Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles Reviews (18)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-05-28 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last road bike was a CB450 way back in 76..since then it's been all dirt, had only a few, XT600, TT600's, and a version of the venerable YZ490 we got in NZ called a WR500...onto a new KX500 in 97 and currently own a'04 KX500 mx'er and have locked away a still new CR500 from '01. Had my '04 Naked Bandit for a month now and I (we) love it. Taken some time to get used to the weight of the big Bandit (the KX weighs 100kg) and re-learning how to ride on the road but in the month I've owned the bike we've done 600 miles, and no complaints at all. I'm having to reprogram my brain to enter the corners at a sedate'ish speed then roll on the power and hang on. Even pulled the wheel off the ground coming up a mountain pass yeaterday in 2nd without trying. I love the looks of the naked Bandit (mine's an ex Canada K4 registered new in NZ in mid 05) but don't like the looks of the faired versions. The new 1250 faired machine ain't for me either. I'm not into the star-wars profile. Best thing is the bang for the buck. I was thinking of a Blackbird but, while I still haven't ridden one, am so glad I bought my Bandit instead. I'll be keeping it for a while yet...
- Spaceman, Christchurch, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-19 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding and racing motorcycles for over 25 years. I have also owned a few sport bikes, as far as the Bandit overall I feel it's the best bang for your dollars. I've had the bike since February of 2001 and it has been flawless. It has about 14,500 miles on it, other then a few sets of tires and one set of front brakes no issues. The bike handles well and with a ceompetant rider the Bandit will give GXR riders a fit.
- Paul, Parma, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-09 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My experience: 350 Hondas, a couple of dirt bikes. This Experience: well, my jaw hurts from smiling. At 250lbs the bandit is undaunted, twist the throttle and see the sky, but it's not crazy it just slowly but surely lifts the front wheel in first gear. Twist the throttle coming out of a corner and it's a measured response, but be cautious; not too early or too fast. Remember it lifts the wheel, so make sure not quick on the twist until you're straight up, ok. Do I like the bike? Well, ya. It's my second one; the first was totaled when a deer took me and the bike out. The insurance paid up very quickly (thanks Progressive, great service) and the day I got the check, I went out and bought another Bandit. Things to change in future: just one, the gel seat because of my short inseam. Top speed: well, the better part of common sense kicked in at 140 mph, I shut it down. The bike was still climbing, and it was stable at that speed, just my common sense stopped it. Long rides: I have done 600-miler's on it and was good. Reliable? Yup, every time. Hot weather and cold and wet, in the 100's down to the 32 mark.
- The Ugly Coyotee, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-08 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BOUGHT THIS BIKE IN SEPTEMBER 2004 AT A REALLY GOOD PRICE. MY FRIENDS PUT THE FIRST 1500 MILES ON THE BIKE AND WOULD NOT LET ME RIDE IT. PERFORMANCE IS GREAT WITH 100 HP AND APPROX 70-75 FT/LBS OF TORQUE. HANDLING IS GREAT FOR A NAKED STANDARD. I HAVE TO KEEP REMINDING MYSELF THIS BIKE IS NOT A TRUE SPORT BIKE. HAVE TAKEN THE BIKE TO DEALS GAP (DRAGONS TAIL) AND WITH A MORE EXPERIENCED SPORT BIKE RIDER IT WILL RUN WITH THE BEST OF THEM. IT WILL BRING THE FRONT END UP WITH EASE. WHAT THE BIKE LACKS IN HIGH PERFORMANCE PARTS IT MAKES UP WITH THE LARGE DISPLACEMENT OF THE 1200 CC ENGINE. I RIDE IT HARDER THAN MY CRUISER BUT I WILL PROBABLY NEVER KNOW THE LIMITS OF THE BIKE. GREAT BIKE FOR THE MONEY. THERE ARE BIKES FASTER, BETTER HANDLING, AND A LITTLE PRETTIER BUT YOU WILL PAY 2-3 THOUSAND DOLLARS MORE AT MINIMUM. FOR ALL THE CRUISER GUYS AND THIS INCLUDES ME (I GOT LUCKY ON THE PRICE BUT EVEN IF YOU PAY FULL PRICE IT IS STILL THE BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK.) IF YOU EVER GET THE URGE TO OWN A SPORT BIKE THIS IS A GREAT FIRST "SPORT BIKE". KEEP THE RUBBER TO THE GROUND AND THE CHROME SIDE UP.
- kenneth, chatsworth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-13 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 1200S in September 2004, after looking at bikes for over a year. Considered both Ninja ZZR and SV 1000, but went with the Bandit because it's the first bike that seemed to fit me perfectly. My previous Ninja was great in the twisties, but not a touring bike, and always felt cramped. I really like the Bandit's seating position, and the reach to the bars and pegs fits me perfectly. My Bandit does not burn any oil so far, and the fit and finish, while not at BMW level, is decent. I actually like having decent mirrors, what a novelty, and a gas gauge seems like absolute luxury. I plan on replacing the stock exhaust, and probably will re-jet to fix a small flat spot around 3k rpm. This bike is a hoot, like going to a 747, and the torque is like a freight train; make sure you hang on tight, because this bike WILL get away from you. I would not recommend this for a beginner, way too much power and weight. Speaking of weight, my garage entrance is on a street with a 37 degree slope downhill, and I have had a few scary moments at first just negotiating into the garage. I have finally gotten accustomed to the additional width, and am much more relaxed with the bike. I have absolutely no regrets, only wished I had purchased this bike 2 years ago. I loved my Kawasaki's smoothness, and honestly thought I would never match it, but I have, and have no regrets. This bike rocks!
- Dennis Reilly, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-11 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 model (Brand new) in May of 2003 and enjoyed it since. So far 100% reliable. I have been riding for 17 years off and on and this is definitely the most fun bike I've owned. It has enormous power and torque, thanks to its large displacemet. From a complete stop it will smoke everything with four wheels and most everything with two wheels. Handling is very good too, very stable at high speeds (over 100 mph). The seat is okay. Comfort is good for a motorcycle. Overall this is the best bike out there today for the money you pay. A few times I thought I would like to buy a bike and I looked at about every bike out there, but I always ended up with Bandit. Nothing beats its value.
- Roman, Monroe, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-15 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If anyone is looking for a little more oomph out of their Bandit, going up three teeth in the back produces a lot more low end with nothing coming off of the top. I went from a GSX-R 750 to a Bandit and will probably never go back. I can hang with any sport bike and will still go for a 500 mile trip (with throttle lock). Awesome bike with endless potential. Under heavy braking massive nose diving does occur. Great bike overall.
- Mike Hodges, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-06 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have done several 800 mile days with no problems and only minor discomfort. First mod was to junk the stock seat for gel model. Then add some handlebar risers and you're good to go. Bullet proof motor with outrageous power and good, but not outstanding, handling. In the right hands a Bandit rider can give gixxer riders lessons on going fast. I have made two trips to Deal's Gap and loved every minute.
- b forrest, north port, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-12 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first ever new bike, complete with warranty. I'd been riding for about 10 years, but never really got out of the city much. Well, I started exploring fun roads in Wisconsin, Iowa, and Minnesota, and the vintage bike experience really jumped the shark. They're fine for bar hopping, but for sport-touring? Enter the Bandit. Affordable power. 1200cc's make the twisties accessible in a day ride. I only weigh 150, so jacking the suspension up all the way provides a sportbike-like ride. At 6'2", this bike provides all the comfort I need. I've taken it to the track, and passed R1s in the corners. I've done an Iron Butt SaddleSore 1000 on it, with the stock seat. I've taken it all over the midwest, mid-south, and out to the west coast. I'm averaging 1000+ miles per month on this beast, and it shows no signs of stopping. The only drawbacks I had on my '02 were an oil-burning issue and a tire issue, both fixed under warranty. Did I mention that I love having a warranty? If I had it to do over again, the only other bike I'd consider would be a V-Strom, but I'd prolly still end up getting the B12.
- Allen, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-21 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding two years ago. My first bike was a Suzuki Savage. My second bike was a Suzuki Intruder 800. I was initially reluctant to get a big standard/touring bike until I had more experience. Well this week I went and bought a Bandit 1200. I am absolutely thrilled with my purchase. I've taken it up in the twisties and found it to be simply perfect with surprisingly strong torque at all RPM's, smooth and quiet ride, excellent handling, comfortable seat, strong front brakes, relatively high handlebars, and good controls. I really regret not taking taking the leap to purchase this bike sooner. I considered just about all the standards and "mild" sportbikes from 600cc+ and chose the Bandit due to its comfortable seating position, strong torque, attractive price, and low insurance costs. I hope Suzuki keeps the Bandit 1200S as part of its line-up in 2005 and years beyond.
- anonymous, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-31 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very pleased with my decision. I was originally driving a 2002 650 V-Star but decided to upgrade to a semi sport. And upgrade I did! I was thinking of the SV1000 but decided to go with the 1200. It was more bang for the buck. I am totally pleased, this is best thing I have done for myself in a while! Awesome power and excellent braking system. Perfect for just cruising and still has the power to ratio to keep up with the super bikes. Now I just need to wipe the smile off my face.
- Paul, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-24 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new in March 2003.This is my second 1200 Bandit after moving up from a GS500. It is a great bike and requires minimal maintenance other than oil changes and fiddling with the chain. The engine design has been around forever so its got to be good. I do believe mine uses a bit of oil as some dark fluid comes out of the air box drain tube every now and then. I like everything about this bike except for the handlebar height. For me, there is too much strain put on my palms, wrists and neck/upper back/shoulder area. I am going to fit Holeshot handlebar risers to fix this. The rear brake could use more stopping power as well, but I am hoping a steel line will fix that. The low beam headlight is practically useless, but I always have the highbeam on so it doesn't matter. Front spring is too soft. Being a big bike there is lots of room to add parts.
- Fritz, Leesburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-20 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Bandit may not be the newest or latest tech. But fast, easy, and comfortable don't go out of style. In the real world it's fast enough and just plain fun. I tour the mountains on it and it is perfect. It always has reserve power, shifting is mostly optional and it is easy to ride fast. Not sportbike fast, but fast enough to be real fun without the cost of comfort. I love it. I have owned FJ1100, Radian, GT380, Vision, RD350, Duc GT750, Norton Comando, and RT400. It's easily the best. It's faster, more comfortable, handles better and brakes better.
- Earl Loveless, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-05 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding last year on a vulcan classic 1500. Got bored with the cruiser thing and wanted to try something else. I saw the bandit and thought it was just right for me. Relaxed riding position and a nice looking fairing. It felt like a toy instead of a real motorcycle when I test rode it. As soon as I got it on the twisties I was sold. Only later did I find out how fast this thing is. It's way more fun than a cruiser, so I'm happy with my decision. Only problem is the low beam headlight lens is fogging up with dust or something. This is apparently a common problem with this bike. don't know what the fix is, if there is one. This is my first sportbike, but I can't imagine ever needing anything faster than the bandit.
- Terry Melelli, Iron Mountain, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-12 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for over 20 years, and this is definitely the best bike I've owned. The salesman at the dealership steered me away from a Honda Magna and I'm thankful he did. As I'd always ridden sportbikes I would have got tired of a semi-cruiser. The Bandit has incredible torque, power all the way through the rev range, and amazing mileage for a 500-lb bike. I get 45-50mpg without any problem, and I've done a few 800-mile days without a hiccup. It uses no oil at all (Castrol Syntec). The stock seat is crummy; it has no turnup at the front and you slide forward into the tank under braking. There's also some nose dive when braking hard. Next on the wishlist is a better seat although the Corbin is ridiculously priced. Tires have been Michelin Sport Road but on the store's advice I'm switching to Bridgestone BT-020s. The bike fits me perfectly; in fact the seat could be an inch or two taller for more legroom. Its fine 2-up with my wife, although a little cramped for extended rides. Overall, a bulletproof motor, nice ride, good handling and brakes - no complaints. The finish is not like a Honda but hey, for the amount of bang for the buck!!
- Laurence Parsons, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-04 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a bike that can do everything this is the bike. Curves, back roads, city streets and freeway, it can do it all. I'm riding my second Bandit 1200 now. Someone liked my first one so much they decided to take it for themselves. Dirty rats! Great power and great for those long back road trips. And you can't beat the price of these bad boys.
- Shep, Birmingham Helena, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-01 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2003 Bandit 1200 S and I can't begin to describe how fantastic of an all-around motorcycle this is. It's fast and sporty, but what I found amazing was the comfort. This may just be the most comfortable motorcycle I have ever ridden, and that is what sold me on the bike. With the aftermarket available for this machine, you can make it into a touring bike or a sportbike with little effort, and it will be comfortable doing both. Also, this bike isn't classified as a sportbike by insurance companies, so you should be able to get a better deal on insurance than you might think at first.
- Andy, Eden Prairie, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-30 2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent and fun riding bike! Wish Suzuki still made the Bandit 1200 without the faring! Excellent handling on corners and a screamer on the straight or twisty roads! What a BLAST!
- Lance, Eagle, Idaho, United Arab Emirates

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: