KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-04-19 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I switched from a 2 stroke motocross to the 450 EXC with no regrets! It is and feels heavier than my 2 stroke but more than makes up for it in rideability. It did take some getting used to the added weight. The engine has a wide usuable power curve that chugs right along when you should have normally down-shifted. The hydraulic clutch and magic button(electric start) round out this awesome machine. My personal advice, buy the bike for the type of riding you do. don't buy this bike for motocross or a motocross for woods riding. Been there and done that. This bike is heavier than a motocross and doesn't have the necessary suspension adjustments for the giant jumps. This bike is a rock-star on close or open trail riding with moderate jumps. Plenty of power and with the 6 speed trans allows for much easier low speed technical trails and hill climbing.
- darrhacker, Kansas City, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-06 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the 06 KTM 450 EXC the last two seasons. It is my first bike and I just love it out here in the mountains. I've added an 11.5L fuel tank, a small rack and a few other KTM add-ons. This is a tall bike. If I was any shorter it would be really scary. The bike will do over 100 mph in stock form down the highway. The bike is jetted lean in stock form. Now that I'm used to the power, I want more. It's definitely not necessary, but I'm getting the JD jet kit, a FMF 4.1 exhaust system and an 11.9 compression piston. I've also tried running C14 114 octane VP racing fuel with different mix ratios. That fuel makes the bike really come alive and feel light.
- Bryan, Sparwood, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2007 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the bike now for about 2 weeks...LOVE IT. Cops HATE IT. Have always ridden big bores. (KX500, CR500R, latest CRF450R) The KTM comes ready to run out of the box. KTM pays excellent attention to detail. Excel rims, fat bars, tires, chain, suspension, down to the grips. My ONLY complaint is changing the oil is a drag...what a mess, that being said the filtration is great. The power is smooth all the way through 6th. Availability says it all...try and find one. Enjoy the ride!
- Shane Meyer, Redmond, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-02 2007 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my KTM for about 3 months now and absolutley love it. I have been searching for a dual sport that was mainly for trails and barely street legal and boy have I found it. The best thing I have noticed about this bike is the fact that there is NO stall with the throttle. It doesn't matter what gear you're in. The throttle response is amazing (no lag). Our latest trip was during a thunderstorm with mud up to the swing arm and the KTM was not bothered at all! It simply kept pulling while others were falling or slowing down because the lack of grip! Not to mention that I enjoyed the fact that I covered the poor guys with mud from head to toe when I passed them. The only thing I disliked about the KTM was the tall gear and the hard seat. I resolved the gearing issue by going to a 14 counter sprocket instead of a 15 and so far this has helped out. I replaced the stock seat with the lower seat, which has not softened the seat, but I am sure it will feel better over time. I have also added a skid plate because it does not come stock. I am serious when I say that I had to search long and hard for a negative on this bike. This bike is amazing!!!!!
- DERICK, DALTON, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-21 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There's a reason why KTM dominates the off road market. I used to be a Honda guy until I ran into KTM 4 years back and I never see myself looking back. Once I got on this bike and fired it up using the the E-starter and then pulling in the hydraulic clutch, I was off tearing up the trails and noticed that it is literally effortless to ride. It has plenty of power and it is very controllable at the same time. The power never gets away from you like a 2 stroke could. The other thing I noticed right off the bat is you cannot feel the weight of this bike even though it weighs 250lbs. Believe it or not it feels lighter and better balanced than my old 2 stroke. It also corners extremely well. It actually conrners and tracks better than any other bike I have ridden. Long story short, I would recommend this bike to any serious west coast woods rider. Later Honda, Hello KTM!
- Jason W, Hillsboro, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-27 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike recently and I have to say I'm impressed! I haven't had a bike for some time and my last bike was a 1990 KX250...I thought that was fast. This bike goes 85 with throttle to go. Bike performs great right from delivery; I think the front needs to be a little stiffer but great bike. I would want a 200 or 250 if I were going to do a lot of tight single track. However, for the desert it's great. I do find the seat very firm...Enjoy
- Ian Sceili, Queen Creek, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-01 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the 450 in March after not having been on a bike in over 20 years. (Last bike was an Ossa Phantom)Took it out to Durhamtown, rode entire day, and put 60 miles on it. What a surprise. It rode like a luxury car compared to past bikes. Very forgiving. didn't drop or stall it all day. I would recommend this bike to someone even with little experience on a big bore
- Richard Thompson, Newnan, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-22 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 06 450, felt faster, and more confident on it immediately. I also own a 04 250 exc smoker that was good until I rode my first 450 ktm. I went out the next week and bought it! The 450 tracks much better than the 250 and in the rocks and roots it just eats them up where the 250 seems unstable and bounces around. The only time I notice the weight difference is putting it on the stand or picking it up after a spill. Just don't crash and you will hardly notice the extra 25 lbs.
- Brian Morris, Madison, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: