Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-06 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike in 2005, only had 141 miles on it. Have owned all types of bikes throughout my long 52 yr life. Great all around bike. A tremendous bang for the buck value. Handles very well in curves. Am loving every minute riding it. Distinctive looks and great engine sound. Can not say enough about it.
- Johnnie Mac, Danbury, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-24 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Jackal in Sept 03. I bought it from a woman in Glenwood Springs, CO she brought it to KS for me. I got this bike ready to ride with a full fairing type windshield by National Cycle and it came with the detachable OEM hardbags. She even threw in some heated grips that I installed, they're nice to have on chilly days. I am really glad I bought this bike. The Guzzi's are great handling bikes, it is a true sports cruiser or as close to a sport touring bike that gives you the best of both the cruiser and sport bike worlds. I have friends that have cruisers and I wanted one, but didn't want to give up the handling. When I test rode a left over Jackal at the local dealer here in Wichita, I fell in love with the bike. I want to put a touring seat on it like the EV has. I feel it will make it more comfortable on long trips. It's red and I am glad because people check it out all the time because of its "bobber" styling and retro looks. The brembo brakes work great, even the rear one will slow you down on it's own. The engine has good grunt to get you going and the bike does seem to cruise great around 80mph. Lately I was considering getting a new Harley Sportster XL1200R with the new rubber mounted engine, but I just can't part with my Jackal. The previous owner rode from CO to Canada to AZ and everywhere in between without any problems. The same for me, no problems, other than I had that kickstand kill switch diabled. I am going to retro it up some more to make it look like a vintage bike. I really considered sending it to Mark Ethridge of Moto Guzzi Classic in CA to have it converted to look like the El Dorado of the early 70's. The El Dorado's were good looking bikes. The bike would be a Jackal in El Dorado clothing. If you want a cruiser that handles like a sport tourer, has great OEM add on accessories, and sounds great with the right pipes, the Jackal could well be the bike you have been looking for. Besides why own a "cookie cutter" bike when you can have something everyone else doesn't have and still get the respect of the hard core harley owners, because the Guzzi is one of the original cruisers that have been around almost as long if not longer as harley and BMW. Besides if I want to go really fast that's what I got my Buell S3 for. The S3 is another story. Good riding to all.
- Steve G., Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-18 2001 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently I moved to a farm outside of Australia's Capital Canberra,my Dyna Superglide with Progressive Springs and Koni's on the rear was not up to the secondry roads in my district.I sold the Harley and bought a Moto Guzzi Stone Metal, this bike is fantastic, excellent suspension, real brakes (plenty of kangaroos out here)and flexible power delivery one of motorcyclings best kept secret.
- Lyndsay Kerr, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-13 2001 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For those of you looking to get a cruiser bike, you've got to check out a Guzzi. There are 3 makes of bikes that pass as cool (Harleys, Triumphs and Guzzies). All the Japanese bikes just don't have the soul that warrants respect on the road. With that in mind, this is the bike (Jackal or Stone) you need if you want a mix between cruiser and sport. I've had mine for a year now and it's the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. It's cool. It's different. It's respected (even by hard core Harley owners). In fact, I think it's much cooler than a Harley because it seems that everyone and their brother now owns a Harley. And, it's a helluva lot more affordable than a Harley and more reliable than a Triumph. I know, I checked -em all out. I really like the vertical foot positioning as opposed to the way most cruisers force you to throw keep your feet way out in front of your body. (Triumph Bonnies are also vertical). It was funny to watch the Harley riders taking their driver's license road tests struggling to keep their bikes up because the only balance you have with foot-forward positioning is your head and neck! Not so with the Guzzi. I love my bike and couldn't imagine ever parting with it. If you're looking for a cool bike with Italian flash and styling and want to stand out from the croud, then look no more.
- Kelly, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-03 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Jackal and the BMW 1200C are the only two bikes (other than that enormous Honda Valkyrie) that give you a crusier set-up but keep your feet back and let you feel like you can ride the curves aggressively. I wind up in chases around the hills with different kinds of bikes and find that I can set a decent pace in front and keep up from behind. I'd like to see a 2nd disk up front as the braking is a little soft when going hot into corners and Progressive's in the back have made a big difference, but like most riders the bike is better than I am and the changes are not really necessary. The essential character of the bike is a wolf in sheep's clothing. At first glance it looks like a cruiser and it will cruise very nicely, but when you wick it up the wool comes off and the howling begins. I suspect that the beemer 1200C is faster because of the superior suspension, but not twice-the-$ faster.
- Dennis, Menlo Park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-04 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After getting used to the clutch I am very happy. It handles real sporty, but also has the big feel of a cruiser.
- Biker Dude, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-18 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Jackal in June of 2000 and have nothing but praise for this bike. It handles like my old Triumphs and runs like stink. First I had to replace the brick called a seat since then I've added my own personal touch ... like every bike. I've gotten a lot of help from motointernational.com and the Moto Guzzi National Owners Club -- MGNOC.com. Can't say enough good things about the bike. Dare to be different at a bargain price!
- Rider, Hattiesburg, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-13 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Moto Guzzi Jackal in August of 2000. After 3000 miles I am still in love. This is not a machine for everyone. It lacks the hi tech refinement of the Asian models and is not dripping with chrome like a Harley Davidson, but for me it is something much more. The tonti frame translates to near sportbike handling, the fuel injected V-Twin is powerful and very fast, and the no nonsense, no frills look and gorgeous deep black paint impart elegant good looks. There is not another sport cruiser made that I would rather own. My Asian bikes were all nice, the Harley FXRS was cool, but this Guzzi is in a class by itself. Like I said, the Guzzi is not for everyone, but it is definitely for me. Well built, fun to ride, pleasing to look at and priced right. Did I mention I love this motorcycle?
- Yukester, Lake Winola, Pa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-10 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Photographs cannot do this bike justice -- it is art on two wheels. I am happy just to look at it sitting outside of my living room. My Jackal was not a perfect fit off-of-the-rack, but now fits just fine. There have been little flaws -- it is perhaps not as perfectly assembled as a Japanese bike -- but these were the sorts of things I could fix with a little adjustment. I have spent some time making detail cosmetic changes to suit me, and altering it to fit my smaller 5'8" stature, but other than that the Guzzi seems very well constructed and has been a great ride. This is a very easy motorcycle to work on and modify. Mine is set up for solo cruising, with a lowered ride height, custom saddle, handle bars off of an EV (thanks to Moto International), luggage rack, modified exhaust -- like I said, detail stuff -- and it is red like only the Italians can do. I have no complaints. It is very powerful, seems rock steady at speed, and handles easily on the city streets that I ride, has great brakes, and sounds wonderful. I have an automotive background so the forward facing engine and shaft drive make perfect sense to me -- the feeling of the bike leaning over when I blip the throttle at a traffic stop is sort of a thrill -- and I don't have any complaint with the clutch or the shifting. It starts and runs easily right from the beginning -- even when the temperature was 28 degrees outside -- the fuel injection is set up perfectly. Cooling fins and wire spoke wheels are a must for me, but are a bitch to keep clean if you go out in the rain; that is my only complaint. My Jackal gets recognition and respect from all other motorcyclists, whether they ride Japanese bikes, BMWs, or Harleys, and no more do I long for that Harley Softail FXST that I used to dream about. Moto Guzzis aren't bikes that suit most people, but yes, I am very happy with mine.
- M. Vierra, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding a Harley Davidson for six years, it was time to try something new. In August I rode the Jackal for the first time as Moto Guzzis are avialable only now in Canada!. The Guzzi runs rings around my Harley. It handles great, sounds great, and that Italian allure is unbeatable! Definitely a bargain too.
- Andrew, Toronto

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-13 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you want to ride in an upright position on a classic, easy-to-ride motorcycle, the Jackal may be perfect for you. I am 5'10" tall, with a 30" inseam, and the bike is an excellent fit. I wanted the engineering excellence of a European bike. The Jackal delivers an outstanding ride, stable, fast and consistently thrilling, and its form-follows-function aesthetic draws nonstop adulation from all quarters. Most remarkably, the price is rational, especially versus the Bavarian competition. Downsides? Premium gas is pricey (I use Sunoco 94 octane) and the clutch was a learning experience. As I near 3,000 trouble free miles, the Jackal is still the most rewarding machine I have ever bought. Speed's Cycle of Elkridge, MD is an outstanding dealer.
- Jim Walsh, Annapolis, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-19 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, I posted a review back in May, and up to that point, the bike seemed great. Since then it has been in the shop for a month (it's still there...) with an as-yet-undiagnosed clutch problem. In my earlier review, I noted some leakage from the rear diff, that was because an O ring was not installed from the factory. No real damage was caused as a result since the oil level was still OK when I brought it in for 1st service. But the clutch thing is making me wish I had gotten a BMW. I love how the bike feels when it's on the road, but I am beginning to forget what that feels like now!
- Anonymous, Waltham, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-13 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After closing in on my first 1,000 miles, I'm enjoying this bike more and more. Great handling and upright riding comfort for an older rider like myself. Yes, you're sure to get "wows" from all sorts of riders. A classy Bobster that I highly recommend.
- Lance, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-26 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I I picked up my Jackal in April and have really enjoyed riding it. The more I ride it, the smoother the engine gets. I moved to this bike from an '85 Virago, there's not a lot of comparison between the two. This bike is really stable and feels solid at high speed on the highway. I don't have a windscreen (yet) so wind can be a problem over about 60. Some fluid leakage early on from cylinder heads and rear differential, but tightening the valve covers a bit cured one, and the other just stopped on its own. don't like that it has a cut off switch linked to the side stand, will be disconnecting that soon. Overall, a great bike at a very nice price.
- Dave Nolan, Waltham, Massachusetts,USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-22 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handles like a sport bike and has the beefy feeling of a big cruiser all at the same time. Bike attracts a lot of attention from all types of riders too. About them "many options"...they take a bit longer to get from Guzzi than I like to wait. But after my first 1000 miles I'm happy. Clutch takes a while to get used to...but works fine.
- Carl, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-12 2000 Moto Guzzi California Jackal Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've not ridden it yet, but I really don't have to. I've been riding my Moto Guzzi Mille G.T. for nearly ten years and don't expect the Jackal to be very different in character. What I do look forward to is this bike's versatility. There are many options available today for customizing your Moto Guzzi that didn't exist ten years ago when I bought mine. The Jackal looks terrific when it's set up for solo touring with available luggage rack instead of the pillion pad. Add available hard bags that match the sillouette of the rear fender along with available beaded windshield, and you're all set. Ciao.
- Allen Smith, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: