Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles Reviews (42)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-07-10 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Power: Oh yes....it's there! Engine: It's very flexible with good down-ow torque, very linear vs. pull-your-arms-out-of-the-sockets power. Not buzzy IMO, however VERY cold-blooded. Handling: Keep in mind this is not a sport-bike but a sporty standard; that said it's very predictable and stable. Go R-6 chasing as required. Ergonomics: Controls fall readily to hand and the seating position/foot-to-peg relationship is sane enough to make 1.5/2hr sorties reasonable. Comfort: See above. Down-sides: Mirrors provide a great view of the elbows; mirrors vibrate too much in the upper rpm. range; seat could be better (nitpicky). Would I buy another one? IN A HEARTBEAT!!!!
- NWilliams, NLV, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-07 2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is very fast. Has lots of torque. I am very happy with this bike. I recommend this bike to anyone looking to purchase a cruiser that has the power and handling of a sport bike.
- sean , watertown, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-06 1999 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I enjoy riding this bike. Plenty of torque, always at your disposal. Valve adjustments recommended every 4K (drag). Vibration is a little excessive. Upgrade to 6 speed should make cruising more enjoyable (often looking for that extra gear). Did I say, I love riding this bike. Very easy to ride.
- Papernerd, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-22 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi all, here is what I think of the Bandit 1200s. Well, what a bike for the money, a true all rounder, mine is fitted with full Givi luggage and wingrack and not only does it look the part with a full compliment, but it does not seem to bother the machine at all, even two up. It is in standard form and has more than enough power for me. If you can outride a Bandit 1200s, then buy something else like a Honda Blackbird Or Suzi Hyabusa. I have owned a good few bikes now and at the age of 49, I feel that this machine will suit me for a few more years before my reaction time slows up too much!!! Not the best build quality in the world but more than adequate for your outlay, plus it has a very good reliability record that some other manufacturers would possibly be a bit green eyed about!! If you like a smooth gear change, then you would be hard pressed to find better. Being a 5 speed rather than a 6 is not much of a hinderance either, if you know what you are about you could give a lot of sport bike owner/riders a shock with a Bandit 1200 and they will have paid almost double for their power!!! It is also a very comfortable bike to ride and has an excellent riding position that puts no pressure on you wrists on those long days in the saddle. Now I must mention the one bad problem I had with mine. It is as mentioned an 02 model and apparently some 01-02 models were plagued with an oil burning problem, mine was one of them. It stemmed from the build factory and was an issue which allowed the oil passed the oil control rings and into the combustion chambers where it was readilly burned with the fuel. I was horrified at the amount of blue smoke mine started to expell through the stock exhaust so I took it straight back to the dealer where I purchased it. After much hassle, they agreed to have it repaired at a Suzuki specialist and 2 weeks later I had it returned with new pistons, rings and sleeves. Please do not let this put you off as they are a fantastic bike, just don't buy it unless you can take it for a LONG, LONG run 1st and if you see any blue smoke walk away from it. Hope this helps anyone looking for this model and again I must stress, they are a stonking good bike/buy and a real pleasure to ride.
- Yozzer Hughes, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a curiser style bike for several years. I just didn't like the "laid back" riding position. The Bandit allows for a heads up riding position without hunching over the gas tank. I have the naked style. I added a National Cylce F-16 wind screen that really adds to the looks. I also have bar end rearview mirrors which I highly recommend. It gives a great view of what's coming up behind. This is a great bike at a great price.
- KGR, Fayetteville, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-13 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 46 and I hadn't riden a bike in about 13 years and only rode a 250cc bike. I really like cruisers but, after spending a lot of time just sitting on them, I found that long trips could be a problem. I've had sugery on my lower back and although I'm fine nowb, sitting is my weak point. I found the position on the Bandit with my legs under me rather than out in front is a very happy position for my back. With only 350 mile so far I have no complaints. This is a very smooth and powerful bike. I bought it new this year, (05 but it's a 2003). People who ride say "Wow, that thing will pop wheelies". Well not for me, I'll keep 2 wheels down. I wanted plenty of power for 2 and gas mileage for weekend trips, 46mpg so far. I like the upright position which I improved with a riser kit. I'll update in the future.
- Tim Z, Chino Valley AZ, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-04 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I started my journey to find my perfect bike 5 years ago and I think now I have found it. I have owned an FZ1 and a Buell CityX. This is my bike. After spending years trying to figure out the bike for me and not to mention lots of cash I have found the Bandit, the cheapest of the 3 by far, to be my favorite. The riding position, handling and power put this bike in a class that is rare to match. don't get me wrong, I loved the FZ1 and the City X, but both of those bikes have too much torque for what I wanted. I would put them up on one wheel a lot more than I cared too. With the Bandit that really isn't a huge concern for me. I have no upgrades yet but I am planning on adding an exhaust and an air cooler to unlock that true power that I know is buried in her. This is a great bike.
- Cbandit1200, sugarland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-06 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
While the Bandit isn't considered cutting edge by anyone, it encompasses characteristics that many motorcycle owners look for. The engine is a 1200cc air/oil cooled inline 4 cylinder which provides great power right up until about 2000 rpm before it's redline when the power surge begins to flatten out. It's mini fairing (on S versions) and exposed engine provide a handsome profile without looking like some sort of racer wannabe. The wide seat an semi-upright seating beg the rider to stay for a while, unlike it's supersport siblings. Value is a virtue of the Bandit as well. With literbike performance, graceful handling right up to 95% of it's limits, the Bandit is a steal. Try and find specs that equal the Bandit for less, you'll be looking for quite some time. Do yourself a favor and turn your cheek to the "next cool this" and the "new fangled that" and try a machine that gets it done for less. Wave when you pass the slug crippled over on his CB-GSXR-6XX.
- Andrew Boles, Lebanon, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-26 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great do everything bike for a hell of a price. Fits me great and I'm 6'5"over 300lbs.
- Gordon, puyallup, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-23 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
April 15,2003 I got a new 2001 Bandit 1200 in black with less then 130 miles, hooked up with yoshi pipes, k&n air filter, and rejetted carbs...I love the bike with lots of power and speed. well over 100 plus hp and 75 fpt. for $6000 out the door. Handling is very nice even in sharp turns. I have put about 200 more miles on the bike and I am getting about 25 miles per gal. not good! can any one tell me what I should average with moderate 50%city and 50%hwy ride.
- Mike G., Antelope, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-06 1999 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Suzuki Bandit is without a doubt the best bike you can buy for the dollar. I've ridden freinds' bikes that were newer and more expensive, but the Bandit 1200 really shines for value. If you are not a track racer and you're not into obese cruisers, then this is probably the bike you're looking for. I bought mine used and had it for over a year now. It has 22,000 miles and is going strong. This winter, I did all the maintenance to it myself: changed fork seals, brakes, set valve lash, new plugs, and new K&N. She's fast enough to ride with my buddies with R1's and Hayabusa's, and tame enough to ride to work and tour on. I rode her 1500 miles to the coast and back last summer and it was a real blast! You can spend more money, but you cannot find a better performing, more reliable, economical and enjoyable motorcyle on the market.
- Juan, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-16 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put about 4,000 miles on my 2002 Bandit 1200S and love it. You simply cannot beat the value. It's a powerful, comfortable, nimble, nice looking piece of machinery that is as awesome to ride as it is to look at. The front wheel likes to go airborne if you're heavy on the throttle. All around great bike...
- D Cobb, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-14 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have about 44,000+ miles of riding experience and I must say that this bike not only hits the spot. It rubs it out! I have ridden lots of bikes, from my vintage GS750e, to full race preped rice rockets. The Bandit is by far the best all around bike I have ever had the pleasure of riding. It is surprisingly nimble for a 500+ lb machine, taking corners with ease and confidence. It has amazing roll on power, since the power band covers nearly a 6k rpm range. Anytime you hit the juice from 3.5k up to 9+ it's quick and will rip your shoulders out of their sockets if you aren't ready for it. Any take offs at 4k+ will result in some reduced wear on the front tire. A few blits of the juice will keep it up till around 3rd gear. Mmmmm Unicycle. There is nothing at all like it. There is so much torque at such a broad range that you almost always have power at the ready, unless you are at idle or in the red zone. The shifting of this bike is smooooooth, so smooth that you don't need the clutch. You can just tweak the throttle a bit and she slides right in. The B12 will corner extremely well. From tight long rounders to switchbacks it just hugs everything. With the weight of this bike you will want to enter a bit wider and slower and then use the immense roll on power to push yourself out of the turn. The forks are a bit spongy for me at 195lbs. But other than that I can't find anything bad to say about the suspension. Everything about this bike is sexy also. Oh well... actually once you "remove" the ugly tail guard, then everything is ;-) It has a mean street look and deffinately likes to show it's muscles. Everything is comfortable and well placed. Hell it has a gas guage and a clock ;-) I love pointing that out to "all" of my mates. Especially when they are tapping their tanks or counting miles. The more upright riding position is perfect on the freeways or through town. The only bad thing I can say about it is, she likes her fuel and the reserve is way too big at 1.2 gal. I have averaged 36mpg on it street and 38 with about half a tank of highway and half street. Last but not least... the price. I mentioned this last because it's not why you should buy a bike.... You should always go for fit and ride something that will work with your style of riding. Yes my buddy's R6 will out corner the B12 (barely) a Hyabusa will giggle at me in it's rear view (above 130mph) and a Goldwing will cruise by with all it's cup holding goodness and "cush" ride but all in all this bike is a total package... and if you are into Naked bikes... thats a bonus. If you want to get one CHEAP talk to Bob Gregor at www.lacyclesports.com I bought mine off of him at ~$2000 under sticker and watched them unpack it from the factory crating, Zero miles :-) Tell Him Chris Bonnell Sent ya! Keep the rubber side down. CB
- Chris, Santa Clarita, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-23 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i was looking for a replacement from my rf900. this bike is awesome, torque monster!!! you can leave it in 5th gear all day long. insurance is cheap as well. "no fairings, no problems" you don't stick out with the cops either.
- j.p., kennesaw, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-26 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
But-loada-fun! That pretty much summarizes. I was in the market for a smaller, 750-900cc bike. If Kawasaki hadn't ruined the ZR-7 w/ the 'S' fairing, I'd probably be writing about that bike instead. But then I test drove a used Bandit 12 (from back when the 'S' fairing was all you got) and was hooked at first twist of the throttle. I then stopped into the nearest dealer and picked out my brand new 'nekid' B12. After 1 season I can say that the bike is pretty spectactular. Incredible power, great finish and quality, and pretty good reliability (so far!). The only complaint I've got to date is that it's a bit uncomfortable at times. I'm 5'11' and the seating position feels perfect at first, but gets to you after 40 min or so. The seat is likely the culprit here. Also I notice some of the 'buzz' mentioned else where at cruising speed as my throttle hand likes to go numb. And lastly this is not a beginner's ride; she's big (tall seat), heavy (try to lift it yourself after it's fallen over off the sidestand), powerful (the front wheel works for Delta: it loves to fly and it shows!) and fast (illegal spedo readouts come up wicked fast). However, you can't beat the price/perf/feature combo. I loved the look on my buddy's face when he swapped me his CBR6 for a short stretch of some coastline last summer. Betcha he feels like a succa for paying that much more for a bike w/ so much less punch!
- Bubba, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-09 1999 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My other review on this bike is already here but i just hit 20,000 miles on her. All I can say is WOW!!!! She can hang with the fast guy's or putt with the cruisers, she's a wolf in sheep's clothing just like the reviews said, if front wheel lofting is your pleasure she does it with no fanning the clutch just a throttle twist and up she comes. For the price tag she can hang with the fast guys, I can't believe the 2001 is even a better bike? Cost me ZERO in repairs none at all, just tires and chain and sprockets, just maintenance that's it. What a smooth bike at 60, just as smooth at 90 unbelievable bike, can't believe people pass this bike up. If you look at the quarter mile stats she's right in there at 11.00's. Where can you find a bike like this or better than this at 7K? She's better than the reviews said. BigBill
- BigBill, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-30 2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 2000 Bandit 1200S a couple weeks back and now have over 1300 miles on it in four rides. Overall power delivery is great and the low/midrange torque is just what the non-racing rider enjoys in normal weekend riding. But with a flick of the wrist it jumps from 70-100 mph in seconds, is still only at 6000 rpm (redline is 10), and has way too much power left. Handling is also tremendous and I'm really enjoying it while running through the Colorado mountains and valleys. It'll be a while (if ever) before I'll want to reach the limits of the bike's handling capability. Unfortunately, the seat design is poor and uncomfortable for the 300-500 mile rides I enjoy. However, I have easily altered my seat by peeling back the cover and using a common electric kitchen carving knife to reshape it to fit (more like a saddle). At 5'7" that got my feet flatter on the ground and also took just a bit of weight off my arms and shoulders (sorry, I'm not a crotch rocket rider). The seat modification is easy and well worth the effort. Of course, you can always drop $300 for a Corbin if you wish. The stock mini-fairing works pretty well, throwing most wind around your torso although your arms and head/helmet will feel the wind. For early and late season riding I may buy and use a slightly higher and wider shield so I can extend by riding season. I own a '95 Gold Wing SE which my wife likes to ride on and which I'll continue to use for long trips. I also have a Honda Magna 700 cruiser which is great for "calm" day rides. But for an invigorating 1-up day ride the Bandit 1200S is the bike of choice, hands down. It's combination of great styling, handling, and superb power make it one great canyon carver!
- Mark Atwell, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-12 2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I researched many bikes before choosing the GSF1200,(Ducati Monster, ZRX 1200R ). I currently have just over 900 miles on the bike -- I've only had it two weeks and can't stay off it. It is a great bike for two up riding or just commuting. I can not say enough about the bike's midrange torque. It makes the bike very easy to drive. When cruising with friends I have not found one of their bikes that can keep up with me when I roll the throttle back. They are all grabbing for a lower gear and the Bandit just blows them away. The bike handles well for a big bike. It's no GSXR but holds it's in the handling department. My only regret may have been buying the base Bandit and not the "S" the wind is intense over 130 MPH no matter how flat you lay on the tank.
- J., Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-30 2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me just say that I've researched EVERYTHING in the "naked" bike market. I compared price, features, horsepower, handling, seating, you name it! I even had the chance to compare a 2000 1200S along side the 2001 I bought. There is no better all around machine for power, handling, looks,or anything else for that matter, that will measure up to the '01 Bandit 1200S! Sure, there are bikes that will do something better than the B12, but for all around riding, this thing is fantastic. Great mid range punch, easy in town riding and holds it's own on the twisty back roads. And the price!! I got my '01 for $6600.+ tax. NO OTHER BIKE in this engine class came close to that!!! Hats off to Suzuki for taking a solid bike and making it a ton better in 2001. I can't stay off it!! But that's the general idea, right! If your looking for a great machine to do alot of things well, GO see your local Suzuki dealer quick, and hope he has one!! Good riding>
- chevysellr19, Upstate New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-25 2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For those of you tall guys who find it uncomfortable to ride cruises even with forward foot control, I have found the bike for you. Being a 6 foot 6 inches mostly leg bike rider, cruisers didn't fair well with me that little thing of steering just keep getting in the way. But I seen the light! and it came in the form of the Bandit 1200S . Those of you with a 38' inseam will enjoy this comfortable ride of this sport bike. It has the feel of a cruiser with the handling and looks of a sport bike. You will feel at ease weather you are on the highway are or just wondering the city streets. The 1200S have plenty of power to spare and a seat that you can stay on all day. Over all this bike is a good value, with the heart of an untamed beast. Sign; Lets ride!!
- Ken Derrough, Lewisville (Dallas) , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-01 2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride a 1993 Suzuki GS1100 that I thought was a great all around standard until I sold it prior to having knee surgery and knew I wouldn't be riding for some time. Well that was 2 years ago, in December of 2000 after reading a whole bunch of reviews on different bikes and price ranges, I decided to come back home to Suzuki and try the Bandit this time. One of the best investments I have ever made, great riding, handling, and just plain fun bike that you could ever own. I know a lot of riders say that the Bandit is fast, they are not kidding, now we are not talking about racetrack fast, we are talking about street driving and before you know how fast you are going before you get a ticket fast here. I've heard a lot about this bike wanting to do wheelies all the time when you twist the thottle and thought yea right, I'm 6'3' and weight over 300lbs, they were not kidding about that either. Look I always beleive people should buy what they want and be happy, but if you're unsure about what bike to get that you'll keep for a long time and modify to become that perfect bike for you this is it.
- Glenn, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 1999 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I currently have 2 bikes. A 1999 Concours and of course my 1999 Suzuki Bandit 1200. I like my concours fine, it is very reliable, but the Bandit is really the fun bike to ride and every bit as comfortable. It has great handling characteristics for the average to advanced rider and will preform great. Using Holeshot equipment on it makes it as fast as anybike you want to own. The fun factor comes from the overall comfort of this machine. You can ride it 600 miles a day and not get tired. I have taken many trips to Arkansas and really had a blast on it. Also I have taken two vacations to Colorado and this where you have to wonder where the fun ends. It is great on the sweaping turn thru the mountain passes. More then enough power to pass 5, 6 or more cars stuck behind a slow moving vehicle. After that the mountains all yours. My wife seems to love the speed as much as I do and she does'nt even drive a bike. She sure likes the smoothness of the Bandit though. Hope you enjoy your also. Thanks Wayne
- Wayne Ferney, New Iberia, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a brand new rider, just started in October. I was afraid the Bandit was going to be too much bike. The Bandit is easier to ride than the small bikes I rode during the MSF class. If the engine is turning anywhere from 2500-8000 rpm, it doesn't matter, just twist the throittle and go. I hear the Bandit is not considered fast, but any faster would be scary. I haven't found anything (car anyway) that I can't leave behind with a filck of the wrist. Handling on the twisting backroads has been wonderful. I have yet to notice any holes or flat spots in the power curve. At 6'4", I needed a tall bike. There are many bikes I can't sit on, nevermind trying to ride. The Bandit gives me a good bike that I can grow into for many years to come. Thanks Suzuki!
- Howard Betts, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The new Bandit is better than I imagined. It's comfortable, smooth, and fast. It's the first time my wife asked to hop on the back for an afternoon cruise through Carmel Valley. Since the engine is same bulletproof mother that was bolted in the GSXR, I think it will be very reliable and affordable to maintain. I'll write again after I put a couple thousand miles on it and see how I still feel about it...
- John , Monterey, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a long time rider, 35yrs since my first Triumph and numerous high performance bikes since. I first rode a big Suz in 1981 and knew that if they ever put that engine in a proper street setup I'd be knocking down the door to buy it. I guess they must have heard me and 20,000 other riders thinking because this is almost exactly what I would have done and at such a reasonable price! WOW, what a machine... Strong, stable, quick steering, fine brakes. Perfect, comfortable seating posture for long sporting rides. Even the small fairing does a good job of keeping the air pressure off your head and chest. This machine takes a highly evolved engine design and puts it's best features to work in a way that makes it's power characteristics usable, safe to play with and enormous fun in the proper setting. And the 2001 is supposed to be an improved version. There's never been a street bike like the Big Bandit!
- Peter , Southern, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: