Suzuki Boulevard S40 Motorcycles Reviews (62)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Boulevard S40 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Boulevard S40 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2016-10-31 2014 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great first bike, not too powerful, great gas mileage - averaged about 60-65mpg, wicked light. If you are capable and confident though I may suggest something stronger like the Shadow or VulcanS. My gripe was that the vibration was numbing on longer highway trips.
- David M, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-10-20 2013 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took my MSF course in Feb., 2013 and all they had were 250's. This bike is only slightly larger and heavier than any of the 250 cruisers. So if you like a 250 size, but need more power than this bike is great. The size of the bike makes it a great commuter. It handles traffic easily with plenty of power taking off from a stop. It's easy to maneuver and duck walk if needed. I'm heavy and this bike has no trouble moving on city streets or the highway. I've had it up to 90 mph. to pass vehicles, but I generally cruise about 65 or 70 without difficulty. The light weight of the bike does make it a little easy to get pushed around by wind. The first few times on the highway it felt to small, but as I've gotten used to its handling, I no longer notice it. I don't find the seat comfortable for long rides and need to stretch every time I fuel up. I average about 50 mpg. as a heavy guy using an aggressive throttle. With a 2.8 gallon tank I need to fuel about every 100 miles or flip to reserve. The placement of the foot-pegs doesn't bother me for normal rides, but on long distance my legs get cramped up. I highly recommend this bike as either a transition from a 250 to a 650 or as a first bike.
- Frank, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-04-17 2013 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided to buy my very first bike in Feb., 2013 and it was this one. It looks a lot better in burnt orange and gloss black. It was very comfortable and learning the clutch was extremely easy and I love it. I just got a flat or I would be riding more. The road work is messing me up or maybe it's just something I don't know about. I got my license August, 2012 and really turning and learning it has been awesome. It is not the most powerful bike but I put it up to 80 already. I don't recommend trying to cruise that speed though:) God bless y'all.
- Albert, Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-12 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike I ever traded a car for, it's a 2006 stock Suzuki S40 650 Blvd. I'm 50 years old and I've been riding since I was four years old. This bike - it's fast and cool looking. People ask me about this bike all the time. I even let a Harley fanatic ride it and he loved it and he's always asking me to go riding with his bike club. I'm the only Japanese bike in the group and everyone who has ridden my bike who owns Harleys love it. I can't say anyhing bad about it. It's awesome and I can lose the group in the corners. They can't keep up with me at all.
- steven glen van evera, mtn view, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-14 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2005 S40 Suzuki Boulevard for transportation to and from work. It's a great bike for the money! It saves a lot on gas. and is dependable (as most Japanese bikes are.) I've been a Harley owner for many years, but if you need a dependable means of transportation and have fun driving it as well, I would highly recommend this bike! Top speed is maybe 83 mph. that's good enough for me cause I'm not into paying traffic tickets. My only complaint? The driver footpegs need to be stretched out a little bit longer from the brake and gear shift levers.
- Rick, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-11 2011 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't comment on the reliability, since I just got it, but I can tell you that I have ridden all brands and sizes of motorcycles since I was 14 yrs old...36 years ago, and this is the nicest handling cruiser I have ever ridden (handles like a sports bike). The 650cc has plenty of power, and I felt instantly comfortable, turns are a breeze. I take issue with others who say this is a "Beginner Bike". I am no beginner, I am an older rider with serious arthritic issues. Any excess weight on a bike is just something I don't need. I can back, park, turn, maneuver this S40 with no assistance. and cruise 75 mph. on the highway, effortlessly, and turns are no problem. It's just dang fun to ride!!!!! Seriously, I chose this bike over a Harley Dyna and am glad I did. My only complaint is the popping noise the big single piston engine makes upon down shifting. The sound may go away with time I'm told. It doesn't hurt anything, I'm assured, or I could change the exhaust. Suzuki really should take care of this problem. I called the dealership and found out it's very common, and not just with Suzuki, other makes do it, too. But I say, Suzuki! Fix it and make this The Perfect Bike!!
- Tulsasuzette, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-01 2011 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a female; got the mc bug when I turned 60, took an mc safety course and bought my first bike in 2008. It's a 2007 but I bought it new and since I lived in Illinois at the time, had to lay it up over two winters so it's still very low mileage! I had the backfiring problem but it's not as bad since I moved to Texas. Also, I put a Jardine Rumbler exhaust and jet pack on it for better torque and I love the sound. I did not have the backfiring with the original exhaust. I highly recommend this bike for beginners, and women especially. It's only 350 lbs. so it's easier to get back upright--yes, I have almost dropped it a few times. It's easy to manage in traffic and great on the highway, too.
- Dianne Pastorek, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-21 2011 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm reviewing mine as a 2011 however the bike is a 1996. I've owned several motorcycles before this one, a Honda 1100 Aero, Kawasaki Vulcan 500 and a Harley Sportster 1200. I hadn't owned a bike in nearly five years and was looking for a cheap cycle I could fix up and commute to and from work on. I was pleasantly surprised on the ride home as to how smooth this machine is and how well it tracked considering the weight and shorter wheel base. Bottom line - I was expecting much less motorcycle and was pleased that it rode the way it does. The power is more than adequate for a 650 single and it has plently of get up and go. Size-wize, folks that say that this is the size of a 250 are generally right from a weight stand point, however, it sits and rides more like my 1200 sportster did, minus the weight of course. The backfiring out of these bikes is not a rich condition, it is actually an overlean condition to control emissions. This can be semifixed by removing a white spacer that resides on the main carb needle. I am amazed at the mechanics saying that they are rich from the factory. I have since repained and fully rejetted mine and the look and power difference is amazing. The bike now pulls hard up to at least 85 with throttle left. It was surprising many a person not expecting a lot out of it. Bottom line is enjoy the ride. The S40/Savage is a great all-around bike that will take you wherever you want to go.
- Savageguy, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-14 2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am an old-timer who rode Brit Singles and Twins-Harleys-Indians, too. I wanted to ride again before I could not. This bike has been a joy! I ride at 55 to 70 and it has been no problem. I added a Suzuki windshield and bags, a fork bag and a stock Harley muffler. I'm looking for a better horn and maybe a light bar. It could use a bigger tank. The color is black and I had it gold pinstriped. It gets good comments by all.
- walt, orwell, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-04 2007 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm the second owner of a 2007 S40 that had only 1,000 miles on it. Took MSF course last month, read a bunch of reviews, was convinced to start small and trade up when I get some skill. Issue was: Buy a 250, like they provide in MSF course, or go higher. S40 seemed the best compromise: Only 50 lbs. heavier than Rebel and Vulcan 250, same slender profile, but enough power that if I get comfortable with it I can ride it several years instead of trading up. Like all new riders, learning throttle and clutch and shifting situations is the challenge. This bike is easy to learn on. My first day (yesterday) I picked in up in the morning, road in a quiet subdivision for 20 minutes, then took it home (30 miles). It was that easy to get comfortable. (I've ridden 4,000 on a scooter, but shifting and controls on a regular MC are new to me.) I recognize the issues with this bike already: a bit of vibration, tendency to backfire. But you can't beat the value. I plan to maintain it religiously and expect enjoyable performance. Last point: I wanted to have a bike with the option to go on interstate once I'm skilled enough. This bike seems to have the power for that, but I've only spent a few minutes in 5th and top speed I've done so far is 55. Let you know more in a few months!
- Tom, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-07 2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been over 30 years since I've been riding, a beautiful bike to get reaquainted with the road. Get around town or get on the freeway, it's got the power to get out of trouble, and light enought to maneuver out of troubles.
- B Hemp, Van Nuys, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-03 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had 15 bikes in 40 years of riding and I may be having more fun on this light weight simplistic bike than any of the full sized bikes I've owned. My last bike was a 900cc Triumph Thunderbird and although it was an excellent machine, it was more of a chore to ride for short trips. At 60 years of age I mainly ride shorter distances which the s40 is perfect for. With a few simple modifications to the carbs and with a new exhaust (Super Trapp) this torquey machine can be a blast to ride. Also love the no maintenance belt drive.
- Rick, King of Prussia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-14 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought bike used in Dec 2009. Have had several bikes over the years including a BSA 441 Victor. I have been riding bikes since 1970 and also have at present a 1979 Honda CX500. The Suzuki is an excellent bike for the money and I do not mind the occasional backfire. I commute 44 miles to work one each way and I find this is an economical way to commute plus a lot of fun. I ride whenever weather permits. I find the Suzuki very dependable.
- terry lee, brighton, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-05 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Use this bike as a daily driver to and from work when weather is ok. Do all my own work on it like changing oil, adjustments, etc,. Just get you the suzuki manual on it and it tells you what tools you need and how to do it. EZ bike to work on compared to some of those monsters out there. Pros are it has plenty of torky power, fun as heck to ride, I like peeling out on it. It looks great, has belt drive w/five speeds, brakes do the job, reliable as they get. Cons are it is really pushing it after 65. So, if you are a speed freak you may want the Hayabusa. It tends to backfire on slowing down (It doesn't bug me). Seat gets a little uncomfy after 100 miles.
- edwin kubena, snyder, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-28 2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Boulevard S40 is my first bike which I have enjoyed riding for over three years. It is fast enough for me, easy to stop and it turns on a dime. My only complaint is the standard seat, which quickly becomes uncomfortable if riding for more than an hour at a time. I am looking to get a gel seat for better comfort. I recently rode a Honda Shadow 650 and found my Boulevard S40 was much easier to handle and just as fast!
- John R. Francis, Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-12 2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my Black 2007 Suzuki Boulevard S40 for 1 1/2 years, now. It had 1009 miles at time of purchase. It's now over 11,000 miles! I highly recommend the Suzuki Boulevard S40 to anyone wanting a fun ride that THEY control. Easy to maintain...great fuel economy...pennies to insure. It's a GREAT bike!
- False Illusion, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-07 2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So I make my license at 42 and barely dare to look for a 250. On impulse (as usual) I pick up the S40...should I tell how I almost wet myself getting on it the first time? I had NO riding experience other then 8 hours on the course! Anyways, this baby is smooth, easy to handle, light weight, low seat....air cooled!!!! (Hate maintenance and suck at it!) The price was a bargain as well. It took me some 5 miles before I was as compfortable riding it as I was on the 125 Eliminator on the course (yeah..ok...so maybe the Eliminator wasn't compfortable...) Anyways, if you are here doing what I did...checking out your first bike...do NOT be afraid. Upgrade now or you will do it in 2 months. I got mine 6 weeks ago and am on my way to the dealer for the S50...figures...
- Kat, Copperas Cove, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased this bike and it had less than 1 mile on it, after having it 3 days it has over 100 miles on it, that should tell you something. It is fun and a joy to ride. Gear shifting is easy and smooth. Bike is lightweight and handles great. Great small cruiser. I have taken it on 66, 95 and 234 and it rides smooth and easy. Twp thumbs up on this one!
- Monty B, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-13 2007 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great beginner bike. I bought it a couple years ago as my first bike and I still love it. There is not much leg room, but I don't mind it. I have ridden hundreds of miles with my 5 foot 2 inch girlfriend, and it has enough power to get up the hills in 5th. Not going to beat anybody in a race, but it'll get you around a hell of a lot better than one of those rebel things. It is small and nimble, gets great gas mileage, turns a few heads, is very reliable, and easily modified. Cons: Cramped riding position, not as comfortable as some, comes with a very limited stock carb setup.
- Nick, Corvallis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-12 2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Immensely powerful, single-cylinder, classic bike with reasonable fuel economy (after break-in period an honest 58 mpg). Very elastic gears with quickly available power even from the lower rpm's. Design is basically maintenance-free with a smooth operating trans belt (no more chain!). The wet-sump oil reservoir is humungous (appr. 1.8 l), it is close to impossible to run out of oil at any time. A total weight of 381 lbs. with lower seat height makes it a very versatile, easy to maneuver bike ideal for people who are not into elephant-riding but don't compromise safety, performance and comfort. My wish list would include: 1. a tripmeter 2. a larger tank (total 2.8 G with 0.8 reserve) and a higher-quality chrome material for the exhaust. Overall, I can warmly recommend this mid-size cruiser and plan to keep it for a long time.
- J.Luebow, madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-05 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Suzuki S40 is a terrific all around ride. The relatively light weight provides a lot of confidence and maneuverability. Plenty of power to operate at highway speeds, and pulls strongly off the line. Large single cylinder and belt drive means low, low maintenance cost. Great fuel economy. Perfect commuter bike for someone who wants real classic cruiser styling. This bike is trouble free, easy to maintain on your own and loads of fun. I would recommend this bike highly to anyone.
- FLBikeReviewer, orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-26 2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this to ride with my wife, who has a scooter. I got the red and white one. I get all kinds of positive comments from strangers in parking lots about how good it looks. I had a 2007 500 of another brand and the 85 lbs. less this weighs and the way you can maneuver in tight turns is unbelievably better than that previous 500. It has plenty of power and although I don't ever plan on riding on the Interstate it rides very smooth at 70 mph. It is very fast coming up through the gears and the balance is very good through curves. It has the little occasional backfire that you hear about but I have grown to like it as it's distinctive to the big thumper single banger. I like the quiet stock exhausts but you can get some loud exhausts if you want. The seat is very comfortable so I don't really see going to the gel seat right now. I installed the Boulevard windshield available from the dealer and have ordered saddle bags.
- Algadster, Moody, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-14 2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my S40 last July. I use it for a commuter and for pleasure riding. I really enjoy it.
- Carole Munsey, Monrovia, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-14 2008 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike new in April 2008 and drove it for 5600 miles over the summer. It is my first bike and has been excellent. It gets 50-60 MPG and easily keeps up with traffic up to about 80 MPH. A small dealer issue with the petcock valve was fixed in a couple of hours under warranty by the dealer. On long rides the seat gets a little uncomfortable and I plan on installing a gel seat by next summer. The bike has been a blast and the perfect choice for me.
- Stephen, Lakewood, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-31 2007 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, and I was a little nervous about anything over 500cc. That all changed the second I put it into 1st and took off. Three weeks later and 600 miles, I am glad that this was my choice. The bike is very easy to operate, handles great, and has enough get-up-and-go for this first-timer. As a matter of fact, my wife wants to start riding also and keeps eyeballing it...
- Greg, Dover, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: