Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (26,880)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Anonymous from Rosamond says:

Great bike! Has a low center of gravity and handles like a dream whether it's on a canyon road or the Interstate. Water cooler and shaft drive means l

Read More (26880 reviews)

Have you owned a Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2021-10-17 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2001 BMW R1150 GS is a fabulous motorcycle. A beast of a motorcycle. Well engineered and tough it will take you where miles are afraid to tred! The R1150 GS has power to spare. Surprising lower and performance. My last motorcycle was a 2003 Harley Davidson 883 Sportster. I was impressed with the power of that Harley but this 1150 BMW puts it to shame. The BMW is smooth yet robust. The 6-speed gearing has a wide range. I especially like third gear! A handful of throttle feels like you are blasting off to the moon! At age 67 I only rode my BMW mildly off road on my own farm and then only over improved dry pastures! Mine has just over 31,450 miles at the time of this review! My bike was fully serviced and ready to ride anywhere when I purchased it second hand. The tires were just 1 year old with just 1,000 miles on them. I am 67 years old and recently purchased this BMW motorcycle in September 2021, however it is too tall for me to ride comfortably and safely. I have a 30" inseam but riders need longer legs to safely handle this motorcycle. I thought about lowering the suspension but these GS BMW's are too nice to alter. So I purchased a second BMW R1200C Pheonix last week which suits my stride much better. I do not need two BMW motorcycles so I am reluncticly parting with my GS. This is what Cycle World Magazine had to say about the BMW R1150 GS: BMW R1150GS - BEST USED BIKES Exemplifying the very essence of a two-wheel Swiss army knife. Cycle World July 22, 2015 YEARS SOLD: 2000–2004 MSRPNEW: $14,190 ('00) to $14,500 ('04) BLUE BOOK RETAIL VALUE: $4,885 ('00) to $6,500 ('04)BASIC SPECS: The R1150GS is powered by an 1,130cc air-/oil-cooled, four-stroke opposed twin featuring four valves per cylinder, electronic fuel injection, and shaft drive. The 1150 introduced a six-speed gearbox, while later models came equipped with dual spark plug heads and servo-assisted combined ABS brakes. The GS weighs 582 pounds WET with its 5.5-gallon fuel tank topped up and produced 74 hp and 68 pound-feet of torque at the rear wheel on the Cycle World dyno. The "Showa" suspension offers 7.9 inches of rough road-smoothing travel, while the adjustable saddle height (33.1 to 33.8 inches) accommodates a range of riders. WHY IT'S DESIRABLE: Few bikes have proven to be as versatile as the GS BMW Beemer family, with the 1150 exemplifying the very essence of a two-wheel Swiss army knife. It's a road-hardened touring mount and heavyweight dual-sport all wrapped in one. "I went places and saw things on the GS that I never would have on another bike," Mark Hoyer remarked back in the days before he was editor-in-chief. "It truly makes molehills out of mountains." All that, plus the reputation of durability and reliability rivaling that of an anvil easily warrant the price of purchase. THE COMPETITION: Long-travel twins gained prominence in the early 2000s with the introduction of the KTM 950 Adventure and 1,000cc Ducati Multistrada. Undoubtedly, this trend was helped along by the BMW R1150GS, which was honored as the Best Sport-Touring Bike of 2000 by Cycle World in our Ten Best issue.
- Guy Foster, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-12 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an R1100R in 1995 after reading some magazine reports on it. Then I watched as it racked up Motorcycle of the Year awards one after another. It's a do-all bike with no real weak spots at all. Durable, powerful, torquey, a handler, great brakes, quiet enough not to annoy anti-bikers, comfortable saddle, great fuel injection, easy serviceability, good gas mileage, easy on oil, no-maintenance shaft drive is truly no-maintenance, air/oil cooling works beautifully, stable at any speed. It really hit me the other day as I was reading a listing of all the 2000 year model bikes for sale: If I could have any bike, any price, any performance parameters, and it had to be the only bike I could own, well, I already own it. This bike cruises, drag races, wheelies, stops, corners, cruises easily at over a ton, carries weight, and makes me smile. Best of the over-dozen bikes I've owned over the years--by far!
- Dr. Craig Merrell, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-07 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike that I have ever owned. In fact my only motorcycle experience comes from the MSF course that I took a year before I bought my machine. This bike was/ is so gentle to a novice like myself that it is almost unbelievable. Yet I can get it up to 100 mph if needed and get down and dirty on the back roads. I am still a novice and very much so but this bike makes me confident and comfortable in just about every situation. The bike is more reliable than my car and since I have had it, I have only had minor adjustments done to it. My only real regrets are: 1) I never owned a bike of lesser quality and therefore I have no idea what great bike I have; 2) the BMW add-ons are so expensive and 3) I can't ride year 'round because of the weather. What more can I say? This thing is sweeeeet!!! I highly recommend this bike to any and all people of all experience levels and ages who are serious about riding. Feel free to email me for more comments.
- Mike Ellis, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-02 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
O.K. so it took me a while for my butt to get in shape. My last review was a little rough. I had a new bike and had no knowledge of it. I have since fixed the carb. (Idle mixture was too lean). The vibes have broken in and I no longer have a problem with it. I have put on another 2500 miles and can find nothing to beak about. I am still trying to find a taller windshield. I have a piece of Lexan duc taped to the front extended 12" higher than stock. This allows me to stay in the saddle until gas up, also no neck pain. This is just the right sized bike for a 60-year-old. The price is ok. And I am looking forward to riding until the snow blocks my vision. I also put a throttle Rocker on and my hand never felt better. No cramps. Ride Well Stoney.
- Stoney Stonestreet, Rochester Hills, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-18 2000 Aprilia Pegaso 650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A friend of mine bought a BMW F650, which was originally made by Aprilia till 2000. Since we do offroad camping and a lot of onroad/offroad touring, he talked me into purchasing a likeminded bike to keep up with the rest of them (cruisers hate dirt and gravel). He had some complaints with his BMW and encouraged me to look at the Aprilia. It was love at first site. I have 2,000 miles on it (only had less than 2 months before winter set it and I had to put it into storage), but I am dreaming of putting it back into the elements. During that time, there was no problems with starting, idling or riding. The enigine's unique twin carboration/single piston configuratin performs flawlessly through the entire range (low/mid/high). On the other hand, my buddies BMW with EFI is on the oposite end. He can't keep it running, cuts of at stops, and has already had the gas tanks replaced under recall. One point though...I did take the bike out of storage on a sunny, unseasonably warm day. The engine is very contankorous to start when very cold, but after you have driven it a few miles, it becomes normal. Otherwise, I'm really looking forward to spring.
- Red Jacket, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-08 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I will never be able to go back to telescopic forks. You won't notice the new BMW front end at all till you need it. Get into a bumpy old Ozark corner too hot, no problem, they will hold you right on the road. I love my new Roadster and for nine grand out the door it was 1500 cheaper than the 900 monster I drooled over all spring. I recommend this bike as a middle of the road kind of thing, part sport, a little cruiser-ish and if you get bags and a shield head for the coast ASAP. Thanks for reading my post and stop by if your in the neighborhood. PS: the surge went away after break in and 6K service.
- R Van Jones, Eureka Springs, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-01 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm very satisfied with my R1100R. Travelling each year from Norway to France, super bike. Just a little big problem, it started suddenly to leak oil from the top ventil (air draining) on the top of the "cardan" (secondary transmission) house. I can't figure out why, no technical explanations for that: good oil, right quantity??? Has someone heard about that? Help me!!! And thanks in advance.
- Alfred, Norway

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-05 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lets begin with the fact that I have traded in my KTM Duke II, for a BMW R1100R. Both bikes being seen as opposite extremes by most bikers. Well yeah - the KTM is a crazy single minded full throttle bike, which is only happy when accelerating hard, its single cylinder engine is too highly tuned and doesn't like to hold any one speed. Having been used to the WP suspension and fantastic chassis and brakes of the KTM, I was looking for a quality all rounder, with a twin (preferably V) engine and comfort, for less frantic rides and more overall pleasure. Sounds easy but isn't. Most Jap bikes are either super sport or bland commuters, they don't seem to make quality and fun road bikes. Suzuki Bandit? No thanks. I was after quality finish and character. Moto Guzzi? Well I wasn't that desperate yet ! Hmmm, Honda Hornet, Suzuki SV650? Owned them both, ended hating both. Why? To forward weight bias, very poor suspension quality and not very interesting to own. I have owned 9 bikes in total, and after the crazy KTM I was after a fun but practical/useable bike. Test rode a heavy BMW just to see, no way would it handle? Surely it would be heavy awkward and boring? How they do it I don't know. BUT the R1100R felt 50kgs lighter than I expected, had superb brakes and surpassingly excellent suspension at both low and high speeds (very rare), no diving on braking, very comfy seat and riding position, almost a cruiser but with ability to go for it and corner hard safely. I still can't believe I bought one, BMW too me sounded too boring. So ignore the reputation, test ride one and see. I was very amazed and still am. Any complaints? Yes - VERY expensive accessories, very stupid illogical indicator - horn switche, a little big for city carving, but who cares?
- eddie Balboa, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-08 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned over 30 different bikes and this is the most versatile by far. I love the fit and finish as well as the handling. I find it very difficult to go back to traditional motorcycle suspension after enjoying the Paralever/telelever set up. I am impressed with the very usable torque and love the curb appeal. Downside is the comical pricing of the BMW accessories.
- Richard T. Smith, Aurora, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-28 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a new R1100R with ABS and spokes as options (cause thetas what the dealer had) have done about 5mkm at this point and am really enjoying the bike. Previously have had a cruiser and a sports bike and was looking for the best of both, Comfy riding position but good handling with some power. Bike has met my requirements perfectly. I have to agree any add ons are a fortune and for the 2 trips I will do a year I can't justify over $1m for hard bags. If anyone has any good alternatives at a reasonable price please let me know.
- Michael Lovett, Toronto

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned several bikes in my life. This one is by far the best all around cycle for me. It handles curves like a light sport tourer. But, has the all the power you'll ever need. It has the ride of a larger touring machine. Highly recomend it. Love mine!
- Terry Covell, Lancaster, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-20 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently got this bike, having changed my mind from getting a new F650. My only past experience was with only one bike, more that 10 years ago (Honda CR250), which I used mainly on dirt roads and driving it the way you are not supposed to drive - under street conditions. I was a little intimidated at first by the size, weight and power of this bike. Not having the patience to wait for the delivery of the first 650's and following the dealer's advice (Great dealership by the way, BMW of Manhattan) to go with this bike, I purchased it. When it was delivered to my house and I saw it, I thought "Oh God, what did I get into" but after the first ride I was amazed on how easy it is to ride it. It's super stable (even at very low speeds), turns and corners extremely well, the brakes are superb, it's very forgiving and has plenty of power to do everything you expect from an overall bike. My advice to any novice rider is to get one with total confidence, I am loving every moment of it.
- Paul P, Mt. Kisco, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-10 2003 Aprilia Rally 50 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Embarrassingly, my first ride on the new 2004 Aprilia ended in slight spill as it was my first scooter ride ever! I picked myself up, dusted myself off and got on and went!!! After the first few miles I got the hang of the bike and zipped my way home- a bit fearful, but confident I could do it! I rested up, dug in my heels and spent the afternoon riding all over my neighborhood--no more spills and had a blast. The more I rode the more comfortable I was with the scooter...it handles pretty well for the first time rider, and other than being a bit heavy, its great!!!!
- Linda, Apple Valley, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a comfortable, relaxed bike that could stop, start, run and turn with no problems. I got one in the r1100r. It's fast and handles like a car that weighs 525 lbs. It has quality hardware but expensive add-ons, would recommend it to anyone.
- rider, Norristown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-22 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just gotten back into riding after a 25-year hiatus. I was looking for a good basic bike with a shaft drive for under ten grand. I rode Hondas and Yamahas and was ready to buy a V-star when a friend mentioned that BMW had reduced the price of their R1100R. A test ride convinced me. I have had my 2001 bike for three months and have never been happier. It is easy to handle for a beginner at slow speeds and yet I have ridden it on the freeways at 70 mph without a hitch. I added a windshield and saddlebags and have ridden it across state comfortably. For nine grand out the door, its a good deal for a great bike.
- Bob, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only got 500 miles on my 2000 R1100R and although I can see where the boxer can be an acquired taste, I'm in love. As a do-it-all bike, I can't think of anything on the market that even comes close to matching the Beemer's handling, power, comfort and quality. Sure, the turn signals are weird and the bike vibrates from side to side when idling. And the surging when trying to hold a steady speed in slow traffic can be irksome, but get on some twisties and you'll forget about all that. The suspension is just about perfect and the brakes have the grip of an insurance salesman. I considered a ZR-7 and T-Bird before picking the BMW. My last bike was a 91 Honda Nighthawk 750 (love standards) and compared to that ride, the R1100R is much more stable and sure-footed, if not as smooth-running. Overall, if you've only got one parking space, this is the bike to buy.
- Doug, San Franisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2003 Aprilia Rally 50 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sure, its no fireblade but as scooters go its superb, with rugged agressive styling it stands out from the crowd, nippy and responsive with powerful brakes and hardwearing off road tyres this is a scooter to be reckoned with. A joy to ride and own, with very low maintenence.
- Mike Sankey, Wokingham, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-31 2000 Aprilia RS 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
very fast bike i got 132mph out of her and accerlerates to 60 so quick u have just got to buy one
- jake, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-06 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased my r1100r. Up unitl eight weeks ago I never before rode a motorcycle. At first I must admit the bike intimidated me, however after a couple of weeks our relationship blossomed! Unlike you guys across the pond, Ireland's roads are peppered with mini grand canyons. The r1100r feels very sure even on the most challanging surface. Even if you've never ridden before I highly recommend this super machine. I hope to take my bike to the North West 200 in May. Anyone care to join me?
- Jack Byrne, Dublin, Ireland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-19 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great. Handling and comfort is superb. Excellent all around bike. I have only one complaint. I get a high frequency vibration at 4300 RPM's or 75 MPH. Had it back to the dealer several times and some vibration has been eliminated. I would like to hear from other owners to see if they have the same issue. Otherwise this is the best bike I've ever riden!!!
- C. Hoch, Levittown, PA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 Aprilia RS 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the Aprilia RS250 as a beginner bike 3 months ago. It has really surprised me on how fast it is for a 250cc motorcycle. Everything is great on the bike except for two complaints: the exhaust note on the RS250 sounds like a scooter at low speeds, and the other complaint is the RS250 is a kick starter. If you want a small bike to learn on and you don't want to sacrifice the power, the Aprilia Rs250 is definitely the right choice.
- Chino Loco, Aviano Air Base, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-21 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second motorcycle for my adult years and I absolutely love it. I use it for commuting and an excuse for canyon runs on a long lunch break. Weekend rides up to 300 miles are reasonable as well. Everything I ask the bike to do, it does well. Surpisingly quick in the twisties considering the width of the boxer engine. Torque is very even throughout the rev range making the bike easy to handle out of a turn no matter which gear you choose. This is a classic looking bike with the finish only a German bike could have. It gets a lot of comments from the mono swing arm with built in shaft drive to the telelever front suspension and oil coolers. This is a very unique bike. Although not as smooth as my 1984 Honda Nighthawk (also a shaft drive), the even power throughout the RPM range coupled with fuel injection are worth the trade. I am looking forward to putting a few hundred thousand miles on this bike over the next decade or two.
- Richard Colwell, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-31 2000 Aprilia RS 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my gixxer400 after taking this bike for a ride. Rides like a scooter while tootling around town, then like a 600 on the open road. Feed it good gas, better oils, get some riding lessons on the track, and find some windy back roads to hear the 2 stroke screaming off the cutting walls. the only thing that annoys me is that it's just so damn comfortable cruising at 140km/h that i have to keep checking it's only a 250 not a 600. 6th gear is too tall for 100km/h (60mph) so keep it in 5th, or ride at 140k! Frighten old ladies/men/young children in town at the lights by feeding it lots of gas as it'll lift the front wheel and go screaming off into the distance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!yeehaaaa
- Marty, Waikato, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-01 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this in April 2008 with 18,000 on it, as a 40 mile each way commuter, and with the Corbin seat and BMW bags already on it. I love it right from the start. It has massive torque, gobs of acceleration and is fast enough for me (I haven't had it flat out, but I've had an indicated 120 mph out of it without trying hard). I found it a little too buzzy for comfort around 4500 rpm. The Manic Salamander bar end weights (18.5 ounces instead of the stock 9.5 ounces) completely cured that. I found it very windy over 70 mph; Parabellum windshield, adjusted as high as it can go cured that. My other add-ons were for personal preference, not necessity. The bike is as reliable as a stone, comfortable all day, a joy to drive and magic through the twisties. At first I felt like I wasn't getting much feedback from the front suspension, then I realized it just was not having any problems, so there was nothing for it to tell me. It just goes around bends on any surface at any speed I've asked of it without fuss.
- Brian Henderson, White House, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-25 1991 BMW K75S ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I chose a '94 K75S with ABS. I won't be doing any wheelies or stoppies on it, but I do find it suits me for my sport-touring and long-haul needs, and it is heavy enough for the highways. It is smooth and strong, and still turns heads. Mechanically, it has been completely reliable. The ABS even helped me once in a downhill wet pavement panic stop. Many K75S's came up on the after-market and were snapped up at bargain prices as newer models were introduced. I have two small beefs, one is the soft 3-spoke rims on my model year which I have bent and replaced twice already (I now monitor tire pressure RELIGIOUSLY!) The other is that it is somewhat top heavy, which keeps me ever vigilant to not pull it up on centerstand unless I am on dead level. I think it is a fine, cost effective, versatile model, and if BMW still made them, I would buy another in the future, although I plan to get 250,000 out of mine first.
- Absinthe, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: