Suzuki DR-Z400E Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki DR-Z400E Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki DR-Z400E Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-07-15 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many dirt bikes over about 30 years of riding. The bike is very comparable to the xr bikes of the 90's. It has the same great low end of the xr, but has more mid and top range. The bike has been as reliable as an ax. It is the estart model and has not ever needed to be push started. The previous owner made it minimally street legal. Not a great highway bike but fun on the side roads.
- Dave, Ishpeming, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-25 2004 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First thing to do with this bike is taller handlebars or risers. Stiffen up the back spring and change the front fork oil to 10w. Change the front sprocket to a 15t if you do a bit more street work. Re-route the breather hoses to under the fuel tank or in the air box with a foam filter on them for creek crossings. Once you've done these few things it's a whole new bike with great potential. Rivals many more expensive and powerful bikes.
- Dave, Cairns, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-20 2004 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in a Vulcan 800 that the wife was not driving for the DRZ400E. Being a Big and Tall type person this was really a great choice for power at the track and on the trails. Plenty of torque and very flickable for a 270lb bike..Have been to the local motocross track twice for about 30 miles total..it will take a while to grow into the power and handling for a new dirtbike rider..One good thing is if you get bored with the dirt it makes a great motard from reading some of the message boards.
- Jon Sterling, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-25 2004 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
GREAT EXPERIENCE SO FAR. AWESOME POWER FOR MY WEIGHT, EASY TRANSITION FROM QUAD (I haven't RIDDEN A 2 WHEELER IN 15 YEARS), VERY LIGHT AND NIMBLE. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A VERY UNDERRATED BIKE. NO BUYERS REMORSE HERE.
- JOHN DOTY, LAKE ELSINORE, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-08 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this dual-sport fall 2003 with a four-gallon IMS tank, Yoshimura exhaust system, rear fender eliminated and smaller light put on, and more. I have taken it to a local motocross track several times and had lots of fun. It's amazing that I can do a double and then drive the thing away (although I do truck it to the track to save the tires). The trails are a bit of a challenge if it requires my legs to touch the ground. I'm 5'8and the seat is thicker than stock, so touching the peg with one leg and land with another just doesn't happen. Seat is also good for about an hour on the road, but not much more. It will do highway speeds, but doesn't like to for long. To sum it up, for what I want I would only be happier with a Yamaha WR450 if it came it dual-sport mode. For now, love the DR! Anyone in the Charlotte area looking to ride, email me and we'll try and get together.
- Donnie, Kannapolis, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-11 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike for a great price used to satisfy my desire to play in the dirt again. My 1st dirt ride since the mid-80's, TOO FUN! I went on a state park with some pretty tough trails it never missed a beat. This is the S version with the lights. The mirrors came in handy to watch my riding buddies on their 4 wheelers. I wrecked 2 times ( mud and on/off road tires don't mix) I'll do a few mods( suspension) but the bike is a blast. I think there is no other choice for a real dirt ride you can ride on the street.
- Legrand, Gainesville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-24 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the only bike I will ever buy again. This thing has power from the low end to the high and I have never reached a point where there is no power. The carb that was chosen for this bike is what makes it. The accelerator pump is what gives it low end and gives it to you fast. I am looking to add more power some day but it has plenty off the show room floor and the electric start is awesome NO MORE KICK MY BRAINS OUT.
- Mark (Trailrider6), Newport, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-13 2000 Suzuki DR-Z400E Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a bike. I've had all the two strokes you can name, as well as every major manufacturer's 600cc SuperSport bike (except Triumph's TT) and over 22 years total motorcycle expereince. Just traded in my 1999 YZ400F for a leftover DRZ400E from Suzuki. Who in the world would choose to kick start a bike over the wonderful electric starter that comes on this thing? Suspension a little soft, but can easily be tuned for aggressive riders. Motor has all the pull in the world w/ Yoshimura's RS-3 slip-on, now trying FMF PowerCore IV S/A silencer. Can let you know how that works out. For my money, the Suzuki is totally trouble-free, has done very well in H/S races, and requires hardly any maintenance compared to a 2-stroke. Finally, the thing has grease nipples everywhere, to aid in lubricating those important parts we frequently forget, like the swingarm bearings that none of us want to take apart! I think it's the perfect Hare Scrambles Weapon, and the best overall 4-stroke dirt bike available, bar none. Forget the Honda XR400 and Xr250, they're old tech now. Go try the Suzuki, and you'll be glad you did. IMHO, Brian
- Brian Lavenia, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: