KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles Reviews (21)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-02-08 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2004 KTM 200 EXC bike is very quick, very forgiving. I have no complaints. I had the seat shaved. I also bought a few aftermarket parts as I purchased it used. I love my KTM, it has handled with ease every hill, jump and trail I drove on. It has plenty of power and control. It lugs in 3rd just fine if need be. I'm very happy and already considering a 2nd KTM 150SX so I can have another toy.
- Sam, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-10 2002 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's the best of both worlds. I grew up on 4-strokes and this can be ridden like one or gas it and scoot like a 125MX. Maintenance is pretty simple and easy. The bike is so light, I can pick up the rear end and move it over rocks/small logs while I'm on it.
- aaron, boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-25 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
8 yrs and still runs like it's brand new..fast bike and great on trails. Love it!
- Dustin Jasinski, Greenville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-13 2004 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love my KTM. My last ride, a Honda 500 dual sport, feels like I'm dragging a boat anchor after being on the little KaTOOM. Very tuneable bike. Easy to jet and adjust the exhaust valve for power the way I want it. Switch between lots of tractable bottom end grunt with a smooth midrange and flat on top for tight woods; or, a bit of weak 'burble' down low with a bone-jarring midrange 'hit' that begs to pull the front end over in 4th, with lots of top-end and overrev for the more open trails. A handful of jets and small adjustments of the power valve governer is all it takes. She lugs well, with suprising bottom end torque for a small engine (I'm used to a big thumper), doesn't foul plugs (even though I jet a bit on the rich side-I learned early on-the hard way!)and she smashes through or skips over everything I point her at. Very forgiving when taking a jump poorly and landing crossed up, or nose down. A real confidence builder for the novice to intermediate rider like myself. The downsides I found: the seat is as hard as a rock (which forces better standing technique-maybe a good thing? the rear has a tendency to kick out a bit unexpectantly; and the bike I bought was the street-legal EU/AU version which was de-tuned -it took a bit of experimentation to find the carb, power-valve and suspension settings that work best for me. The quality of the bike is obvious just looking at the engineering, machining and attention to detail. I rode a new Husq 250 for a couple of days-and really liked it, but found the 200 KaTOOM virtually the same for power and easier to throw around in the woods. It's like a 125 on steroids!
- Basil, Nanaimo, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-20 2005 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike for about one yr and I can tell you it is fast. It can be a hand full on the tight stuff, but manageble. I had to work on suspension due to my weight. On the right hands this bike will not fall behind others. Tight places work best, plenty of pull on the flat (not as fast as 400cc) obviously... but if you drop it easy to pick up and the ride goes on. Bullet proof reliability and I never run out of power. The front end gets a little nervous on the sand, easly resolved with a dumper. I am a mid level rider and for my level of skills this bike has it all.
- Dan, Grand Junction, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2005 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE THIS BIKE! This thing handles great everywhere. It has awesome torque and top end. When the conditions are muddy, everyone on the motocrossers start to sigh and this thing will tear any bike to shreds in the mud! In the rocks, this bikes weight and power are perfect for tackling some of the toughest rock gardens. Then, in the dust, as long as you can see where you are going, this bike will fly. All in all, this bike hooks up great in every thing and I highly reccommend this bike for off road racing.
- Keith L'Heureux, Meriden, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-03 2005 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 200 EXC is an awesome bike. The motor is sick with plenty of low end torque and decent top end. The trick is to ride it like a four stroke and short shift it.(ok not quite as short a fourstroke) I can easily pull 5th gear power wheelies with no clutch. The motor has to be the best thing about this bike. I had the suspension revalved by factory connection because the stock was a little weird for me. This is an awesome bike. don't let the 200 fool you. I've seen too many people on this site saying they should have bought something like a CR230F. The 200EXC has the top end power of a japanese 250 and much more torque than a 250F. 2 STROKES FOR LIFE!
- mark, plymouth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-04 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just moved up from a KDX 200 that I really liked. But My son got a KTM 125 EXC and one day I rode it up a rocky hill helping him. Wow, it just crawled up the almost rock hill. Impressed, I found a used 2003 KTM EXC 200 on ebay and went for it. What a difference. Where I would of been down in the woods on some bad situations with my KDX, the KTM just brought me through them like nothing. Power is there, low end is there. Wonderful woods bike. Still making friends with it. I am an old guy, age 52, and the bike is easy to handle and the weight issue is great. Love it.
- LennieB, Saint Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-02 2005 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Riding this bike in twisty technical stuff is like stealing sweets from kids. I have moved from a KTM 250 exc (2002) and a 2004 CR 250R, and riding this bike is like cheating, seriously, I feel guilty each time I take it out. If you don't believe me, ride one..
- Grant , Johannesburg South Africa, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-29 2005 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got it today and this thing is everything you will ever want and need!!!!! I just got done breaking her in. I am planning on going riding tomorrow. My 05 ktm 200 exc has nothing on this. the engine is twice as good and the 06 looks 3 times as good.
- george, elfelfa, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-19 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I have ever owned, it was amazingly fast stock, and is a torque monster. The suspension is amazing, with all the bad stuff the reviews say about the linkage less rear swing arm setup being sloppy and hesitant, it is all bologna, I have never had ANY problems like that with mine. My only complaint is the fork seals need replacement about every 2 seasons. It has an incredible almost scary increase to the already phenomenal power with the platinum 2 expansion and the type 296 keeps it forestry legal. I ride everything, hill climbs, hair scrambles, endures, woods, and motocross and this bike does it all with flying colors. It feels a little top heavy compared to motocross bikes but when you get the feel for the bike it is right at home on the track and in the air.
- Nick T, Brookfield, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-30 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. Even at altitude it has great low end. I just bought this bike used and have been pleasantly surprised. My other bike is a '98 KTM 300 EXC. Although the power difference is noticable, overall the 200 is a much lighter more comfortable ride with plenty of power. Just today I was riding at elevation near 10,000 feet and it still had great power. The only thing that stopped me was the snow.
- Eric, Vail, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-09 2005 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very nice and comfortable to ride Really Fast! Easy to handle in the woods and in the open fields. A great all around bike and I would recomend this bike to everybody interested in dirt biking!!
- Joe Sylvester, Griswold, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2004 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a rocket ship. It has great power all through the range except for the top end which it lacks a little, but I ride enduro and don't really use the top end that much. It has much more torque than I would have ever imagined, it has loads more than a 250F. This makes it good at hillclimbing. I find that the bars are a little low when I stand, but I am quite tall. Its handling is the best of any bike I have ever ridden. You can be doing 70km/h and literally lay it flat into a corner. The front end doesn't respond like an enduro bike but the faster you ride, the less you notice it.
- Chris, Gosford, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-20 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is awesome it's fast with tons of bottom end. It looks, feels and rides great. I just got it, and it flies. I got it to race in VCHSS and VXCS series in Virginia and I think it is the perfect bike for me. I just upgraded from a cr 80 and it's great.
- Tyler Pruitt, Collinsville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-18 2004 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also have a 450 EXC 4 stroke which I have reviewd. I just traded a Honda 230 for the KTM 200 as a second bike. The handling is great, has plenty of pep, and can be picked thru tight stuff with good clutch work. However, the top end is less than I expected. I will add power and better pipes, then change the rear sprocket down 2 teeth. I'm not a motocross rider. I like KTM for quality. And the seats are an inch and a half lower than other brands, yet the clearance is the same or higher!
- bob mann, yucca valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-19 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is mad. It will go any place you wish to go and more. If you want a 2 stroke that has the crack of a 250 race bike but also has bottom end power to climb the long hills this is your weapon.
- Daniel, melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-26 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I've ever ridden. Light as a 125 and power like a 250. Brakes are strong and the balance is perfect. The only thing I would do to this bike is buy a soft seat.
- brandon, oxnard, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-23 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. It is my first 2-stroke bike and i love the power that it puts out. Iam hoping to get into a hare scramble real soon with it. So if you are looking for a bigger bike but dont need a full size 250, I recomend taking a look at this.
- Keith Aigeltinger, Landenberg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-16 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE BEEN RIDING ENDUROS AND HARE SCRAMBLES FOR YEARS. I HAVE TRIED SEVERAL DIFFERENT BRANDS, BUT I FEEL THAT THE EXC 200 IS A CONFIDENCE BUILDER ON THE TRAILS. IT SEEMS LIKE I AM MORE "IN CONTROL" WHEN IN THE REALLY UGLY STUFF AND I FIGHT THIS BIKE MUCH LESS THAN THE 250 MX BIKES I HAVE HAD IN THE PAST. SOMEBODY AT KTM SEEMS TO HAVE DONE THEIR HOMEWORK.
- JOHN STEWART, UNION POINT, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-22 2003 KTM 200 EXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You want Adventure, hell yah! with this bike you can do whatever you want too go anywhere, then buy this, I still say the price tag is a lil high but I might get a used one of these, KTM keep it up, although I like Honda I like you guys too!!
- Brendan S., Hoosick Falls., New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: