KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles Reviews (10)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-10-07 2004 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike w/less than 1k miles on it. I put the rest on over commuting/trials/desert etc. On the road it does well. As a single cylinder 4-stroke it does vibrate, but not more than what you would expect. I have it geared so it cruises around 65 easily and when you roll on the throttle it doesn't hesitate going 95-100. It is all acceleration though and I wouldn't recommend it for cross country type travels. For open trails/fire roads it feels like it's at home. It is comfortable to let the back end hang out around a fast corner on the gravel/dirt. After you break in the suspension and have it set up for your weight/style if flows very nicely. For tight more technical trails it does okay. I had a few times where it overheated in temperatures above 90 when I wasn't getting enough air through the radiator. I'm also running engine ice to offset it, but I still notice some overheating in tight trails. However, after you get used to the weight/balance you can really whip this thing around anything and up any treacherous terrain w/out any problems. Overall, this bike is amazing. I have had it now for six years and don't plan on upgrading anytime soon.
- RunsreyM, Hurst, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-02 2004 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've RACKED UP OVER A 1,000 MILES SO FAR. I'M VERY IMPRESSED. I've OWNED SEVERAL DUAL SPORTERS: ATK 605, HUSABERG 501, XR650L, XR600'S AND MANY OPEN CLASS MOTOCROSSERS. THIS THING IS READY FOR WHATEVER. HOWEVER, THE SEAT IS TOO FIRM FOR HIGHWAY RIDES OVER AN HOUR. I INSTALLED A BAJA DESIGN KIT AND JUST RECEIVED A CALIFORNIA LICENSE PLATE. HOW COOL! I LOOKED AT ALL THE CURRENT DUAL SPORT BIKES ON THE MARKET BEFORE PUCHASING THE SXC. THE DEALER WOULD NOT SELL IT AS A STREET LEGAL BIKE, BUT A COUPLE OF TRIPS TO THE DMV RESOLVED THAT. THIS THING WEIGHS THE SAME AS AN XR650, BUT HAS AN ELECTRIC START. NOTHING ELSE ON THE MARKET CAN COMPETE WITH THIS BIKE. BIG POWER. WILL CRUISE ON THE FREEWAY. IT'S GEARED A LITTLE TALL FOR TIGHT TRAILS, BUT that's EASY TO FIX. IT HANDLES VERY WELL FOR A BIG BIKE. THE FORKS don't LIKE BIG LANDINGS. THEY TEND TO SLAP DOWN HARD, AND BOTTOM OUT. I've ADJUSTED SOME OF IT AWAY, BUT I THINK THEY COULD USE A HEAVIER SPRING FOR FASTER DESERT STUFF. THE REAR END WORKS WELL. IT IS A LINKED SYSTEM. HANDLES BIG JUMPS, WHOOPS AND SMALL STUFF LIKE A CHAMP. I SHOCKED MYSELF AT HOW FAST I CAN RIDE THIS BIKE ON SOME OF MY FAVORITE SINGLE TRACKS. HOLY COW! THIS IS A BIG BIKE, YET SURPRISINGLY EASY TO THROW AROUND. THE SMALLISH TANK ALLOWS THE RIDER TO SLIDE WAY UP FOR CORNERS. THIS BIKE RAILS! ALSO, INSURANCE WAS CHEAP. WHAT A DEAL! I've SWITCHED TO AN 80 WATT BAJA DESIGN FRONT LAMP AS I RIDE AT NIGHT TO CLASSES EVERY EVENING. AND REPLACED THE TAIL LAMP WITH AN LED TYPE. OTHER THAN A CARBON FIBER SKID PLATE (E-LINE) AND DOT KNOBBIES, THE BIKE IS STOCK. WITH CLOSE TO 1,300 MILES, I'D BUY THE EXACT SAME BIKE IF I WERE TO DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN. THERE REALLY IS NO EQUIVALENT COMPETITION. IF you're INTERESTED, YOU BETTER DECIDE QUICK. I UNDERSTAND KTM WILL NOT IMPORT THIS MODEL AFTER 2004. I BOUGHT ONE OF THE LAST MODELS I COULD FIND IN MY AREA (LOS ANGELES).
- DAN BAKER, WOODLAND HILLS, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-17 2004 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new '04 KTM 625 SXC after considering the different dual sport bikes available. I've owned XT 600's, XL650's, and KLR 600's as a dual sport reference, and Maico, Yamaha, and Kawasaki open class motocrossers for dirt only. My observations on the KTM: <ol> <li>Exceptional low end torque as well as fair to good top end rev-ability. <li>Build quality is top-notch; all high end parts and components. This makes it pretty expensive compared to other dual sport bikes, but the extra performance is well-worth the premium. <li>Quite a bit of vibration; noticeable at freeway speeds as a tingling coming up through the sole of my boots... handlebars not nearly as much. <li>Great multi-use platform for KTM: the use the same basic configuration for the 640 Adventure as well as the 625SMC and the Duke. Excellent and simple parts interchangeability. <li>Swallows bumps and ruts with barely a notice. To go through extremely rutted or broken up terrain, just open the throttle and let the front wheel skim the ground while the rear end powers through. <li>Shifting is buttery smooth; up or down, it almost doesn't require use of the clutch. <li>Electric start is strong and swift. <li>Much better looking than the other dual sport offerings; looks more purposeful and like a dirt-bike. <li>Front brake lever travel is mushy and long; I understand a lot of KTM dirt bikes are that way because of the small reservoir/piston used. I checked others at the dealership, and they were almost universally that way. Bleeding does little to make a difference here. <li>Tall...I stand on my toes at 6' 1". <li>Fuel tank is quite small. Larger tank is a popular upgrade...figure on about 80 to 90 miles before switching over to reserve on mostly street riding. <li>Slides easily and predictably. Judicious use of the throttle on corners will allow the rear to break free easily but controllably. Better to NOT be behind one of these in a race or dual sport get-together; you'll get beat to death by the roost!
- Steve Hays, La Vergne, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-13 2003 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, good price (considering what you get, and it's ready to rock). Feels a little heavy, needs a little suspension work to carve in corners. Nice power, but it can get quite a bit more with some minor carb and air box adjustments.
- Dave S., Kingston, Pennsylvania, Armenia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-23 2004 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a GREAT bike as long as you don't take it on tight trails. It is geared to high (100mph)on the road. If you like fireroads though,it can't be beaten. Paved roads are okay if you change the knobbies to something more streetable. The first thousand miles you will experience quite a bit of vibration, but gradually goes away for the most part, but it's still a large single cylinder thumper. Believe me, I have a 1800 gold wing, this will vibrate, expecially at low speeds. It comes with a headlight and a tail light but need to have a brake switch added to be street legal in Missouri. I understand that next year, because of the unfavorable money (dollar/EURO) situation, there will be no LC4's(liquid cooled 4 strokes) imported to the States. Too bad, because this is a GREAT bike. The reason I gave it 3 stars on comfort is because of the vibrations early, and the seat--which is too hard and narrow. My bike will go approx 95 miles on the stock tank, but this is mainly on fireroads. Hope this helps someone's decision. Did I mention this is a Great Bike?!?
- bcutter, poplar Bluff, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-05 2003 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is excellent. I have been riding 33 years, and this is the best bike I've ever ridden. I'm 6'4" at 235-lbs, and it fits me perfectly. I use it for everything from riding MX to tight trails to commuting to work. I bought the bike to replace an XR-650L that I had for 10 years, and it's like KTM took that bike and fixed every single complaint that I had. It feels at least 60-lbs lighter, has about twice as much power, and has a stiff frame with good all-around suspension. It even comes with what are in my opinion, the best true dual-sport tires available, the Pirelli MT-21 Rallycross. You can buy all the parts to convert it to dual-sport from the KTM dealer and they are reasonably priced. It doesn't take much, though as the bike is sold street-legal in Europe, and they've just left off a few parts. The bike even comes with a parts manual that gives all the part numbers. I've added a factory luggage rack and passenger pegs from an LC4 Adventure, and went up one tooth on the countershaft sprocket. The gearing change really helps on the street, and still works well for all but the tightest trail situations (and I have a KTM-250 for that). My only complaint with the bike is that it has a carb-venting problem that causes it to stumble when you push it hard in rough going. I've added a Tee to the carb vent, and that has helped a lot, but it didn't cure the problem completely. The vent is really small, so I plan to add larger tubing soon. Others might disagree, but I think the bike is killer on the street - it's basically a super-moto bike, and even with the gearing change it will effortlessly loft the front wheel at 30MPH with just a twist of the throttle. The only problem I see is that if you ride it on the street long enough, you will eventually get a ticket. Feel free to e-mail me if you have any questions.
- Bruce Arnold, Huntsville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-09 2004 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1st through 3rd gear it's neck and neck with an XR650R, but it pulls away in 4th and 5th...torquilicious, and the suspension with inverted forks sucks up the trails so even an amateur rider can haul. It comes "outta the box" ready to race. Put some Akropovics on it and a little tweakin' here and there, and even an unplugged XR doesn't have a chance. Gotta keep an eye on the oil and adjust the valves frequently though. Other than that, I love this bike much better than my XR650R... in fact, don't bother riding this bike until you're ready to buy it... because it will suck to go back to your old bike after tasting what the KTM has to offer. Trust me.
- Steve Woodruff, Canoga Park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-08 2003 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What an awesome bike. I just got back from a 100+ mile ride starting in Hesperia all the way down to El Verde a small town in Mexico. I was very impressed with how much power this bike had and talk about comfortable. I give the bike a *****. Mike
- Mike, Oceanside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-08 2003 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The LC4 KTM 625 SXC is by far the sickest dual sport bike ever made! I think the bike handles great on and off road (hills or not). The bike is a little heavy but who cares. I didn't buy the bike for the weight I bought it because it rules over the XR 650. If your thinking about buying one, do it! This bike is sick! FYI: Go with the Trick Dual Sport kit if you plan on making it a dual sport bike....
- Steve , Riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-27 2003 KTM 625 SXC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I chose this bike over the 525exc because Im 6"6' 245 lbs and liked the bigger bike.(not to mention price). this bike is not a super cross track bike and was not supposed to be. For trail riding,desert, or just about anything else this bike really handles awsome. just dont try to muscle it around tight corners, let the bike do the work for you. I wanted the 525 at first, but felt like I was sitting on a mini bike. this bike is a good choice for anyone, but I think for guys that are bigger than most it is the best off road bike out there. Ditch the street leagle tires, install a 165 main jet throw the airbox snorkle in the trash, and take the giant tampon out of the silencer and this is a monster of a bike. 5 stars from me!
- keith, s.d., California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: