Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Bandit 1200S reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

67 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

shayne

West Point, Utah

Reviewed on 2008-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife and I went to our local dealership to look at a sportbike that I had wanted for some time. After deciding for budgetary reasons that I couldn't get it, we decided to head back home. On the way out, my wife noticed a used 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S for sale sitting off to the side and brought it to my attention. At first, I wasn't too interested since I've always liked the aggressive look and power of the bullet-bikes. Still, she insisted that I take a closer look. As soon as I sat on the bike I felt at home on this machine and the price was something that I couldn't ignore. I knew I had to explore this bike further. I've always loved the Suzuki GSXR oil-cooled powerplants so that was a big selling point as well. After mulling things over, we decided to buy. At first, I must admit that I was somewhat skeptical at purchasing this bike since it wasn't my first choice. After being on this bike a bit, my skepticism soon evaporated and it was replaced with sheer joy and excitement. Without question, it's the smoothest, most ergonomic and friendly bike I've owned with power that really surprised me. I drag race motorcycles for a hobby so big-time power isn't something that is new to me. For the record, I've also owned/ridden the following bikes over the last 27 years: 1983 Kawasaki KZ750 (first streetbike), 1981 Kawasaki KZ1000J, 1986 Kawasaki Ninja 1000R, 1985 Kawasaki Ninja 900, 1985 GPz 750 turbo, 2003 Suzuki GSXR-1000, 2004 Kawasaki Ninja ZX10R, 2007 Kawasaki Ninja ZX14, and now the 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S. After all these bikes, I love the Bandit the best. While it doesn't have the horsepower or the nimble handling of the other bikes I've ridden, it does everything well overall. It's a jack of all trades and a master of all. This bike is a do-it-all machine and will probably be my last for quite some time to come. It has earned my respect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Calera, Alabama

Reviewed on 2008-02-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well this is my first bike and I love it. I learned to ride on my dad's Honda Valkyrie and I thought that thing was fast. Once I got used to how this bike handles (a lot more flickable obviously) I realized that this Bandit is all anyone could ever REALLY need on the street. I leave my dad in the dust in 5th gear roll-ons and everywhere else. It is as comfortable as any 23 year old needs, maybe someone with a weak back would like bar risers... they also have a higher windscreen that might be good sometimes, but I am more into a sporty look. For the price this is the best bike I could have gotten. Not to mention my girlfriend is glad that I didn't get a full sport bike when she rides with me!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig

Sumner, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I picked up a used 2002 1200S back in 2003 with only 145 miles on the odometer. I have since put 7400 aditional miles on it over the last 4 years. I am a 40+ year old rider who does no racing on the street or track, so performance wise, the Bandit exceeds all that I need. For someone who is an agressive and hopefully experienced rider, the Bandit would not be my first suggestion. Since the Bandit, I have purchased a couple of sport bikes -CBR 954RR and GSXR 1000- and the difference in handling and breaking is night and day. Then again so was the purchase price. For responsible street riding the Bandit has power-o-plenty with torque that requires less shifting than the other bikes. The riding position of the Bandit allows all day rides that would have my back aching on the other bikes. If you enjoy doing your own mechanical work, you will enjoy the easy access to the motor without plastics and radiator to deal with. Pros: Riding Comfort. Easy Engine to work on. Fewer downshifts because of high torque. Low Price. Tons of accessories avalible. Cons: Playing with choke on cold starts vs Fuel Injection that spoils you. Heavy and requires upgrading of suspension to make it more canyon carving friendly. Low Beam very poor. Engine / Mirror vibrations.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Redding, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned many bikes in my 21 years of riding. My favorite is the 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S. Anytime I am seen on this power house I have a smile from ear to ear. I have done some mods but even when it was stock it was awesome. I have read the couple of bad reviews on here and it sounded to me like those who wrote them never had ridden one. I know they said they did but I can not see how this bike can get a bad review. As much as I like this bike I will be honest and tell you what I don't like. It does vibrate a little. After long times on the seat my hand will fall asleep due to the vibrations. There are some mods that will fix this however it does not bug me enough to fix the vibration. that's it, all the bad I have so now let's talk about the good. WOW, what a wheelie machine!!! I warn you if you buy one be careful till you get used to the power or you will become a flesh puddle on the road. I have no problems keeping up with the Hayabusa's or the ZX's. Good thing this bike weighs in at 500 lbs or it would not stay on the road. I bet you're thinking 500lbs is not going to corner well.....you would be wrong. I find this bike just as flickable in the corners as a GSXR600. You can not beat the price! Modifications are a dime a dozen and inexspensive. The engine is bullet proof as long as you do your oil changes. I can go on and on but if you try one you will buy one. This is the most under estimated and under respected motorcycle by other riders until you show them or they ride one. Makes heads turn on the street. A perfect sit up sportsbike if you do not like laying on the tank of other sportbikes. Pure power at your finger tips. Nuff said.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DEPUTY

PALM COAST, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I MUST AGREE W/MY COUNTERPART. MY 05 BANDIT IS AN INCREDIBLE MACHINE. IT'S FUN TO RIDE AND, VERY COMFORTABLE. I RIDE WITH GUYS LIKE ZX-14; HAYABUSA; AND CBR XX BLACKBIRD AND THEY ARE ALWAYS AMAZED BY THE HANDLING AND ROLL ON POWER OF MY SLEEPER BANDIT. I SUGGEST TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A BIKE THAT DOES IT ALL YET, won't HURT YOUR WALLET, CHECK OUT THE BANDIT. IN 2 YEARS I've RACKED UP 40,000 MILES AND, I EXPECT ANOTHER 40,000 TO COME W/OUT INCIDENT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Jetton

Petaluma, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Bought a 2002 GSF1200S in 2002. Was pleased with the bike for the first month riding it up and down the coast and freeways. The Pros: Great bike for cruising, good mileage, low maintenance, and reliable. Can ride this baby for hours in comfort. The Cons: Suppressed carburetor's; could use a stage one, two or three with K&N filters and a matching exhaust system will definitely open it up. Poor suspension, not made for heavy riders like myself, needed to modify to a .95 rated spring by Progressive on the front forks, adjusted to heavier oil and a Progressive rear shock; these modifications made a difference in the canyons. Without them, the bike is hard to push through the corners; had to do a lot of trail braking, gear and weight shifting to make it do what I wanted it to do. So, if anyone wants this bike and they are less than 200 lbs, I would say go for it. It is a bike that can last a long time. Great sport tour. But if you want it to be a sport bike with comfort, expect to spend a few grand more, otherwise be happy with what it can do which it does very well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ghost

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-01-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
OK, I just read the reviews from Miguel, Dave, and Nick. I believe that they are riding a different bike than the Bandit 1200s. Vibration, nah. Hunk of junk, nah. I think it's just too much bike for them. Switch for a DL 650 - you've got to be kidding me! Do you want to race? Like any bike, try to ride one before buying. I am very happy with my Bandit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dave

rochester, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2007-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got bike fever in the spring of '05. My 1980 Yamaha just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I made my way to the local dealer and after showing me several bikes including a r6 and a 919, he showed me a Bandit. I had been interested in one since '99 but got into a heavy and slow/limited funds funk for quite some time. I bought the Bandit two days later and have never regreted it. I have owned it for two seasons now (winter in Minnesota, though not like it used to be) and find it to be a great all around bike. Tons of power (added more this winter), great handling, and great mpg. My only complaint would be that the seat can get sore on the bottom after awile, but that might just be mine. A friend of mine bought his about a year after I got mine and likes it just as much. He was a big part of the reason I got mine. I have also had interested parties ask about the Bandit in parking lots and have highly recommended it to them as well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gunner

Arizona

Reviewed on 2007-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After researching this bike I bought it for its value, reliability, and race heritage. After break in, I installed the recommended carburetor kit and aftermarket exhaust because like so many super bikes they are severely restricted to meet EPA standards. If dummies like Miguel, Dave, and Nick really knew anything about this or the bikes potential they would have an explanation but can only dig down with ignorant comments. Anyway the B12 stock is awesome and unrestricted; it is a smooth mountain road carving T-rex, yet very controllable. Do yourself a favor and research what a great bike this is and don't listen to these dummies.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2006-09-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My bike is a K2 built in 02. I will start by telling any potential buyer of a 01-02 Bandit 1200 to take it on a long test ride and when fully warmed up check for blue smoke from the exhaust. I myself bought this bike without a test ride as I have had a few Bandits and all were great bikes but some 01-02 models were plagued by a problem (oil burning) that stems from the manufacturing stage and if you buy one it will burn almost as much engine oil as petrol!!! It would appear (so I am told) that the oil holes in the pistons on some were drilled a fraction of an inch above the oil control rings thus allowing the oil into the combustion chambers where it was readily burnt with the fuel. Another theory I have heared is that the valve stem oil seals were at fault, which ever it was caused a lot of oil burning and if you end up with one of these it will cost a major amount of cash to remedy the problem. I was lucky, the dealer where I purchased the bike put it right for me at great cost to themselves. Right, please don't be put off by all that as the Bandit really is a great bike for the cash. I found the 600cc model runs out of steam quite easily and the new 650 model is not much better but at least it does have abs brakes. The 1200's are by far the better option, bags of grunt/torque with the standard set up, change the exhaust and fit k&n filters and it will give most sport bikes a run for their money. You only have to drop a spanner near the engine and the bhp will improve!!! It is, as most will know, an old school engine but what an engine it is. The roll on accelleration is outstanding and it wants to pull your arms out of their sockets at high revs. Be careful, it a wheelie monster as well!! I know a couple of mates who have accieved over 100,000 miles on theirs with no major probs. Bulletproof springs to mind!! Really though, they are a very tough engine which has been tried and tested and is very long lived. Standard windscreens leave a bit to be wanted, the wind buffeting above 80mph is awful, fit a taller aftermarket to this fine all round bike and the world will literally be you touring oyster. This machine is capable of doing everything well, be it solo or two up touring, commuting or taking it for a blast on the twisties you will not go far wrong with this all rounder. Try one and buy it, you WILL enjoy!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 67 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: