Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S) reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Spaceman

Christchurch, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2007-05-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My last road bike was a CB450 way back in 76..since then it's been all dirt, had only a few, XT600, TT600's, and a version of the venerable YZ490 we got in NZ called a WR500...onto a new KX500 in 97 and currently own a'04 KX500 mx'er and have locked away a still new CR500 from '01. Had my '04 Naked Bandit for a month now and I (we) love it. Taken some time to get used to the weight of the big Bandit (the KX weighs 100kg) and re-learning how to ride on the road but in the month I've owned the bike we've done 600 miles, and no complaints at all. I'm having to reprogram my brain to enter the corners at a sedate'ish speed then roll on the power and hang on. Even pulled the wheel off the ground coming up a mountain pass yeaterday in 2nd without trying. I love the looks of the naked Bandit (mine's an ex Canada K4 registered new in NZ in mid 05) but don't like the looks of the faired versions. The new 1250 faired machine ain't for me either. I'm not into the star-wars profile. Best thing is the bang for the buck. I was thinking of a Blackbird but, while I still haven't ridden one, am so glad I bought my Bandit instead. I'll be keeping it for a while yet...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul

Parma, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding and racing motorcycles for over 25 years. I have also owned a few sport bikes, as far as the Bandit overall I feel it's the best bang for your dollars. I've had the bike since February of 2001 and it has been flawless. It has about 14,500 miles on it, other then a few sets of tires and one set of front brakes no issues. The bike handles well and with a ceompetant rider the Bandit will give GXR riders a fit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

The Ugly Coyotee

Vancouver, Washington

Reviewed on 2005-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My experience: 350 Hondas, a couple of dirt bikes. This Experience: well, my jaw hurts from smiling. At 250lbs the bandit is undaunted, twist the throttle and see the sky, but it's not crazy it just slowly but surely lifts the front wheel in first gear. Twist the throttle coming out of a corner and it's a measured response, but be cautious; not too early or too fast. Remember it lifts the wheel, so make sure not quick on the twist until you're straight up, ok. Do I like the bike? Well, ya. It's my second one; the first was totaled when a deer took me and the bike out. The insurance paid up very quickly (thanks Progressive, great service) and the day I got the check, I went out and bought another Bandit. Things to change in future: just one, the gel seat because of my short inseam. Top speed: well, the better part of common sense kicked in at 140 mph, I shut it down. The bike was still climbing, and it was stable at that speed, just my common sense stopped it. Long rides: I have done 600-miler's on it and was good. Reliable? Yup, every time. Hot weather and cold and wet, in the 100's down to the 32 mark.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kenneth

chatsworth, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-12-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
BOUGHT THIS BIKE IN SEPTEMBER 2004 AT A REALLY GOOD PRICE. MY FRIENDS PUT THE FIRST 1500 MILES ON THE BIKE AND WOULD NOT LET ME RIDE IT. PERFORMANCE IS GREAT WITH 100 HP AND APPROX 70-75 FT/LBS OF TORQUE. HANDLING IS GREAT FOR A NAKED STANDARD. I HAVE TO KEEP REMINDING MYSELF THIS BIKE IS NOT A TRUE SPORT BIKE. HAVE TAKEN THE BIKE TO DEALS GAP (DRAGONS TAIL) AND WITH A MORE EXPERIENCED SPORT BIKE RIDER IT WILL RUN WITH THE BEST OF THEM. IT WILL BRING THE FRONT END UP WITH EASE. WHAT THE BIKE LACKS IN HIGH PERFORMANCE PARTS IT MAKES UP WITH THE LARGE DISPLACEMENT OF THE 1200 CC ENGINE. I RIDE IT HARDER THAN MY CRUISER BUT I WILL PROBABLY NEVER KNOW THE LIMITS OF THE BIKE. GREAT BIKE FOR THE MONEY. THERE ARE BIKES FASTER, BETTER HANDLING, AND A LITTLE PRETTIER BUT YOU WILL PAY 2-3 THOUSAND DOLLARS MORE AT MINIMUM. FOR ALL THE CRUISER GUYS AND THIS INCLUDES ME (I GOT LUCKY ON THE PRICE BUT EVEN IF YOU PAY FULL PRICE IT IS STILL THE BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK.) IF YOU EVER GET THE URGE TO OWN A SPORT BIKE THIS IS A GREAT FIRST "SPORT BIKE". KEEP THE RUBBER TO THE GROUND AND THE CHROME SIDE UP.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Reilly

San Francisco, California

Reviewed on 2004-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a 1200S in September 2004, after looking at bikes for over a year. Considered both Ninja ZZR and SV 1000, but went with the Bandit because it's the first bike that seemed to fit me perfectly. My previous Ninja was great in the twisties, but not a touring bike, and always felt cramped. I really like the Bandit's seating position, and the reach to the bars and pegs fits me perfectly. My Bandit does not burn any oil so far, and the fit and finish, while not at BMW level, is decent. I actually like having decent mirrors, what a novelty, and a gas gauge seems like absolute luxury. I plan on replacing the stock exhaust, and probably will re-jet to fix a small flat spot around 3k rpm. This bike is a hoot, like going to a 747, and the torque is like a freight train; make sure you hang on tight, because this bike WILL get away from you. I would not recommend this for a beginner, way too much power and weight. Speaking of weight, my garage entrance is on a street with a 37 degree slope downhill, and I have had a few scary moments at first just negotiating into the garage. I have finally gotten accustomed to the additional width, and am much more relaxed with the bike. I have absolutely no regrets, only wished I had purchased this bike 2 years ago. I loved my Kawasaki's smoothness, and honestly thought I would never match it, but I have, and have no regrets. This bike rocks!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roman

Monroe, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2002 model (Brand new) in May of 2003 and enjoyed it since. So far 100% reliable. I have been riding for 17 years off and on and this is definitely the most fun bike I've owned. It has enormous power and torque, thanks to its large displacemet. From a complete stop it will smoke everything with four wheels and most everything with two wheels. Handling is very good too, very stable at high speeds (over 100 mph). The seat is okay. Comfort is good for a motorcycle. Overall this is the best bike out there today for the money you pay. A few times I thought I would like to buy a bike and I looked at about every bike out there, but I always ended up with Bandit. Nothing beats its value.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Hodges

Savannah, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If anyone is looking for a little more oomph out of their Bandit, going up three teeth in the back produces a lot more low end with nothing coming off of the top. I went from a GSX-R 750 to a Bandit and will probably never go back. I can hang with any sport bike and will still go for a 500 mile trip (with throttle lock). Awesome bike with endless potential. Under heavy braking massive nose diving does occur. Great bike overall.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

b forrest

north port, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have done several 800 mile days with no problems and only minor discomfort. First mod was to junk the stock seat for gel model. Then add some handlebar risers and you're good to go. Bullet proof motor with outrageous power and good, but not outstanding, handling. In the right hands a Bandit rider can give gixxer riders lessons on going fast. I have made two trips to Deal's Gap and loved every minute.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allen

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my first ever new bike, complete with warranty. I'd been riding for about 10 years, but never really got out of the city much. Well, I started exploring fun roads in Wisconsin, Iowa, and Minnesota, and the vintage bike experience really jumped the shark. They're fine for bar hopping, but for sport-touring? Enter the Bandit. Affordable power. 1200cc's make the twisties accessible in a day ride. I only weigh 150, so jacking the suspension up all the way provides a sportbike-like ride. At 6'2", this bike provides all the comfort I need. I've taken it to the track, and passed R1s in the corners. I've done an Iron Butt SaddleSore 1000 on it, with the stock seat. I've taken it all over the midwest, mid-south, and out to the west coast. I'm averaging 1000+ miles per month on this beast, and it shows no signs of stopping. The only drawbacks I had on my '02 were an oil-burning issue and a tire issue, both fixed under warranty. Did I mention that I love having a warranty? If I had it to do over again, the only other bike I'd consider would be a V-Strom, but I'd prolly still end up getting the B12.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

anonymous

Denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2004-08-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Bandit 1200S (GSF1200S)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I started riding two years ago. My first bike was a Suzuki Savage. My second bike was a Suzuki Intruder 800. I was initially reluctant to get a big standard/touring bike until I had more experience. Well this week I went and bought a Bandit 1200. I am absolutely thrilled with my purchase. I've taken it up in the twisties and found it to be simply perfect with surprisingly strong torque at all RPM's, smooth and quiet ride, excellent handling, comfortable seat, strong front brakes, relatively high handlebars, and good controls. I really regret not taking taking the leap to purchase this bike sooner. I considered just about all the standards and "mild" sportbikes from 600cc+ and chose the Bandit due to its comfortable seating position, strong torque, attractive price, and low insurance costs. I hope Suzuki keeps the Bandit 1200S as part of its line-up in 2005 and years beyond.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: