Suzuki DL1000 Motorcycles Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki DL1000 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki DL1000 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-09-02 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To frame this review, let me start by saying that I traded-in a Kawasaki KLR 650 dual sport. I had been looking for several months at moving to something a bit more streetable with decent power and rider ergonomics for local driving as well as 300 - 400 mile weekend trips. I just got home from a nice 50 mile ride (from the dealership) on my brand new DL1000, and while it's still too early to be objective, I'm quite impressed with the difference in ride and power. This bike is very smooth and has a wonderful sound as it tunes up through the gears. I plan on getting the initial break in miles covered on a trip this weekend. I'll post another update once I get some miles under my belt.
- Phil Waugh, Montgomery, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-28 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So comfortable, quick, smooth. Only comfort factor is the windshield, the tall shield helped some, and the Laminar ears helped some. This machine is wonderful and fun. Many miles have been street, some gravel/dirt roads and some trails, it will do it all. Very usable power band, rev low and torque around town or trailing, wind it up when needed on the road, nice little boost when the secondaries open about 4500rpm, and yes the front end gets light in the first 2 gears.
- Kevin, Atlantic, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-04 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The V-Strom is just plain right! I've never ridden a bike that felt so ergonomically right till I rode this one. I have ridden enough road bikes to know that anyone who really knows his way around motorcycles would know what I am talking about if they would give the bike a try. Most people find the V-Storm not as appealing as other bikes. When the other manufacturers start sending this type of motorcycle stateside I will be looking at them too. Looks like suzuki addressed some of the issues for 2004. I have ridden several bikes and have no regrets. Another factor that makes this bike so appealing is its large size yet LIGHT weight. It handles very well. My advice, give a long test ride over diverse country and be objective. I bet you won't be disappointed.
- Bob Kessler, Castle Rock, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-11 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The summary is miss leading the reason this bike is not good for me is that I never get anything done. Mow the lawn or go for a ride? Time to ride. I bought the DL in Pottstown PA rode it home to Detroit,619 miles.Best ride of my life a little cold the first weekend of May but still fun. The bike is differant big,angular,will wheelie,can ride it all day without being sore,and it's something you don't see alot of so you don't have to try to personalize it to much to be able to tell it apart from everybody elses.It's a bike that probably won't be a big seller.But I'm sure glad I got mine.If you want something between sport bike crouch and cruiser slouch than V-Strom is the real deal.Just keep in mind you might have to hire somebody to do some chores around the house!
- Phil, Hazel Park, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-03 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First and foremost this bike is about outstanding value with little compromise. The ergonomics are great and the ability to ride out every tank of gas hasn't gone away after more than 4000 miles. With fuel injection and a proven v-twin motor, the V-Strom doesn't disappoint. Smooth and steady acceleration instill confidence that this bike will never fail you from stop light to stop light or mile marker to mile marker. The 6th gear "over drive" is a nice touch when reaching those hyper speeds of our nation's interstates. The V-Strom quietly cruises along. Real world handling on the V-Strom is second to none. With relatively high pegs, the ability to scrape them never seems to introduce doubt as to the capability of this machine. Balance is like a being on a Segway without the gyroscopes. Lean it over, it can handle it. Be wary of the very sensitive side-stand. Many a stromtrooper has found their bike horizontal after not paying attention to the position of that vertical balance aid. Better still, buy the optional center stand. It's worth every penny. Replace the stock seat and windscreen, and this bike is just perfect.
- Jerry Warden, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-04 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is absolutely perfect. Suzuki, don't change a thing. Finally, street riding is fun again. I love looking at my charcoal grey DL every day.
- Steven Vorseth, Bakersfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-27 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Review should be 4.5 stars. I bought it for the height (I'm 6'5") so I had very few bikes to choose from without having my knees in my ears!!. It is a very easy bike to ride and even new riders shouldn't be worried about buying one. It handles easily and is quite comfortable, but with the upright seating and sports windshield, why did Suzuki style it like this? Either make it open faced or a full screen. It is quite comfortable for passengers and my wife enjoys riding with me but the passenger pegs are a bit high for her (5'9"). It has adequate highway power and even with both of us on board(350lbs+) it is hard to keep under 100mph. For the money it is a very good every day bike and has very little to compare with. If I were to suggest a change to Suzuki, then I would change to the Busa engine to impreove the torque for two up riding and change the styling more like BMW enduro bikes.
- M. Davidson, Grayslake, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-29 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just finally broke down and picked up the 'strom the other day. don't tell my employer but I've already had to take a sick day due to too much fun. The bike has awesome torque, plenty of power, and just feels right. My experience with bikes is pretty much across the board. From the ZX-11 to my latest, the ST-1100. Throw in a V-max, a Bandit, and riding various 600's, I've been around the cycling block (so to speak). I have to say, the V-strom enhances my riding ability like no other. I'm just an average 40 year old with average riding skills but this bike encourages my abilities like no other. I just spent an afternoon with my kid brother who rides a '98 VFR and he couldn't believe what I did to him in the really tight curves. What's really cool is when the riding is over, I'm not hurting anywhere. If you want to lean over the tank and pretend you're Joe racer, stick with a "crotch rocket", but remember you just might get a glimpse of me as I pass you by while you complain about that kink in your wrist or neck. Oh, I forgot to mention, I can't afford a garage full of bikes so this is the best of all worlds for me. With the optional taller screen and a set of bags I'll be going across the country next summer. Only a few other things I might change; A set of pipes to enhance the somwewhat subdued sound and pure street tires instead of the more open tread on the originals.
- Paul Pausma, Fondulac, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-22 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I will try to write the most objective review I can on my VStrom as I can. This bike is very comfortable, even two up. I am in my 50s and can't ride those bikes that have radical seating. The engine has all the power (real world useful power) you could need. Two problems I see with the bike that are experienced by many other owners. First, the windshield is useless. I made an extention that I added to the stock windshield that improved it greatly. Why Suzuki can't get it right is beyond me. Second, the water pump has a slight weep to it and this is a design flaw in the pump. It is not a major deal because the weep is so minor but a flaw nun the less. I will have this issue attended to in the spring under warranty. don't want to have the bike down with only a short time to ride left in the season. There is one other issue that I wish Suzuki had changed which is purely subjective and that is in regards to the chain. I just wish Suzuki had made this bike shaft driven. All in all, considering no bike will have everything someone wants, this bike comes very close. I have had many bikes in my time and I was getting to the point where I was going to give up riding because I couldn't find a bike that fit and worked for me or wasn't boring. Until this bike that is. Now motorcycling is fun again.
- Mark Bogardus, West Monroe, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-29 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
it is still to early to predict my long term satisfaction ,but after riding the initial 600 miles my early impressions are very favorable.this bike is by far the most fun motorcyle that i have ever owned or ridden.it is by the way the fourth new suzuki i have bought since 98.it does well in the paved twisties and works on the gravel road surfaces. it has power,handling and 50 m.p.g. to boot.
- bob wittman, wheatland, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-14 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my VStrom in LA and rode it back to Boston with friends. I had it leaned over far enough to scape the pegs at one point but the Bridgestone Trailwings just have never felt that good to me. Since I have about 6000 on the bike now I am debating whether to replace them with Metzler Tourances or with a pure street tire. My friends on street tires seemed to do just as well as me on gravel and dirt.
- conway kennedy, boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-13 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very light handling feel and nice power above 4500 rpm. Engine knocks at idle intermittently and has some funky surges between 3-4000 rpm that worry me. I love the bike, I can best describe it as a KLR on steroids with a street bias.
- Jim Lane, Lummi Island, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-13 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned six import bikes and never have I came across a bike that could do it all, until now. The Suzuki DL1000 is the lightest, smoothest, comfortable, and stable bike I have ever been on. I have always been a inline four fan and currently own a 1994 Magna 750. Suzuki really did a fantastic job of refining the TL1000 v-twin. The engine has great low end pull and cruises in sixth gear like a caddy. The stearing is light, nimble and ready for anything you can throw at it from the twisties to the back woods trails. If you don't have one, you had better get one before Suzuki figures out how popular this bike becomes and jacks up the price.
- Nathan VanLare, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-18 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike keeps winning award after award. No wonder. It truly is an awesome machine. Tied the Honda Intercepter for Best Streetbike of 2002 from Cycle World Magazine. Rider named it Best Standard bike as well as Motorcycle of the Year. I just got back from a 2350 mile ride up the entire length of the Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive and back. My friend on his 1200 Bandit took 9 days to do it and he had a hard time keeping up with me. The V-Strom works everywhere. Has tremendous power and agility. I had mine up to 150 mph in 5th at 9500 rpm and it was extremely stable. My BMW R1100RL was a fine machine, but the V-Strom beats it at almost everything. I highly recommend it. It's great!
- Mike B., DeLand, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-25 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Road a few hundred miles in NW Arkansas this weekend after breakin on DL. The DL big, odd looking and overall strange DL is beautiful when she's rolling. Compared to my Mille R in the twisties she is more comfortable, more stable and easier to ride at about70%. At 80% speeds and above I'll go with the Aprilia. While the Mille will corner faster with its stronger motor, wider tires and the agility of a cat, the V-Strom is just as entertaining in the sane level of real world riding. The tires, skinny as they are, offer great feel and traction to the edges with the 19 front loop feeling GREAT. The long travel suspension is SUPERB front and back and the chassis remains stable one or two-up to around 120mph. Above about 105 she begins to dance a bit. Probably result of limited wind efficiency than anything else. Engine offers good torque and is smooth with a real sweet spot 5-7,000rpm. The brakes are a bit weak and the seat a bit too soft for my taste but then again my other bike is a Mille R. Overall very nice. My only dislikes are the limited brakes, too wide an ass and the footpeg mounts on the pipes which have the passenger fighting to find their footing after about 15min (bad design). Overall feels much like a cross between a BMW 1150RT and a GS. My recommendations are if you are interested in a do-it-all bike go for the DL- 1) cut the rear fender off below the pipes, turn the tag light upsidedown and add a spring to the license plate to move all up in the back and still let you get to the seat lock. Looks a LOT better than the Jeep rearend and still offers plenty of splash protection. 2) Ditch the stupid hand guards till winter and mount fairing attached mirrors and marker lights in the front turn signal mounts ala PASO or RT1150 to improve the front looks. 3) Buy Two Brothers pipes which look like they do not mount to the footpegs or wait till someone makes a set of pipes that really fit. 4) Look for the taller windscreen and lighter hardbag mounts than Ive seen and add a set of Givis. There shouldnt be anything that will stop you now with a detuned motor that will probably go 150,000 miles and a setup to take you anywhere comfortably.
- Jerry, OKC, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-06 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Saturday left Roswell and headed to Globe Arizona, down to the tip of Texas and back to Roswell in 18 hours and 1076 miles. Not a bit of trouble with the Strom and did some 200 plus mile tanks at a fast pace. Wind noise and chain chores were my only complaints. I would recomend this bike for anyone that is tall enough for it, and willing to go back to chain drive like I did.
- Pat Russ, Roswell, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-21 2002 Suzuki DL1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of the DL today and have ridden it about 100 miles. I had test ridden the BMW GS, Triumph Tiger and the Aprilia Capo Nord. Although I know people who can whip a GS round the twisties it didnt seem natural to me. I was at home with the DL after about a mile. Its lighter than the other big "trailies" and very stable. I shall write an update when the bike is fully broken in . So far so good:)
- Lampell, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: