KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-12-05 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been on many race bikes over the years. Elsinores, YZs, KX - most were very adequate. Some better than others. 1990 Kawasaki KX-500 was awesome in its day. I have never to date been so happy with a bike like I am the 05 KTM 525 EXC. I bought it new and went through the proper break in. This bike has gone on long after I wanted to quit and did well. Never a loss for power, the bike has tons of torque for a large man like me. It may be big on some but it fits me well. It has never let me down mechanically. The battery did go down a couple of times, because I stalled it so often in a race I used it up starting 30 times or so. However, it kicked over (more like pushed over) first kick. Chains, sprockets, bars, fuel efficiency - everything seems good. I'm currently turning down a great deal on a 08 530 XCR-W to run this bike one more year. Total shop bills for two years racing for me are less than $250.00. Anyway, that's my two cents worth.
- Kelly Kirkland, Midland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-14 2004 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I already wrote a review so I just wanted to write another to submit a picture. I'm pleased with this bikes performance. Very predictable and easy to ride and it has lots of torque and speed that most of the time can never be totally used, unless you're riding it on the highway. Besides my last complaints that I wrote, on the other review, the only other things negative about this bike is that the hardware tends to stip out easy, due to the fact that most of it is aluminum, and the clutch case leaks a little oil sometimes. Other then that, the 525 is a beast.
- Dave, Canonsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-30 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely the most versatile bike I have owned. The power and handling are very impressive and this bike will make most anyone look good. It is so easy to ride yet handles single track, wide open desert or motocross with ease. Once jetted properly, you most likely will not need ANY engine mods cause this bike has plenty of power. All the components on the bike are top notch. Mine has been stone reliable. Recommend this bike to most anyone. If you ride it-you will buy one.
- Greg, Des moines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-02 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The handling and power of the bike are the best. Air craft quality, this machine is race ready. Fast, agile and light. I see broken down blue and green fast bikes, trouble starting fast red bikes, very respectable but slower yellow bikes, so my world is now a new color. And I am in love. Single track or desert, this is the one. Some one would say for desert, a 650 would be better and for single track a 250 would be better, but for me, my KTM is way BETTER.
- John, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-19 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 15 years of motocross racing, I settled for some trail riding adventure. What a perfect ride the 525EXC turned out to be. I had never ridden one and was skeptical of the size coming off 250F moto bikes. But, what a pleasant bike! So docile, yet it HAS POWER! Ergonomics feel great for a tall rider. It is a well put together bike. It is quality from the bars, the hydraulic clutch, to the wheels, etc. After 1300+ miles of grueling woods and desert riding, in only two months, the bike still feels new (doesn't look it) and had not one problem. AWESOME!
- Boris , St. Cloud, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-02 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the perfect all around, off road motorcycle. The power is never ending; the suspension is perfect for off road use (but too soft for serious MX use). The quality is top notch, and the bike is easy to work on. It looks like it will go through a lot of rear tires. I put the KTM OEM street legal kit on it, and now I ride it around town as well. The kit is excellent quality. I took it out on the highway and I got it up to 96 MPH which is too fast for any off road riding I do. I would gear it down, but then it would almost have too much torque. The bike is perfect in every way for me, and my only hope is it will have long term reliability to go with the performance. I would certainly buy another one; the extra cost over the jap bikes means nothing after riding this bike once.
- Todd Trepanier, Grande Prairie, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-25 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS IS A GREAT BIKE. ON TRAILS I HAVE NEVER SEEN ITS EQUAL AND ON THE TRACK IT HOLDS ITS OWN AGAINST THE MOTOCROSS BIKES. HAVING BOTH, I WOULD BUY THIS BIKE OVER THE CRF 450X ANY DAY. HOPING NEXT YEAR TO ALSO TRANSFER TO THE KTM450 OVER MY CRF450R FOR THE TRACK. GREAT BIKE. 4 STARS BECAUSE NOTHING IS PERFECT, BUT THIS IS CLOSE.
- MIKE, DENVER, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-07 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my KTM 525 exc today..Rode it about 30 miles..Even though I'm breakin it in, this bike has a lot of power. It's quite snappy. Great low end. Climbs large hills with ease. Had it going 78 miles an hour at half throttle on dirt road..The bike is so light feeling, great torque. KTM did everthing right with this bike. I just need more time on it, so I can fine tune it for me...
- Chris Topolinski, Boyne City, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-08 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got back from big sand hills in Mexico. NOT ONE OTHER BIKE, QUAD OR ANYTHING, beat me up the big hill. I didn't even have a paddle and was racing YFZ450 quads with paddles. No end to the power. After coming off an XR600, this bike is 30 pounds lighter, faster and has the button!! I am going to replace the seat with a taller and softer one, then comfort will be 5 star also. Fat bars, hydraulic clutch, top rate components, wide ratio trans, what else can you ask for? (I'll keep my 300 E/XC for the racing and the tight stuff.)
- Marshall Gerston, Scottsdale , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-12 2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The finsh on this bike is 2nd to none. If you're looking for an open class bike this is the one! The power this bike puts out is unreal. The WP suspension handled everything with lots to spare. The brakes work like nothing I've ever felt before & electric start is awesome. This is the one.
- mitch, pompano beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-20 2004 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike gets better with age. 1st ride broke a collar screw on the top of the head (major oil leak until repaired). A replacement screw fixed the problem. Factory jetting was very lean until modified. Engine ran hot on pump premium in the beginning-mixed 1/2 race gas 1/2 premium & it was a non-issue. Oil sight gauge weeps. Fuel tank too small. Fork & shock springs too soft. After modifications, I love this bike & strongly recommend it. Power is smooth & predictable.
- Ben Ballinger, The O.C., California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-15 2004 KTM 525 EXC Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just sold a 2000 YZF 426 and the bike is awesome. The reason I bought the KTM was to dual sport the bike. I did not know what to except. The dealer tried to sell me a 450 EXC but I'm a power hungry rider. After putting 500 miles on the bike, I'm blown away by how the bike performs. The brakes, clutch, transmission, handling and the way the bike performs are flawless. The clutch cover, oil sight glass, head and base gaskets get wet with a little oil. The dealer says this is normal and they sealed it up with new gaskets and sealer. don't sweat the small stuff - nothing is perfect.
- Steve Schrobsdorf , Simi Valley , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: