Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles Reviews (25)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-12-11 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this brand new 2000 V11 Sport and I absolutely love it. Right from the start it felt like something special. Just the way the bike feels on the road and the heavenly sound the pipes make. I did end up adding the Guzzi TI racing kit with the upgraded ECU and it has made a great difference. The bike pulls even better and the sound is fantastic. Plus the pipes are so light I think the bike is now about 15 pounds lighter. It has been really reliable and has never let me down at all. All these years later it still turns heads and even more so now that all bikes are starting to look the same and the V11 really stands out among the flock. It is also comfy enough to take on long trips with a reasonable amount of luggage. Bottom line is that I would for sure buy this bike again if I were to make another bike purchase.
- John Stiller, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-04 2001 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can you say about an Italian VTwin with Shaft Drive? It's awesome, beautiful and fun to drive. Plenty of power and torque. Shaft drive and 6 speed transmission are like butter. It gets lots of comments from all riders. It is a little quirky, but dependable and refined. The sound is wonderful. The only thing I changed were the mirrors(bar ends instead of mickey mouse ears). I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a unique sport bike. Looking forward to many years of riding this bike.
- Joe, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-05 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second street bike ever, so I havent got much to compare to. I went into the dealer looking for a "naked" bike, something with style, and power. This bike has it in spades. I bought a ferrari red version with black underbody. Hot! Engine grunts like a mac truck, and sounds fantastic. All the jap bike boys look over with envy when they hear it. Transmission can be a bit finicky, but I find it is mostly when engaging from neutral, and it is solved by dropping the clutch out a bit, much like on older trucks without syncros. Not a problem once you figure the trick out. My bike is a 2004 model, and I am hoping they solved the electical and fuel lock issues that some other users have reported in earlier models. Also benefit from some Aprilia engineering now that they were bought, and now Piaggio has bought them both, so dealer network should expand. I think Moto Guzzi is a great bike, built like a tank and style to boot, although I fear our little secret will escape and in a few years there will be tons of them on the road. Here's hoping not...
- Loteq, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-13 2001 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This green metallic bike with its red frame is a good looking classic bike, with some modern touches like fuel injection and electronic management, yet it maintains the essentials of a long line of classic motorbikes, like its stomping V2 and its shaft drive. The engine is quite civilized, powerful and full of torque right through to its redline at 8000 rpm. It has a slick six speed box, that really works, like a knife through butter. Its maintenance free shaft drive and 1st class suspension, makes it a comfortable and fast tourer although the back seat is a bit cramped for longer distances. This is also a sports Moto Guzzi where you can go fast through corners, and I mean FAST, it leans well, it turns sharply but it wobbles through corners unless you give it power through. Initially this can be quite unsetteling, until you learn to pile it on; where the bike then shines with stability like a train, right up to top speed of approximately 220 to 230 km. Acceleration is brisk to fierce, and the bike is an absolute delight. Highly desirable. Moto Guzzi's are known for their quirky attitudes, and the bike and you need to bond over a period. You are likely to have some initial faults with the machine, nothing serious, because they are very durable. We are talking more of nuisance problems. If you are prepared for that, and able to live this period through, you will be rewarded with a bike which will bring a smile to your face every time you ride it. It is one of life's small pleasures that bikes like these are still being built and are available to mere mortals like us. Grab one, enjoy life. I did, and I do!
- Guido Kaiser, Johannesburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-21 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike just keeps getting better and better. I added the Guzzi Titanium exhaust and the vibes basically went away. I figure the stock system was so resrtictive that they made the bike a little buzzier. Acceleration is great, handling superb, great brakes etc..... I added a carbon front and rear fender, dash, side covers and a Corbin leather sabble. Looks to kill, usable power and character. Excellent reliability, great tranny etc.... I am hooked on Guzzi!!!!!!
- Francesco, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-08 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I saw this bike at the Moto Guzzi tent at last years Daytona, FL bikeweek and immediately fell in love. That year I saw just about every bike under the sun and this bike just flat outdid them all in style and character. A few months later I decided I was gonna keep my eyes out for one (just couldn't get the thing out of my head). Found one just a couple weeks later for a fair price and the previous owner kept it immaculate. I have had it now for around six months and have never been more pleased with a bike. It's solid and stable and handles superb, not to mention it is the finest thing on the road and I have never seen another. It's not a GXR or Hyabusa or even competitive performance wise, but it never fails, when I park next to one of those, that I get infinitely more attention. I just can't help but be proud of this bike. Thank you to Moto Guzzi for building this thing.
- Jacob, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-26 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A truly Italian integration of form and function -- the unique Moto Guzzi V11 Sport. I was initially surprised by the very differences that make this bike interesting...coming from my acclimatization of another legend -- the Ducati 996. Since my 996 got stolen a year ago, I was without a bike for some time. I wanted to find another bike that would have some character and would be comfortable to use. Although I had gotten used to the 996, riding it in slow traffic was excruciating and in the summer...God! the exhaust was cook the underside...! After considering the Yamaha V-Max, Road Star Warrior, Ducati Monster...I chanced upon the V11 Sport. Interestingly, MG had remained somewhat oblivious to me (like many others) and then all of a sudden I seemed to be bitten by the MG bug. A few clicks later, landed a good deal on Ebay. The bike was located 120 miles from my home. Initial experiences: I took delivery from the Seller's home, who was kind enough to lend me his plates. I rode 120 miles...and that was some experience. Never had I ridden a bike like this one before. The driveline lash, the awesome handlebar vibration, the sound...! To make matters more interesting, I got caught in the rain twice...but had the sense to wait it out. I have now had the bike for a month. Have had no problems so far. The Seller took good care of it, had the relays replaced under a recall. This bike seems to draw more attention and compliments from experienced and wizened riders. I have replaced the stock mirrors with CRG bar-ends, which seems to have cut down the vibes a bit...and I am more used to it now. I enjoy riding this bike...extremely comfortable. No cooking of thighs and ass. The clutch is so pliable and easy to use, in comparison to the Ducati's. The most unique aspect of this bike is it's strong design which manages a perfect blend of nostalgia and the contemporary. Obviously this bike does not compete for performance, but on looks alone it outdoes the competition by miles. This bike is not about how FAST you go from 0 to 60, but HOW you get from 0 to 60. Cheers!!
- SG, D.C. area, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-08 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is such a cool motorcycle. Great performance(Brakes, engine, handling, reliability, build quality) I'll use any old excuse to go for even the shortest ride. The V11 makes you want to get up at 5am just to go for a ride! The build quality is second to none with all kinds of nice touches like braided brake and oil lines. The shaft design is superb with none of the pogo stick affair of other shafties. Little things to do are as follows. -Change all the relays to the better Bosche ones.(Not expensive, and they are dead reliable) -Wrap fuel line under the tank with heat proof tape and duct tape(Fuel can evaporate in the line causing vapour lock) -make sure all the three grease fittings on the shaft are lubed according to the manual(The factory did not always prep the bikes properly) Then just have fun and ride!!! I put a a Magni fairing in my bike. Wow what a cool fairing. reminds me of the old Ducati 900 SS (78) Plus it's functional. Buy one you'll love it and you won't see one on every ride.
- Bruce, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rocks! Great power delivery, brakes, stable handling, mileage. This bike has gotten under my skin. The cool vibes and character are truly fantastic. You will not see yourself on the road at every corner or bike hangout either. The bike has been dead reliable, although I did change to the new style relays before I even rode it home, no big deal. Every time I park it people come and ask questions about it. I also installed a Magni fairing (Very cool) it provides aerodynamics and protection. Do yourself a favor don't buy the flavor of the month, buy a bike you will own and enjoy for life!!
- Lawrence, Kellowna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had reservations about buying a Guzzi. However after more than ten thousand miles and numerous long trips I can say that I love this bike. Beautiful power delivery and torque, very stable handling, and loads of character. When I took a realistic look at the reasons I ride, I came to the realization that this V11 sport would fit the bill perfectly. I did install a Magni fairing for the increased wind protection and handling at high speed. Do yourself a favour and really look at the reason you ride and what your capabilities as a rider are. I think most us would not be able to extract all that a Ducati 999 could offer. It would be silly to live with an all out superbike day in and out if we did not use it to the fullest. The beauty of the Guzzi is that it's loads of fun regardless of what speed you're going, and your wrists and back won't kill you when the ride is over. This V11 is a keeper. Let the good times roll!!
- Michael, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-28 2001 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The new V11 Sport feels completely different than when there are 8500 miles on the clock...the break-in takes a while but it's worth it. The engine smooths out, the suspension loosens up, the MPG goes up...and so does the power. Watch out, this thing will run. With adjustable suspension and handlebars, it's really not hard to find a comfortable, sporty riding position. I've put 650 miles on in a day, and I wasn't fatigued. I've had no reliability problems so far save for a relay and a blown neutral switch...both were fixed within minutes. Warranty is awesome, 2 years unlim miles. Ride the heck out of it. The only bitch I have is that the rear shock has so much built-in preload that it literally jumps over big frost heaves in the road. I read somewhere a guy took out a coil or something in the rear shock that solved all the problems... The bike looks, sounds, and feels like the perfect motorcycle. It feels like nothing else I've ever ridden...BMW, Honda, Aprilia, Yamaha...you really feel the road, and it's a very responsive bike to what the rider's inputs are. Conclusion: Give the bike some time after it's bought new. It will break in to how you ride and it will become like a best riding friend to you. Nothing is as unique as this bike on the market today.
- Mike Norris, Iowa City, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-20 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well my last review wasn't brilliant as I had listed a shit load of parts that I have to replace. One thing I didn't let you know is that I weigh 120Kg and stand six foot. I gtive the bike shit and to tell you the trust I haven't had f all fail since replacing most of the brackets. I have just pulled the air box and replaced it with a set of air stacks and redline racing filters. The boyz in Aucland have tuned and man it flies. Everytime I ride it I end up grining till it hurts, that is after the hard huffing and puffing that goes on during a work out on her. I pulled the diff when she hit 100,000k and tis cleaner than a new babies bum. If you are considering buying this bike then "buy it" as you won't regret it. One thing I would be careful of is having the suspension cranked up as this puts a lot of jarring back into the bike which will break brackets. Cheers and remember boyz and girlz TWO WHEELS UP AYE?
- Bikehiker, Whakatane, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-01 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I feel the need to update my customer service issues with MG. I developed some serious performance problems and had to take the thing to the dealer for service. To make a long story short, the dealer was actually able to get a rep from MG to come down with a few parts and a laptop and do some troubleshooting. When I returned to pick it up it still was not quite right and I mentioned this to the dealer who immediately contacted the same rep and he returned in a matter of minutes to re-diagnose. His apperance was not required but he felt compelled to make it "right", and he did. I believe some serious changes are instore at MG to the positive. Keep a sharp eye on the horizon at Moto Guzzi.
- Keith, Kennesaw, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-18 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have enjoyed this bike having bought it new it Jan. although it is a 2000 model. Transmission seems to be suffering from engagement problems at only 3200 miles. All in all not a bad machine but I have had much better for less dollars and if you feel the need for any customer service or parts for your dealer, forget about it! These guys DO NOT have the "service after the sale" thing figured out! Pathetic. Even the dealers tell me I have made a mistake in my purchase and many dealers have quit selling these things because of the bad rep they earn due to MG indifferance. I'm selling mine and sticking to Jap bikes.
- Keith, Kennesaw, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-23 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in August of 2000 and have almost 13,000 miles on it. This bike is by far the biggest POS I have ever owned, it has been in the shop now for 5 months for a transmission problem and I am getting absolutely no satisfaction from Moto-Guzzi. I will never buy again, nor would I recommend buying any Moto-Guzzi, their customer service stinks ! This transmission problem is just one of many I have had with this bike
- unhappy owner, Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-04 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not withstanding the electrical problems, I bought a bunch of relays from Radio Shack (online and cheap). I love this bike. No other bike will make people stop in their tracks and look. Fun to ride, and love that sound......I'd recommend it if your looking for something different.
- CLIZZI, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-30 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Guzzi since new. I have after market pipes and I have replaced the following. All relays 1 x Gearbox (blew to bits) 2 x rear exhaust brackets 1 x clutch reservoir bracket 1 x front brake reservoir bracket 1 x bar end mirror (for da looks) 2 x oil cooler brackets 1 x headlight (inner deflector failure) 1 x regulator 1 x battery (regulator failure) 2 x sets of wheel bearings (both at 20,000) 1 x set universals 1 x left side cover 1 x right side cover 1 x tacho So yip I have replaced a few bits, but mostly it was warranty work. I have tried all tyre variants and I find the Batlax 202's the best of the bunch. I get good miles and it handles likes it's on rails either in or out of the rain. I am about to replace the Speedo as well as the tacho due to the dials fading to the point of non existence. I have also to replace the Speedo cable which has also failed. I am also getting the two rear exhaust mounts (frame) reinforced as they are starting to crack. Apart from the failures that I have had, well all I can stay is BUGGAR! It worries me but at least my baby still runs like a cut kat, and nobody yet has been able to catch me around the Rotomas (15 k road the twists up and down hills). If you consider the V11 that you are getting over your ordinary run of the mill bikes then you can see what it is all about. I love this bike and if anyone wants to dis it then lets fight!
- Big Steve , Whakatane, New Zealand

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-11 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my black one in Arizona and brought back to El Paso, a left over new 2000. Cooked the relays in the first 300 miles; new ones sent to my house in 24 hours by Moto Guzzi USA with cooperation of Renaissance Motorcycles in Arizona!! Tail light circuit shorted out due to loose wire in tach/speedo assembly. Best sounding engine I've heard; kind of like a bass version of a Ducati, even with stock pipes. Love it totally. Handle bar vibration not nearly as bad as magazines say it is.
- Wes Schotten, El Paso, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-10 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
...if anyone has had problems with the two ignition housing bolts falling out of the 2000 v-11 sport ignition housing, please let me know. I've contacted the westcoast area rep. via internet as to the warranty status and if this is a common problem. thks ..bruce
- bruce neugebauer, el paso texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-10 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you buy this bike, ensure you have the new set of relays before you buy. The relays fix the electrical problems that seem to be prevalent with some bikes. I had the same issue, but the relays take care of it right away. The motor and tranny on this bike are very nice, with just gobs of torque from the V twin. Handlebar vibration is noticeable but not objectionable, however the mirrors suck, so buy some bar end mirrors and you'll be ok. I too wish there was a better fairing option, although the larger Magni fairing is very expensive. Styling on the bike is drop dead gorgeous; it gets looks everwhere I ride it. Bike is a tad small(cramped) for those over 6'.
- Dan Donahue, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always been intrigued by the british cafe racers of old. The V11 sport has the look and the feel of a real street thrasher. The motor feel and silky gearbox combined with the freight train pulling power has left me in awe. The sound of the motor and its rumble at idle is music to my ears. And the sound at peak rpms is, well, thrilling to say the least. I have had thirty nine bikes to date, and have been looking for this one the whole time. It is already a hard to find classic that would complete anyones collection of one of a kind bikes. All it really needed was the colour matched fairing to complete the look. Not the fastest, not the slowest, but truly a great sport bike.
- Rustle O, Martinez, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I too have had similar problems as did the "push" review. Very frustrating!
- GM, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-20 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The dealer's owner let me ride his personal bike for a few hours on the "last nice day of the season" in New England. Winding through the backroads, the sun shining through the autumn leaves was nirvana! The bike is outstandingly comfortable-perfect ergonomics that are much better than my VTR1000. The vibration bemoaned in the press was annoying only between 4000-4200 rpm. It surprised me at first, but I quickly got used to it. The transmission is great. It's much better than my VTR1000 Superhawk. I had the "Harley guys" gawking...They new it wasn't Japanese, but had no idea what it was. Real horns, great brakes with SS lines(I wish they used the more attractive "star pattern" rotors like the Ducati 900SS. The looks! This thing is beautiful in person. I'd like to see one in Italian Red w/Silver frame. The handling is great. This is the best handling shaft driven bike I've ridden. (I've owned a few BMWs and Honda shafties) My only complaints are that the mirrors stink and a few odd fasteners look like they will quickly corrode. Unfortunately there are not too many accessories available for Moto Guzzis. I've seen a work stand and a small Monster-like fairing that looks a bit cheesy. I'd like a midsize fairing as an option. I guess my only problem is for my dealer to find me a Green one!
- Mark Trimmer, Warwick, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-11 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike a few months ago and can unequivocally say it is wonderful. "Wonderful" means that whenever I ride the bike it puts a smile on my face. I sold a 99 BMW R1100S for this machine and I am very satisfied with the decision. Regarding the vibration issue that the magazines report, not an issue if you realize this machine is a twin cylinder. I rode the bike for an hour before I purchased it, without gloves, and the pulsations coming from the engine were acceptable...no numbness, as written by mags. As you approach 5,000 rpm the vibrations diminish to a point of extremely smooth. The most vibration to be felt, and its not that bad, is around 3,000rpm. It's important with this machine to not lug the engine due to its excellent 6-speed transmission. Regarding seating position, I'm 6'0 with a 32" inseam and the machine is perfect. The fit and finish is also excellent. I couldn't be happier except with availability of some crucial accessories, i.e. faring/shield, soft luggage and center stand. Great job MotoGuzzi.
- Jerry Brink, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-21 2000 Moto Guzzi V11 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike to include the new six speed. The buzz is not bad in the seat, tank, or the pegs. However, the grips vibrate all of the time and might be fixed through foam add-ons.
- B.N., El Paso, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: