Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles Reviews (67)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-09-07 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I went to our local dealership to look at a sportbike that I had wanted for some time. After deciding for budgetary reasons that I couldn't get it, we decided to head back home. On the way out, my wife noticed a used 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S for sale sitting off to the side and brought it to my attention. At first, I wasn't too interested since I've always liked the aggressive look and power of the bullet-bikes. Still, she insisted that I take a closer look. As soon as I sat on the bike I felt at home on this machine and the price was something that I couldn't ignore. I knew I had to explore this bike further. I've always loved the Suzuki GSXR oil-cooled powerplants so that was a big selling point as well. After mulling things over, we decided to buy. At first, I must admit that I was somewhat skeptical at purchasing this bike since it wasn't my first choice. After being on this bike a bit, my skepticism soon evaporated and it was replaced with sheer joy and excitement. Without question, it's the smoothest, most ergonomic and friendly bike I've owned with power that really surprised me. I drag race motorcycles for a hobby so big-time power isn't something that is new to me. For the record, I've also owned/ridden the following bikes over the last 27 years: 1983 Kawasaki KZ750 (first streetbike), 1981 Kawasaki KZ1000J, 1986 Kawasaki Ninja 1000R, 1985 Kawasaki Ninja 900, 1985 GPz 750 turbo, 2003 Suzuki GSXR-1000, 2004 Kawasaki Ninja ZX10R, 2007 Kawasaki Ninja ZX14, and now the 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S. After all these bikes, I love the Bandit the best. While it doesn't have the horsepower or the nimble handling of the other bikes I've ridden, it does everything well overall. It's a jack of all trades and a master of all. This bike is a do-it-all machine and will probably be my last for quite some time to come. It has earned my respect.
- shayne, West Point, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-13 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well this is my first bike and I love it. I learned to ride on my dad's Honda Valkyrie and I thought that thing was fast. Once I got used to how this bike handles (a lot more flickable obviously) I realized that this Bandit is all anyone could ever REALLY need on the street. I leave my dad in the dust in 5th gear roll-ons and everywhere else. It is as comfortable as any 23 year old needs, maybe someone with a weak back would like bar risers... they also have a higher windscreen that might be good sometimes, but I am more into a sporty look. For the price this is the best bike I could have gotten. Not to mention my girlfriend is glad that I didn't get a full sport bike when she rides with me!
- John, Calera, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-31 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a used 2002 1200S back in 2003 with only 145 miles on the odometer. I have since put 7400 aditional miles on it over the last 4 years. I am a 40+ year old rider who does no racing on the street or track, so performance wise, the Bandit exceeds all that I need. For someone who is an agressive and hopefully experienced rider, the Bandit would not be my first suggestion. Since the Bandit, I have purchased a couple of sport bikes -CBR 954RR and GSXR 1000- and the difference in handling and breaking is night and day. Then again so was the purchase price. For responsible street riding the Bandit has power-o-plenty with torque that requires less shifting than the other bikes. The riding position of the Bandit allows all day rides that would have my back aching on the other bikes. If you enjoy doing your own mechanical work, you will enjoy the easy access to the motor without plastics and radiator to deal with. Pros: Riding Comfort. Easy Engine to work on. Fewer downshifts because of high torque. Low Price. Tons of accessories avalible. Cons: Playing with choke on cold starts vs Fuel Injection that spoils you. Heavy and requires upgrading of suspension to make it more canyon carving friendly. Low Beam very poor. Engine / Mirror vibrations.
- Craig, Sumner, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-19 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes in my 21 years of riding. My favorite is the 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S. Anytime I am seen on this power house I have a smile from ear to ear. I have done some mods but even when it was stock it was awesome. I have read the couple of bad reviews on here and it sounded to me like those who wrote them never had ridden one. I know they said they did but I can not see how this bike can get a bad review. As much as I like this bike I will be honest and tell you what I don't like. It does vibrate a little. After long times on the seat my hand will fall asleep due to the vibrations. There are some mods that will fix this however it does not bug me enough to fix the vibration. that's it, all the bad I have so now let's talk about the good. WOW, what a wheelie machine!!! I warn you if you buy one be careful till you get used to the power or you will become a flesh puddle on the road. I have no problems keeping up with the Hayabusa's or the ZX's. Good thing this bike weighs in at 500 lbs or it would not stay on the road. I bet you're thinking 500lbs is not going to corner well.....you would be wrong. I find this bike just as flickable in the corners as a GSXR600. You can not beat the price! Modifications are a dime a dozen and inexspensive. The engine is bullet proof as long as you do your oil changes. I can go on and on but if you try one you will buy one. This is the most under estimated and under respected motorcycle by other riders until you show them or they ride one. Makes heads turn on the street. A perfect sit up sportsbike if you do not like laying on the tank of other sportbikes. Pure power at your finger tips. Nuff said.
- Bob, Redding, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-18 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I MUST AGREE W/MY COUNTERPART. MY 05 BANDIT IS AN INCREDIBLE MACHINE. IT'S FUN TO RIDE AND, VERY COMFORTABLE. I RIDE WITH GUYS LIKE ZX-14; HAYABUSA; AND CBR XX BLACKBIRD AND THEY ARE ALWAYS AMAZED BY THE HANDLING AND ROLL ON POWER OF MY SLEEPER BANDIT. I SUGGEST TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A BIKE THAT DOES IT ALL YET, won't HURT YOUR WALLET, CHECK OUT THE BANDIT. IN 2 YEARS I've RACKED UP 40,000 MILES AND, I EXPECT ANOTHER 40,000 TO COME W/OUT INCIDENT.
- DEPUTY, PALM COAST, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-14 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2002 GSF1200S in 2002. Was pleased with the bike for the first month riding it up and down the coast and freeways. The Pros: Great bike for cruising, good mileage, low maintenance, and reliable. Can ride this baby for hours in comfort. The Cons: Suppressed carburetor's; could use a stage one, two or three with K&N filters and a matching exhaust system will definitely open it up. Poor suspension, not made for heavy riders like myself, needed to modify to a .95 rated spring by Progressive on the front forks, adjusted to heavier oil and a Progressive rear shock; these modifications made a difference in the canyons. Without them, the bike is hard to push through the corners; had to do a lot of trail braking, gear and weight shifting to make it do what I wanted it to do. So, if anyone wants this bike and they are less than 200 lbs, I would say go for it. It is a bike that can last a long time. Great sport tour. But if you want it to be a sport bike with comfort, expect to spend a few grand more, otherwise be happy with what it can do which it does very well.
- Steven Jetton, Petaluma, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-26 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, I just read the reviews from Miguel, Dave, and Nick. I believe that they are riding a different bike than the Bandit 1200s. Vibration, nah. Hunk of junk, nah. I think it's just too much bike for them. Switch for a DL 650 - you've got to be kidding me! Do you want to race? Like any bike, try to ride one before buying. I am very happy with my Bandit.
- ghost, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-05 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got bike fever in the spring of '05. My 1980 Yamaha just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I made my way to the local dealer and after showing me several bikes including a r6 and a 919, he showed me a Bandit. I had been interested in one since '99 but got into a heavy and slow/limited funds funk for quite some time. I bought the Bandit two days later and have never regreted it. I have owned it for two seasons now (winter in Minnesota, though not like it used to be) and find it to be a great all around bike. Tons of power (added more this winter), great handling, and great mpg. My only complaint would be that the seat can get sore on the bottom after awile, but that might just be mine. A friend of mine bought his about a year after I got mine and likes it just as much. He was a big part of the reason I got mine. I have also had interested parties ask about the Bandit in parking lots and have highly recommended it to them as well.
- dave, rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-04 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After researching this bike I bought it for its value, reliability, and race heritage. After break in, I installed the recommended carburetor kit and aftermarket exhaust because like so many super bikes they are severely restricted to meet EPA standards. If dummies like Miguel, Dave, and Nick really knew anything about this or the bikes potential they would have an explanation but can only dig down with ignorant comments. Anyway the B12 stock is awesome and unrestricted; it is a smooth mountain road carving T-rex, yet very controllable. Do yourself a favor and research what a great bike this is and don't listen to these dummies.
- Gunner, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-21 2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My bike is a K2 built in 02. I will start by telling any potential buyer of a 01-02 Bandit 1200 to take it on a long test ride and when fully warmed up check for blue smoke from the exhaust. I myself bought this bike without a test ride as I have had a few Bandits and all were great bikes but some 01-02 models were plagued by a problem (oil burning) that stems from the manufacturing stage and if you buy one it will burn almost as much engine oil as petrol!!! It would appear (so I am told) that the oil holes in the pistons on some were drilled a fraction of an inch above the oil control rings thus allowing the oil into the combustion chambers where it was readily burnt with the fuel. Another theory I have heared is that the valve stem oil seals were at fault, which ever it was caused a lot of oil burning and if you end up with one of these it will cost a major amount of cash to remedy the problem. I was lucky, the dealer where I purchased the bike put it right for me at great cost to themselves. Right, please don't be put off by all that as the Bandit really is a great bike for the cash. I found the 600cc model runs out of steam quite easily and the new 650 model is not much better but at least it does have abs brakes. The 1200's are by far the better option, bags of grunt/torque with the standard set up, change the exhaust and fit k&n filters and it will give most sport bikes a run for their money. You only have to drop a spanner near the engine and the bhp will improve!!! It is, as most will know, an old school engine but what an engine it is. The roll on accelleration is outstanding and it wants to pull your arms out of their sockets at high revs. Be careful, it a wheelie monster as well!! I know a couple of mates who have accieved over 100,000 miles on theirs with no major probs. Bulletproof springs to mind!! Really though, they are a very tough engine which has been tried and tested and is very long lived. Standard windscreens leave a bit to be wanted, the wind buffeting above 80mph is awful, fit a taller aftermarket to this fine all round bike and the world will literally be you touring oyster. This machine is capable of doing everything well, be it solo or two up touring, commuting or taking it for a blast on the twisties you will not go far wrong with this all rounder. Try one and buy it, you WILL enjoy!!
- Tony, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-18 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 51, raised on bikes on the farm since I was 13. Had over 14 bikes, dirt, street and dual sport. This one will put miles of smiles on your face. It is thirsty and chews up tires and definetly not for rookies. It is not idiot proof. It will probably flip in first and it will slide out in a corner if you just nail it. So discretion will give you tons of fun. Wait til after 4000 rpm before you nail it. You'll probably want to change the sprockets to give a more appropriate power band. It is geared too short from the factory. Live it up, with discretion.
- Dave V., Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2005 Bandit 1200 is a real powerhouse. Very solid bike at 500Lbs. All around best bang for the dollar out the door. Must be an experianced rider as this bike can go from 0-100 mph in the blink of an eye. Can do a wheelie with very little effort. This is my seventh bike and it is by far the best. Handles great and easy on the back. This bike will outrun 95% of the "crotch rockets" out there. The most overlooked bike ever. The best thing about this bike is how easy it is to modify.
- Bob, Redding, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-31 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A reliable bike that can handle a number of miles. Strong brakes to slow the bike in the Alps and good pickup to run the famous German Autobahn speeds. As an American living in Europe the bike is suited for traveling throughout the different countries. I have only added a luggage carrier and three cases otherwise the bike has stayed stock. I purchased the bike new in 2001 and now it has 81950Kms (50921 miles). A much smoother ride than the HDs I have owned and ridden over the years. Also has enough room to carry my golf clubs when I go looking for those unique golf courses. One draw back for the bike is the lights had to add extra driving lights to the front forks to provide a better light on the road for the night runs and long tunnels. Looking forward to moving back to the U.S. and a chance to ride there again.
- L. Keller, Sachsenheim

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-19 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike about 1 and 1/2 years, Still no performance upgrades (completely stock). Still having trouble keeping my friends off the bike. This bike is so much fun. Have had absolutely no problems at all - hit the starter button and go and go really fast if you desire. Still the same battery, spark plugs, chain, sprockets with no sign of wear. It is a shame that Suzuki did not give this bike any advertisement. Still going strong and still in new condition (except for a few helmet scratches from hanging it on the handlebars). Still gets a 5 Star rating from me.
- Ken Carroll, Chatsworth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just took delivery of my 2006 Bandit 1200S a little over 1 week ago and I still can't wipe the grin off my face. What a great motorcycle. I traded in my 2004 750 Shadow Aero for this bike for a variety of reasons. Interestingly enough, it's the Bandit that's getting all the looks. So much fun for so little money. This motorcycle offers exceptional value...... ....more later...gotta go.
- Richard, London, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-07 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my second Suzuki Bandit 1200S just to get a new one, since they do not have a 2006. They are the best bike I have ridden in my 24 years of riding. They have more than enough power, great handling, and it just feels stable doing any type of riding, on a road of course. I am sad to see them cut from the Suzuki Lineup for 2006.
- Tim Lewis, Hemet, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-16 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to say that this bike is the best bike I have ridden in the last 30 years. I know it's a little long in the tooth, but it does everything well. I traded in a 95 750 Katana that I loved.
- G-Man, Souderton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-16 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 6000 miles in three months, I hope I love it. The bike is my third and they say that the third time's a charm they were so right. I love it, love it, love it!
- ZAK, St.Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-11 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bandit is my first bike and I really enjoy the power and the handling it has for the size of bike it is. I think the bandit is awesome in the canyons, even for someone my size scraping knee. The bandit is the best bang for your buck and it will surprise you in many way's.
- Mike w, riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a Yamaha V Star 650 new in May of 05. Fast forward a couple months, and I'm bored to death with the Yamaha. I looked at the standards, and the B1200 really stood out. Very comfortable sitting on it. The bike allows you to sit upright if you want, and also allows you to "get into" the bike if needed. The power this thing has is nuts. Just a little crank on the throttle, and your zipping along before you know it. The bike has no problems with having two up either. Best bike I have ever owned!
- B Haider, Roswell, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-21 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After researching for about a month for the best value for money I purchased a new 2005 1200S Bandit for $7100 out the door. After just 500 miles of break in time what a great superbike for the money. Engine performance is sooo smooth with incredable low end torque, rides like it is floating on air yet shure footed. Comfort was made perfect by adjusting the front and rear shock pre-load for my wieght and adjustment of the handlebars make it a dream to ride. This is the last of 8 year production line so it is reliably perfect with a history of no recalls and is so beautiful in person the picture gives no justice. Sooo good one almost can't afford not to buy one.
- GEORGE G., BULLHEAD CITY, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-21 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2005 Bandit this past May, 2005, after selling my 2001 SV650. (I returned to biking after a lengthy sabbatical from some years back riding a 73 BMW R60/5). The SV often felt too light on interstates and shakey in strong crosswinds on country roads outside Philly, PA. (I'm 155 lbs with a 32" inseam and 33/34" arm reach.)The Bandit needed to have the carbs synch'd and the emission plugs removed to get rid of lots of vibration while sitting at idle at 1200rpms. This bike pulls STRONG from idle to as hard as you want to take it! (I wouldn't recommend this as a first bike for anybody.) Because it is listed with most insurance companies as a standard bike, the cost of the insurance is decent. It turns heads wherever you go, is a bit over 500 pounds wet, has a small fairing that helps to get the wind off your chest, and is stable against head or cross winds. (I put on a Laminar Lip and the air flow is even better/smoother at my head and shoulders.) This is a smooth shifting five speed, four cyclinder that, as long as you keep it moving (90+ degree temps in stop and go traffic is not fun on a oil/air cooled bike), this is a terrific sport/sport-touring/standard bike. Heads will turn, from 2 and 4 wheel machines, as you pass them by.
- ReynardTFox, Outside Philly, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-30 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning many bikes, I may have just found a home with this one. Fairly light, nimble and very, very fast. This is not a super sport bike, but it could pretty much fool you with jet like acceleration. Ya can't pulla wheel at 50, but just try to keep the front down in first or second. Anyway so much for the hoopla, It does everything pretty darn good, corners great, brakes are great, rides nice, so what more could you ask for. I got mine about a month ago, a 2003 leftover. About the only drawback is the milage which can be in the mid 30's if you like to twist the grip (but still, compare that to most cars). Hopefully in can get 40 on a trip. I am by no means a mainiac rider, and try to keep the peace most of the time. So if you are looking for a nice, sit upright ride, this 1200 Bandit should do the trick, and the price is right to. Enjoy
- Rick, Shirley, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-27 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike was actually just purchased by my buddy, he convinced me to get my permit and he'd show me how to ride, after an hour of practice in an empty lot we both went out on the road, me on the bandit, he on 05 V-max. I loved how the bike handled, plenty of power and with the yoshimura pipe you definately hear him coming, I will either buy this off of him since he is now looking for more power with a Hyabusa or wait till the 06 comes out I can't imagine they can make any major changes on next years, but I would like to see some new colors.
- JoshG, Albany, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went looking for a new bike. Wanted something different/old school. I was tired of the V-twin thing everyone seems to buy these days. Suzuki dealers are odd, they rarely stock a Bandit 1200s. Most refuse to give a discount. And telephoning many dealers they were either sold out, or did not have any on the floor. Usually they were available if i wanted to order one. I had to find a good honest dealer. Luckily Jim and Jims in Santa Rosa had one on display, and they have a reputation for honesty..an old fashioned family business, rare these days. I made the decision to get one from them still in the box! I wanted new, flawless, I wanted one that no one had even sat on or rode demo. Ruth ordered one for me no money down. And set it up when promised. Back to the review....I also wanted the most for my money. Prior to my final decision, I was lucky enough to ride an FZ1 for a few weeks. When I got on the Bandit 1200s Limited I was sold after 20 minutes in the saddle. You cannot beat torque. don't get me wrong. Either a Bandit or an FZ1 is a terrific bike. I just felt the Bandit suited my wants the best. My cost, was a deal, so low I cannot say... Great multi color paint job. A real polished aluminum chain guard. And Michelin Tires a real upgrade as compared to the FZ1 (I hated the bridgestones on the FZ1 they were too hard and did not feel sticky on the back roads). The bandits 1200 Large Torquey engine offers a less busy engine, meaning lower revs at freeway speeds. It also seems to have a smooth ride quality on the Freeway. Most important, it is $2000 less than a new FZ1. And the Carburetion was flawless. The FZ1 was always stumbling, and surging at lower speeds. With the Bandit on back roads I find I do not have to shift gears as much. That is the torque. Also insurance is less than the FZ. The bandit is considered a standard bike. My only complaint is Suzuki does not offer much in accessories for this bike.
- Redwood Rider, San Rafael, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: