Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

KTM 525 EXC Racing reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Kelly Kirkland

Midland, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been on many race bikes over the years. Elsinores, YZs, KX - most were very adequate. Some better than others. 1990 Kawasaki KX-500 was awesome in its day. I have never to date been so happy with a bike like I am the 05 KTM 525 EXC. I bought it new and went through the proper break in. This bike has gone on long after I wanted to quit and did well. Never a loss for power, the bike has tons of torque for a large man like me. It may be big on some but it fits me well. It has never let me down mechanically. The battery did go down a couple of times, because I stalled it so often in a race I used it up starting 30 times or so. However, it kicked over (more like pushed over) first kick. Chains, sprockets, bars, fuel efficiency - everything seems good. I'm currently turning down a great deal on a 08 530 XCR-W to run this bike one more year. Total shop bills for two years racing for me are less than $250.00. Anyway, that's my two cents worth.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Canonsburg, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-01-14

Motorcycle reviewed2004 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I already wrote a review so I just wanted to write another to submit a picture. I'm pleased with this bikes performance. Very predictable and easy to ride and it has lots of torque and speed that most of the time can never be totally used, unless you're riding it on the highway. Besides my last complaints that I wrote, on the other review, the only other things negative about this bike is that the hardware tends to stip out easy, due to the fact that most of it is aluminum, and the clutch case leaks a little oil sometimes. Other then that, the 525 is a beast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg

Des moines, Iowa

Reviewed on 2006-10-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Absolutely the most versatile bike I have owned. The power and handling are very impressive and this bike will make most anyone look good. It is so easy to ride yet handles single track, wide open desert or motocross with ease. Once jetted properly, you most likely will not need ANY engine mods cause this bike has plenty of power. All the components on the bike are top notch. Mine has been stone reliable. Recommend this bike to most anyone. If you ride it-you will buy one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2006-10-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The handling and power of the bike are the best. Air craft quality, this machine is race ready. Fast, agile and light. I see broken down blue and green fast bikes, trouble starting fast red bikes, very respectable but slower yellow bikes, so my world is now a new color. And I am in love. Single track or desert, this is the one. Some one would say for desert, a 650 would be better and for single track a 250 would be better, but for me, my KTM is way BETTER.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Boris

St. Cloud, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-10-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 15 years of motocross racing, I settled for some trail riding adventure. What a perfect ride the 525EXC turned out to be. I had never ridden one and was skeptical of the size coming off 250F moto bikes. But, what a pleasant bike! So docile, yet it HAS POWER! Ergonomics feel great for a tall rider. It is a well put together bike. It is quality from the bars, the hydraulic clutch, to the wheels, etc. After 1300+ miles of grueling woods and desert riding, in only two months, the bike still feels new (doesn't look it) and had not one problem. AWESOME!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd Trepanier

Grande Prairie, Alberta

Reviewed on 2005-10-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is the perfect all around, off road motorcycle. The power is never ending; the suspension is perfect for off road use (but too soft for serious MX use). The quality is top notch, and the bike is easy to work on. It looks like it will go through a lot of rear tires. I put the KTM OEM street legal kit on it, and now I ride it around town as well. The kit is excellent quality. I took it out on the highway and I got it up to 96 MPH which is too fast for any off road riding I do. I would gear it down, but then it would almost have too much torque. The bike is perfect in every way for me, and my only hope is it will have long term reliability to go with the performance. I would certainly buy another one; the extra cost over the jap bikes means nothing after riding this bike once.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MIKE

DENVER, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
THIS IS A GREAT BIKE. ON TRAILS I HAVE NEVER SEEN ITS EQUAL AND ON THE TRACK IT HOLDS ITS OWN AGAINST THE MOTOCROSS BIKES. HAVING BOTH, I WOULD BUY THIS BIKE OVER THE CRF 450X ANY DAY. HOPING NEXT YEAR TO ALSO TRANSFER TO THE KTM450 OVER MY CRF450R FOR THE TRACK. GREAT BIKE. 4 STARS BECAUSE NOTHING IS PERFECT, BUT THIS IS CLOSE.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Topolinski

Boyne City, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just picked up my KTM 525 exc today..Rode it about 30 miles..Even though I'm breakin it in, this bike has a lot of power. It's quite snappy. Great low end. Climbs large hills with ease. Had it going 78 miles an hour at half throttle on dirt road..The bike is so light feeling, great torque. KTM did everthing right with this bike. I just need more time on it, so I can fine tune it for me...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marshall Gerston

Scottsdale , Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just got back from big sand hills in Mexico. NOT ONE OTHER BIKE, QUAD OR ANYTHING, beat me up the big hill. I didn't even have a paddle and was racing YFZ450 quads with paddles. No end to the power. After coming off an XR600, this bike is 30 pounds lighter, faster and has the button!! I am going to replace the seat with a taller and softer one, then comfort will be 5 star also. Fat bars, hydraulic clutch, top rate components, wide ratio trans, what else can you ask for? (I'll keep my 300 E/XC for the racing and the tight stuff.)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mitch

pompano beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 KTM 525 EXC Racing

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The finsh on this bike is 2nd to none. If you're looking for an open class bike this is the one! The power this bike puts out is unreal. The WP suspension handled everything with lots to spare. The brakes work like nothing I've ever felt before & electric start is awesome. This is the one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: