Motorcycles Reviews on Cycle Insider (26,574)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Motorcycles Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Jim Egan from This bike isn't for short people... says:

Before making a purchase I reviewd a lot on youtube about the klr650.. I own a 2002 harley davidson electra glide ultra limited and also 1997 Ducati 9

Read More (26574 reviews)

Have you owned any Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-01-18 2004 Victory Touring Cruiser Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Owned about 45 different motorcycles in the last 52 years, Concours 10,R100,Gold Wings,Road King,Vstrom 1000, Bonnevilles, Norton's and many others. I was run over by a drunk driver head on and have much steel on my body. I'm getting old and finicky about the bike I ride, it must not be to heavy but heavy to resist cross winds and truck wakes, it must have adequate wind protection with a good windshield and intergrated luggage that doesn't look like an after thought. It needs low end grunt but doesn't have to keep up with a Hayabusa, it looks like a motorcycle not Darth Vader, reliable with shaft drive has to have higher reliability than BMW, no over complex ECM, fuel mapping but carberated simple. Handle good at slow parking lot speed and confidence inspiring in the Twisties, comfortable and light enough for an old man to ride. Cost < 20,000 US dollars right, well I bought one 3 months ago with 8,000 miles on it for 2500, think it's a keeper if do it will last longer than me good night
- Russell Ray, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-13 2006 Harley Davidson Super Glide FXDI 35 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new, off the dealer floor without having test driven it or even having sat on it. I simply was in mechanical lust with this bike after seeing its glowing white paint with the blue and red striping. An honest ode to the original 1971 Super Glide. After completing the paperwork I got it home and took off on my maiden voyage. It was so much smoother than my 1994 1200 Sportster. I immediately found a couple loose nuts on the mirrors that decided to depart from the bike. That hacked me off a bit. I shouldn't have to go around and check the fasteners and bolts on a brand new bike. After a few months I decided to make a couple mods. An HD Stage One air cleaner was added along with a set of Cycle Shack slips ons. Which I found out are the same ones HD puts the Screamin' Eagle name on and sells for an additional $150. Also a matching backrest and sissy bar were added along with a detachable wind screen and highway pegs. Now I could put my daughters on behind me and know they had something solid behind them and the wind shield helps reduce strain on on highway rides. A couple riding impressions are apparent right off. This is a much heavier bike than my Sportster. Performance is a trade off. The Super Glide is faster in speed than the Sportster. However, the Sportster is quicker in acceleration. Comfort wise, the Super Glide is much more advantageous. No vibrations in the handlebars or foot pegs to deal with. I will say the Super Glides seat is not as comfortable as I would like it. After 100 miles or so my ass is aching. I think it needs more padding. The seat, not my ass. Gas mileage is pretty consistent. 40 mpg around town, 45-46 mpg on the highway. In my ownership years I've had exactly one mechanical issue with the bike. A seal on the front fork failed and was leaking. I do have to take the blame for that one because I put the registration sticker on the fork and it wore through the seal. I am planning to get an air cushion for the seat and a set of saddle bags for when I take my pilgrimage out west in a couple years. All in all, I'm quite please with my bike and look forward to keeping it for several more years.
- Russell Toalson, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-12 2007 Yamaha FJR 1300AE Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used cycletrader to get an individual seller. This led be to procure a very sound bike. No hassles. Great discussion with bike owner and interaction. I am so happy for the ease of doing business via cycle trader.
- Jeff , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-05 2019 BMW F850GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike so far only had it fo a month Haven’t been able to ride it much yet due to our rain and wind here in Seattle. I will have a bette review at a later time I can’t wait to get on the road I think bmw is tops!!
- Shawn James, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-31 1979 Suzuki GS1000L Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1979 Suzuki GS1000L felt like a monster compared to my first bike. I had noticed it in a dark old grain shed at a neighbor's party in rural Iowa. Under the dust I made out the Suzuki emblem and a speedometer that had somewhere around 19000 miles on it. I called about it later and was re-directed to the owner who said if I could get it running I could have it. I was there the next day and shocked to discover it was a one liter bike! A decade of neglect left the throttle only barely able to lift the slides. Another year and they would have been locked solid. I even broke a jet needle trying to free them from the varnish. Two weeks later with all unusable components replaced, it was running off an iv drip can with 10 years of dust and oil smoke burning off and drifting up and over the machine. The next few months saw a new jet kit, more carb tweaking, electronic ignition fitted, led instrument bulbs, new tires and other improvements made including 4 into 4 pipes. The end result was a bike that sounded like a world war two fighter on startup, and once warmed up ran very well. I could never get it to start as nice as my best friend's cb750k, but the battery and charging system were up to the task with enough extra juice to power an h4 headlight also. I've heard that it's important to keep the oil level up to cool the stater coils. Mind also, all switches and connectors as they corrode easily. The engine was a work of art with the crank and transmission running on roller bearings and a gear driven primary. The only chains were the cam chain and the drive chain. It was awash with torque. Owed partially, I suspect, to the weight of the crank and a relatively square bore and stroke. Something most manufacturers seem to have forgotten. This made it fun and practical to ride, as takeoff was always easy and low speed drivability surprisingly good for a bike that wasn't much less than 600 lbs. The torque stayed all the way up to 7000 when the power delivery turned savage. They made 90 some HP stock and I suspect I was well over that. Handling was awful but predictable due mostly to age, weight, and soft suspension. Again, if only I had access to half the parts I do now, fork springs, shocks, and tapered steering head bearings would have gone a long way to sorting it out. As it was it would weave and shake at anything over 80, and get downright terrifying, so I mostly just used it for speed limit touring. The tires were too thin and anything soft was quickly devoured. Fuel economy was never better than 40 and often worse than 30. Even so, it was still far less expensive to run than many of the sport bikes I have owned since, and will always be one of my favorites.
- Mike S., North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-31 1977 Yamaha XS400D Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1977 Yamaha XS360D2 was the first bike I ever purchased back in 2004 at 16 with 2900 miles on the clock. The price was 550 from a local dealer in a small town in northeast iowa. It was pretty clear it needed carb work right from the start as most of this age will by now. It was the blue one with spoke wheels, front disc, kick starter, and points ignition. Aftermarket emgo megaphone mufflers were also fitted and were plenty quiet. I wish I had the jetting skills I have now because it seemed as though it could have been a very nice little bike. All I could do was clean the carbs back then and they were stupid lean even before I fitted foam filters. Starting was always hard. I would often run the battery down to nothing (probably weak to begin with) then continue with the kick starter until it popped off. I suspect the starter was just a bit too slow, or the idle circuit was just a bit too long (lets out way up on the top side of the carbs) also often resulting in stalls on takeoff. That said, it always idled nice once running and ran well with few flat spots besides the lean top end (my own fault). Because of this fuel economy was amazing at 60mpg+ but I often struggled to do 65. I still put over 6000 miles on it in one summer and always got compliments and questions wherever I went. When you're a kid on a metric bike from the seventies everyone notices. Handling was steady enough to enable full speed back road riding if I so desired, and at 17 and stupid I often did. The bike was also very light and I only dumped it once trying to do a u-turn on crushed rock. Ah, fond memories of learning hard lessons. I didn't get burned too bad and was actually able to lift it off my leg. The engine was a parallel twin with a 180 crank and no balancer, oddly enough. Top end was SOHC, 2 valves per cylinder and tappet type adjusters (no shims required). Something about the sound drove dogs completely mad. Weirdest thing I've ever seen and I've heard others say the same thing. Shifting was always smooth with the exception of a somewhat remote feel to the clutch. This again, could also have been down to poor maintenance (cables) but it made it a bit hard to find neutral sometimes. Suspension was also pretty soft but it mattered less to me back then. All in all it was a high quality, stable, tough, little bike that would have been dead easy to maintain. Had I been as handy back then, it would probably have been a good performer too.
- Mike S., North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-26 2006 Honda VTX1800R Retro Cruiser Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an extremely dependable beast. When I say beast,I mean it can easily carry myself, my wife, and four day's worth of clothes and supplies at 80 mph hour after hour down the highway. It's a heavy ride! You've got to get used to riding slowly through parking lots.It's also not particularly fuel friendly either.About 150 miles per tank, then it's time for gas, and a coffee.There is nothing more satisfying than entering a hi-way, rolling on the power, and going from whatever to 90 in seconds!Nothing ever wrong except for tires and brakes in 10 years!!! Did you read that Harley riders!I bought this bike to ride,not show off.I ride every day in the Summer, and never wast $$ at the shop.All hail Honda!!
- Clifford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-24 2013 Honda CB500X Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fatal flaw - aerodynamics at highway speeds. Truly horrible wind noise around the helmet. The worst I remember of any bike I've riden. (Doesn't seem to affect the very tall.) Around town, it's fantastic. Quick enough and nimble enough to make airport traffic fun. My favorite thing - the comfort and support the seat and rider position give my low back. If I didn't have to turn in the very occasional long ride and the more frequent occasional interstate run, this would be an all around very capable and comfortable bike. It even does okay when pushed into ADV type terrain.
- Wilgrehn, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-23 2013 BMW HP4 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the add to speaking with owner,looking at the bike, and all the history, I felt comfortable with my decision to purchase the 2013 BMW HP4. I was all set to purchase a brand new 2020 BMW S1000RR, until I just happened to see the HP4 for sale. Best purchase I have made. Otherwise I know I will never find an HP4 as clean or as well taken care of than the one I bought!
- Gregory Tiratira , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-11 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a few months ago and im already in love with the bike it is fast and comfortable i would suggest it to anyone that said whats the best bike if you want a comfortable motorcycle this is the one for you.
- joe, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-09 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-11 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Im now 60 and athletic.... I bought my 2000 ZX-11 when a friend told me about the bike...... Purchased used and could not believe the fun I have had on that bike and taking it to the beach roads along the Atlantic in Florida the bike turns heads!!!!! It sounds like a Ferrari when you get above 5000 rpm.... Im a safe driver and after getting used to the bike on a sunday morning at 6 am I took off on the interstate and went to 145 and had a lot of throttle left... What torque...... That was the only time I took that bike up to those speeds again.... If you want a bike that.... Well the girls in bikinis will love to ride then this is the bike!!!!..... It feels so great and comfortable and u will love your bike.. Im looking for another one as I write this....Bob
- bob, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-09 1984 Kawasaki KZ550 Ltd Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So about April this year I bought a 1984 KZ550-F2 LTD. The owner said that the engine would die if you put it into gear and showed me such. The bike sat outside behind a house for 2 years and had mice living in it, but it at the very least ran, and I was happy to buy it for $900. Then I cleaned it, tuned it, and fixed all the electrical issues. Looks great now. But I digress: 5/5 for reliability. This thing is easy to work on as long as it isn't the air-box. Almost maintenance free. 4/5 for quality. This thing has many features such as two helmet locks, a center stand, air adjustable forks, dual adjustable shocks, hazard lights, most standard features for an old bike. Just nothing that stands out. 4/5 for performance. Can do it all. It has power, it has steering, brakes are rather weak despite being a disk in front and a drum in back. Top speed is around 110 mph, but has a 1/4 mile time of around 13-14 seconds. It is loads of fun on twisting roads. 3/5 for comfort. The biggest the issue I have with this bike is the seat. I hate the seat. I hate having no aftermarket options to change this (I don't want cafe racer seats). It will probably hurt your back after an hour, especially if you are taller. I do recommend this as a second bike, as it can do any type of commute or trip. Very tame power without being boring, very solid steering, 45 mpg, a good $900 spent. Would I get it again? Probably. I'd prefer a GPZ 550 to this, but I can't deny that it's a fun bike.
- Kyle, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-25 2008 Ducati Hypermotard 1100S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
like the way it handles and antisipates every move you make. Great exceleration from 0-120mph. Has no big boy punch after 120 mph., not much left. Not very aerodynamic at high speeds. Bike is not made for your average rider. From the moment you sit on it you feel like your in a race and the only person your racing is yourself. But overall the bike is a lot of fun if you like to go fast and your an adrenalin junkie like me. I pass everything on the road with it except a gas station. Want to race Buddy? I'll see you in my mirror!!!
- Marshall Dean, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-20 2005 Honda Reflex (NSS250) Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many motorcycles in my life. I started out with a Honda SL70 all the way to a Goldwing. I love the Reflex because of its design,performance,practicality, and I just love to look at it. The bike is now 13 years old and I still have people marvel at it. This bike has the best qualities of all of my previous bikes all rolled into one. The workmanship is second to none. You will not find another 250cc that is just as comfortable on the highway cruising 55-65mph as it is in town running around at 35-45mph. What I like the most about it is that there is no need for multiple bikes. As long as you don't need to drive for hours above 70mph this bike is up for it.
- Allen, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-13 1998 Yamaha R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had to lower it, 2nd gear slipps, super fast, not the most comfortable but I am in the wind. I hear loosing second gear is notorious on the R1. Midprocess of repairing 2nd. Biggest bike I've owned since my CBR929.
- Bruce Blount, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-10 2011 Suzuki DR650 Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The DR650 is a blank canvas upon which you can become a Leonardo Di Vinci. Mine was stock when I bought it and, over a few months, I have transformed it into the most capable communter and adventure tourer in the world. This bike rocks my socks. It is grunty and fun. The sit up and beg seating position suits my aging bones. The nimble handling allows me to flick through the daily commute with ease. The high aspect lets me see cagers on their mobiles so I know who is likely to take me out in a moment of phone addiction. When I get to the trails after a comfortable ride on bitumen the "Bush pig" copes with all but the knarliest landscape. I love this bike and recommend it to anyone who is not excessively fashion conscious
- David Baker, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-09 1998 Honda 1100 ACE Tourer Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 98. Owned for 2 years now. Put 11,000 miles. Has 30,000 miles total. Gas, oil and tires thats it. I love that no valve maintenance is required. Very low cost of ownership. I see no reason that this bike wont hit 100,000 miles. Though not a full touring bagger, its intermediate nature suites my (1up) just fine. Im 65 and this bike hustles enough to satisfy my urges when needed. The motor revs out pretty good when required, no short shifting needed. I do agree up to 70 mph is the sweet and that fine by me. Its all about taking in the sites these days and not the old, how fast can i get there. I have yet to scrape pegs but it can handle a aggressive corner carving ride. I have no problem keeping up with sports bikes riding atcs good clip. Have amazed a few of them. Harleys not an even issue. Still good low mileage bike are out but I wouldnt hesitate if you found one with 50,000 miles on it. As they say, this Honda was built to last. Buy 1
- axle, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-25 2020 Zero SR/F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very smooth riding bike with more power than most people would need. Sport mode should be called....HOLD ON FOR YOUR LIFE. Power and especially torque are instantaneous. No worries about shifting into proper gear, all focus can be kept on the road. An awesome experience riding quietly everywhere you go, whether in traffic or in a forest preserve. Noisy bikes are passé...people driving can’t hear you anyways, they are too busy texting or even worse wear headphones or crank their stereos....it is better to be alert and to be able to hear them. Very little maintenance and storing is a breeze. This is my second Zero bike (2015 s) was my trade in. HAPPY TO BUY AMERICAN JV
- John VOULES, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-18 2019 Honda CBR600RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my first new CBR600 (Hurricane) in 1987, thanks to Cycle trader I was able to purchase my 2nd new CBR600RR at a great price, my wife and I absolutely love it...saw it on cycle trader and marked for notifications of price change and low and behold within 2 weeks price dropped $2800. Best time to buy and of season.
- NORMAN , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-16 1997 Honda Valkyrie Standard Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i have always had a honda motorcycle. i have been riding sense the 60's. loved the valkyrie when it came out in 97 couldn't afford it then. 2007 bought a 97 still own it now has 65k on it. never let me down is still a thrill to ride even at 66 years old. when i can't hold it up on 2 wheels i will have it converted to 3 wheels. lots of respect for this bike from many other brand owners. still gets lots of attention no matter where i go. will never get rid of it.
- paul caley, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-15 2018 BMW S1000RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BEEN RIDING SPORT BIKE FOR OVER 25 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD A BIKE QUITE LIKE THE RR. I AM ON MY SECOND RR AND WAITING FOR THE 2020 TO BE READILY AVAILABLE. BEST WARRANTY IN THE BUSINESS ALSO. SO IF YOU DO HAVE AN ISSUE YOU CAN REST EASY, BMW HAS YOU COVERED. BEST IN EVERY WAY!!
- TOM, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-30 2019 Harley Road King Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The road king has Excellent ride quality.and a great seating position. It is great for long haul riding. just a little heavy backing up. So you just have to get used to the additional weight. Oh and BTY this is my wife's ride. She is 5ft 7in.
- Kevin G, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-26 2014 KTM 1190 Adventure Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this motorcycle. I've been riding for over 50 years and had about a dozen bikes, mostly smaller dual sports. I'm retired and don't commute, or ride to get from A to B. I ride for fun, for the thrill of coming out of a corner on a lightly traveled country road at 30 and accelerating to 90 in about 4 seconds and a couple hundred yards. It has (almost) sport bike power and handling, but an upright, comfortable seating position. KTM claims 148 HP; the Cycle World Road Test Dyno showed 129; they reported a 10.68 quarter at 129. I don't care to go anywhere near that fast, but they showed 0-30 in 1.2; 0-60 in 3.2, and; 0-90 in 5.0. That's the range in which I use and appreciate the motor. It's also relatively light for a big bike - about 500 pounds with a full tank - although I've added an OEM skid plate and crash bars, and have OEM panniers which I don't use unless on a long trip. KTM marketed the 1190 Adventure (they now have a 1090 & a 1290) as a dual sport. I'll go down a dirt/gravel road, but even if I had the 'R' model, which has stiffer suspension, dual purpose tires, and a few other offroad features, wouldn't take 500+ pounds very far from pavement. What don't I like? The headlight was anemic. I replaced it with a much brighter LED, and added auxiliary lights. The stock seat rendered it almost unridable for any distance; thus an aftermarket solo seat was required. Reliability? There's often something minor that's not quite right. For example, the ambient temperature indicator currently isn't working on my bike. 2014 was the first year for the bike and I think KTM went overboard with "state-of-the-art" electronics, ride modes, combinations of ABS, traction control, etc., without fully debugging everything. We KTM owners will bitch, bitch, bitch about these little things and inevitably our friends, or forum participants, ask, "well why don't you get a Japanese bike?" The answers vary, but all, in one way or another boil down to: "Are you crazy? And not ride a KTM?!?! Cause when this bike is right, and that's most of the time, it's the most delightful, exciting, fun, euphorogasm machine I've ever ridden, let alone owned. (And I just made the last payment.)
- John Hocking, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-25 2008 Hyosung GV250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The '08 was actually the second one. First one, an '03, suffered a head-on with a car making a left turn directly in front of me. Light, very easy to handle, excellent on gas, and the cheapest transportation I've ever had. Very comfortable to ride, especially after installing floorboards in place of pegs. Although, the vacuum operated fuel pump was a let-down and caused a number of problems until I changed it to electric, like the '03 was. It was often mistaken for a 650 or 750, especially coming off the interstates. About 4 gallons of gas, 70+ MPG, top end somewhere over 100, and 200 mile range before starting to look for a gas station. But, I made a huge mistake. I traded it for a larger bike. Even trade, hard to pass up, I thought. Now I'm looking to trade back down. But not looking for fuel injection.
- Leonard, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-23 1998 Buell S3 Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from an HD dealer in 2018. It had 765 original miles on it. The dealer put new tires, fork seals, and battery before I took it. Well it carberated so takes a while to warm up. But it is nice to ride. Good and peppy above 3500 rpm. Hard to find neutral even after adjusting the clutch. But...I love this bike. Now in 2019, it runs well. What more can I ask of a 21 year old bike.
- Jorge, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: