Suzuki Burgman 400 Motorcycles Reviews (49)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Burgman 400 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Burgman 400 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-04-05 2009 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up one of these the other week, simply because I have always been curious about these big scoots. Overall, this bike is a great mode of cheap transportation. Performance wise, I would compare it to how your average 4-banger economy car would perform. accels of the line well, a noticeable flat spot, then steady acceleration. While it's definitely no rocket, I do find it difficult keeping it under 55 mph., though. It rides effortlessly at highway speeds. Also, the 400cc four stroke sounds like an industrial sewing machine. Overall, it is what it is, a fun, economical, comfortable way to get around on two wheels.
- Matt, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-27 2003 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this scooter used at 9,000 miles and have been very impressed with it so far. I took it on a long 500 mile trip and got excellent gas mileage (74 mpg). Around in town I was getting around 54 mpg. It can easily cruise at 75 miles per hour or more and still get great gas mileage. It is very comfortable and stylish even when compared to newer motorcycles and scooters of 2012. Even when going up and down mountain passes in Oregon and Washington, it was fun and effortless.
- Doc L, Corvallis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-27 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it used in 2008 with 500 miles. It was my first bike in 20+ years. I ride to and from work 50 miles per day and gas mileage is averaging just under 65. You can't find a better maxi-scooter. It's easy to ride and not as heavy as the 650 that Suzuki makes.
- Desert Rat, Desert Hot Springs, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-22 2009 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2008 model in June of 2009. I have put over 200 miles on it in one day, and it performs flawlessly. The only noticeable drawback is the rock hard seat. It's like sitting on the side of a tank. I find it fairly user friendly and easy to work on. All the tupperware pops off easily, which makes for quicker do-it-yourself upgrades and maintenance. It's a well-spent six grand. I considered the 650, but the 400 gets better mileage. I can't wait to take it to Texas from Cincinnati, Ohio.
- JustanotherBill, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-15 2009 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have cycles and let me tell you this is a very comfortable scooter. It does both city and highway miles well with great mileage in either venue. Plenty of room under seat for most of your needs on the road. No problems since new. Only complaint for me was the windscreen.
- Dave, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-12 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode this Suzuki Burgman to work for one year. I enjoyed every mile that I put on it. I used it to gain the experience and confidence needed to enjoy a larger bike. It was lots of fun. The Burgman offers a smooth ride. It accelerates quickly and gets great gas mileage. (avg.67 mpg) Great for getting around town.
- kenneth knott, albertville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-29 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When it comes to day to day comuting and and even some weekend fun, this bike delivers. Lets start with the pluses. First and for most, this bike is very comfortable. The seat is broad and cushy, the reach to the handlebars is not far and there is plenty of room on the floor boards for leg movement to help with longer trips. The adjustable backrest helps out too. Wind protection is great for the most part. Second, the power from its 400cc single is quite suprising. Third, handling is superb for such an upright riding bike and the factory tires grip very well. I would almost say that it flicks back and forth through the twisties quite well but you find the centerstand pretty soon when pushing the bike's limits. Forth, the storage is freakin awesome. The bat cave that is under the seat will easily hold 2 full face helmets or 40$ worth of well placed groceries and the dash storage is very handy for many things as well. I can fit a 1 liter bottle of soda in the glove box it is so deep. Plus there is a 12v power outlet to charge your cell or anything else inside there too. The cons, The power is good but the CVT lacks enough top end to cruise long distance in my opinion. At an indicated 75 MPH the tach reads 7200 RPM and the redline is at 8500. Wind buffeting from the stylish shaped windshield requires the wearing of a helmet at minimum to save my eardrums from jumping out of my head. This bike is an excellent daily driver and errand runner for which I use it every day. It won't keep up with too many bikes but that's not what it was built for. This would make an excellent starter bike for many people to get used to riding.
- TSwartz, winter Haven, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-10 2005 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THE SCOOTER IS GREAT. PICK UP AND GAS MILEAGE IS NOT TO BE BELIEVED. RIDES MORE LIKE A MOTOR CYCLE THAN A SCOOTER. GAS MILEAGE ABOUT 50 TO 60 MPG.
- CLOUDY 550, LIBERTY, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-18 2009 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wahooo! Fuel economy, comfort, and style. What more? 110 MPH capable on the highway. What a dangerous proposition! This is a fit bike. It gets respect on the road thanks to the impressive looking facework. The front looks like a sportbike is coming at you. You get very good responses from other riders. You can also send a bill to Suzuki for all the promotional service you do! This bike belongs to my wife but it is like a puppy, it warmed up to the first one that gave her what she needed. It is a great machine and I recommend it hands down.
- Luis Diaz, Chester, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-31 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2005 Honda Reflex 250 for my first scooter. I was impressed with that. My type of driving moved more to highway, so I upgraded to the Burgman 400. And I'm not disappointed at all. I've been to Wildwood, NJ, Atlantic City, NJ, Lancaster, PA and am looking for more places to go. I am really impressed with the mpg and the way it handles on county & highway roads.
- Joe D, Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-25 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my scooter a little over a year now. It is the best thing I have ridden. I rode motorcycles in the past. I have done some 300-mile day rides on it. I do most of my grocery shopping on it. The only time I don't ride is when it rains or gets down in the 30's temperature wise. The only negative thing is the windshield. I added a Laminar Lip, which really cut down on the buffeting. I will probably ride it until it won't go anymore.
- Michael Ellis, Port Arthur, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2005 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to own this scooter. It's a great bike, no problems at all. Added the trunk, windshield, cruise, and mirror turn signals. Tons of storage. Really did not want to trade it but needed more power for 2 up riding and longer trips. Easy and fun to ride. Makes a great commuter bike.
- John Merck, Atkins, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-28 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm incredibly impressed with this little 400cc Scooter. It continues to surprise me in almost every 2 wheeled manner. From comfort to control to acceleration, it seems to have very few faults. Once accustomed to the riding position, I find it's quite stable in the twisting mountain roads as well as the expressway. I've never felt anything but confident in any given situation. Acceleration although not exactly stellar does make you realize just how little HP you need to remain safe and still be faster than most automobiles amongst us. Although slow by motorcycle standards, it would be unfair to compare. After all you wouldn't compare a Prius to a Mustang GT? Accelerating into traffic is never a worry. Overall, the comfort is great for a 4 hour stretch, then you start to feel the burn, but this thing is so competent it does leave you wishing for more. I owned a 650 Burgman which is the Goldwing equivalent in the scooter world and I mean that in every comparable sense. It is large, heavy, smooth, and comfortable. It took me and my girl from Boston to Asheville NC and back without a complaint, with the exception of its weight and the barely 50 mpg it returned giving a cruising range of 180 miles tops. The 400, at 60-65 mpg, gives close to the same comfort and equal performance solo as the 600 was 2up - I happily traded down as they say. I feel I have lost only weight in the transaction. It is a definite large leap forward from the Honda 250cc Reflex that started this whole Hi-way capable scooter infatuation I'm experiencing. As I said in the beginning, it is a near perfect scooter. A perfect 5 star Scooter has yet to be built but I personally feel Suzuki is on the right track.
- Bikernut, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-16 2005 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
HAVE HAD NO MECHANICAL OR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. LARGER GIVI WINDSHIELD IS MOST IMPORTANT FOR WIND NOISE IN HELMET AND WEATHER ON HANDS. 65 TO 72 MILES PER GAL DEPENDING ON WIND @ 65 TO 70 MPH.
- BOB, FORT WORTH, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-23 2006 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handling, weight distribution, maintenance and oomph are there. Sold my Helix and a HD FXDS Conv to buy this absolutely wonderful machine. I recommend it without hesitation. don't believe those stories about high maintenance. I have service at regular intervals and it isn't more expensive than other bikes (HD's are very expensive to properly maintain) and with today's technology it's almost impossible to work on a bike w/o proper tools & expertise. The AN400 can do it all.
- JRS, Aliquippa, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-16 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got this vehicle 2 weeks ago. For eight months I have been looking at cycles to ride again. For me it has been 30 years since I've had a bike. I lost my left leg 2 years ago due to an accident which happened 23 years ago. I went to several dealers and tried out every bike I could find with a heal/toe shifter, but found that was just about impossible for me to operate and all the dealers agreed. I did my research on the Honda SilverWing, Yamaha Majesty, and the Burgman 400. For price, style, and reliability I chose the Burgman 400. Well I love it. I joined the American Legion Riders and I'm able to keep up with the big boys. Everyone likes the looks and how it handles and one member is now thinking about getting one for his wife. I only have 350 miles on it but love the way it handles and have to be careful on speed, was doing 82 mph the other day without realizing it. So far I've been averaging about 62 miles per gal. of gas and know when I get it broken in and do more trips and less around town I should get even better mileage. Being 59 years old, out of shape and having had a real hard time getting on and off a large cycle, this is just perfect for me. The Burgman 400 has more than enough power and speed for me. If you feel you want even more power you could step up to the Burgman 650, but personally, could not see spending the extra money for what would have been an overkill for me. About the only downside for me is the windshield, it is small and just doesn't quite do the job, but all the scooters I looked at seem to have the same problem. For a really fun time I recommend this scooter for anyone, oh, and it has a lot of storage under the seat as well.
- Dave Morrell, Albemarle, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-06 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2006 Burgman 400. I was leaning toward purchasing a Suzuki Motorcycle, but I thought the Burgman would be a better choice for the area I live in and the type of riding I would be doing. I am very happy with my decision. It rides and handles well, gets good gas mileage (avg 55-60mpg), and has enough power to get you out of tight situations. I have had it up to 70 mph, but I don't think I would be comfortable taking it on the Interstate. I have no problem riding in highway traffic at speeds up to 55 mph. It is an excellent choice for someone who wants good transportation and who doesn't need the speed or power of a motorcycle. My only complaint is that I would like to be able to stretch my legs out a little further than the scooter design/set up allows.
- Dave, The Villages, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-28 2006 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A real pleasure to ride, very smooth and well balanced. It is almost effortless to double on it. I had a Shadow 750 and you were very aware of the additional passenger all the time. Excellent around town as well on back roads. I am looking forward to warmer weather.
- Bob Dolan, Port Orange, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-29 2003 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my scooter used with under 700 miles on it in the spring of 2006. I am just sorry that it's time to winterize it now. I've mostly used it to ride to & from work, but I'm planning a road trip this coming summer. Great MPG, no trouble, just FUN!!!
- Steve Z, Gurnee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-08 2006 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second review of this fun to ride maxi-scooter. I really enjoy riding on this machine. I've had it about 5 months and have done two long trips on it. My only complaint is the seat, after 3 hours, you're ready for a stop on a long trip, but who isn't? That being said, it is cool to ride everywhere. This bike enjoys the twisties. Plus the stop and go of the city traffic, and can handle the high speed of the highway. This bike also has been low maintance. Besides the normal check ups I have had no problems. The only thing I have added is a Garmin I-5. It is fun to go riding and then turn on the system to find your way back home.
- RMD, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-30 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First time rider, cycle or scooter. I am 73 years old, had my by-pass surgery and am winning the battle with cancer. I have had my Burgman 400 about 4 weeks, been riding everyday, have a thousand miles on it and love it. My wife started riding with me today and she likes it. First sevice was $207. They said the next service at 4000 miles will also be over $200.
- Ray Willard, Palm Coast, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-12 2006 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 400 Burgman for a little over a month and I've never had this much fun on a bike before and I've had my bike license for 27 years and have had many bikes. I love it and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to have a lot of fun and not spend a ton of money.
- Debby, Houlton, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-28 2007 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
According to Suzuki, the 2007 Burgman 400 has a lot of changes from earlier models. I can vouch that it has amazing performance and fuel economy at the same time. I have had it up to 95 mph and I'm sure it would do more because I didn't hold it there but for a few seconds. I check the fuel mileage every time I fill up and I have averaged over 65 mpg. One time during the break-in period I went 207 miles on only 2.85 gallons. That is an amazing 72 mpg. I have only one complaint. The windshield is not as good as they claim. Their advertising claims it is larger and provides a smooth flow of air around the rider. There is quite a bit of wind buffeting around my head and shoulders at highway speeds. I would like to get a taller and wider windshield, but I haven't found any available yet. Overall, I love it. The larger wheels and tires give good stability on the highway even at speeds in excess of 80 mph.
- Edward, Georgetown, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-28 2003 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very pleased with value package of the Burgman 400. I have had it to 98mph. It gets light after about 85mph. I will upgrade the windshield for winter riding. No maintenance issues so far. I dont' like the low end hesitation but that is the big single sacrifice. 60mpg to 69mpg.
- SLeGrand, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-14 2003 Suzuki Burgman 400 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 13K and only new tires and oil changes no problems at all. Looked at the new 650 and now with the new larger wheels cannot fit. Darn. I ride with the local motorcycle club here on Base and keep up with all the Harleys, Honda's and whatever's. I am the only one with a "scooter" and roll with them at 65 75 mph no problem. We do many rides in Nebraska and Iowa open space and fast speeds and have a ball. Got a lot of wow's from the club members on the bike and being able to keep up with them and not hold them down on the rides. Only wish it did have an overdrive trans. That would be the kicker, 100 miles per gallon..... Sweet,,,,
- Gary, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: