Piaggio BV 500 Motorcycles Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Piaggio BV 500 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Piaggio BV 500 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-02-17 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's not too big for the city and not too small for the highway. The rear tire only lasts about 7,000 miles. The bike is very practical and now I want to modify the drive train. I'm also interested in the new cam for the motor head.
- Greg, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-09 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride anywhere that I want to go. My work commute is 80 miles per day.
- Ron, Mays Landing, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2007 BV 500 new 2/27/09. The dealer had marked it down making it a better deal than the 2009 BV 250 I was planning on buying. I am really, really glad I got the BV 500. It has plenty of power and easily keeps up with other scooters and motorcycles on the highway. Having long legs, I could always use a little more leg room. However, this scooter gives me more than others I tried on for size. I live just 25 miles from Jerome, AZ, and took my first ride there yesterday with two friends. I can see why that ride, 158 curves in 12 miles, over Mingus Mountain is such a favorite of motorcycle riders. It was fantastic! The BV 500 handled the mountain with no problem whatsoever. I'm 68 years old and had a Cushman motor scooter for a year or two in high school. This is my first scooter since; I had forgotten how much fun 2 wheels can be. :-)
- John B., Prescott Valley, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-23 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my scoot. It is so much fun, and most may not realize this BV is better than a motorcycle in many aspects. It pulls me around (250 lbs) with ease.
- Greg H., Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-19 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Piaggio BV 500 is more than a scooter, and better than a motorcycle. After years of riding BMW bikes (two old classics) and a 15 year hiatus, I decided to go for comfort at my age (60+) but didn't want to sacrifice performance and tourability. The BV 500 was the perfect solution. Cruise all day at 65-70 or maneuver around town: it masters both.
- Bob Moore, Lawrenceburg, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-06 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my BV 500 and have had zero scooter problems at 1200 miles. I wanted to kick in with what appeals about the BV 500. It has a lot of personality. The CVT works like you hope it will. This scoot will do anything from a 2 mph crawl, which will let you converse with a walking pedestrian, to a 90+ mph run down the interstate highway. You can leave all the cars behind at the stop light with the exception of a few muscle cars, if they are both determined and attentive. CVT allows you to keep both feet out for balance when you need to go slow because the road is gravel or the road is slick. All that, a bag of chips and 60+ mpg too.
- Randy, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-01 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned the BV-500 for nearly three years and found it to be in the Italian tradition for superior engineering and performance. How Piaggio managed to get 39HP from a one cylinder engine and outrun many motorcycles is amazing in itself! I have also found the scooter very stable at speeds well over 100 MPH!
- V Lake, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-09 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great scooter, comfortable, fast, steady on hwy and very manuverable, very balanced. Best investment I made.
- don coleman, Paso Robles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-18 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had 22 bikes (everything from full-dress touring to sport-touring to cruisers to retro to 'nakeds'), and I have to say this is among the very best, if not THE best. Easy to maneuver around town and yet very adequate on the highway. Good acceleration. Outstanding comfort & wind protection. Stylish looks. Can park for free on sidewalks. Optional saddlebags & topcase, when combined with glove compartment, underseat storage, & bag holder swallow as much gear as my former Goldwing. Good on gas (4L/100km or about 70mpg). Did I mention comfortable? No heat onto rider from engine (a blessing in hot weather). Strong brakes are a bit stiff at the lever and difficult to modulate. Givi windscreen is awesome for total wind protection with very little buffetting, but you need to take it off in really hot weather or you'll cook with so little breeze. This bike is easy to overlook among 'real bikers' but that's a shame because it has a lot to offer. Works just as well 2-up as solo. Passengers enjoy the wide plush backrest on the optional topcase. Crashed the bike this past weekend (sand on pavement - went down at high speed). Bike was still running when we found it in the bushes/ditch. Surprisingly little damage, considering the impact (saddlebags were not broken; fairing was cracked but all lights still functional even though scraped). This is clearly a tougher bike than I had imagined! Design also allowed me to fall clear of the bike without getting impailed by the handlebars or riding up over the tank, as might have been the case on a conventional motorcycle. Impressive.
- blake, Oakville, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-13 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my 2005 Piaggio BV200 for this Piaggio BV500 and it was the greatest deal I have ever made. There is no comparison between these machines. The 500 is a tad longer but handling characeristics are exactly the same. I love it.
- Dale Dedrick, McPherson, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-20 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my scooter. My only complaint is the lack of underseat storage which is taken up by the motor. It has great accelaration, handles great, brakes great and looks great. I actually bought it online.
- Bill, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-04 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had some initial problems with a loose smog inspection port, loose ground wire, overtightened oil filter, and overtightened oil dipstick. Absolutely awesome scooter that is great at both freeway speed and through the City. I commute from the north bay, across the GG bridge and then across SF. This is the perfect ride.
- Dudley, San Rafael, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-30 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It didn't take me too long to appreciate the sporty design and sophisticated look of the BV-500, which reminded me of the Vespa, but took on new meaning with its technological improvements and with its more muscular body. Ironically, I bought it before I even knew how it runs, because I did not have an M-1 license. Thus, my decision was based on prior reviews, which were very positive, so I felt very comfortable. As soon as I got it on the street, I was a bit amazed by how powerful it was. I've driven motorbikes in countries like Thailand and Malaysia, but those were 50 cc's. The BV-500 has 460 cc's, so at a turn of the wrist and throttle it is ready to take-off and hit 50 mph, before most cars pass the light signal. Driving on the highway was smooth and it hugged the roads better than I could resist the wind --- it was such a rush to take it past 80 mph. Each day it gets better and better, as I get more comfortable and accustomed to the smooth ride. This bike by no means is a lightweight as it weighs over 450 lbs. and this is evident as it hugs the road and seems to be unaffected by wind drifts. The storage capacity under the seat is small by comparison to the other models; but I'm able to store my jacket, gloves, manuals and tools. The front compartments help me store my cell phone and any loose articles I don't want to keep in my pockets. In a next day or two, I'll hit my 500 mile mark, which means I'll have it serviced as part of the initial inspection to make sure everything is ok, as it seems. My next toy or project is to add satellite radio to my BV-500,..We'll see how that goes.
- Marcelino, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-21 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bv 500, I have a bv 250 in Italy, and it is also a very nice scooter, but for the wider streets, and longer rides to get everywhere the bv 500 is precision. I am a pretty big guy, and most people ask, "Why didn't you get a motorcycle?" Because compromising the agility of the BV500 with the power of a motorcycle was not an option for me... the comfort and agility on this scooter is superb. The agility allows you to easily swerve back and forth to move out of the way of any car or truck, and has the right amount of kick to speed right by them without struggle. I haven't maxed it out yet but I heard it hits 110 with ease, which is more than enough for safe, fun, responsible riding.
- Antonio, Hamilton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: