KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles Reviews (10)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2002-12-17 2000 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used, and it was "motard-ed" by a pal. It has street wheels, tires, and a dropped suspension done by a susp. specialist. It is the ultimate twisty road bike. It has a lot of torque, and blasts through corners. It is the MOST fun I have ever had on a bike, and this is my 25th motorcycle. I would not hesitate to buy another one when I wear this one out.
- DJ, Shingletown, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-13 2000 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is well worth the money. I have about 1400 miles on my bike and love it. I was surprised how well it performs in all situations,even with 50/50 tires.(considering its size) tips: Stay out of the mud w/ stock tires, NO REG GAS(Pinging). !!!!WARNING!!!! If you ride this bike hard, it will ride you hard once in awhile.
- varooom!!!!, Toms River , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-27 2001 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased the KTM Adventure and its great for highway or off! The bike is really tall though and if your under 5'11' dont even consider buying it, you would have to jump off at a light to touch the ground. I say buy it today if your tall enough!
- Randy Horton, Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-01 2001 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Part 2 of my quest...I put on a DAM exhaust canister which radically reduced weight and brought out a DEEP mellow tone. The bike will bark when hammered on but not too loud.The DAM is a custom hand made polished stainless steel muffler from Germany. You can get them through Sommer KTM I HIGHLY recommend them!!The gearing changes are awesome. The airbox mod. consists of a different internal side cover.You then go with a 157.5 main and a much smaller idle screw...don't have the size for it right handy..The bike will still do 100 m.p.h !! I also put on Acerbis rally 2 hand guards, KTM skid plate, stainless chain guard, aluminum rear chain guide, and the luggage rack. I hand cut the oh-so fuggly license plate holder to better enhance looks!! If you are considering a PERFORMANCE DIRT ORIENTED DUALSPORT MOTORCYCLE...don't pussy foot. The LC4 640 by KTM is the real deal!!
- Brian Oehlert, New Hampton, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-11 2000 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own 3 other motorcycles and the LC4 640 is a unique animal. I had a small tip over on a mountain trail, broke the electric fan, which shorted out and burned part of the wiring harness. It was in the shop awaiting parts for over 5 months. The follow up from KTM was horrible! The bike itself is a real scream. It will take my 260-pound body wherever I point it, and will do 100 mph on the road. The seat is a pain in the butt (literally) but after I switched from the knobbies to Michelin Sirac's it's a lot smoother on the highway. I just bought a Valkyrie, but for around town and for dirt roads, I'll be the guy on the KTM.
- Travis Chlarson, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-18 2000 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2000 640 LC4 has been stripped of all extraneous trappings and has been outfitted with rear shark fin, KTM skid plate, Enduro Engineering brush guards, ICO electronic odo (the stock odo doesn't re-set in tenths), side stand (center stand doesn't get it in dirt). I cut away the rear portion of the countershaft cover to allow access to the sprocket while retaining the steel case protector. The gearing has been dropped to 15/45 which makes it buzz a bit on the street but helps tremendously on slow, tight trails. I ditched the cheesy stock chain guide in favor of a modified Husaberg guide from Enduro Engineering. I ride organized dual-sport alot and find the thing works terrific on fire roads, two tracks, and even does well on tight single track, if you don't try to be a hero. The stock Pirelli D.O.T. knobbies work just fine here in Michigan with pressures set at around 12 -14 p.s.i.. I also added rim locks front and rear to keep the tire from spinning on the rims at low pressures. Fuel mileage is in the 40 - 45 m.p.g. range, even while flogging it hard which gives it more range than the average rider's butt. The electric starter is a real plus, especially for those of us with old, tired legs. There's lighter and cheaper bikes going, but in my somewhat educated opinion (having owned over 35 dirt bikes in my 55 years), you just can't do any better than the big KTM.
- Keith Uutinen, Redford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike in 2000.5 supermoto form with 17" wheels and 2001 suspension. The bike had a serious electrical grounding problem on the sub-frame that caused a fried ECU and coil. Once I diagnosed the problem for the dealer, he replaced the parts under warranty. He added an extra ground strap from frame to sub-frame and all was well after that. For some reason, KTM puts Pirelli dual purpose (95% street) tires on supermotos. They take forever to warm up and squirm around a lot. Real street tires are definitely in order. Rejetting to a #165 main, derestricting the can, and adding a few more disks to the supertrapp really wakes the bike up. The thing is a blast in tight curvies and does better than it should in fast sweepers.
- Steve, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-04 2000 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a serious dirt bike that has heaps of grunt and great handling. don't be put off by the weight it handles like it's 20 kilos lighter- of course if they can make it lighter still, excellent. I've got a 250Km ride to town 1/2 on rain damaged dirt roads really just a track, I take my partner and the bike handles big hits with ease, loves soft slippery mud in the river crossings- most other bikes you'd keep your feet ready to dab and keep the beast upright but no such problems with this versatile mount. Watch the pillion rubbers they come off with ease and should be wire tied or bolted on. If you're serious about dirt replace the fork protectors with boots.
- anonymous, Papunya, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-28 2000 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This one has the 17-inch wheels with road racing rain tires...great handling after I tuned the suspension to me. Needs to have airbox top removed, exhaust needs more plates installed to really breathe. I love riding the marginal and good dirt roads in the mountains, it handle this type of road with aplomp, ok on big asphalt roads, fabulous on tight corners in rural conditions. Would be a terrific city mount.
- Eddie O'Brien, Dillon, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-08 2000 KTM 640 LC 4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Forget about its great looks and concentrate on its Dual-purpose capabilities. This bike loves the open trails though you will need to re-gear sprocket (stock is 16/42) to at least a 15/42. Suspension is awesome. Power is sweet and predictable. Rear breaks extremely touchy. Stay out of the mud with the stock tires. Nice room to take on passenger. Road manners are very nimble. A Blast to ride on dirt or road. You are spending your money wisely on this ultimate machine.
- Roger St-Cyr, Atlanta Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: