Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki DR-Z400 reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ken

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2012-04-24

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding since I was a kid and have owned too many bikes over the years and I have to say that Suzuki is a quality product. I recently purchased this bike and instantly fell in love with it. I was looking for a dual sport that would favor dirt riding more than street but be able to get to the trails without a problem. The DR-Z400E fits the bill. The previous owner outfitted this machine with everything that I could ever want which makes it an amazing desert bike but at a low cost. I will keep this one for a long time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

EDDIE

WEST PALM BEACH, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-11-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
PURCHASED THE 2002 DRZ400E IN APRIL 2003--NEW! I IMMEDIATELY WENT FOR THE DUAL SPORT CONVERSION AND HAVE BEEN CHUCKLING SINCE! I PARTICULARLY ENJOY THE LOOKS I GET FROM LAW ENFORCEMENT! THE BAJA DESIGNS DUAL SPORT KIT HAS GIVEN ME THE OPPORTUNITY TO RIDE HASSLE FREE AND LEGALLY ANYWHERE I CHOOSE. THE BIKE ITSELF IS AWESOME IF NOT A BIT HEFTY! NIMBLE BEYOND ITS WEIGHT ON THE TRAIL,SUZUKI HAS MANAGED TO DISGUISE THIS BIKE WITH A COMPACT CHASIS. THE MOTOR IS ANEMIC DOWN LOW BUT TORQUEY ENOUGH TO CHUG ALONG OVER THE CHOPPY FLORIDA ROOTS LIKE SILK! YOU CAN ALMOST RIDE THIS BIKE IN A SINGLE GEAR (3RD) WITH MINIMAL CLUTCH WORK! I GET A KICK(LITERALLY) BY TAKING IT OUT ON THE MX TRACK, JUST TO SHOW OFF ITS VERSATILITY....AND YES,I LEAVE THE LICENSE PLATE ON!........THEN ITS OFF TO THE WOODS AGAIN.... NO,ITS NOT THE PERFECT DUAL SPORT CONVERSION FOR THE AGGRESSIVE MX/WOODS RIDER....BUT WITH SOME SUSPENSION WORK THIS BIKE IS WORTHY OF SOME SERIOUS HAMMER TIME!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

mentor, Ohio

Reviewed on 2003-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have six motorcycles and this one is the best. Fast as ever and great in the dirt. I have elec. start and the baja kit. It is heavy though but not that noticable. But best buy ever.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

HOGIE

GLENDALE HTS, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
AFTER BEING AWAY FROM RIDING DIRT BIKES FOR 10 YEARS, I'M GLAD TO BE BACK. I DID MY HOMEWORK WHEN BUYING, AND IT PAID OFF HUGE. THIS BIKE ABSOLUTLY RIPS!! ALL I've DONE IS FMF T4 PIPE, TWIN AIR FILTER, AND REJET THE CARB. HUGH BOTTOM AND MID RANGE HIT!! AS A LARGER RIDER(6"1' 235LBS), I STILL NEED TO WORK ON SUSPENSION A BIT, BUT IT HANDLES THE MX TRACKS AROUND HERE JUST FINE.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff DeBrito

Manteca, California

Reviewed on 2002-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What a great bike. I set mine up for the Moto-X track by revalving the suspenstion and It works perfect in the desert and fast fire roads here in California. Just change the oil and clean the filters and this bike is bomb-proof. Plenty of horse power and not many mods needed. Just run with 91 octane fuel. I also put a Yoshimura pipe on with a new jet and a few more horse and throatier low -end sure makes for a mean 400. My best pick for an all around 400 motorcycle. Keep the rubber side down.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Estevan

Ft.Worth, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is top notch, speed demon of the dirt. No one should go to the track w/o one of these!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DBN

Flemington, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2001-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding my DRZ-400E for about a year now and I am just starting to get it set up the way I want it. I put on the tallest Renthal Bars I could buy, and a White Bros. pipe. After rejetting and opening up the air box, the bike rips. Most of the power increase was in the low and midrange which is where I like it. Wheelies in 2nd and 3rd gear are not a problem. I talked to the Suzuki Factory Offroad Team in Mill Hall last weekend and they suggested the following for the suspension. 1. Set your rear sag at 4 inches. 2. Set you dampening and compression in the middle of the adjustments. 3. Pick a trial typical of what you like to ride and ride it over and over making adjustments on the fork; then when done on the shock. They said to do this before sending the suspension off and spending $400 bucks. They will be writing up an article on suspension in the next issue of Suzuki's "Route Sheet" their off-road publication. I usually ride a few Dual Sports, Enduros and Hare Scrambles every year and really enjoy the bike, it is a lot better than the old DR-350.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

scott

California

Reviewed on 2001-02-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I love my new DR. It has all the power I need for street and trail it is light and elec start is the future of dual sport bikes. It is not the YZ or CR 2stokes but if you want big air then this is not the bike for you can any one tell me where to get aftermarket parts for this bad boy.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

denny

pa.

Reviewed on 2000-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
It's a little slow and heavy. Good on the road with stock gears & tires. It is a good bike. Email me if you come across any thing new on this bike dr400s. thx ps. thinking of a new spark arrester?
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ray

USA

Reviewed on 2000-11-28

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR-Z400

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a brand new drz400s, after my dr650se was stolen. A much better bike, but if you're looking for anything more than casual trail use, you're not going to be happy. Has damping rod forks, and way to soft rear suspension. On the road it's pretty good, rides nice, smooth, but the bars will wobble once you go over 65 or so, and it sure could use a 6th gear. I've put DOT knobbies, and it's pretty good for trails, but it's to heavy and quite a lot to pick up when you're standing in deep mud. Going to trade it in on a yz426f, get a baha designs street legal kit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: