Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650) Scooter reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Scooters

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

NH Bunion

Wolfeboro, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2009-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned 16 different bikes since 1989--mostly large touring models, both Japanese and American. My previous ride was a 08 Harley Street Glide. This is my first automatic motorcycle as well as first Suzuki. The fit and finish are top-notch but it's the ride quality that stands out. At 56 years of age I was ready for something different and this Burgman 650 fits the bill. The handling is superb, the brakes are fantastic and pick-up is wonderful too. It has plenty of under-seat storage and three separate dash cubbies, the largest one lockable. Getting used to not shifting is the biggie here, but once you get over the urge to pull the clutch and move your left foot, it's so easy to ride. It totally put the fun back into riding for me after 20 years in the saddle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

LewTag

Springfield, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After putting 8,000 miles on an early 2003 Burgman I got antsy to try the Honda Silver Wing. But after 3600 miles of disappointment I had to return to my best love, the Burgman. So when the chance came to make the switch I came back home. Unless you are a seasoned rider of various motorcyles you must take my word there is nothing like it on two wheels. I have owned 20 different bikes from 350cc to 1500cc of all Japanese makes plus Triumph, and at age 72 there still is no thrill like sliding onto the Burgman for my daily midday spin. When I finish riding, I want this bike to be my last two wheel memory. I am not a long range rider but the comfort and performance, reliability, and economy of the Burgman make it the ideal ride for commuting, cruising, or short touring. Even two up I think it would take a Goldwing to beat it, but who needs a convertable on two wheels. If you have never driven a scooter with automatic CVT there may be a little time needed for adjustment, but once adapted you may never lust for a clutch again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

EJM

Downey, California

Reviewed on 2005-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This an an update to my 10/19/2004 "Genuine" Review of my Burgman 650, AN650K4. I will concur with the reviews where I have read that the gas mileage leaves a bit to be desired. Aside from this learned and practical observation, my impressions and observations are unchanged from my initial review in October. Due to my busy "work" schedule, I am a weekend warrior and I find that a weekend is not complete unless I have taken "her" out to dance. I can always count on reliving the excitment that I had when I first made the purchase. At work I dress to impress and I find that the presentation of the Burgman 650 is such that it comes dressed to impress-with regard to the senses and engineering. Atleast one other reviewer has mentioned that the Burgman 650 will be their last bike - No wonder - It's that GOOD!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Elaine

Lyndhurst, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-05-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a Burgman 650, and upgrade from the 400 that I had last year and wheeeee! There is a huge difference in pep, power, overall ride, there is just no comparison with the 400. The 400 has its own merits, one of which is mileage, but I much prefer the 650. At highway speed,(70 mi. +) this bike is stable,rides exceptionally well, and is a great amount of fun. There is a difference in gas mileage, (55mpg) but the 650 well makes up for it in just about every way! I think this will be my last bike, and it's too bad the best ended up being the last!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Herbst

Champlin, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-02-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Took 2 trips in 2004 - first to Colorado and Utah and later to Yellowstone from the Minneapolis area. Bike ran fine at all speeds, held 75 MPH all day going across Nebraska and Colorado. Overall averaging 46 MPG with top mileage of 58 MPG, when I behave. The scooter was great fun in the mountains. People have given me more compliments on the Burgman than on any other bike I have owned.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve D.

San Francisco, California

Reviewed on 2004-11-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Traded by red Honda Helix and bought a new (2003) Burgman 650 in May of this year. Did not realize that this is a very well thought out machine and unlike other scooters (or motorcycles) I've owned over the years. My intention of purchasing it was for the storage space and that yet again another inter-city commuter with a bit more stabilizing heft. NOT! Have met another Burgie owner in my area and have taken our machines out on the Northern California highways to Calistoga where a lot of bikers hang out. The handling is amazing. Always gets plenty of Q&A sessions. The performance is great, wonderful power curve in any of the CVT modes, like the power feature for the steep grades in SF. Not many drawbacks... had to get used to the weight and find it thristy for fuel. If a Burgman 1000 comes to the USA, I'll be waiting with checkbook in-hand!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Seacrest

Lincoln, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2004-10-30

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
At age 58, I had not ridden for over 35 years. First I purchased a Honda Reflex but found it was just too light and uncomfortable. In July I purchased the Suzuki and have been very impressed. This scooter is stable but easy to maneuver in town. My brother has a Harley but it is just too loud for me. Give me the quiet, smooth ride. The only accessory I have is the Corbin seat which gives me a lot more leg room and I believe a lower position on the scooter. My only complaint is the buffeting I experience at higher speeds. Next year I plan to bring it down to Daytona for Bike Week.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

EJM

Downey, California

Reviewed on 2004-10-19

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my AN650K4 on October 16 of this year and being an experienced Honda rider, 1st with the NSS250 and then the FCS600 Silverwing (with 4 Safety Recalls in ONE Year), I decided it was time to make a needed change. The option...well the Suzuki AN650K4 (Burgman). My initial impression was: Why did it take me so long to discover this Luxurious, Elegant and High Performance work of art? From the point of drive off I was in HEAVEN. The Ride is Exceptional. The Responsivness and Acceleration are as SMOOTH as can be. The Style is HIGH END - ALL CLASS. Thank you Suzuki for Engineering, Manufacturing, Delivering and Promoting this Luxury Edition Machine to the U.S. Market. If there was ever made a machine for a Life-Time, This is without a doubt IT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Owens

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I wrote my previous review after only 180 miles on the clock. It's three months later, and I just returned from a trip from the Canadian Border to the Mexican Border and back home. 3100+ miles in six days of riding (plus two days in San Diego and two days at Disneyland). I took I-5 on the southbound leg; mostly hot, flat, straight, and boring, but the fastest way. On the northbound leg I took US-101 from San Fransisco to the Oregon Coast before going back to I-5. Much nicer ride; hills and mountains, ocean beaches, the wine country, the Redwood National Park. Throughout the trip, the Burgman was utterly reliable. It's no Gold Wing, but even with some 500 and 600 mile days I arrived at all my stops without too much discomfort. I averaged better than 50MPG on the whole trip (compared to 48 on combined city/highway driving locally), and on one leg where I kept my speed down around 60 - 65 I got 56MPG. I was mostly stopping every 140 - 150 miles for gas and to stretch, but once I stretched it out as far as I could. I arrived in San Diego, where there were plenty of gas stations, and just kept going. I finally stopped when my trip meter read 200.1 miles since last stop. Added 3.66 gallons to the 4 gallon tank. (don't try going that far in the middle of nowhere, unless you like walking!) I should add that I have tested the maximum speed on this bike twice, and both times reached an indicated 112MPH. I have ridden in steep mountain passes, and long, flat highways; cold, wet beachfronts and hot desserts; the Burgman ran flawlessly throughout. With more than 6800 miles on my Burgman in the last 3 months, I can say without reservation that this is the ideal bike for me. It's the perfect compromise between economy, ease of riding, power, and comfort. Way to go Suzuki!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MED

Lakewood, Colorado

Reviewed on 2004-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Burgman 650 (AN650)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my 2003 650 Burgman for a year now. I have had severe back problems in the past and was looking for a comfortable bike to ride that was very easy to mount, and this bike fits the bill! The step through mount of the bike is wonderful. It rides smooth. And the bike has plenty of power. I've ridden it down the freeway at 90 mph into a headwind on several occasions. The underseat trunk holds a lot of stuff. One time I hauled 4 bags of groceries plus a 12 pack of soda pop home under the seat. And I really like the automatic transmission! It works great and it's a pleasure to take off on a steep hill without worrying about a clutch or killing the engine. Suzuki did a great job on this machine!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: