Piaggio Motorcycles Reviews (39)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Piaggio Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Piaggio Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-05-04 2008 Piaggio MP3 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, here goes - I have the MP3 500 LT Sport here in the UK. Unlike reviews above, this model has the footbrake that when used, it equally applied the brakes to the front and rear. It works in conjunction with the levers so all can be used together. Mostly that's how I do it as this trike likes all wheels unbiased to be used at the same time. It's speed for me is perfect at 100 mph. It accelerates faster than 99% of the cars on the road. It has 38 ft. lb. of torque and does a 0-60 in under eight seconds, which can be improved upon. It handles great with or without a passenger and has plenty of storage. It's hard not to love this maxi. Piaggio pulled out all the stops. My only issue, I say issue and not problem as the issue is being fixed as we speak, is for a taller rider. There's no real place to put your feet. The brake is on the right side and hampers foot placement but even on the leg side there still is not enough room for 5'11' heighted riders and over. But I'm having a friend of mine cut my brackets of steel for me so I can screw it to the floor board on the MP3 and these come outside and drop so once the footpegs are put on, the seating feet will be perfect. An added extra, which is a must if you like pure comfort, is a driver's backrest. Ideally, the Kuryakyn adjustable rest, can be used for pillion or driver for only around 2oo bucks for you Americans. But that's it - the pegs and rest and the bike's perfect. It's great on fast highways here. Our legal limit is 75 mph. and is easily achieved and if you want to overtake it, it still has punch left in it to fly past. It handles good in slower moving traffic but you have to keep in mind, on the front end it's weighted different than a 2-wheeler. But once you've got the hang of it, it's a sheer joy. My advice is to relax on this bike. Let it do all the driving. you're just on top enjoying the view and the wind in your face. Stay safe MP3 riders and all drivers alike.
- ian77efc, merseyside uk, Alabama, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-17 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's not too big for the city and not too small for the highway. The rear tire only lasts about 7,000 miles. The bike is very practical and now I want to modify the drive train. I'm also interested in the new cam for the motor head.
- Greg, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-09 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride anywhere that I want to go. My work commute is 80 miles per day.
- Ron, Mays Landing, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-16 2009 Piaggio MP3 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the "Scooter" last October, 2009. I now have about 700 miles and with my new GIVI Air Flow windscreen, the ride is really enjoyable. The ride is much better than my GTS 250, and I really like the ability to lock the front wheels when stopped. Since I am a senior, with fair balance standing up, this machine gives me a lot more confidence. I just wish it rode a little more smoothly, but it is not disturbing.
- Nick Hammer, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-07 2009 Piaggio Fly 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this Fly 150 on January 2 2009 and have had nothing but excellent performance out of it. I use it to run all around the city of Alton and back and forth to Lewis and Clark College. I would highly recommend this scooter for anyone of does a lot of traveling back and forth to school and around town.
- Chris D. Sumpter, Alton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-10 2009 Piaggio MP3 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I first went in, it was to look at a 150 cc scooter but as soon as I set my eyes on that MP3, I fell in love. I love driving it, great suspension, stability & I feel safe riding it. My husband loves it as much as me and I'll be happy when he decides to get his own.
- celine martin, ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-14 2009 Piaggio MP3 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 250 in April of 2009. I have ridden it to and from work since then. I absolutely love the handling and breaking system. They are very efficient and give what the specs say. The 2 wheels up front with the independent suspension is fantastic. You have to ride one to believe the extra security you feel with the two front wheels and independent suspension. You can lean it into a turn at pretty close to the 40 degrees stated. I would have no problem about purchaing the 500 CC unit and giving my wife the 250. Gas mileage is great.
- Bob Randall, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2007 BV 500 new 2/27/09. The dealer had marked it down making it a better deal than the 2009 BV 250 I was planning on buying. I am really, really glad I got the BV 500. It has plenty of power and easily keeps up with other scooters and motorcycles on the highway. Having long legs, I could always use a little more leg room. However, this scooter gives me more than others I tried on for size. I live just 25 miles from Jerome, AZ, and took my first ride there yesterday with two friends. I can see why that ride, 158 curves in 12 miles, over Mingus Mountain is such a favorite of motorcycle riders. It was fantastic! The BV 500 handled the mountain with no problem whatsoever. I'm 68 years old and had a Cushman motor scooter for a year or two in high school. This is my first scooter since; I had forgotten how much fun 2 wheels can be. :-)
- John B., Prescott Valley, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-08 2007 Piaggio BV 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been a motorcycle rider for some time. I have owned several metric cruisers, several dual sports and currently enjoy a 250 for nice rides in the country on rural and dirt/gravel roads. I decided to make the jump to a scooter, thinking that it was a step down on the biker scale. I was really mistaken. I originally had decided on a different model but found a super used 2007 BV 250. The larger wheels made the bike feel more stable at speed and gave it more of a motorcycle type of response on the road. I am hooked. I don't think that I have ever had more fun riding on two wheels. Try it, you won't regret the decision. Ride safe.
- Gerry D, Gardnerville, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-02 2009 Piaggio BV Tourer 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It took me some time to get used to the idea of a scooter, because I am used to my OCC Chopper (Greenie), but I wanted something that I could take in town and not be worried about where I would park. This scooter is powerful, comfortable and good looking. My selling point was the bigger tires. I test rode another scooter and the BV rides better. I had no problem keeping up at 60+ MPH on US441 and I am a big fellow. If you are shopping for a scooter, do not skip this one. It is a keeper.
- Luis Nigaglioni, Celebration, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-01 2007 Piaggio MP3 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you want a bike to bring back the grins, this just might be it. I've had mine for almost 2 years now and I still go out to look in amazement in the garage. Over 15,000 miles of Texas cruisin'. This just might be the ultimate cruiser. The handling in wet weather is something to behold. It travels the freeways great. Incredibly smooth engine at all speeds. Has a great little ring hook on the front between your legs to put the groceries you don't want to crush, or for when you pick up dinner. Gas mileage is so sweet too. That needle hardly ever moves.
- Super Dave, Austin , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-18 2007 Piaggio BV 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my BV 250. I ride it to work (60 miles roundtrip commute), plus I need it during my daily visits in the county I work in. It's a smooth ride, reliable and handles as well, if not better than, my old motorcycle. I have had more people stop me and talk about this bike, some thinking it is a motorcycle. I highly recommend this bike!
- Debbie D., St. Augustine, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-18 2007 Piaggio MP3 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this top grade machine in April 2008 and have logged 3600 miles in 8 months. I have used it in all kinds of weather (mid 30 degrees to high 90s) and have encountered no problems whatsoever. I have also ridden two-up for 150 miles at a time. As a past owner of 1300cc 120hp I have nothing but praise for my MP3. Take one for a ride. You'll be surprised how much fun 34hp can be.
- Bob Schaefer, Oak Creek, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-23 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my scoot. It is so much fun, and most may not realize this BV is better than a motorcycle in many aspects. It pulls me around (250 lbs) with ease.
- Greg H., Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-19 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Piaggio BV 500 is more than a scooter, and better than a motorcycle. After years of riding BMW bikes (two old classics) and a 15 year hiatus, I decided to go for comfort at my age (60+) but didn't want to sacrifice performance and tourability. The BV 500 was the perfect solution. Cruise all day at 65-70 or maneuver around town: it masters both.
- Bob Moore, Lawrenceburg, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-06 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my BV 500 and have had zero scooter problems at 1200 miles. I wanted to kick in with what appeals about the BV 500. It has a lot of personality. The CVT works like you hope it will. This scoot will do anything from a 2 mph crawl, which will let you converse with a walking pedestrian, to a 90+ mph run down the interstate highway. You can leave all the cars behind at the stop light with the exception of a few muscle cars, if they are both determined and attentive. CVT allows you to keep both feet out for balance when you need to go slow because the road is gravel or the road is slick. All that, a bag of chips and 60+ mpg too.
- Randy, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-01 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned the BV-500 for nearly three years and found it to be in the Italian tradition for superior engineering and performance. How Piaggio managed to get 39HP from a one cylinder engine and outrun many motorcycles is amazing in itself! I have also found the scooter very stable at speeds well over 100 MPH!
- V Lake, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-03 2007 Piaggio BV 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the BV 250 a week and a half ago. Road it in the rain, in the cold, in the warm sunshine, and it's wonderful! First gas refill revealed 75 MPG, but we live in a very hilly area. My guess is that will improve as the engine breaks in. It's a little high for me, at 5'2, but I can reach the road on tip-toes. It's still shorter than my last 'bike' (an old Suzuki GT 250 that I had to lean over to touch the road). LOVE that it's an automatic. It pulls out right away, which we weren't expecting, even when my husband (230 lbs.) road it with me on the back to go practice at the church parking lot on the first day. It wants to go 50 - 55, so I have to watch the speedometer to make sure I'm within limits. didn't think I would be so happy with it. We were just buying it for the gas mileage, but have found the trunk light, the theft deterrent coded keys, the glove box, etc. to be added luxuries that make us both very happy with it.
- Abigail , Shippensburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-15 2007 Piaggio BV 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 3 scooters in the past 2 years, starting with a Korean 50 cc 2-stroke, then up to the Piaggio Fly 150 (which I loved) and finally the BV 250. In my opinion, the BV 250 is a fabulous machine. I particularly like the 16 inch wheels, because our Quebec roads are notorious for potholes, and I consider this to be a major safety hazard for 12 inch wheels. The styling is beautiful. I've tried 400-500 cc scoots like the Yamaha and the Piaggio X9, but in my view the BV 250 is the best of the lot. Only one small complaint - lack of storage space. But my topcase takes care of that. I'm 74 years old, and I do all my shopping/local travel on this machine. At 80 mpg, why not? My minivan sits in the driveway waiting, as lonely as the Maytag repairman. I drive the scoot 10 months of the year. With machines like the 250, why do we need an energy crisis? I've tried it on the freeways with my wife as a passenger. No sweat to get it to roll at 70 MPH, but I find the buffeting from 18 wheelers a little unsettling, so I stick to secondary roads.
- al parker, montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-09 2007 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great scooter, comfortable, fast, steady on hwy and very manuverable, very balanced. Best investment I made.
- don coleman, Paso Robles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-24 2007 Piaggio X9 Evolution 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had owned a smaller(125cc) scooter before the X9 and fell in love with the concept. But I felt the power was low and the balance did not fit me. I decided an upgrade was in order. The X9 fit the bill. It handles very well on stop and go secondary roads, while getting 45-52 mpg. It is solid on freeway at speed, and has enough left to pass semis decisively. It gets 60-65 mpg on the freeway. My wife and I have taken several enjoyable 2 hour trips. It seems unaffected by weather extremes, reliably turning over in temps from 25-100 F. The only times I use my four wheeler is when there is ice on the road or when cargo/dogs need to be carried. I give the X9 two thumbs up!
- Chris M, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-18 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had 22 bikes (everything from full-dress touring to sport-touring to cruisers to retro to 'nakeds'), and I have to say this is among the very best, if not THE best. Easy to maneuver around town and yet very adequate on the highway. Good acceleration. Outstanding comfort & wind protection. Stylish looks. Can park for free on sidewalks. Optional saddlebags & topcase, when combined with glove compartment, underseat storage, & bag holder swallow as much gear as my former Goldwing. Good on gas (4L/100km or about 70mpg). Did I mention comfortable? No heat onto rider from engine (a blessing in hot weather). Strong brakes are a bit stiff at the lever and difficult to modulate. Givi windscreen is awesome for total wind protection with very little buffetting, but you need to take it off in really hot weather or you'll cook with so little breeze. This bike is easy to overlook among 'real bikers' but that's a shame because it has a lot to offer. Works just as well 2-up as solo. Passengers enjoy the wide plush backrest on the optional topcase. Crashed the bike this past weekend (sand on pavement - went down at high speed). Bike was still running when we found it in the bushes/ditch. Surprisingly little damage, considering the impact (saddlebags were not broken; fairing was cracked but all lights still functional even though scraped). This is clearly a tougher bike than I had imagined! Design also allowed me to fall clear of the bike without getting impailed by the handlebars or riding up over the tank, as might have been the case on a conventional motorcycle. Impressive.
- blake, Oakville, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-13 2006 Piaggio BV 500 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my 2005 Piaggio BV200 for this Piaggio BV500 and it was the greatest deal I have ever made. There is no comparison between these machines. The 500 is a tad longer but handling characeristics are exactly the same. I love it.
- Dale Dedrick, McPherson, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-13 2006 Piaggio BV 250 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say? The wife and I rode over to San Francisco today from Oakland. The ride on the bridge was fine. I'm seeing more of the BV's on the road. More of the BV500cc though. But the 250cc are just great. If you are going to do a lot of freeway, (distance) and you're a big person, not height, the BV500 may work for you better. The BV250 is fine, believe me. I ride with the wife on the back as much as possible, it's good times. With the adjustable rear springs, just two clicks up and we are good to go. So far I have know regrets about the BV250. PS. Wife really injoys the riding with me. She is now thinking really hard about her own. We looked at the Piaggio MP3.
- Ray, Oakland, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2005 Piaggio Fly 150 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased my Fly 150 to add to my collection of scoots. I find that the Fly is very nimble and quick from the start. Getting around Annapolis MD during tourist season is very difficult in a car, with the bad out of state drivers it's good to be able to pull out of the way as fast as possible. I have no problem doing this with my Fly 150. If you're looking for something as sexy as a Vespa, don't bother with this scoot. I would recommend this scoot to anyone that is interested in a fast, nimble and comfortable ride at a lower price point that a Vespa.
- Dino, Annapolis, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: