Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-04-27 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
36 years of riding and this bike is second only to my 95 gpz1100. Back to zzr1200 just bought it 2 days ago. It is an amazing machine. If you are going to use it as a sport-touring bike you will have to do the following to it to make it on a long haul. Heli-bars, or at least gen-mar risers, or like I did on my gpz1100 high bend dirt bike bars. This will put you in a more upright position, "no back ache" as we are not all 20 something anymore. Seat selection is very important if you want to log a lot of miles. Mine has a corbin on it now, but, "I have no butt" as my wife says. So I will be switching it out for a Day-Long Touring Saddle by Russell. I rode this bike from Vegas to Colorado, just a short 584 miles. It performed perfect. It loves to cruise comfortably at 100 mph. It has great roll-on power, going 75 mph and grab the throttle and before you are done passing that semi you look down and you're at 130!!! Maybe because I have no butt, but I was not able to ride it longer than 60 miles before my rear hurt soooo bad. The day-long saddle will cure that. I have bad knees also, so I will be lowering the pegs 1 and 1/2 inches also. On the last 50 miles, a guy in a retired police car flew past me. I was running a nice and easy 90 mph. So he had to be doing 130. I couldn't let this happen so, I grabbed the throttle and caught and blew by him doing 175. "You should have seen his face". But listen here folks, not everyone is a speed freak like me. This bike is "without sinking thousands of dollars in", the best bike you can get your hands on. Previous bikes: CB1100 supersport Gs1100 gs1150 454ltd 1400 intruder chopper GPZ1100 intruder 700 virago 1100 and about 20 other street bikes and another 30 dirt bikes. You can't go wrong with a zzr1200 but from stock will take some fixing to make it touring ready. But a 160hp sport-touring bike, What a thrill.
- Lane, Montrose, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-05 2003 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having lived with the big Super-Kaw for some time now, I've had the chance to really evaluate its pros and cons. I've piled on an additional 6000-plus miles since getting it and I can more accurately comment on it. First off, it's still one heck of a machine. However, I found that it took me a while before I could really dial in the suspension to my liking. The rear shock is easy to adjust and getting the right pre-load and damping was made easy to do by Kawasaki's design team. The front forks took quite a bit more time to find the right setting. Part of this is due to the fact that you can only adjust pre-load on the front, so finding the right balance can be a little trickier. Where I live (I commute on highway almost daily) there are a number of pronounced expansion joints in the road. There was too much jolt on the front forks when I hit them. I learned that part of the problem was the fork oil needed to be changed (every two years according to the maintenance schedule). That made a huge difference and now it's really nice... good damping and excellent control, plus stability for cornering. While the weight of the big Kaw wasn't a huge issue with me, I nonetheless got rid of the stock exhaust and purchased an Akropovic Titanium and Carbon Fiber exhaust. This dropped about 20-25 pounds off the unsprung weight of the bike and made a huge difference in the handling, especially with less than a half a tank of fuel. Darn thing felt as light as a 600 underway (almost...). Did I mention the Akropovic exhaust sounds really sweet? And finally, although pretty comfortable to begin with, I got a pair of GenMar risers (raised the bars up about 1 1/2 inches and back a scosh) now it is indeed just perfect. All told, I'm still quite pleased with my Super-Kaw. It remains an economic, ultra reliable, mega fast, well handling, X-country express that is also still a looker. Money well spent.
- Bob H., Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-04 2004 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What's a motorcycle for anyway? GPS, XM-Radio, heated grips & seats, cruse control, etc. I just jump on this baby and go! Since I picked it up a few weeks back, the BMr has not seen the light of day for a while. I bought the ZZR to re-sell but I've got to say the performance (crazy acceleration), low maintenance and simplicity of this craft has me philosophizing the true meaning of the two wheeler. Ultimately I'd love to keep both but space is an issue. The BMW is a caddy compared to the ZZR sadly parts, repairs and regular check-ups are costly. In its defense I must say those little blue and white insignias affixed to it does wonders for my ego. The ZZR is rated as a Sports Tourer but it's not. It's one of those in-betweeners that can't really be appreciated unless you have one or the other. My verdict, the ZZR is a great machine. It looks great, handles and runs like a leopard chasing down an infrequent meal. I suppose this is what motorcycles are really for ... well, that until I need to do LA or Portland again in style! Enjoy it!
- Noah Reed, Roseville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-26 2004 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2004 ZZR1200 last October 2006. When I bought the bike it had approximately 2800 miles on it. Now being March 2007 I'm approaching 10,000 miles. I love this bike! It's smooth and powerful. The first thing I did was buying the Converibars for the bike, and the double bubble windscreen. These improvements have made this already comfortable bike to something you could ride coast to coast, which I'm planning to do this summer! The ZZR is a heavy bike and once you get used to it, the bike is quite agile. All in all I'm very happy with it!
- Ray B., glendale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-20 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had a Honda 1100 Ace for 7+ years and wanted something with definitive power. After A LOT of research, the ZZR1200 seemed to have the right stuff. After 1000 miles, I am sooo happy, (SEE GRIN) under helmet. This is a smooth, reliable, comfortable for 6-8 hours space ship. There are others, BMW, ST, and the FJR that are in the neighborhood but this is more power, has a sportier feel and to say the least it is simply explosive. Crack your wrist and you're gone but remember not too much crack. Drive smart!
- john, hilton head, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-17 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hard to find as there doesn't seem to be very many of them. I have three friends who all want one, they never knew anything about them until they saw mine. A Sacramento dealership owner got a used one in and parked it in his own garage and it's his opinion that it's the nicest bike he's ever ridden as well. I fully understand and agree with the raves you read about on these reviews and you will understand too when you see, hear, and ride one yourself. Did I mention fast? As fast as you want it to be.
- Keith Schath, Placerville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-21 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is off the hook, plain and simple. If they make them better than this, I don't want to know about it. I'm having way too much fun at 45. If you have the means, get one. This bike is a sleeper. It draws unbelievable attention on the streets. I had an 87' Concours before this and I thought that sport touring couldn't get any better on that bike. Long live the "Mighty Ninja",uh ZZR1200!
- Madmusician, North Wales, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2003 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had her almost a year and put 14000 miles on so far. Even though there should be more but I didn't ride much for a few months. Had a 2400 mile trip to the Smokies in 5 days. Pulled 12 hour ride days and had no problems the whole time. This is a great bike. I would like something a tad smaller for running errands around town, but otherwise would not trade this bike for anything. She never lets me down. I wish there was more of an aftermarket, but otherwise great.
- ray, omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-10 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a Bike!!! This is the third bike that I ever owned and by far the most practical. I purchased it the day after I sold "My Tractor" (1998 Fully Customized Sportster). My wife's first impression of it was that I was looking at another sportbike. When she got on the back, she was much more accepting. Then, when she finally sat on it with the Corbin seat and backrest, it was worlds better than my other two prior bikes (Other one being 1997 ZX-6R). It isn't a Road King, but one up with the guys on a bike trip for a week is no problem. I've had this bike since July of 2002 and enjoy it every time. I'm a physician and I commute to work on it daily (weather permitting). There are so many things to say about this bike. The Twin Headlights are so incredible that I only use the low beams during the day because they are so bright (even before adding Silver Star bulbs). The taillights are huge (excellent lighting from behind). Performance is incredible for a "Sport Tourer". Want more? Add the Muzzy Full System and a jet kit and it will boost the HP by about 13%. It's like having a new first gear! The weight is the only mild setback for this machine. At over 600 lbs., it is a Sport Tourer and won't handle like a 400 lb. sportbike in the twisties. It screams going straight, but you need to enjoy the turns a little slower because of the extra 200 lbs. The extra weight - all the better for the trips. Problems? Nothing mechanical so far...I keep the oil changed every 3,000 miles, synchronize the carbs once a year, change the fork oil annually, and have used Dunlop D208's on it after the original tires were changed at 9,000 miles. Front tire cupping seems to start about the 7,000-mile mark, despite regular air checks. The brake pads and chain are still original and plenty of wear left to go.
- John Imm, Sylvania, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-24 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden for about 20 years now and have owned 4 bikes prior-my most recent being a very crotchety 750 Virago. I had decided to buy a new/fairly new bike. I was tired of the unreliability of an older bike and dealing with zip ties and duct tape. So the pennies were saved and off I went. I checked out the Concours, FJR, and the BMWs. My budget for a used bike lived in the 6k range, but it could grow a bit for a newer bike that sang to me, and it would have to belt out an aria. We needed two up riding capability and comfort for shortish touring. I went to Boulder with the wife to "just look at" an 03 with 16 miles on it. I explained all the way there that we probably weren't going to buy it since this was definitely NOT a touring bike, it was just sort-of a touring bike, besides, I just knew she wouldn't like it enough to trade in a comfortable touring/cruiser seat. I tried like mad not to let the sales guy see the huge smile on my face when I looked at it. I tried really hard not to belt out a "whoo!" when we fired it up. When we went out for a test ride, it was a looking like it was going to be a big argument/convincing to the wife-no way that seat would meet with her approval, no backrest and all. When we returned she got off and said "I like this bike-we should buy it." Well so much for playing hard to get with the sales guy. Needless to say I bought it that day and have loved every minute. It is fast like no tomorrow, comfortable for the everyday travel, and even when I'm juicin' the throttle I get no worse than 40, and that's a lot of Evergreen, Turkey Creek Canyon/Decker juicing. I keep telling myself that I'm a mature father and husband and that this is my practical, high mpg commuter bike. Then I twist the throttle and that smile from my teenage years comes back. You can really have it both ways with this bike.
- Kyle Cottengim, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-30 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 10 years on my 1992 ZX11 I decided to upgrade just because I figured the new stuff must be better. What a great move! The 2003 ZZR 1200 is the most awesome bike I've ever ridden and I've tried just about everything. This bike does everything well. It will cruise the back roads with girlfriend at 40mph or blast the high desert at 140. It's rock solid. It brakes well, handles well, is fast and gets about 40-50mpg. In addition, it's one of the best looking bikes I've ever seen. On the open road, the weight works in your favor and makes the bike feel much more stable than others weighing 100lbs less. I would change nothing about this bike other than the flat spot at about 3800 rpm and the tank pinches your wrists on a full stop parking lot turn. This bike has my highest rating and recommendation!!! You'll love it.
- Steve Tourdo, Novato, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-12 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So it was just a little over two months ago when I aggressively started looking at used touring bikes, primarily to take the wife on scenic road trips across Southwest U.S. I had a price range of 4 to 6 grand, 25 years riding experience, and a deep desire to hit the road. I am thirty-six years old, so I figured I should do the the responsible thing and find a nice, quiet, mild-mannered sport/touring bike... like a used BMW K1100, ST1100, etc... After testing out a few (YYYYAAAWWNNN) BMWs and the like, I decided (and please no offense to BMW owners here) I don't like BMW's. I'm sorry to say it. I really WANT to like BMWs, but they are so boring. I know a BMW is what I should really be wanting... they are reliable, comfortable, sane, quiet. But they provide about about as much emotional pleasure and thrill factor for me as a root canal. Then I came across a local ad for an 02 ZZR 1200. It looked cool from the picture, but I literally knew nothing about ZZR's. I did a little research and thought I should at least take a look. I dragged the wife and kid across to the other side of Denver to see the thing, knowing for sure I wouldn't buy it, didn't need it, couldn't justify it to the wife anymore than an FHM subscription. But as soon as I saw the silver beauty sitting in the driveway, I knew I was in trouble. It is a beautiful machine... a sexy slippery work of art that looks fast standing still. And it's big... big enough for my 6'6" frame. The owner started the thing up, revved the throttle and I was done for. I don't like sportbikes, I told myself. I am responsible. I am a cautious, careful adult who wants to tour the southwest US in comfort. Nevertheless, the seller had a cashier's check in his hand the next day, and I have spent the last couple months wondering... What the Heck just happened? I now own a 145 hp motorcycle capable of blowing the doors off of anything that HAS doors, and can reach 150 mph faster than your wife can scream "SLOOOOW DOOOOWN!!!" The bike is rock solid at 140 mph, is very comfortable, and the ZZR1200 gets over 45 mpg. I have discovered a great, reliable and affordable motorcycle.
- Mike DeJonge, Golden, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-09 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is my 5th motorcyle. I think it is the best. I love to ride long distances, but dislike the Crusier look. I opted for the ZZR as a compromise, and I am glad I did. This bike handles like a Superbike and is much less taxing on me. I just did a 2,000 mile trip and had no issues. Very good machine!!!
- Bruce Powell, Golden, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-26 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike is very smooth and responsive to the throttle. Fuel injection would have been nice. I've had numerous bikes in the past, the last being an R6. I really feel at one with the road on this machine.
- Mike Comeaux, Sunriver, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-19 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 04 ZZR in August 04 and have never had a more exciting bike in my 27 years of riding. It is comfortable to ride and it flat out compresses distance like no bike I've ever owned. This bike is an absolute gem in that no one, and I mean no one, realizes how great it is which will allow you to beat your dealer up on price to get one. 160 HP at the crank, 6.1 gallon gas tank, 48 mpg and 187 mph top speed, who can argue with this. When this bike came out in 2002 only the mighty Hyabusa and Kawasaki's own ZX-12R were faster and that was after about 150 mph. Not bad for what Kawasaki calls a Sport Tourer!
- Doug Gardner, Knoxville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-21 2004 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm writing this review because there are so few reviews of the wonderful motorcycle. I have owned MANY motorcycles over the years and I've owned a Yamaha R1, Honda VFR, Suzuki SV650, Kawasaki ZX-11, and of course the ZZR1200 ALL this year! No that is not a typo.. so I feel pretty comfortable telling you the pros and cons of the ZZR1200. Pros: This bike is a freight train! I mean that in a good way, it is solid and very predictable. Fast and stable, it's a great bike to do curvy back road sweepers, but will fly straight down the interstate if that's what you need. Loaded with luggage and a passenger doesn't really upset the bike either. I feel like it accelerates or turns the same with or without my wife on the back. The engine is a very solid design that is quite proven and dead reliable. Cons: The list is short and mostly easy to remedy. The rear shock is good, but clearly not great, there is plenty of room to improve here. There is a very slight buzz in the handlebars, but you soon forget about it (I only noticed because my VFR was so smooth) The seat is crappy, but what seat isn't? Maybe I'm spoiled but I ALWAYS purchase an aftermarket seat. that's about it... that's the cons list. My verdict? Wonderful, powerful, do it all bike for sport riding on the street (not the track). Touring one up or with a pillon, and commuting. I love my ZZR and I'm VERY happy with the purchase. Other bikes I considered before purchasing the ZZR were the Yamaha FJR and the Suzuki Hayabusa. I think the ZZR splits the difference.
- Dave, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-28 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned over 40 motorcycles in my 40 years of motorcycle riding. I have never owned a more exciting bike before. This bike is smooth and handles like it's a part of your body. The power is always there when you need it. The handling is the best I have ever experienced on the road. The bike has a superbike look with a style that is second to none. The brakes are very good and if you can keep it at a normal speed the gas mileage is not too bad. This sportcruiser class is better than most bikes with the insurance company. This sportcruiser is the one for you if you want something different than everyone else and excitement in each ride. Keep the shiney side up and ride friendly.
- Robert Walker, Fort Smith, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-01 2003 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just clicked off over 5000 miles in a year. The bike seems to run better every time I click off another 1000 miles. Acceleration, handling, braking, everything that I expected and more. There are some extras that I have not tried - new seat - it does push you forward. I do want to try to add new pipes and a less restrictive air filter. Back to the bike... this is the most predictable and easy to control bike I have ever rode. When you do hit the digits above 160 it never seems to want to stop. It truly is the sleeper of the Kawasaki line. One more thing... love the insurance rates. What I saved in the first year, I could buy all the upgrades I just mentioned. Check it out, that is all I can say!
- David , Tampa Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-11 2004 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my new 1200 five weeks ago. After riding Harleys for the last 6 years this was quite a change. I was overwhelmed with the power this motorcycle produces. The first 1000 miles was a learning experience, I'm glad I survived it. I found myself riding faster than I ever had in my 35 years of owning motorcycles. It was so effortless to cruise at the registered 100 mph mark, and fun also. In the last five weeks I have put 3400 miles on the machine. I usually ride 100 to 300 miles at a time. The first change I made was to raise the bars 1 1/4 inches, this helped, the second was to get rid of the stock seat. The third was to add a lip to the windshield. I now can go out and run the Interstate and mountain roads comfortably. The gas mileage is impressive for such a powerful machine, I average between 46 and 49 mpg. The 1200 is an easy machine to ride as long as you respect it. It will take you places faster than you may want to go. I will turn 60 in a few weeks and have owned more motorcycles than I can remember. If you want to put the fun back into riding, buy one. I just hope you survive the first 1000 miles.
- Gary Lierd, No. Ogden, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-26 2003 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the one bike in the Kawasaki stable that should be called Ninja, it creeps up behind you like the silent assassins and assaults you, the only difference is that this bike leaves you grinning like an idiot. This is truly the stealth bomber of the biking world. It has none of the loud and racy graphics of the sports bikes that seem to attract the attention of the law. It looks like it should be driven by sensible people in business suits. Suckers, this thing goes, the handling is tight and compliant and that engine just pulls from 2000rpm up to the redline. I cannot imagine ever wanting a true sport bike again, when this bike does all I ask from it, in comfort. Biking shouldn't be uncomfortable but should be this much fun for everyone, the sports bike fraternity just don't know it yet.
- martin, vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-28 2004 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing! I bought it in October '03 and have put 3000 miles on it. I've done road trips and commuted from work to home in rush hour. The bike's acceleration is very easy to control on the low end and pulls extremely hard to nearly the top of the speedometer and the ride is smooth stable right to the top. Steering is neutral and steady. For a bike weighing over 500 lbs. dry you can lean it way over in a corner, though doing so is a little un-nerving considering the weight. I get lots of comments on its looks. Color is deep metallic blue. Riding position is more comfortable than it looks, pretty easy on the wrists, too. I'm planning on buying the $400.00 Corbin seat, only for the reason that I slide around on the stock seat a little bit. I've also noticed a slight vibration from the engine around 5000 RPM, nothing to worry about; most engines have an RPM range where this happens. Until the ZX10R came out the only bike faster 0-60 and 1/4 mile was the ZX12R and I think the GSXR1000, try putting in 500 miles a day on one of those. And for the little 600 posers... Get a real bike.
- Bakker27, Louisville, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-15 2003 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Riding the ZZR1200 has been a revelation. My eyes have been opened to the Zen of motorcycling. If I were 30 years younger I would take up motorcycle racing. The ZZR1200 is a near religious experience (especially at 150mph+ or when taking curves silky smooth). I can't and won't compare this bike to the myriad other sport or sport/touring bikes since my experience is limited. I test drove the ST1300 and I had no "wow" experience (bah humbug, the high pitched whining sent shivers up my spine). I test road a Suzuki R600 and it beat me up miserably, my hands and back ached after the tiniest of test rides (a medieval torture device inspired that bike). I called on insurance rates for the Hayabusa and R1000 and nearly fainted. Undaunted, I continued my search for something wilder and wickeder than my beloved, but now outdated, Suzuki Intruder 1500 LC which sputters and screams in agony at a mere 115mph. (My intruder is still the most comfortable riding game in town, for me, with it's "comfy chairseat from factory heaven - I'll keep the intruder for my decrepitude and retirement days). While stalking out the used bikes at a local dealership, I spied a dark-blue beauty, said "wowand wanted it before I knew what it was I wanted (I grabbed for my wallet instinctively). The "wowis a used 2003 low miles dark blue ZZR1200 beauty. The price was incredibly right and I took her home with a feeling I had stolen half of her. I could insure three ZZR1200s for the outrageous insurance rates of one hyped up Hayabusa, and yet, the performance of the ZZR1200 is but a small margin less than the Hayabusa (can you really tell the difference between 180 or 200 mph with your eyes closed, young man?). Thankfully, Kawasaki markets the ZZR1200 as a "touringbike and insurance companies have taken the bait. A mountain lion for the price of a kitty cat. The ZZR1200 has great looks, incredible performance, and marginal comfort for a sport-touring bike in stock configuration (the stock seat relentlessly slides you forward while gusts of wind blowing over the stock windshield thrash you back). To be able to ride with greater comfort, I am investing in a Corbin seat, aftermarket touring windscreen, Genmar risers, Givi bags and Throttlemeister to tame the beast enough for long distance comfort. I can image already the joy of riding this beauty in the twisties of the Colorado Mountains that beckon me for this summer's tour. Originally created for the German autobahn, the ZZ1200 beast craves speeds that can only be enjoyed in illegal stealth with risk of mandatory court appearances and oodles of points against your driver's license for years to come if caught. Nonetheless, if you dare own this beauty, and can always ride her at the posted speed limits, then you must be made of sterner stuff than me, or are nearly dead. Madness takes over me when my hand touches the throttle and power surges in the ZZR1200 with a vengeance and effortlessness that is intoxicating. Yes, the wondrous feeling of recapturing my lost youth - who needs viagria with a ZZR1200 - to enjoy the wind blowing through what's left of one's hair (yes, even wearing a full-face helmet the wind somehow manages to blow through your hair when riding a ZZR1200). What I am trying to say is this: Do your homework, dear friend. This bike should be on your short list of bikes to consider if you want a sport bike that won't tear your old bones up and spit you out like the tired old flabby middle age paunch bucket that you probably are. Put a few more bucks into this beast and spruce her up for comfort and long rides - it is still a deal compared to the Honda ST1300 or Yamaha FJR1300. You will fall in love with the bug-eyed taillights, I promise. Strangers will drool. Law enforcement will instinctively point radar guns in hatred at you, so beware. You will regain your lost youth - or if you are young, buy a ZZR1200, ride it a thousand miles a day for the rest of your life and you will never lose your youth, no matter how old and flabby you become. (Hope this unbiased matter-of-fact review helps).
- vbwiz, Columbia, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-13 2003 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really enjoy riding this bike. For someone my size though a recommend a zero gravity screen and a Corbin seat for supreme comfort. Stock this bike is a strong 8 to hit 10 you need to invest in the Holeshot pipes, seat, screen and a fork brace. I did them all. I can run with any bike out there and blow out all of them on the quarter due to the early power build up. The weight keeps her stable on high speeds and the fairings work better than any other bike out in its class. Handling is heavy but it's a small sacrifice. If you want huge improvements on handling get better tires with a progressive shock and look out. This bike is ideal for larger riders who can't fit on the CBR or R1. The carburetor set up rival's fuel injection and it's easier and cheaper to tinker with. With this bike you won't go wrong. You won't see many on the road so you'll stand out. And the Holeshot pipes will shame any 900 or 1 liter. Invest the extra 1500 on this bike and you'll love it as a daily rider or commuter.
- A Zakarian, point mugu, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-04 2003 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a ZZR 1200 for about a year now, and this bike is absolutely awesome. Plenty of power and low end torque, but most important, comfort. I am 44 and enjoy a good ride, but comfort is getting harder to find on these sport bikes where they keep lowering the handle bars. This bike handles, accelerates like a missile, and all with good riding comfort. I may buy a cruiser one day, but I will never get rid of this bike.......too much fun!
- Tim Mallard, Wake Forest, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-11 2003 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I have much to say about the ZZR1200, I can't wait to get back out on it and hit speeds I am not sure are legal except on a race track. If you are looking for a Sport-tourer and get the urge to keep up with that Suzuki Hayabusa that just passed you, the ZZR is your bike. Handlebar risers, Corbin Bettle Bags and a Corbin seat is about the only items needed for motorcycle perfection. I test rode the BMW GT1200, Aprilia Futura 1000, Ducati ST4, Honda ST1300, and even Yahama FJR1300, and I have a Kawasaki ZZR1200 in my garage-enough said..
- CB, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: