Suzuki Bandit 600 Motorcycles Reviews (23)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Bandit 600 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Bandit 600 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-02-25 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am not a little person and couldn't be happier with seat size and peg location. It is my first street bike and has served me well. I had to crank up the preload in the back and added a Two Brothers Slip-On, K&N air filter, and Jet Kit to help compensate with my extra weight. I now can lighten the front end with wheelies in first at 7k on the tank and actually had a light tank slapper once in second. It is also fun getting on and off the throttle in the dark and watching the lights rise. The pipe is way louder than stock put much quieter than a Harley with aftermarket pipes. It handles very well. I kind of ride it like a dirt bike, cranking it over into turns and snapping it back out. Good fun! Only complaint is it is a tight fit to get the carburetors out of the bike to rejet them.
- John Vorisek, Espyville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-28 1999 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked a used 99 Bandit 600 with some character. In other words it has fallen over at least once. I think I'm now the third owner. Anyway, this bike is great for my 13-mile commute and some fun cruises on weekends. It is my first bike. One of the reasons I chose this bike is that it is a full sized bike. I'm 6" 2". Dimensionally there is no difference between this and the larger 1200, unlike some other similar displacement bikes. So I actually fit on this one and it still has a fairly sporty appearance without being in a sportbike position. I didn't want a cruiser. My only real complaints are that I do get buffeted a bit by the wind on the highway - the fairing doesn't protect too well for my height, although I think some of those aftermarket wind screens for this bike look silly so I don't know if I'll change that. I'm also pondering some luggage to make it more practical for commuting and touring. Also considering moving up to something like a V-Strom...we'll see.
- Mike Evans, Kimberton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-22 1999 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Admittedly, this is my 2nd bike. In the mid 90's I acquired my 1st bike while in my late 20's; a 1976 Suzuki GT380 for $40, but that's another story. So after 1,000 miles on the old tri-cylinder two stroke, I decided I liked riding a motorcycle and wanted something that I could commute, travel, and have fun riding that wasn't going to be too big for me or break the bank. I read the Cycle World reviews and visited the dealer and the choice kept coming back to the Bandit 600. You can't possibly argue with the price before riding it. After that initial ride, you have to wonder how so much bike is priced so low. I bought mine new in May of 1999 for $5,700 and received $400 of in-store credit, just enough for a lightweight jacket, gloves, and soft saddle bags. My Bandit has been from WI to WV/MD 5 times as of August 2003 with plans for another trip in a month. In the 28,000 miles I've ridden it, I've only encountered one problem. On one trip back from WV two years ago the CDI box went out (a $400 brain for the ignition). Suzuki took care of the problem under the $300 service contract I had purchased with the bike new and I was on my way. I'm on my 3rd set of tires (original, Battlax, and Macadam), 3rd chain (learned the hard way to remember to adjust it routinely), 2nd battery, and second set of front brake pads. Oil changed every 3,000, valve adjustment every 8,000 with tune-up, and new plugs every year. I can easily do 500 mile days - longer if I would invest in the Corbin Gunfighter saddle, but then I would have to fear losing my job over more riding time. This bike is great all around whether commuting, long distance touring, taking the backroad twisties, or just around town driving. I only wonder what's going to happen to my 600 when I eventually take a 1200 for a ride.
- Alan, Fond du Lac, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-23 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I can highly recommend a Bandit 600 for this task. I prefer to ride in the country and for me this bike works well for that. It is has plenty of power for me, but I have nothing else to compare it to having never ridden another bike. I don't ride too feverishly and get about 48 mpg while on the highway-haven't really rode around town. The only problems are a vibration around 5000-6000 rpm and the mirrors also vibrate at highway speeds. Overall a good bike.
- Dave, Iowa City, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-08 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
just took delivery of a K3 (2003) eveyone else says its bigger than it is. not pushed past 6k revs yet, an i`m itchin to do so.
- Stuie Mcneil, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-05 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 6'4 / 230lbs, and this bike takes it in stride. I had a lot of peer-pressure to get the 1200,but after test riding both, the 600 was more confidence inspiring and a more relaxing ride. The bike is very forgiving. My only gripe is fairing buzz, but within the first mile of riding I'm having so much fun I almost forget about it.
- HollywoodB6, Hollywood, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-11 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After being away from motorcycles for a few years, my wallet allowed me to get back into it. I picked up the bike on March 1, 2001. Since I have put 600 miles on the bike and I have loved ever mile. No, it is not a CBR F4 but it is not trying to be. This is a great bike at a great price.
- James Lovering, Mystic, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went straight from the safety course to this bike, so for a first time rider I wonder if all bikes are this awesome. So here goes an honest review after 4 months and 2700 miles later. The power is smooth, and the brakes are very responsive. My Bandit starts up every time I push the button, which is important to me since I commute with it. I take it out on the weekends with my girlfriend on the back and she can't get enough. We both fit very comfortably on it for a good 200 miles. I topped it off at 110 mph with her on it!!I broke it in properly and my Bandit has paid me back by being maintence free after my first 800 mile tune up. The fairing is big enough to keep dry or warm from the elements, if you crouch down enough. It Revs high around the midrange but delivers the performance you want if you stay in the lower gears. I hardly ever use 6th gear, even on the highway. The transmission is not as smooth as say a Ducati, but then what is. It will break in with time. This bike is heavy. The first time I tried to put it on its centerstand I dropped it, my 3rd day... also because I didn't do it right. So there is little room for error. It's easy to take out in town with the helmet lock too. There are a lot of features on this bike so read the specs. Every mile I put on it, it performs better. This bike wants to ride, so if you do, GET IT!!
- Kevin Hyde, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to get a bike that would be a good bike to learn on as well as forgiving to ride. I really wanted to get a bike with fairing as well as with cheap insurance. Since the SV650s was not sold in US I opted to get the Bandit600s. The bike is great. Not very strong so first time riders will not accidentally wheelie in first but not weak either. The brakes are very good and the gas milage is pretty good too. So why did I only give it three stars you ask? Well here it goes. It's very, very heavy. For comparison, the sport liter bikes weigh on average 80 pounds less than this heavy pig. The new GSXR is a full 100 pounds lighter. Now with the SV650s out in the states there is no more reason to get this bike. The SV650s is 90 pounds lighter about as strong in top end but much stronger at low rpm where the bike is ridden on the streets and the sound that the v-twin in the sv650s is producing is quite amazing. Much, much nicer then the Bandit. Also when you get more experience riding the Bandit, you really start to notice that you could use more power. With the 90 pounds of weight shaved off the SV650s you are much less likely to notice that effect, also a new rider is less likely to drop a bike this light then the bandit which full of gas weighs well over 500 pounds. The last nail in the Bandit's coffin though is the price. The SV650s costs just $300 more than the Bandit so the payments for each bike should be about the same.
- Dan D, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-18 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've biked for years, and after a seven-year hiatus while living in Russia, I wanted to come back to biking when I returned to the States. My last bike was a 1984 Moto Guzzi 650 twin -- a sexy, torquey, shaft-driven sport-tourer. This time, I wanted a commuter bike that was low cost, comfortable to ride, forgiving for someone whose skills were rusty and yet with enough sportiness I wouldn't be bored or embarrassed riding it. After a whole lotta research, I narrowed my choices to the 2000 Bandit 600S and the Suzuki SV 650. I almost cracked and got the SV 650, but it just didn't seem practical, more like a weekend toy. Since I ride to work in nice clothes, I want wind protection, so the lack of a fairing in the 2000 model was a real turn-off in a commuting bike (and now I think the 2001 faired version has too aggressive a crouched riding position to be a good commuter). Also, I saw that the Bandit is hugely popular in London and Paris, where people know a thing or two about commuter bikes -- they're cheaper and easier to park than a car, and bikers spend a lot of time on them. So I struck a deal with my local bike shop and got the Bandit. 3500 miles later, the Bandit 600S has turned out to be a perfect choice. It's comfortable to ride with an upright seating position, good wind protection and limited buzz. It handles well -- stable and forgiving, but carves nicely on twisties. At first, I was a little disappointed with the power (I was used to a 650 twin!), and some fairing buzziness around 5000-5500 RPM (fixed by tightening down the fairing). But after the break-in period, the bike suddenly seemed to come to life. While not a full-on sport bike, the racing roots of the Katanah engine are apparent, with a very satisfying kick around 7,500-8,000 RPM. I really enjoy riding it and think the power is good -- even thrilling -- riding one-up. At high revs, the acceleration is great, and for top speed, I've even gotten it up to 130 mph(!). I added Givi hard luggage, which transformed my Bandit into a dream commuter. If I had to do it again, with everything I now know about the competition, I would get exactly the same bike. It's hard to imagine a better sport commuter for the price (knowing I would never be seen on a "rice-cruiser"!). I keep looking at other bikes and plan to trade up to a Ducati or Triumph next year. But now I know what I really want out of a high-end bike and am ready to fork out real money for the right one. For a practical, forgiving and inexpensive commuter, the Bandit was the perfect way to get back into biking.
- Lawrence, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-31 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Red Bandit 600 in March of 2000. I got a great deal $5,195.00. It's definitely a lot of bike for the buck. I currently have 7,500 miles on it and i'm still on the original tires and breaks (seriously). You might think that i ride conservatively, i think not, I've run the living daylights out of the bike, and it hasn't skipped a beat. I've taken numerous long trips with it and have found that i can ride all day effortlessly. I attended the West Virginia country roads ralley this summer and rode from the Pocono's to snow shoe WV in one day, roughly 500 miles. At the end of the day after taking our time, and taking numerous back roads, I wasn't ready to get off the bike, I had this urge to keep riding. This bike truly is a dream to ride. Ohh and for you riders that have complained about the buzzing at around 65 mph. Just downshift to 5th gear and it'll go away, not sacrificing too much gas mileage in the process, or quite simply go faster. I have found that this bike is unbelievable off the line, giving you a pure rush, but that's not all, the bandit really doesn't start running until about six or seven k rpm's. The engine takes on a hole new sound and attitude. The Bandits Peak horse power is achieved at higher rpm's,(after all it is a sport bike based engine). If you're questioning whether or not the Bandit 600 is BIG enough? The answer is most defiantly YES. It has more than enough power, and a good rider can make this rocket do amazing things. The Best part about the Bandit is its fuel economy. I found by running 93 octane and riding under normal conditions, mixture of highway and back road riding, that the bike got between 55 and 65 mpg, pushing it's range over the 300 mile mark with it's roughly 5.5 gallon gas tank. If you plan on running really hard figure on getting around 40mpg which is still impressive. The bandit is truly not just a work of art, but a high performance, high comfort, high satisfaction machine. I would recommend the bandit to anyone looking for an all around middleweight fighter. The Bandit stops on a dime, corners like it's on rails, and accelerates like its on steroids. The Suzuki Bandit 600s is most definitely the best bike that I've ever had the privilege of riding. Feel free to contact me via email at joe@poconoriders.com I'd love to answer any questions. Also if you're into motorcycle clubs please visit my clubs website at www.poconoriders.com
- Joseph S. Gilliland, Pocono's, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-15 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've just got 750 miles on my new red Bandit. I get a bigger smile with each passing mile. It's smooth (except for a slight buzz at about 4000), handles extremely well and is comfortable for my 46-year-old frame. It's great on the highway but most of my miles are on the back roads where the bike really handles (no, it's not a GSXR but then neither is the price tag). The bike is just plain fun because it responds so well to rider input. And the price is unbelievable, with low insurance, too. What a deal!
- Tim Holderle, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-29 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have recently purchased a black 2000 Bandit; I now have 1200 miles on it and I must say that I am truly impressed. This bike has been nothing short of a dream to ride. With its upright riding position and lowered seat height, this bike is very easy to handle. After the 600-mile break in period the Bandit really comes to life. This bike has great gas mileage too making it a great sport-touring bike as well as a commuter. I have done both on this bike and it's been wonderful. The Bandit feels very stable at highway speeds and the front fairing/ windscreen in my opinion provides very good protection. The bandit feels soft in the low range power but really shines in the middle to top end range. While not being a true sportbike the Bandit can be taken through the twisties quite well, however the bike has felt a little unstable through higher speed cornering. I have recently taken a 200 mile tour and I wold recommend if long tours are in mind that you replace the stock seat with the Suzuki gel touring seat made for the bandit. Everyone who has seen this bike has given it really great compliments. Overall this motorcycle has so many great features that I can't list them all. And the price of the Bandit really puts this bike over the top as an excellent choice for a do-it-all mid sized motorcycle that doesn't feel cheap.
- Jorge Anzaldo, Chicago, Illinios

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-28 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded my 96 bandit 600 for a 2000 model. I have got to say this is a much-improved mototcycle (Not that it needed much). I believe the buzz is a little worse on the 2000 model. This bike has good ergos and handles much better than the its older bro. The windscreen works better, but not great. I have 350 miles on it and most on the twisties:). I guess it all comes down to how much you want to pay to play. This bike is a steal and will put a smile on your face without a dent in your wallet.
- Steve, Califorina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is not my first bike, but it's only my second street bike. I grew up in the dirt and started riding at the ripe old age of 6 years old. My first street bike was a 1979 GS750E, so that's what I have to compare my Bandit 600 to. I went with Suzuki again because my beloved GS was about as bullet proof as you can get. The bike is still on the road with another owner and running fine. The Y2K B6 is like climbing into a Corvette after climbing off a John Deer! It's so much lighter (feeling) and quicker than my old bike. I have read all the reviews on this sight and others. I agree with most. After 3500mi it still has a buzz in the 5-6K range, but it seems to be getting better. One thing that I did was loosen the bar ends a little. I don't know if that did anything. I am going to order a "Bar Snake". Check out Dale Walker's Web sight at holeshot.com (lots of good stuff for Bandits there). The bike is perfect for someone who can't afford several purpose built bikes (like most people). I commute to work every day on it, and it is fantastic for that. I also manage to get out during the weekend for a fun ride, could use some more power, but if you keep it up-on-the-pipe; it's good enough. The suspension in the front is too soft. I think a spacer under the fork caps would help with that some. If I do it, I'll let you know how it works. To the guy who said the low beam doesn't work very well. I agree, but all I did to fix it was adjust it up a little and now it's fine. I'll be keeping this bike for long time (My wife won't let me buy the new B12, so I have to). It's an excellent motorcycle that covers most riding styles very well. Get one!
- Dan, Derry, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-29 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After much deliberation and 9 years away from street bikes, it was time to reinvest. Not wanting to spend a ton, I looked for all around features and price. The Bandit is incredibly user friendly and good at most everything you throw at it. Definitely buzzy between 5000-6000rpm but a delight from 7000 up. Suspension is a bit mushy for my 210lb butt and I wish I had a few more hp. You get what you pay for and it is the easiest bike to ride I've ever. I've put 2k miles on it in 4 weeks; post break in servicing it runs like a dream (despite buzz). don't expect sport, its not, but it's close, comfortable and a good price.
- Edward Holmes, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-27 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There are a few things that I have noticed in the 2200 plus miles I have put on this bike since I got it brand new at the beginning of June. I think the seat gets a little uncomfortable after about 75 miles, a vibration that starts at about 5 grand on the tach (mostly noticeable through the mirrors), windshield does little to no good. Although I chose to list its shortcomings first, the plusses of the bike far outweigh the negatives! This bike has get up and go folks! When you buy this bike you got to understand that it is neither a sportbike nor a cruiser. It's kind of an in between bike with a distinctive look, more than adequate top end if you got that need, and the capabilities to enjoy any stretch of road that lies in front of you! Oh yeah one more thing I found that I don't like is the low beams are inadequate for night time if you got to be concerned about those nocturnal critters! Not once have I regretted purchasing this bike! Well worth the money spent. didn't get five stars because that is perfect and nothing is perfect!
- Anonymous, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-15 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my black Bandit on 3-27-00. I have been happy with it on long rides on the highway as well as through the twisties. This bike doesn't pretend to be something it's not, although it is no slouch either. I have experienced some buzzing around 5k rpm which I hope is just a warranty fix away, otherwise trouble free with 1000 miles logged on.
- Jeff Barbour, Manassas, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-02 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put about 250kms on my blue (Can. market) GSF600S and it's everything I wanted. Great seating position, wheelbase is great for touring, very stable, easy to ride. Mine isn't broken in yet, but even staying below 6K rpm it has more than enough honk to dust off any car from a stoplight. Bike looks better 'in person' than in photos - in a mass of full-fairing crotch-rockets it really stands out. Love the praying mantis 'face'. One criticism - nasty 'plastic buzz' around 4K - anyone else experience this, or do I have a warranty problem?
- Greg Pillon, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-25 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey All, this is a follow up. I've been riding a bit more and I just love this Bike. My brother has an F4, nice but too high strung. This is the ride for me. I'm already planning the longer rides. The Bike just handles well. I give it input it responds smooth & controlled. People are always asking what bike is that! I've finished the MSF class (Motorcycle Safty Foundation beginner class, VERY WORTH IT!). Even my instructor was like "good choice". What more do you need then a person who's been riding 33 yrs giving his thumbs up on your bike! See you other Badito's on the road!
- Ed Rivera Jr., PlainField, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-23 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
feels bigger than 600cc The new junior Bandit is comfortable, easy to ride and reasonably quick. It won't win any races, but it performs exceptionally well for the price. The fairing provides excellent protection on the road, allowing the rider to travel comfortably at highway speeds and beyond. The suspension feels a little soft, but that's a personal preference and it is adjustable at the rear. Gas mileage is good and the engine performs as one might expect--it's a holdover from the previous itineration. The new tubeless tires are certainly an improvement. My bike has been reliable so far, but it's a little early to tell. It has started every time I've fired it up--a good thing in the chilly Alaska spring. It's not fast for a 600, but this Suzuki has a large seat and upright riding position, making it a decent if not outstanding tourer. The larger 5.3 gallons fuel tank aids the cause. It's a better tourer than any other 600, and a whole lot cheaper. If you're not expecting to be blown away, you might be pleased. And at $5,800, it's a steal.
- James P. Karst, Fairbanks, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-19 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very comfortable, nice price and performance for a "mature" 43 year old. Just starting riding again after a 5 year break, I've had much faster bikes but not this much fun. Not everyone wants to road race. Solid value purchased from Koups motorcycles on 4/12, I'm in love!!!
- Dave Kinsey, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-29 2000 Suzuki Bandit 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a black Bandit. What a bike. I love it. Looks great and my wallet is not that much lighter. Suzuki has done a great job on this bike. My kids love it too!
- Tom Valdez, Sugar Land, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: