Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Boulevard S40 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

64 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

David M

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2016-10-31

Motorcycle reviewed2014 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Great first bike, not too powerful, great gas mileage - averaged about 60-65mpg, wicked light. If you are capable and confident though I may suggest something stronger like the Shadow or VulcanS. My gripe was that the vibration was numbing on longer highway trips.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (28)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rodney Hart

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
I bought a 2009 Suzuki S40 Boulevard in Oct. 2019. It had around 3500 miles and ran great. I miss it.I had just got my Texas motorcycle endorsement, so I was a newby. The S-40 was so comfortable.I sold it but am now searching for another.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
I bought my S40 with 1100 miles on it and have added 28,000 all over Oregon. Ready and willing torque and nimble handling make this bike fun. When in college I rode testosterone overloaded superbikes; today I enjoy rolling through rural beauty unhurried. This is a bike for meandering backroads and twisty mountain passes. I love the sweet, classic lines and solid economy. I average 51 mpg at 70mph and 60 mpg at 60 mph. This bike has all the necessary grunt to climb 6500 foot passes and cross the state loaded for camping- and doesn’t mind gravel forest service roads. 2.8 gal tank hits reserve at 115 mi, with 35 mi left. I carry an extra gallon when on long rides.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2013-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I took my MSF course in Feb., 2013 and all they had were 250's. This bike is only slightly larger and heavier than any of the 250 cruisers. So if you like a 250 size, but need more power than this bike is great. The size of the bike makes it a great commuter. It handles traffic easily with plenty of power taking off from a stop. It's easy to maneuver and duck walk if needed. I'm heavy and this bike has no trouble moving on city streets or the highway. I've had it up to 90 mph. to pass vehicles, but I generally cruise about 65 or 70 without difficulty. The light weight of the bike does make it a little easy to get pushed around by wind. The first few times on the highway it felt to small, but as I've gotten used to its handling, I no longer notice it. I don't find the seat comfortable for long rides and need to stretch every time I fuel up. I average about 50 mpg. as a heavy guy using an aggressive throttle. With a 2.8 gallon tank I need to fuel about every 100 miles or flip to reserve. The placement of the foot-pegs doesn't bother me for normal rides, but on long distance my legs get cramped up. I highly recommend this bike as either a transition from a 250 to a 650 or as a first bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (20)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Albert

Jacksonville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2013-04-17

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I decided to buy my very first bike in Feb., 2013 and it was this one. It looks a lot better in burnt orange and gloss black. It was very comfortable and learning the clutch was extremely easy and I love it. I just got a flat or I would be riding more. The road work is messing me up or maybe it's just something I don't know about. I got my license August, 2012 and really turning and learning it has been awesome. It is not the most powerful bike but I put it up to 80 already. I don't recommend trying to cruise that speed though:) God bless y'all.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

steven glen van evera

mtn view, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2012-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The best bike I ever traded a car for, it's a 2006 stock Suzuki S40 650 Blvd. I'm 50 years old and I've been riding since I was four years old. This bike - it's fast and cool looking. People ask me about this bike all the time. I even let a Harley fanatic ride it and he loved it and he's always asking me to go riding with his bike club. I'm the only Japanese bike in the group and everyone who has ridden my bike who owns Harleys love it. I can't say anyhing bad about it. It's awesome and I can lose the group in the corners. They can't keep up with me at all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (18)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2012-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2005 S40 Suzuki Boulevard for transportation to and from work. It's a great bike for the money! It saves a lot on gas. and is dependable (as most Japanese bikes are.) I've been a Harley owner for many years, but if you need a dependable means of transportation and have fun driving it as well, I would highly recommend this bike! Top speed is maybe 83 mph. that's good enough for me cause I'm not into paying traffic tickets. My only complaint? The driver footpegs need to be stretched out a little bit longer from the brake and gear shift levers.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tulsasuzette

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2012-04-11

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I can't comment on the reliability, since I just got it, but I can tell you that I have ridden all brands and sizes of motorcycles since I was 14 yrs old...36 years ago, and this is the nicest handling cruiser I have ever ridden (handles like a sports bike). The 650cc has plenty of power, and I felt instantly comfortable, turns are a breeze. I take issue with others who say this is a "Beginner Bike". I am no beginner, I am an older rider with serious arthritic issues. Any excess weight on a bike is just something I don't need. I can back, park, turn, maneuver this S40 with no assistance. and cruise 75 mph. on the highway, effortlessly, and turns are no problem. It's just dang fun to ride!!!!! Seriously, I chose this bike over a Harley Dyna and am glad I did. My only complaint is the popping noise the big single piston engine makes upon down shifting. The sound may go away with time I'm told. It doesn't hurt anything, I'm assured, or I could change the exhaust. Suzuki really should take care of this problem. I called the dealership and found out it's very common, and not just with Suzuki, other makes do it, too. But I say, Suzuki! Fix it and make this The Perfect Bike!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dianne Pastorek

Austin, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-09-01

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a female; got the mc bug when I turned 60, took an mc safety course and bought my first bike in 2008. It's a 2007 but I bought it new and since I lived in Illinois at the time, had to lay it up over two winters so it's still very low mileage! I had the backfiring problem but it's not as bad since I moved to Texas. Also, I put a Jardine Rumbler exhaust and jet pack on it for better torque and I love the sound. I did not have the backfiring with the original exhaust. I highly recommend this bike for beginners, and women especially. It's only 350 lbs. so it's easier to get back upright--yes, I have almost dropped it a few times. It's easy to manage in traffic and great on the highway, too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Savageguy

Tampa, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm reviewing mine as a 2011 however the bike is a 1996. I've owned several motorcycles before this one, a Honda 1100 Aero, Kawasaki Vulcan 500 and a Harley Sportster 1200. I hadn't owned a bike in nearly five years and was looking for a cheap cycle I could fix up and commute to and from work on. I was pleasantly surprised on the ride home as to how smooth this machine is and how well it tracked considering the weight and shorter wheel base. Bottom line - I was expecting much less motorcycle and was pleased that it rode the way it does. The power is more than adequate for a 650 single and it has plently of get up and go. Size-wize, folks that say that this is the size of a 250 are generally right from a weight stand point, however, it sits and rides more like my 1200 sportster did, minus the weight of course. The backfiring out of these bikes is not a rich condition, it is actually an overlean condition to control emissions. This can be semifixed by removing a white spacer that resides on the main carb needle. I am amazed at the mechanics saying that they are rich from the factory. I have since repained and fully rejetted mine and the look and power difference is amazing. The bike now pulls hard up to at least 85 with throttle left. It was surprising many a person not expecting a lot out of it. Bottom line is enjoy the ride. The S40/Savage is a great all-around bike that will take you wherever you want to go.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 64 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: