Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

KTM 200 EXC reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

21 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

aaron

boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2012-01-10

Motorcycle reviewed2002 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's the best of both worlds. I grew up on 4-strokes and this can be ridden like one or gas it and scoot like a 125MX. Maintenance is pretty simple and easy. The bike is so light, I can pick up the rear end and move it over rocks/small logs while I'm on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sam

Modesto, California

Reviewed on 2012-02-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 2004 KTM 200 EXC bike is very quick, very forgiving. I have no complaints. I had the seat shaved. I also bought a few aftermarket parts as I purchased it used. I love my KTM, it has handled with ease every hill, jump and trail I drove on. It has plenty of power and control. It lugs in 3rd just fine if need be. I'm very happy and already considering a 2nd KTM 150SX so I can have another toy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dustin Jasinski

Greenville, Ohio

Reviewed on 2009-11-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
8 yrs and still runs like it's brand new..fast bike and great on trails. Love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Basil

Nanaimo, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2007-03-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Love my KTM. My last ride, a Honda 500 dual sport, feels like I'm dragging a boat anchor after being on the little KaTOOM. Very tuneable bike. Easy to jet and adjust the exhaust valve for power the way I want it. Switch between lots of tractable bottom end grunt with a smooth midrange and flat on top for tight woods; or, a bit of weak 'burble' down low with a bone-jarring midrange 'hit' that begs to pull the front end over in 4th, with lots of top-end and overrev for the more open trails. A handful of jets and small adjustments of the power valve governer is all it takes. She lugs well, with suprising bottom end torque for a small engine (I'm used to a big thumper), doesn't foul plugs (even though I jet a bit on the rich side-I learned early on-the hard way!)and she smashes through or skips over everything I point her at. Very forgiving when taking a jump poorly and landing crossed up, or nose down. A real confidence builder for the novice to intermediate rider like myself. The downsides I found: the seat is as hard as a rock (which forces better standing technique-maybe a good thing? the rear has a tendency to kick out a bit unexpectantly; and the bike I bought was the street-legal EU/AU version which was de-tuned -it took a bit of experimentation to find the carb, power-valve and suspension settings that work best for me. The quality of the bike is obvious just looking at the engineering, machining and attention to detail. I rode a new Husq 250 for a couple of days-and really liked it, but found the 200 KaTOOM virtually the same for power and easier to throw around in the woods. It's like a 125 on steroids!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Grand Junction, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-02-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had the bike for about one yr and I can tell you it is fast. It can be a hand full on the tight stuff, but manageble. I had to work on suspension due to my weight. On the right hands this bike will not fall behind others. Tight places work best, plenty of pull on the flat (not as fast as 400cc) obviously... but if you drop it easy to pick up and the ride goes on. Bullet proof reliability and I never run out of power. The front end gets a little nervous on the sand, easly resolved with a dumper. I am a mid level rider and for my level of skills this bike has it all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith L'Heureux

Meriden, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2007-01-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I LOVE THIS BIKE! This thing handles great everywhere. It has awesome torque and top end. When the conditions are muddy, everyone on the motocrossers start to sigh and this thing will tear any bike to shreds in the mud! In the rocks, this bikes weight and power are perfect for tackling some of the toughest rock gardens. Then, in the dust, as long as you can see where you are going, this bike will fly. All in all, this bike hooks up great in every thing and I highly reccommend this bike for off road racing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mark

plymouth, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2007-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 200 EXC is an awesome bike. The motor is sick with plenty of low end torque and decent top end. The trick is to ride it like a four stroke and short shift it.(ok not quite as short a fourstroke) I can easily pull 5th gear power wheelies with no clutch. The motor has to be the best thing about this bike. I had the suspension revalved by factory connection because the stock was a little weird for me. This is an awesome bike. don't let the 200 fool you. I've seen too many people on this site saying they should have bought something like a CR230F. The 200EXC has the top end power of a japanese 250 and much more torque than a 250F. 2 STROKES FOR LIFE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

LennieB

Saint Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2006-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just moved up from a KDX 200 that I really liked. But My son got a KTM 125 EXC and one day I rode it up a rocky hill helping him. Wow, it just crawled up the almost rock hill. Impressed, I found a used 2003 KTM EXC 200 on ebay and went for it. What a difference. Where I would of been down in the woods on some bad situations with my KDX, the KTM just brought me through them like nothing. Power is there, low end is there. Wonderful woods bike. Still making friends with it. I am an old guy, age 52, and the bike is easy to handle and the weight issue is great. Love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Grant

Johannesburg South Africa, South Africa

Reviewed on 2005-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Riding this bike in twisty technical stuff is like stealing sweets from kids. I have moved from a KTM 250 exc (2002) and a 2004 CR 250R, and riding this bike is like cheating, seriously, I feel guilty each time I take it out. If you don't believe me, ride one..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

george

elfelfa, Wyoming

Reviewed on 2005-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 200 EXC

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got it today and this thing is everything you will ever want and need!!!!! I just got done breaking her in. I am planning on going riding tomorrow. My 05 ktm 200 exc has nothing on this. the engine is twice as good and the 06 looks 3 times as good.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 21 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: