Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki ZRX1200R reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

126 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rick

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2010-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I picked up an '03 blue Rex with 800 miles. I wanted a bike to replace the '85 Gs 1150e I bought new and sold years ago. My old bike had lots of hop-up work done - K&N pods, jet kit, Supertrap S.S. full 4-1 baffeled sys., undercut gears, rearsets, clipons, frt. springs, etc., plus some Racer Supply engine work. My rex is still stock, however in comparison to my worked 1150, the Rex is very impressive right out the box! Upgrade the frt. springs & valves and she'll be fine. I'll leave her stock except for letting the engine breathe with a new filter and end can. This bike is great if you're a general street warrior. I like being able to ride softly but at the same time know I have a tiger by the tail. When your riding down the road in the proper power range in any gear and crank the throttle, the Rex screams forward with relentless thrust. It has big bike world class thrust. The Rex requires extra body imput to track a tight line. Things happen quick on this big fast bike. Newbees will be way over their heads once they wake this tiger.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry Shaw

Nederland, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding for 45 years. Club raced a lot in the 70's and 80's. The Kawasaki 1200R is the best all around street rocket I've ever owned. My other is a fully restosed 83 CB1100F with 33mm smooth bores. It's fun and makes smile a lot but the Kawasaki with full Muzzy system is the best ever. Happy riding my Brothers!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Westcott

Marshfield, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2008-09-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this thing! It has gobs of power throughout the rev range - it has so much low end that you can loaf along in 5th gear at 35 mph but cranks on top as well. It gets great mileage, has excellent handling for the weight and is extremely comfortable (with a seat swap). The retro style is way cool. My other bike tends to sit in the garage because the ZREX is so much more fun to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2008-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The past 3 years of ownership have been a real pleasure. The bike still looks and performs as new. Actually, it probably performs a little better than new since it is well broken in. I get a consistent 46-47 mpg at mild to moderate speeds. Stock suspension works well for my style of riding. It took me a while to dial it in but the fellas at the dealership are a wealth of information regarding just about any aspect of this bike. The ergonomics are great for us middle age folk who don't appreciate any additional shoulder, back, neck, and wrist pains. There is not much wind protection above 65-70 mph. I recommend buying something else if the wind bothers you a lot. The aftermarket wind screens help a little but not much. I don't ride that fast so wind is not an issue for me. This bike is a true all around performer with great manners at low speeds. It is a fairly large bike but once underway it is very manageable. I appreciate the heft because cross winds don't upset it very much. I think the looks are brilliantly executed for those of us who appreciate this bikes origin. My overall impressions of this motorcycle are very positive and feel that it won't let me down due to its simplicity and rock solid reliability. There is no better value for the money that I know of.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

merlin

Buffalo City , Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2007-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
With good rubber, and a sorted suspension, Oh yeah and a scosch of rider skill, this bike will embarrass sportier bikes with ease. She pulls like a train from the bottom up, and on less than 10/10ths roads, she will not let you down. Makes a great track bike on the weekend and then a great commute bike for daily riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MEAN 1

Melbourne , Australia

Reviewed on 2007-09-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I always wanted a ZRX1200R. When I heard the are going out of production in Australia, I rushed out & purchased a new ZRX1200R. 2007 is the year the ZRX is to be discontinued in OZ so I purchased a brand new 06 model. I was looking @ the 06 & 07 ZRX's side by side in the show room & went for the 06 due to I liked the colour more than the 07 model ZRX. These bikes do everything well. They handle, brake, and perform very well considering their price. I owned a GSX1400K5 & can only say the ZRX1200R is a winner & has more power & handles much better than my previous GSX1400K5. It will be sad to see the ZRX finally take a bow, long live the muscle bikes...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Washington

Reviewed on 2007-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What can you say aout the best bike out there? My 2005 has a relaxed riding position, powerful motor and great looking too. Always get lots of comments on this bike. Put on the MRA Vario windscreen for increased protection, ChuckC's mirror extenders and Oxford tankbag. This bike is easy to ride but has a mighty bark when you twist the throttle. Kawasaki engines are overbuilt and will last - period. Get one if you can find one - as 2005 was the last year!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DA

Carterville, Illinois

Reviewed on 2007-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am entering my 3rd year with my REX and it still continues to impress me ride after ride with its real world power, handling and reliability. Mine is all stock and starts up every time I hit the button. Can't say enough about the practicality of this sport/standard. Fun to ride as a communter or in the twisties. More than enough power to keep up with and in some cases beat the sport bike riders. It's just a plain old fun bike. Out of the 10 bikes I have owned, this one is my all-time favorite.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sparticus

San Diego, , California

Reviewed on 2007-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I ve been riding for 38 yrs. Had 33 bikes. The last few yrs have had Busa, GSXR, TLR, CBR, all big bores. The Zrex is the best all around bike I've had the pleasure of owning. Great torque, awesome real world riding positon, classic looks and I just couldn't say no to the candy blue retro machine. Once in a while I miss the top end of the GSXRs but when I pull up to a stop light I'm reminded of just how uncomfortable those other bikes were and when the light goes green and I wheelie away in comfort with a smile. I think how someone at Kawi must have done their homework.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tbirds

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own a stock ZRX 1200R. I have been riding bikes since the 60's. The ZRX has a very streetable power band that pulls strong from 2500 RPM. It is a very fast bike but the powerband makes it reasonably forgiving. It turns around 4000 RPM at 75MPH. The seating position is upright but slightly forward with the stock seat. Highway handling is good and the smooth motor means there is no handle bar buzz until you get out of the double digits. Being a virtually naked bike, it doesn't offer a lot of wind protection. The bikes true strong suit is a daily commuter for city riders. It has great low speed stabilty and the wide powerband makes it a great bike for the city. The suspension is more than adequate for anyone that isn't going to do a lot of canyon carving. ZRX's are a bargain in the market place and tend to be highly sought after for drag bikes and for making naked street fighters. For those wanting a budget ride, the ZRX is a no brainer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 13
  • 1 - 10 of 126 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: