cosmetic changes as well, I would recommend this bike to anyone, great for a commuter, canyon carving & can still handle itself on the track.
- Jeff Monk, Johnstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-26 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ZRX1200R is an outstanding overall streetbike. It's an excellent choice for the pragmatic, long-term rider. Having riden many sportbike (VFR, RC-51) years prior to the purchase of my ZRX1200R, I can provide some useful insights to the potential buyer who wishes to contrast this machine with modern sportbikes. The ZRX provides an intermediate posture that allows for upright or leaned-into angles depending upon rider needs. The seat is high and tank low - therefore one cannot use the tank (for support) like a sport bike. Nonetheless, a cafe style posture can be maintained for short distances and provides improved stability and adequate shield from windblast. The pegs are dead-center (not forward and rearward) and are rather high. Therefore, riders with long legs (like myself) have a very tough time with long rides - with much pain in the knees. The bike handles great for its weight. It's surprisingly responsive up to mid speeds. At higher speeds to bike feels heavy in turns - so, much effort is required to lean the ZRX. This bike's handling is an excellent comprimise. Turns can be shaky and dangerous with stock settings - even with "optimal" settings the bike must be gripped carefully in fast turns (esp. w/bumps) to avoid the shakes. The bike has solid power thru the entire RPM range (literally 2000-10000 RPM) - especially in terms of torque. The motor revs much slower than a typical 1000cc sports bike. The engine is ideally suited for street work with or without passengers. The torque is such that I feel little or no difference with a 120 lb passenger. The comfortable, low-RPM torque is great for commuting, and yields excellent mileage with the stock machine. My stock mileage is 40-46MPG. Many folks who modify the engine for power see a large dropoff in mileage with the ZRX. (My personal opinion is that if you want a supersports bike then buy a supersports bike - leave the ZRX alone!!) The transmission is quite knotchy - especially between 1st and 2nd gears. From time to time a light shift in higher gears (e.g. 3rd to 4th) will result in the bike spinning our of gear (into some space between 4th and 5th). The lack of a 6th gear is sometimes frustrating but is appropriate for the suspension setup on this machine (it's simply not designed for high speed work - esp. in the turns). Nonetheless, I rarely break 5000 RPM even when I'm pushing. At 4500 miles the bike is rock-solid in terms of reliability. The stock tires are probably half way down even with some fairly agressive daily cornering. The ZRX is a joy to work on and maintain - chains adjusts, lubrications, cleanings are easy with the aid of a Pit Bull or comparable lift - the rear end is surprisingly light. I enjoy the ZRX1200R because it is a solid, reliable, excellent performing, machine. It hides one hell of an engine under that practical and fairly introverted skin. I park her in town without a lock and nobody messes around. If you're looking for a solid, long-term bike, with good performance and great economy then this is the machine. If you're looking for a crotch rocket or touring bike then you might look elsewhere.
- Chris, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-19 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First, I only have enough miles to give a basic impression. To me the bike is really light. That may be because my other ride is an HD road king. It feels lighter to me than the 01 triumph speed triple that I used to own. It has a nice compliant ride that is both firm and compliant. To anyone who suffers with lower back problems, the riding position is very good and road irregularities are (so far) absorbed by the bike, not your back. My speed triple was an unforgiving machine in this regard. Way too harsh a ride for everyday usage. On it's behalf, it was more track oriented than the zrex and on good roads was an absolute blast to ride. Great machine.
- Bill, Pensacola (hurricane central), Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: