Royal Enfield Motorcycles Reviews (45)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Royal Enfield Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Royal Enfield Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-07-27 2011 Royal Enfield Bullet Classic C5 (EFI) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having had about 20 different motorcycles over the years, I finally found a bike that encompasses all of the features that make a motorcycle a true joy to ride. The Enfield is light, maneuverable, simple, economical and simply a blast to ride. The sound of that 500cc single is constant music to the ears. I've enjoyed all the bikes I've owned, but the Royal Enfield is pure joy and has become my favorite!
- Dbert, Sammamish, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-03-15 2013 Royal Enfield Bullet 500 B5 (EFI) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I don't care much for modern bikes, so this fit the bill perfectly. It's brand new, parts are available and it is beautiful. It actually looks and feels like a motorcycle. But, do not compare it to Japanese bikes. It may be brand new, but it is still very much a vintage British bike. It has a long stroke engine with a low redline. I wouldn't recommend riding it over 60 mph. for any length of time. Speaking of time, that's exactly what this bike is. It's a time machine that takes you back to a simpler era. I have never ridden a Japanese bike that came anywhere near being this much fun. If you want speed, look elsewhere. If you love vintage bikes, and understand their limitations, this is for you.
- Steve Scott, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-08-22 2011 Royal Enfield Bullet Classic C5 (EFI) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from a dealer in Missouri. It is perfect for an around town and commuter bike, much more so than my bigger bike. I've never been on something that corners so effortlessly. If you haven't checked out this dealer you must! Randy is just the best and it really matters to him that you get the bike you want.
- Heather Holland, Rogers, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-19 2010 Royal Enfield Bullet G5 Classic (EFI) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the RE G5 Classic in March and have put 5,000 miles on it. I have ridden it from sea level to 8000' and from 110 degree temps to 35 degree temps. The EFI does an amazing job of keeping up with all the climate changes. It starts well with either the electric starter, or the kick starter. I like to use the latter most of the time. It has had its top speed run to a remarkable 84 mph. and has a grand 19 bhp. at the rear wheel. It is enough to easily handle city traffic. It has been averaging about 72 mpg. over its lifetime. It's very comfortable, I have many over 200 mile days on it from the mountain twisties to the freeways of SoCal. It handles quite nicely, but don't expect it to stay up with modern bikes with good riders in the twisties. There just isn't enough rubber on the ground! But it will easily stay mid pack of any group. It cruises easily at 65 on the freeway although it is accompanied with a bit of vibration, but doesn't put any bits of my body to sleep as my old Yamaha SR500 or some other old English bikes I've owned, singles or twins. The only problems I've had with it are a loose connection in the side stand safety that caused some occasional misfiring, and the OEM Avon tires that are not compatible with my riding style. Replacement Dunlop K-70s made me a very happy camper. I work on the bike more than I have worked on any bike since I had a Nortless (Norton-Matchless) cafe racer, because it is easy and fun to work on. Most modern bikes are a real problem to work on so I don't. So, since I work on it a lot, I have to do something to it, so it's slowly morphing into a cafe racer. I'm currently waiting for some rear sets for it and I may change the seat. Otherwise it is mostly finished. Maybe I can get back to work on my GB500!
- Bare, Brea, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-09 2010 Royal Enfield Bullet G5 Classic (EFI) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Granted, I'm a new rider and this is obviously my first motorcycle, but I love my 2011 G5 Classic. Before buying I read tons of reviews, all of which were positive, especially the Jay Leno one, and since the price was significantly less than a Moto Guzzi V7, Triumph Bonneville and HD Sportster, I knew this would be the one. So now that I've put 300 miles on it in a bit less than a month, breaking the engine in according to the owners manual, mainly commuting to work and just riding around town, I totally love it. It starts up everytime with the EFI, no false neutrals, handles wonderfully. Just make sure your tire pressure is 20 in the front and 30 in the rear. The dealer had mine set way too high, which caused a pretty noticeable wobble at medium speeds and in turns. This was totally fixed once the tire pressure was set to owners manual specs. Another great thing about this bike is the Royal Enfield USA website has a very active community forum full of riders and wrenchers to share your experience with, always willing to offer advice and help out if you need it. If you buy the bike new, it also comes with a 2-year warranty for peace of mine, but I don't anticipate having any problems. These new EFI UCE bikes are really known to be trouble-free machines.
- Matt, Toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-10 2011 Royal Enfield Bullet Classic C5 (EFI) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked her up and drove her home in the rain last Saturday. Only out for a 30 km. ride one evening this week. Anyway, I've owned a lot of bikes over the last 35 or so years of riding. This one really reminds me of my 1972 BMW R60. Not tons of power, but tons of fun to ride. I had it up to 100 kms./hr., just breaking it in so I'm going easy on it. I did try a 2010 Bullet out and had it up to 130 kms./hr. So I know that they can get up there. It feels a little loosy goosy on curves if you push it hard, but then so does my 2006 Harley Street Glide. But that's not why I bought it. I was looking for an older bike from the '60s to play around with, love the old school bikes. I even tried an '09 Triumph Bonneville T100' but didn't care much for it. They were trying too hard to make it nostalgic, I guess, but cheaply built and very cheap parts. So any how, I heard about the Enfields, read reviews, watched videos on UTube, eyeing one up at the local dealer for over a year now, took the plunge and brought her home a few days ago. It even has a nice deep sound through the exhaust. It has lots of low end torque, pulls really hard, which impressed me, tons of parts available to customize it, etc. But I'll put some more miles on it and give a better review.
- Speedy Pete, ft Mac , Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-11 2009 Royal Enfield Bullet G5 Classic (EFI) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
don't get me wrong, I still love my Bullet. Over the last couple of months I have encountered some severe winds while covering doing some freeway miles. I know that the Bullet is not meant to be a freeway bike, and I would prefer not to have to take it on the freeway (it is only a 500 single after all.) But gas prices and time constraints dictate that sometimes you have to get somewhere in a hurry. 40-50 mph. gusts can be downright scary. A strong head-wind has limited me to an indicated top speed of around 55. As with any other motorcycle that I am aware of, a side wind will cause the Bullet to lean into the wind. A strong side-wind will cause a rather deep lean, which really causes the butt-cheeks to pucker when a truck passes and blocks the wind for a short distance. In strong winds, I have learned to expect to occupy every bit of the width of my lane in an effort to stay as close to the middle as possible. Lowering the rider's profile (feet on the rear pegs and chin on the speedometer) does help a little with both side and head winds, and is more comfortable in a strong head wind in my opinion, but still not ideal. Ideally I would not be riding on the freeway, or in high winds. Even so, it's better than driving, right? 5 star rating is still based on the fact that it is everything I could hope for from a 500 single with that much style.
- Jeff Nordstrom, Yakima, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-04 2009 Royal Enfield Bullet G5 Classic (EFI) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I am still in the second 100 miles, I am awfully happy with this bike. I just ordered a used windscreen off of "EBay" and saddle bags. I still haven't made it to the Blue Ridge Parkway yet, but took a (30 miles) little trip with a friend on the back. The bike had no problem maintaining 60 with "two up" and occasionally did 65 mph., when I wasn't paying attention. It's neat to get pulled over to talk with British bike enthusiasts. So far so good.
- W.E. DeRegibus, Farmville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-23 2008 Royal Enfield Bullet 500es Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Enfield in the fall of '08 and I love it. It puts a smile on my face every ride (and even seeing it in the garage). Take care in the break in process and you can feel the motor build power at 800 miles and 1,200 miles. With the mods, I can easily cruise at 65 and easily run up to 70 (much faster requires a cafe' head down position). I can easily stay neck to neck with my buddies HD from 0-60 mph. (after that, he quickly pulls away). It's by no means a fast bike, but that's not what this bike is about. In stock gearing this bike has a lot of torque, so a taller gearing is not a problem. It feels good on a mountain road and people cross the street to check it out and ask questions (passing up my friend's HD Springer anniversary addition - he's a good sport). I have had to update to a heavy duty starter relay. Also, much like an older bike, this bike does not start well in the cold - it does have a kick start though. This bike does require some attention, but had been very reliable - if you are even slightly mechanical and enjoy working on old cars or bikes (I came from a classic car background) a little tinkering and a fun classic ride - you can't beat it. p.s. An Enfield is made to be customized - take a look at all the aftermarket parts - you can make anything ... to make it yours.
- Rob C, Shelby, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-20 2010 Royal Enfield Bullet G5 Classic (EFI) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently purchased a 2009 G5 Classic Bullet. I've been looking for a more dependable motorcycle for years. I put 6000 miles on a 1974 CZ 175 commuting to work the last few years. The mileage was good, but dependability was not great. I really wanted to stay with a more unusual marque, and with the traditional riding position which I find very comfortable. I had my eyes on a T100 Bonneville for quite a while, but reviews said it only got about 45 mpg. I had also been looking at the older Bullets, but a top cruising speed not much higher than my CZ, and questionable reliability put a stop to that. Enter the EFI UCE Royal Enfields. Every review I read indicated great build quality, "Japanese" reliability, and 85mpg fuel economy. The uncommon marque, vintage appearance, and traditional riding position got me hooked. The first 1000 miles were trouble free, but as it was all still under the manufacturer's recommended run-in, I did not push it very hard. After the 1000 mile oil change (easy job done in my garage)I took it for some freeway work. It is only a 500cc single, so I was not expecting too much. It held 65mph up some significant hills, and ran at 70mph along the flats without a problem, although there was a lot of buzz at that speed. Seat is a little stiff, but I don't find it uncomfortable. The uncomfortable part was that it was raining hard and I had no rain gear. Overall I am very pleased. However it has only been returning about 70 mpg, not the 85 I was hoping for. That may change now that it is run in. This is not the motorcycle for everyone. It's got a lot of torque for a 500, but it isn't big on horsepower. My lack of complaints may be derived from so much time on a 175 2-stroke, but I like it.
- Jeff Nordstrom, Yakima, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-25 2007 Royal Enfield Bullet 500es Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 2007 Bullet Classic (black) in Sept. 2008 and could not be happier with it. This is my first bike. It's a blast to ride, easy (and cheap!) to maintain, and a real conversation starter. It gets about 55 mpg in the city and 70 mpg on the parkways. The styling and finish quality make this bike an instant head turner. Every time I ride, several people will ask questions or compliment the restoration. In fact, I'm getting tired of explaining that it's a new 1955 machine. And the sound -- the music that emanates from that shorty English exhaust -- is just beautiful! This bike is a solid and dependable runner that has no problems handling the rough streets of NYC and the moonlike surface of the BQE. It was not difficult to adhere to the break-in procedure (a must!) because the traffic here is slow. The drum brakes are strong and well up to the demands of urban and highway riding. The suspension is rather stiff. that's good for handling but not always great for comfort. Harsh surfaces can give a harsh ride. So I'm thinking about the aftermarket Hagon shocks. Otherwise, the ergonomics and neutral riding position are roomy enough for a tall guy like me, though the stock seat has a step in the base pan that hits my tailbone sometimes. I'm getting a sprung solo saddle. At first the bike seemed not to have much power at higher speeds. However, now that it is mostly broken in, it has loosened up a lot and has proven to have plenty of grunt. The English-made freeflow exhaust definitely helps there (I had my dealer install it and re-jet the carb accordingly before I picked it up). A 130-mile trip on the Merritt Parkway was no problem as this bike ran consistently with the cars between 55-65 mph, up long hills and such (and got 70 mpg doing so). This bike requires only a little more maintenance than a modern bike. You have to check the valves once in a while, though mine have not yet needed adjustment. As with any bike, you also have to check oil and fluid levels (I top them off about every 200 miles), as well as the primary and drive chain tension (I adjusted each of them once, mostly for the practice). The most involved thing I've done so far was the drive chain adjustment, which you do by moving the rear wheel with the help of two snail cams. Getting the right tension while maintaining alignment was a little complicated, but I did it, and it shouldn't need another adjustment for several thousand miles. My dealer had to re-torque the head bolts during the break-in service, which I know how to do now if it's needed again. The importer's forum and the Pete Snidal repair manual are invaluable resources. This is the bike for you if you're looking for a gorgeous, vintage motorcycle for relaxed riding, commuting and tinkering. While it's a rugged and dependable bike, it's not designed for the freeway (i.e. sustained speeds of 70+ mph) and should not be ridden that way. Please note: you need a DIY attitude if you are serious about owning one of these bikes. It's easy and rewarding to do, but you have to be actively involved in your bike's upkeep or you will eventually regret it. You can't just use it; you have to form a relationship with it. Riding this bike is more about the journey than the destination.<br />
- Jeff Drouin, Brooklyn, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-15 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Classic about one month ago and recently completed the break-in oil changes. I have to put this bike into perspective before rating: It's a step back in time, so a reference has to be in such a manner. My other bike is a Suzuki with a drive shaft and plenty of modern features. On the other hand, the RE is a new mindset that pushes me into the relaxation of truly enjoying the ride. It's not very quick from start, so it takes patience to get up to speed. I get plenty o' looks from other riders, especially Harley people. I get stopped constantly by people who want to talk about my Classic. I mean from everybody - even those you would not expect to be a rider. With all the emotional hype aside, the bike is good and dependable. I had to get used to simply feeling the shifter: you don't have to shift hard at all. It was an adjustment at first because the shifting was tricky. Turns out to require only a gentle touch with a little feel. The bike is a breeze to control while steering in a parking lot or other tight spaces. I plan to take it into the mountains of NC soon and will see how it handles in curves and varying hills. I also (surprisingly) like the seat height. I see SUV drivers at eye level and see upcoming surroundings with ease. This makes me feel safe because I feel that I am more visible.
- Wayne, Lake City, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-03 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best roadstar for riding hard and riding long. Never tires and the sound of blazing guns from its engine feel like heaven... Dugg Dugg Dugg Dugg is the sound of iron pumping in your blood...
- Manish Sharma, New Delhi, India

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm at 1500 miles in 4 months, and have been riding my Electra mostly to and from work. It allows me to really enjoy my commute, and to save quite a bit on gas in the process. I've had no problems with the bike; it's a fun ride and very reliable. The only thing I'd change would be to raise the seat a bit, but at 6 foot 5, not much really matches my height.
- Robert Nix, Spring Valley, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-20 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A 1950s motorcycle still being made today. People may complain about maintenance, minor leaks, etc. Well, back in the 50s and 60s these weren't major problems, they were a reality with all brands. Owners back then didn't mind making adjustments and getting their hands dirty, it was part of ownership and brought you closer to your machine. You want the look of an old bike with modern reliability? Buy a new Triumph, and it will feel and sound like a new Honda. You want a real classic bike? Buy an old bike and restore it OR buy a brand new Royal Enfield. The amount of parts and upgrades you can do to these bikes are extensive (not expensive). And reliability is what you make it. Yes old bikes require more love, but this brings you closer to your machine. No bike I have ever owned has given me the satisfaction and joy that the Royal Enfield Bullet has. You are literally riding a piece of history when your thumping down the road on one of these. Nope, they don't perform well on highways. Those types of roads didn't exist when these motors were designed. Stick to backroads/take the scenic route and the bikes performance will shock you. They are easy to fling through corners, they handle really well, and there is quite a bit of torque on these 500cc machines. Not to mention they are very nice looking bikes. To be perfectly honest, I have had a few VERY minor issues with the bike. Some of these issues, in the hands of an incompetent owner, may trigger a negative review. But the competent owner, or should I say real motorcyclist, will buck up and fix it. And that's the beauty of them, they are so easy to fix, all you need is the shop manual and the ability to follow instructions. No need to take it to the dealer and get charged $500 for it to be hooked up to a diagnostic computer. The reality is if you want a real classic bike, which will give you the full experience, you cannot go wrong with the Royal Enfield Bullet.
- D. SmithDJ Burdette, Fremont, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-20 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just wanted to give an updated review. I've got 500 miles on the bike now and it's been pretty enjoyable and fun. No major mechanical issues except a wire that came loose and caused some frequent stops for a day or so trying to figure out why the motor kept shutting off. I was able to take care of it pretty quickly myself without having to take her into the shop....which is the wonderful thing about these bikes. They are so simple that as long as you have taken care of them and done your preventative maintenance, if anything does act up chances are it is nothing major and can be taken care of yourself pretty easily. Still, if you are looking for 75mph+ speeds, look elsewhere. You'll just tear up an Enfield in it's stock form. But for 50mph or so cruising it sure is fun!!! You will be surprised at the number of folks who stop and talk to you about it.
- Adam, Middleburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-23 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, I've rated it as a 4 star just because that's what it seems to have earned so far. If my opinion changes I'll let you know. Now, I've only got 70 miles on it but I am pretty pleased. Over all workmanship seems pretty good. As good or better than several Japanese models I looked at. Sounds like a RE, and runs real smooth. Starts with the push of a button and usually on the first try with the kick starter. It's pretty comfortable all things considered. I'm a tall guy and I don't feel cramped or uncomfortable. Granted I haven't taken any long runs. I haven't had it over 50 mph yet just because I plan on breaking it in nice and slow and the roads I travel to work on are 45mph anyway. But it cruises nicely and seems to have some good bottom end. I don't think this would be a bike for someone wanting speed and intersate highway commuting and what-not but for cruising the backroads it's a good choice IMO.
- Adam, Middleburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only have 240 miles on the Electra, of which the dealer rode 107 miles to test the bike. So far I am very pleased with the bike as I break it in at speeds under 50mph for the first 500 miles. In fact I love it so far. Handles like a dream, nimble as a small dirt bike, and absolutely beautiful to look at. Very vintage looks. don't buy this bike if you don't like attention. Definite eye candy. I am very excited about the prospect of riding this bike after the break-in period. I believe the Royal Enfield Bullet Electra will be in my garage for as long as I ride motorcycles. Yes, if you like to tinker with a bike, do most of your maintenance, and you consider yourself an individualist, then this might be the bike for you.
- T. Wilson, Leesburg, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-17 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike because I liked the retro style. Many times when I ride the bike people always ask me questions or comment about how good the bike looks. The only problem I have had was a bad transmission - which my dealer is replacing under warranty. I have been very pleased with the bike and have taken short road trips with no problems. The engine keeps getting better as it breaks in. At this point in the break in the engine excels in the 50-65mph range on the highway. I have had up to 75mph. If you like the retro look and the feel of a torquey thumper, you will like this bike.
- BLW, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I watched the evolution of the Royal Enfield line for several years. I saw the inclusion of the 5-speed gearbox, general improvements in quality, and and a gigantic increase in available accessories. I finally bought an Electra becuase I liked the new engine. At first, I thought I'd made a mistake -- that I should have bought a Bonneville -- because the bike was so slow and weak. But, I took the time to break it in gently, and I found out that these bikes aren't wimpy after all, they're just tight. I installed a performance kit to let the little motor breath better. What a difference. I can keep up with traffic on any road and cruise at 70 with about one third throttle left. With every mile, I am happier with this bike. It reminds me of the roadsters of my youth, but better (things don't fall off and it doesn't bleed all over the garage floor).
- Dan Luoma, Mary Esther, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Military Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is not a sport bike, but it's light and handles very well. This is not a touring bike, but it will take you just about anywhere you want to go. This is not a big, fat cruiser, but it gets nods, comments, and the thumbs-up wherever I go. The mileage is hard to beat at around 70 mpg, the styling is excellent. The quality has improved greatly over the past several years. Everything about the bike screams classic motorcycle. The bike gets a little better every time I ride it. don't be afraid to turn a wrench and care for the bike like it says in the manual. Proper run-in is extremely important and it needs a lot of TLC during these formative miles, but the end result is a solid, economical, extremely stylish motorcycle.
- Ron Brown, Eureka, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-23 2003 Royal Enfield 500 US Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2003 RE Bullet Deluxe second hand from a NC grad student who purchased it new. The bike had 475 miles on it when I bought it. The previous owner was replacing the spark plug due to fouling every 50 miles or so. When I got the bike home I found it would start missing badly above 1/4 throttle and did not shift well at all. I wound up ordering a 34mm Mikuni carb kit and cured my missing problem. A clutch adjustment cured the shifting problem for the most part and she seems to run a bit better every time I ride now. Now I will be the first one to tell you, these aren't for everyone. But, I'll also say I wouldn't have thought it was for me till I started fooling with it. Along with Pete Snidal's excellent tech manual for these I have been able to troubleshoot and fix every little problem to come along, and probably could have tuned the stock carb if I would have received the manual before the carb kit, and I have never been one to turn a wrench before. With this bike, it's actually fun and rewarding to tinker, or "fettle about" as the Brits like to say. If you are thinking of buying one of these, be forewarned. It will probably have some teething problems and will not run like a comparably sized Japanese machine. The "run in" procedure must be adhered to and the first 500-1000 miles is critical. Even once this is done and it is running right it will never be a sportbike (contrary to the importer's cafe racer kits for it). What it will be is nice rugged solid transportation that yields about 70mpg and gets lots of looks and draws much conversation. It's great on the back roads and around town and though I've not tried it (yet), many people around the world use it like an adventure touring bike. I wouldn't call it a great beginner's bike because the beginner needs to concentrate on developing riding rather than wrenching skills first. It is probably the perfect training bike if you want to learn about working on vintage motorcycles as they are extremely straight forward and the importer has excellent parts and tech support. This alleviates the extra hassle of having to track down parts or second guess the quality of used parts. I personally enjoy being able to work on mine myself and not having to rely on the local motorcycle repair shops that either won't work on a machine that is not mainstream, or taking 8 weeks for a simple job.
- John Damone, Mauldin, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-30 2000 Royal Enfield Bullet Classic 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 500 "bullet" for about three weeks now, and have a little over 600 miles on it. Sure it had a few "new bike bugs", but all in all I LIKE IT ! Checking milage, so far I have averaged 58.4 miles per gallon on it. It's no "hot rod", but it cruises at 60 miles per hour as easily as any other bike. The key is to have the 18 tooth front sprocket installed. This lets the bike run easier at higher speeds with fewer r.p.m.'s. With the heavy fle wheels, the bike still has plenty of torque.
- jim , viburnum , Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-22 2004 Royal Enfield 500 US Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the first day, my Enfield has started faster than my car. Yes, it had to go through an extended break-in, just like any '60s style bike. For the first 500 miles I took it easy, kicking it up a bit every 50 miles or so. Now 80 mph is no problem, this isn't a fast bike, so if you're looking for a screamer, buy a Japanese bike. Problems-- The day I bought the bike it was raining hard, the 125 mile drive home in the back of my truck was wet, to say the least. I had to unmount the amp meter and dry it off. The only other problem was a slightly loose valve tappet, 10 min fix. The only real complaint with the Enfield is from my wife, she thinks the seat in back is too narrow for a long ride. I might look into getting a seat from the new sixty-5, if it will fit the classic frame. The only other problem I've had is explaining to on-lookers that it is NOT 40 years old!
- Jim McQuaid, South Chatham, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-15 2000 Royal Enfield Bullet Classic 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Indian version produced for export over the past few years are well built and well finished machines. I would know after restoring my fair share of original Brit Iron. Except for the adaptation of an alternator and 12v electrics (and a few details for emissions), the bike is built to 1954 Royal Enfield specs (1955's had an oval air cleaner but are identical to the 1954's). All of the parts to "DBS" the bike are available like the shorter non-emission exhaust and a few details to bring things fully to 1954! Down to the riding part. If you have ever spent time on Brit bikes, there are no surprises here as most ride similar regardless of brand or model. These bikes carve and flick around quite well. The engine is easily kicked over (or with the press of a button as mine has electric start) and after a couple minute warm up, its ready to go. The 500 has a good torque curve and can certainly accelerate with traffic from a stop light with no fuss. They can cruise at 60-65 but are by no means highway bikes as the gearing is suited for the back roads and scenic routes. Mine has been very reliable but you must do some mechanical prevention by adjusting the tappets, timing (points and condenser unit, and keeping the oil clean. These tasks are quite easy and fun at the same time. don't beat it up with long stretches of high RPM's and the bike will last.
- Tim, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: