Kymco PEOPLE 150 Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kymco PEOPLE 150 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kymco PEOPLE 150 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-08-24 2004 Kymco PEOPLE 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually bought this scooter for my wife (it's a 2005). She has a Honda Metro and wanted something with more speed so she could follow me on my motorcycle. I think I have ridden it more than she has. It is a blast and so much easier to ride on short trips in town (grocery store, hardware store, parts store, etc.). It cranks right up and off I go. The large tires make for a more stable ride at higher speeds. I only have two minor complaints and both are because of the larger tires. They take up a lot of your luggage space and foot space. I wear a size 9 shoe and there is not a lot of room to move your feet around. But those are minor problems. I love the scooter and will probably look at buying one of the larger Kymco's when I get too old to handle my much heavier motorcycle.
- Dan, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-21 2004 Kymco PEOPLE 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2005 People 150 to commute to work. I've owned 4 sport motorcycles and one other scooter and have put over 74,000 miles on them. This scooter is a blast. My commute is less than 5 miles each way, but I ride year-round, so I've ridden in heavy rains and high wind. For a 150cc engine, it is quick to accelerate to 45 and then will cruise at 55-60 though I find it not much fun at that speed. The great thing about small engined bikes like this is that they are definitely more fun to ride in town than a big bike. If you want some excitement that you simply can't get on a big bike, ride this scoot at 55-60mph. It will focus your attention. On a big bike you'd be bored. It is extremely easy and inexpensive to maintain. Best of all for me, it fit in my stuffed garage which has very little room for anything else.
- Paul, Anacortes, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2004 Kymco PEOPLE 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this scooter used from a friend and have found it to be exceptionally good. It's cheap to run (70-90mpg) very reliable and is quick enough to commute with traffic going 55 or so. I've had it reach speeds of 65+ mph but any headwind and it struggles to do 60mph. The larger wheels make it handle great over imperfections in the road. The brakes are just ok, a rear disc would help. I use pure premium gas in it and found it runs smoother than with fuel with additives at your typical gas station.
- tj, minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-31 2004 Kymco PEOPLE 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this scoot new, leftover stock from '04. Quite fast for a 150 - I have had it up to 69mph (downhill of course). maintains 55 - 60 quite easily, even on slight grades. FANTASTIC warranty -best in the business. Very easy to service. Handles well - a real joy to ride. Build quality seems good. Even has a digital clock in the dash! The downsides of this bike are minor (except for the riding position). I have ridden it to work many times ; a 45 mile trip one way and it has been great. I get a consistent 70mpg.
- roy a., mcleansville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-08 2003 Kymco PEOPLE 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided to buy a scooter when I realized that I could pay for it with the money I'd save just commuting and running errands with it. Being unfamiliar with the various scooter brands, I decided I would look at low-end Hondas and bought a Ruckus. Within a month, I realized that I wanted more oomph for getting up hills and a higher top speed so I could ride on a wider variety of roads. Then I saw a Vespa on I-95, which caused me to really ponder the possibilities. I sold the Ruckus and researched various scooter brands and models, eventually deciding on the Kymco People line. I had trouble making up my mind, though, between the 50, 150, and 250. 50, 150, OR 250? I read that, with modifications, the 50 would hit 50 MPH, which probably means 47 or 48 MPH on a level grade and 50 MPH down hill. That would work unless I'd want to use it on highways, but I also wanted to steer clear of 2-strokes. I read that the 150 would hit 72 MPH going down hill, which sounded awfully fast and unsafe to me. Kymco's U.S. distributor told me that the 150's top speed is between 60 and 70 MPH and that the 250's top speed is between 70 and 80 MPH. The appeal for me of the 250 was the meatier tires, the dual disc brakes, and the slightly larger fuel tank. The only downside to the 150 and 250 were that I would have to get a motorcycle license. I ruled out the 50 and began the motorcycle license process, which turned out to be simple. For the ~10 MPG better gas mileage and ~$1,000 cheaper price tag, I chose the People 150. THE SCOOTER: It's a bit heavier than the Ruckus, which took a little getting used to but isn't a problem. It feels very sure-footed. Initial acceleration is very good and gives me the jump on almost any car when I want it. Around town it has enough oomph to let me pass with authority. One thing I don't like about the People is the set-up for filling the gas tank. The hole on the Ruckus was metal and solid, but on the People it's plastic. Filling the tank there's no way to see how close the gas level is to the top without removing the nozzle and you can't just fill until the pump shuts off because it shuts off immediately if you squeeze the pump handle too far. Several times I have spilled fuel outside the hole onto the shelf under the rear portion of the seat. This wouldn't be so bad except that from there it can spill into the under-seat storage compartment pretty easily. I would recommend keeping a rag under the seat for when you get a drippy fuel nozzle. The turn signal indicator lights are too dim to easily be seen during daylight but click loudly enough to be heard through helmet and wind noise. The indicators that tell you whether you're using low beam or high beam are plenty bright. The odometer counts kilometers, not miles. THE RIDE: The ride is much nicer than the Ruckus, which surprised me. The Ruckus has really meaty tires, so the People 150's tires looked skimpy to me. I expected that every bump taken at speed would be punishing, but not so. The ride also feels much more stable due to the taller 16wheels. SEAT HEIGHT: The seat is comfortable and at a good height for me. If I put one foot down when I come to a stop, I stand flat-footed, but if I put both feet down I'm usually putting the pressure on the balls of my feet with my knees bent a bit. This is different than the lower seat of the Ruckus, but not at all awkward or uncomfortable. THE KICK START: The kick start worked really well on the Ruckus, but the kick start on my People was initially a pain in the tookas. Several times I've just given up and used the electric starter. I'm getting better at it, although it's still ornery at times, like when it hasn't been used for a few days. I've since discovered that it helps to give it a little throttle when kick starting it. STORAGE: The People's under-seat storage compartment is generous, but not enough to hold a helmet. I use it to carry a thick cable, a Kryptonite lock, a gas rag, and the included tool kit, which leaves plenty of room for other things. The front glove compartment is really two small compartments once the door is opened. I only keep a pair of sunglasses on one side and riding gloves on the other, but there's room for a little more. PERFORMANCE: The first place I rode it was to my office about 5 miles away. What amazed me was how fast I was going without feeling like I was going that fast (~55 MPH indicated in a 35 MPH zone). The People's 16wheels make for much more competent and confidence-inspiring cornering than my old scooter. The braking is adequate. For a scooter that can hit 65 MPH, it really needs rear disc brakes to go with the front ones. Squeezing the rear brake alone doesn't do much at all. The scooter's front brake works well, though. My first real test ride was a 75-mile trip from my home to Front Royal, Virginia and back. I was taking a rifle to a friend for repair in a guitar-backpack case that stuck up a bit over my helmet causing no little bit of additional windage at highway speeds. The speed limit on Rt. 66 goes from 55 to 65. I didn't pass anybody, but the scooter maintained speeds between 62 and 72 MPH indicated, depending on whether I was ascending or descending the gently rolling hills. I made quite a site and got a good number of double-takes from motorcyclists traveling in the other direction. The side gust from a passing tractor trailer isn't so bad, but the wind really buffeted me when I was behind one. When I got off of Rt. 66, I was on well paved twisty mountain roads. Again I was surprised to see how confidently and fast I was taking them, which I attribute to the taller wheels. The last 1/4 mile or so of my trip was dirt/gravel road and the People didn't like that too much. For that stretch I had to slow to 15-20 MPH and I wished I'd had the Ruckus. Traveling on a 65 MPH highway without the added windage from my guitar case I get between 64 and 72 MPH indicated with the throttle held wide open. While I have found that I would prefer the extra power and weight of the 250 when riding on the highway, I don't feel too insecure on the 150. The highest speed I've reached is 74 MPH indicated. STATS: At the time of this review, the scooter has 1,104 kilometers (686 miles) on it. I have observed a consistent gas mileage of 113 KPG or 70 MPG. The speedometer indicates a speed higher than actual. I measured it between indicated 35 and 65 MPH and it maintained a constant discrepancy of 6 MPH lower than what the speedometer indicated. The fuel gauge needle drops like a stone on the highway once below the 1/2-tank mark, so watch it closely. The engine is a 152cc air-cooled 4-stroke that produces 8.1 horsepower at 6100 RPM. The scooter weighs 111 kg or 245 lbs. An engine temperature gauge or indicator light would be nice. FINAL WORD: When it's time to upgrade, I'll never go back to wheels smaller than 16. So far I have had no problems whatsoever and the quality seems good. I'm delighted with the value-to-dollar ratio I got with this scooter. If I had it to do over again, I would get the People 250, but only because of the slightly insufficient top speed on 65 MPH highways. Since I am new to motorized two-wheeled vehicles, the 250 can wait and the 150 is certainly sufficient while I hone my skills.
- Phin Benson, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-27 2003 Kymco PEOPLE 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first scooter. I got it mostly because of the high gas prices, and the fact that my commute to work is only 7 miles - mostly city streets. After the first week, I have to say that I love it. It's relatively comfortable, it has excellent pickup for a 150/4 stroke. It took me a couple of days to stop trying to shift and use the non-existant foot brake. It also felt a little weird at first, not being in a "straddle" position. It's looks are very eye-catching. With the larger wheels, and the retro styling, I get lots of heads turning when I drive by. My only two complaints are: 1. My size L full face helmet won't fit under the seat 2. The mirrors seem to be a little on the short side to me - and set in a little too close. Sometimes it's hard to see behind me.
- Jon Spelbring, Belleville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-13 2003 Kymco PEOPLE 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handles very well with great pick up. A blast to ride, very comfortable. Perfect choice for short trips around town.
- Fl Rider, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-19 2003 Kymco PEOPLE 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took a People 150 for a ride and was more than surprised to find that it was fully capable of taking a 215lb rider - without a problem. Plenty of room (6'2"), quiet, quick off the line - with enough to get you up onto the highway and running at 60mph. (Anything more is just not reasonable /feasible for long periods). Probably a 'best bet' for a 160-200lb rider who occasionally takes passengers and occasionally takes the highway. Exceptional for country roads, urban duties, etc.
- Mark Sacco, Dudley, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: