Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Bandit 1200 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

42 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

NWilliams

NLV, Nevada

Reviewed on 2012-07-10

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Power: Oh yes....it's there! Engine: It's very flexible with good down-ow torque, very linear vs. pull-your-arms-out-of-the-sockets power. Not buzzy IMO, however VERY cold-blooded. Handling: Keep in mind this is not a sport-bike but a sporty standard; that said it's very predictable and stable. Go R-6 chasing as required. Ergonomics: Controls fall readily to hand and the seating position/foot-to-peg relationship is sane enough to make 1.5/2hr sorties reasonable. Comfort: See above. Down-sides: Mirrors provide a great view of the elbows; mirrors vibrate too much in the upper rpm. range; seat could be better (nitpicky). Would I buy another one? IN A HEARTBEAT!!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

sean

watertown, New York

Reviewed on 2009-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is very fast. Has lots of torque. I am very happy with this bike. I recommend this bike to anyone looking to purchase a cruiser that has the power and handling of a sport bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Papernerd

Jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I enjoy riding this bike. Plenty of torque, always at your disposal. Valve adjustments recommended every 4K (drag). Vibration is a little excessive. Upgrade to 6 speed should make cruising more enjoyable (often looking for that extra gear). Did I say, I love riding this bike. Very easy to ride.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Yozzer Hughes

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2006-12-22

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hi all, here is what I think of the Bandit 1200s. Well, what a bike for the money, a true all rounder, mine is fitted with full Givi luggage and wingrack and not only does it look the part with a full compliment, but it does not seem to bother the machine at all, even two up. It is in standard form and has more than enough power for me. If you can outride a Bandit 1200s, then buy something else like a Honda Blackbird Or Suzi Hyabusa. I have owned a good few bikes now and at the age of 49, I feel that this machine will suit me for a few more years before my reaction time slows up too much!!! Not the best build quality in the world but more than adequate for your outlay, plus it has a very good reliability record that some other manufacturers would possibly be a bit green eyed about!! If you like a smooth gear change, then you would be hard pressed to find better. Being a 5 speed rather than a 6 is not much of a hinderance either, if you know what you are about you could give a lot of sport bike owner/riders a shock with a Bandit 1200 and they will have paid almost double for their power!!! It is also a very comfortable bike to ride and has an excellent riding position that puts no pressure on you wrists on those long days in the saddle. Now I must mention the one bad problem I had with mine. It is as mentioned an 02 model and apparently some 01-02 models were plagued with an oil burning problem, mine was one of them. It stemmed from the build factory and was an issue which allowed the oil passed the oil control rings and into the combustion chambers where it was readilly burned with the fuel. I was horrified at the amount of blue smoke mine started to expell through the stock exhaust so I took it straight back to the dealer where I purchased it. After much hassle, they agreed to have it repaired at a Suzuki specialist and 2 weeks later I had it returned with new pistons, rings and sleeves. Please do not let this put you off as they are a fantastic bike, just don't buy it unless you can take it for a LONG, LONG run 1st and if you see any blue smoke walk away from it. Hope this helps anyone looking for this model and again I must stress, they are a stonking good bike/buy and a real pleasure to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KGR

Fayetteville, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2005-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had a curiser style bike for several years. I just didn't like the "laid back" riding position. The Bandit allows for a heads up riding position without hunching over the gas tank. I have the naked style. I added a National Cylce F-16 wind screen that really adds to the looks. I also have bar end rearview mirrors which I highly recommend. It gives a great view of what's coming up behind. This is a great bike at a great price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Z

Chino Valley AZ, Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 46 and I hadn't riden a bike in about 13 years and only rode a 250cc bike. I really like cruisers but, after spending a lot of time just sitting on them, I found that long trips could be a problem. I've had sugery on my lower back and although I'm fine nowb, sitting is my weak point. I found the position on the Bandit with my legs under me rather than out in front is a very happy position for my back. With only 350 mile so far I have no complaints. This is a very smooth and powerful bike. I bought it new this year, (05 but it's a 2003). People who ride say "Wow, that thing will pop wheelies". Well not for me, I'll keep 2 wheels down. I wanted plenty of power for 2 and gas mileage for weekend trips, 46mpg so far. I like the upright position which I improved with a riser kit. I'll update in the future.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cbandit1200

sugarland, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-04-04

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well I started my journey to find my perfect bike 5 years ago and I think now I have found it. I have owned an FZ1 and a Buell CityX. This is my bike. After spending years trying to figure out the bike for me and not to mention lots of cash I have found the Bandit, the cheapest of the 3 by far, to be my favorite. The riding position, handling and power put this bike in a class that is rare to match. don't get me wrong, I loved the FZ1 and the City X, but both of those bikes have too much torque for what I wanted. I would put them up on one wheel a lot more than I cared too. With the Bandit that really isn't a huge concern for me. I have no upgrades yet but I am planning on adding an exhaust and an air cooler to unlock that true power that I know is buried in her. This is a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andrew Boles

Lebanon, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2003-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
While the Bandit isn't considered cutting edge by anyone, it encompasses characteristics that many motorcycle owners look for. The engine is a 1200cc air/oil cooled inline 4 cylinder which provides great power right up until about 2000 rpm before it's redline when the power surge begins to flatten out. It's mini fairing (on S versions) and exposed engine provide a handsome profile without looking like some sort of racer wannabe. The wide seat an semi-upright seating beg the rider to stay for a while, unlike it's supersport siblings. Value is a virtue of the Bandit as well. With literbike performance, graceful handling right up to 95% of it's limits, the Bandit is a steal. Try and find specs that equal the Bandit for less, you'll be looking for quite some time. Do yourself a favor and turn your cheek to the "next cool this" and the "new fangled that" and try a machine that gets it done for less. Wave when you pass the slug crippled over on his CB-GSXR-6XX.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gordon

puyallup, Washington

Reviewed on 2003-04-26

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A great do everything bike for a hell of a price. Fits me great and I'm 6'5"over 300lbs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike G.

Antelope, California

Reviewed on 2003-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
April 15,2003 I got a new 2001 Bandit 1200 in black with less then 130 miles, hooked up with yoshi pipes, k&n air filter, and rejetted carbs...I love the bike with lots of power and speed. well over 100 plus hp and 75 fpt. for $6000 out the door. Handling is very nice even in sharp turns. I have put about 200 more miles on the bike and I am getting about 25 miles per gal. not good! can any one tell me what I should average with moderate 50%city and 50%hwy ride.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 42 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: