Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles Reviews (33)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-11 2008 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new leftover 2008 S83 in late summer 2009 at a great price - last one in the store. I got it for under $6,000. I had done a lot of research before I bought it. I wanted a lean, lighter weight, bigger displacement V-twin cruiser for under $10K. I was aware of the criticisms of the bike - squeaky brakes, grabby clutch, floppy low speed handling, uncomfortable seat, cramped riding position. Like a lot of 1980's vintage bikes, the S83 has a few quirks, but I think they add to the bike's character. The clutch is a little grabby coming off a stop and the brakes do squeak from time to time - so what, you get used to it. I found the other complaints to be nonissues. I find the midmount footpegs and original seat to be very comfortable, and I think that the bike handles just fine. The S83 has nice low end torque and plenty of power for passing on the highway. I only gave the S83 a 4 of 5 in performance, but my last bike was a HD V-rod that really scooted. My fuel economy was a little low at first (35-40 mpg.), but it really started to improve after about 2K miles on the odometer. Now I get 45-49 on the highway and 40-43 in mixed city-highway riding. Other than the clutch being a little grabby, my only complaint is the lean tuning out of the factory (to meet EPA standards). The bike does take a while to warm up and it hesitates a little on the low end when you first hit the throttle. I'm planning on a carb rejet at 4-5K miles - from what I hear, that should make the low end acceleration a lot crisper. The gas tank is only 3.6 gallons, but refueling every 100-120 miles is not a problem for me. The look of the bike is subjective - I love the narrow 1980's chopperesque look of the bike, and I do get a lot of compliments on its looks. My bike has the gold paint job - very nice looking. All in all, I'm very happy with the bike and I would buy it again without any hestitation.
- Pete, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-26 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike in april of 2009. I put on 5300 km and am loving the bike. This was my first chooper style bike. I like it a lot better than my 1999 gsxr 750 I owned previous to this bike. This bike handles awesome and is a great starter bike. It's a 1400cc and hauls when you hit the throttle. Love it. Nice, sharp looking bike.
- Quinn Fisher, macklin , Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-22 2007 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great choice for my beginner bike. Smooth ride and plenty of power. Gas mileage could be a little better, but with the 1400cc's, it's understandable. Very nicely put together and great sport look.
- howie, Benedict, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-11 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not ridden in 20 years yet have owned 20 bikes. For the money this is the best one. Easy to ride- great for doubles- dependable- An eye catcher- I would definitely reccomend.
- Rick Taylor, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-27 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After sampling different makes and sizes of bikes for the last year, once I hopped on the S83, there was no turning back. I love everything about this bike. It's very powerful, comfortable on short and medium rides, corners great, reliable and catches everybody's eye. The S83 kills my last bike in every way. don't allow anybody to talk you out of buying this one; just be sure to hold on tight! It's not a good bike for beginners, though.
- Don, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-13 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought off the show room floor in October 06. Bike is a wonderful upgrade from my 77 XS650 Yamaha. Just went on a 1100 mile ride here in Pennsylvania and was nice to have such a dependable ride that was so comfortable. This bike is a perfect ride for the hills here in PA.
- John, Zelienople, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-30 2007 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey, I recently bought a pristine condition 2000 Intruder 1400 (same as s83). My immediate first impression was the fantastic and so right for me seating position. Next was the simplified beauty it carries. Next - POWER, that is comfort power, not the often high reving type. Two weeks ago I left Maryland on it at 4 am, bound for Atlanta Georgia, (no waterproofs). I rode I-66 for a bit and then took Route 29 south for some 300 miles before joining I-85. All I can say is that it was a wonderful and surprisingly comfortable ride. This bike has power to stay in the low rev range and just incredible acceleration especially for the first 1/8 mile or so. My only slight annoyance is with the choke system. The cable, even though new, seems to drag and results in the plastic rotating knob wearing and breaking. Otherwise, just a great bike. If you get one you will probably love it! Stay safe.
- Geoff H, Gaithersburg, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-14 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought the 2006, left over from last year. Before I bought it I was loooking for reviews and I could not find many and now I know that it is because the owners are all out riding. I have put 170 miles on in only 2 days, I would have had more but it has been raining too hard for riding to be fun. So far I have found it to be a very comfortable and powerful ride, the engine is still new so I have not pushed it hard yet but I can feel that there is still a lot of power that is just waiting for the chance to run free. I will write again once I have more miles to evaluate but so far I am in love.
- Brian, Willimantic, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-14 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well after 2 years on my S83 I think I can give a final review of the bike. This has become a great bike for me. I say become because in stock form there are some things that just have to be changed. The first is the stock seat. Which should be outlawed by the Geneva Convention. Even moderately long rides can turn into total torture on the stock seat with it's plastic waffle textured surface. I replaced it with a saddlemen gel seat and all is good. Also with my height the stock footpeg placement was no good. A set of Jardine forward controls fixed that. The only other thing are the mirrors. Suzuki should have replaced the mirrors when they went to drag bars. The stock ones are only good for looking at your own shoulders. I rigged up a bar end mirror on the left and that is adequate. Also the signals are cheap and plastic looking. Still overall the bike rides and handles great with real excellent power. The brakes are noisy as hell but that makes up for the weak horn. It has all the important stuff and the rest can be fixed. For the money it's been an awesome bike for me. And with a new seat and mufflers and billet mirrors it gets compliments all the time.
- SkidTrack, Glens Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-01 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I have owned. I love riding it. It has all the power I need for the wife and I. I will have to get a seat, backrest, and bags. The stock seat gets hard after 50-75 miles. Overall, it's a great bike.
- Glen, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-20 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding at 16 and had Harley's, BSA, Yamaha's, Kamasaki's and have raced & hill climbed. I've hit the pavement, dirt, gravel & one car, but never hurt serious. Quit riding at 59, I am now 64 years old and in good shape. My brother, comes out one day on a 1995 Suzuki Intruder 800 with 24000 miles on it. I rode it and was so impressed with this bike I went to the Suzuki dealer the next week and when I walked in the door, looking over 75 or more bikes, the S-83 just stood out. I bought it in less then 10 mins. I love this bike, man O man, it has enough power. Make sure you have a good grip on the handle bars when you twist the throttle. And it handles Goooooood!!!! But the seat is hard and after 50 miles or so, I have to stop and Pat My A$$ A LITTLE BIT. I get about 45 to 48 miles to the gallon. Also, easy to keep clean.
- Ron, Athens, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-02 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was worried that this bike might not be appropriate for a fist time rider fresh out of the course. I am ecstatic with the decision to buy the S83. It is reliable, light, fast, handles very well and looks great. Try the V&H pipes and hear it roar. Only drawbacks are that it can be uncomfortable for long trips and top heavy (ie tippy because high center of gravity). All said and done, this is the biggest bang for your buck you can get in a sporty cruiser. Buy one and you will not regret it, even first timers.
- DocHollywood, Kitchener, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-18 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got a used 2005 S83 today. Only problem I had was getting it started once it was off of the truck. Bike has been sitting and not ridden to charge the battery up. Once I got it started and put some good fuel and cleaner in, I put 50 miles on it to charge the battery. Bike was well maintained and has the extras on it already that I wanted. Bike handles very well and is not real heavy. The dealership where I got this bike was very good and helpful. Plan on driving the bike year round unless there is snow or ice forcasted. Economics (gas prices) have forced me to seek another means of transportation to go to and from work. 52 miles a day in my pick-up truck at 20-22 mpg just is not being economical.
- Walt, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-10 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Needs gel seat for longer rides, otherwise real good deal for those on a tight budget. It is an excellent city/highway cruiser. It is also very easy to handle/maneuver.
- roger, milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-15 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Here's the deal... For an extremely reasonable price, you get a BIG V-Twin with a very cool look, great handling and proven reliability. What more could you ask for? This bike is an unbeatable value. It's in the same price range as a V-Star 1100 (less power), C50, Vulcan 900, HD Sportster 1200, etc. etc. None of these other bikes have the same WOW!-Factor as the S83. It's a long, lean cruisin' machine. The 1400 pulls and pulls, no matter which gear you're in. This motor was meant to breathe, so let it. With a little fine tuning, this is one unbelievably FINE bike.
- DARXXX, PASADENA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Depending on your aesthetic tastes, I guess you will either love or hate this bike. It's definitely not for everyone, but if you dig the style it's a steal. I threw some drag bars, gunfighter seat, and chrome accents on it and it definitely looks awesome now. Almost like a smaller version of a custom chopper. It's got great low down pull, average mid-high for a big twin. It's light though, very manageable for a big engine bike. Comfortable position, reliable, and it does vibrate, but in a way that grows on you. Not quite like a Harley, but close. It's tough to beat the amount of bike for the money. Throw in a K&N filter and stage 1 jet- it'll ride much happier.
- sam, hartford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my S-83 May 2005 and have logged several miles since then. During this time period I've had the opportunity to ride on two bike trips over 1000 miles each. This bike has held up strong with no mechanical failures. With the fuel tank being 3.4 gallons I can travel about 140 miles before I have to refuel. My mileage is somewhat less than stock since I changed out the pipes and had the appropriate carburetor work done. The S-83 is a powerful bike that has no problems pulling even the steepest hills with a passenger on board. Whether you're cruising the highway at 100 mph or the back country roads at 50 mph you will be glad you purchased your S-83. The S-83 is not designed for extended trips so the confort level should not be expected. On extended trips I've found that I'm more then ready to dismount this awesome beast at about 120 miles for a cold one. The S-83 is a relatively lightweight bike for its size and has a chopper style look to it.
- Ed Nemeth, Montague, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'd give my S83 an overall 5-star rating even though there's a number of quibblings I have on it because for the $, it just can't be beat. As far as the ride, it's quite pleasingly fast, including on the start, but also quite vibey. As an example, my choke dial just shook right off as well as one of my highway pegs, and I almost lost my license plate, too, but I caught it in time. My second biggest gripe is the seating position, not really the seat itself. The position has one in a sort of bucket with no room to alternate your position. So, for me, cramps start to creep in after about 50 miles. One big help has been adding hwy pegs so I can relieve pressure by putting my feet up. On the plus side, the bike is fast and sporty, looks great, and has a lot more lean angle than other cruisers.
- Ron, Bloomfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-12 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my S83 a week ago and love it. It's my first bike. I went on a 380 mile road trip back roads to palm springs and every mile was amazing. My bike was admired by all other riders at every stop. I'm getting 50 mpg which is even better than I expected for just breaking her in. The bike rides smooth and is very comfortable. It handles the turns with ease and has the power to pull you through ahead of others. I recommend this bike to anyone. Despite the large engine its smaller size keeps the bike light and easy to handle even for someone just starting out like myself. The only downside is the tank is a bit small but worth the sacrifice for the lean look and good mpg.
- Jeff, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-07 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked this bike up Sat. at a wholesale dealer 140 miles away. What a great ride. It has great power and the sound is terrific right out of the box. It's a 2005 but is new and under warranty so I haven't really put it through it's paces. If the first 200 miles is an indicator this will be a very good ride. I recommend this to anyone.
- Ed Keller, O'fallon, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-29 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 1983 Honda V65 Magna (this was the fastest production bike around when it was launched) on a 2005 Suzuki 1400 S 83. I was afraid that I would not like a V twin and would miss the absolute gut wrenching horse power of the magna. The S 83 has plenty of pulling power. It gets up to 60 in second gear and does it nicely. It cruises on the highway quite well. It is very nimble and handles like a dream. This is a very nice bike for a man or a woman. It is very stylish and really catches other bikers eyes.
- Norman Moser, Lima, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-03 2006 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had spent months looking at a variety of metric cruisers. The problem - they all looked the same. Worse, some seemed grossly overpriced for what you got. Finally, I took a second look at the 2006 S83. I've been riding most of my life, and appreciated the Intruder 1400 for what it was when it was introduced in 1987. It was a lean, mean big bore cruiser. The cruiser that singlehandedly set off the displacement wars we see today. At the time, I was still riding sportbikes and the standards of the time, and didnt take a great deal of interest in this giant cruiser. By today's standards, the bike is light, lean and uniquely styled. Fit and finish is near perfect and the move by Suzuki to add the flat handlebar and remove the backrest makes this bike a nearly one of a kind on the street. It turns heads everywhere I go. When it comes to "GO", this bike is quick, torquey and powerful. The smooth motor and limited vibration make it a joy to ride for long periods of time, yet the stock seat is still a pain in the ass, no pun intended. A gel seat will be one of my first mods to the bike. The S83 gave me no trouble during the break in period. Today it starts and idles in no time and runs smoothly. I did go to a synthetic oil, and it has been great. The brand I'm using also seems to keep the air/oil cooled motor running cooler. This is a bike that will live it's whole life in my garage - it's a keeper. It handles great, looks great and does everything I ask it to do - even when running the mountain roads at a pretty brisk pace. don't let someone talk you out of this bike if you're considering it. It is in my opinion the best value on the road right now.
- Curtis Sawyer, Eagle , Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-24 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I went out for a 60 mile cruise today (my first 60 miles, that is). I love this bike and I am extremely pleased with my decision to buy it. The S83 rides nice, is very comfortable and maneuvers perfectly. I was pretty comfortable on the corners. My friends can't believe it is a 1400cc engine in such a compact package. My only complaint is the mirrors are too close together and it is difficult to see directly behind. I am currently searching for aftermarket mirrors that will extend a bit further out for better sight lines to the rear. Other than that, I have no complaints. I will update again when I get some more experience with it. Note to new riders: Take a riding course. You will learn some excellent stuff that you will apply right away on your first ride that will keep you safe for a long time to come.
- Jim, Attleboro, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Here it is I bought this new on the 18th of June and have tried to ride the heck out of it for every trip I have to make. I have so far loved the bike in every shape and form. I would like a little more power from the engine and more than 140 miles out of a tank. Oh by the way that stupid looking toobox (ya the one you have to have tools to get into) was the first thing to go. Then I punched out the stock baffles (the small spot welds on the pipes near the end) and that improved the sound a lot oh and for free you can't beat that. So next is the forks that are on it, they are 10 inches over stock and set on a 39 degree rake via custom adapter that keep the stock neck intact. So basically I'm thinking there is very few company's selling soo much for soo little out there but don't buy one because I say their good, but one because you'll enjoy it as much as I enjoy mine.
- Jester, yuma, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-10 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Super Cruiser especially on long distance rides -would have liked a bigger petrol tank. Stay out of town in hot weather - clutch starts slipping. Super reliable - replaced a clutch and serviced regularly - that's all. Custom pipes gave this bike a big sound. Crome plating starting to chip. My wife rides an identical bike and has now done 12000 K's with it. Also runs like clockwork and has won a number of Concourse de Elegance competitions.
- Jan de Lange, Johannesburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: