Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki DR-Z400S reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

51 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Weld387

Douglasville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2012-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just passed the break-in at 600 miles. The bike has settled into its own very well. Myself, I changed the oil and filter at 50 miles, 250 miles, then at 600. I plan on going out to 1,500 miles, then using a sythetic blend oil from then on out. This DRZ 400S is a great commuter bike with benefits. Now that I have passed my break-in point, I will get it out on the trails a little bit. For the most part I can tell you it's a very responsive motorcycle. It handles very well in the corners and has enough power to get up to speed on a two-lane road. I don't ride highways on this bike. I might do that with a sprocket change for top end. The mileage has been about 63 mpg. on mine. I did lots of roll ons and took it easy for the most part. It will ride at 70 mph. with out vibrating you to death. Most of my riding has been at 60 mph. or less. On dirt roads, it's sure footed and moves out when needed. It's a great bike that is light, agile and road worthy. At 5'10 I have to "tip toe it at a stop". It takes a bit of getting used to it. I love this 2012 DRZ400S. I hope this review has helped you out. IT'S A GREAT DUAL SPORT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cody

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2012-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned the bike since late April, 2012. I have taken it on the trails, dunes and the tracks. It has performed well in all conditions. Unless you're buying a dirt bike specifically made for one purpose, I recommend the DR-Z400S to everyone. It's quality and value surpass the price tag by far. It easily sets a new bar for the phase "you get what you pay for." I like to keep it on the dirt myself and found that it takes very minimal modifications to excel in this type of riding, but works great for other types of riding as well. For example, if you're using the bike as a daily commute to and from work or other places on the road, simply change the sprockets to your liking "if" you are not satisfied with the ratio on it from the factory. It's very simple and very cheap. The same goes for the dirt. I have replaced the dual sport tires with knobbies and changed the sprockets from standard 15/44 to 13/47. That takes away from the top speed which is ridiculously high and gives so much more torque at a twist of the throttle. There are many more ways to modify this bike to conform to your liking and because of the popularity of this bike there are videos on You Tube. There are explanations on forums and just so much reference on the Internet that you will find with ease the "how to" and result of any thing you'd like to modify. When I did some research on this bike prior to buying it, I found people who have successfully tailored their DR-Z400S to their style. Freestyle - as hard as it is to think how, it has been done. Of course, trail riding needs nothing for that except sprockets maybe, depending on how tight the trails are. Asphalt - a lot of people love to do that and it takes little to nothing to make it a specialty road pounder. It handles great, has low maintenance and by reading and conversing with other's, these DRZ's will last a long time and they have a incredibly high resale value. I give it two thumbs up.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KC Koellein

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the first bike I have ever full-out owned. Everything else has been family or friend or borrowed, etc. I've financed it, and let me tell you, I was nervous. I wanted a 125 dirt bike to learn on, yet I drooled over GiSXRs and the great sexy Hayabusa might. I worried that my friends with Harleys would "laugh" at my little 400. I worried about my ability to take it to the next level and become an official on-road rider. This bike has not let me down. It has been great! It has enough power to scare you on day one, but you soon get comfy with it and it is really a nice balance. It is more than enough for the dirt or the trails. Most of my experience has been fairly flat desert riding, but I'm yearning for some hill-country trails. It handles super at high speeds off-road. It eats up the bumps and jumps. On-road it handles beautifully until about 75 mph. After that it starts to wobble a little but it's not at all unstable, just the source of my -4 for quality. It's not a German or Italian bike. Every little piece was not machined by a magical elf. There is some play here and there and some mold marks, but hey, I also didn't pay German or Italian money! I knew what I was buying and have no complaints. It's merely an honest expression of fact. It is very light so it will take some definite wind damage when it blows. Riding 30 feet of the back of tractor trailer at 65 mph. is a blast on a dry sunny day! It's terror on a rainy night! Although the wind does blow you a bit, it is light enough to easily correct. It's not for old men, but not too difficult to tolerate either. Also, the seat is not cosmic comfort. That is definitely not for old men. Aftermarket seats are available. Your mileage may vary! For a local commute, it's no biggie. On the trail, you're standing a lot anyways. But I would not take a ride to Austin on this thing, without additional padding! I have not truly topped it out, but from the looks of it, it might make 100 mph., in stock form. But it is very happy at 60-85 mph. which is more than enough for commuting and letting loose a little after work! At about 88 mph. the power just kind of stops and it inches up to at least 96 mph. I felt like it had a few more mph., but I was running low on runway! It is not a bike you buy for speed. You buy it for versatility. It's a bit of a Swiss Army Knife of bikes. Having and riding a bike already gives you this terrific sense of freedom, but this literally double that sense! Now you can go off-road for fun or crash avoidance, and you can easily cut the median in a construction or traffic jam situation. Try that on a GSXR-1000 and see if you don't end up buying a mirror and a fairing?! This bike is tall! I don't know how close to record-tall, but it is freaking tall! I have managed to drop it five times in the first two weeks, but none the second two weeks. My drops we're all stationary or stopping-starting: once I hesitated at the top of a small steep incline, stalled it (my fault for not clutching) and was not able to catch footing to stabilize it for restart before it was heading for the ground. I did something real similar on the same obstacle a few minutes later. It chug chug chugs real deep, but when it finally does stall, it's a hair sooner than the engine sound would have you expect and POOF! it's out like a light. I always just feel like it's got a few more RPMs until stall, then BANG! 317 lbs. is a light motorcycle but a heavy dirtbike! Just let it go down! Hold the bars straight to protect the mirrors and clutch/brake but just let it go on down. It is so tall, you won't get the leverage to stop it, you'll just hurt your back. It's no biggie. Nothing harmed. The tank is skinny. Nothing hangs off that can be damaged. No real fairings. It has a nice ding to the bar-ends and a scratch on the the rear axle-end, but mostly just to my pride! Another drop was in my front yard. It is so tall that trying to turn it around on your toes is just stupid. Get off and walk it right quick. It will save you from hearing the neighbors laughter! Another drop was in my garage, I just noobed and forgot the kickstand. I barely made this mistake, I caught what I did almost immediately, like at 5 degress of tip, but at such a height, all I could do was sing 40 words of praise to myself as it fell excruciatingly slow to the floor! It's a long way down! I did order the Kouba Link DRZ-2 lowering dogbones for the suspension to drop it 1 1/4 inches ($70 direct). However, by the time it arrived in the mail, I agreed with all the service techs and experienced riders, I no longer wanted to lower it. I had gotten used to it and it was kind of cool. The kickstand is so massively stable that I mount the bike from the peg while it is still parked. The dirt-bike suspension settles several inches lower than it sits when unloaded, and everything suddenly feels fine. don't let a one minute sit in the showroom scare you away from this bike, you get used to its height quickly. But also, when you buy it, just go ahead and drop it on the ground right there. Just tell everyone around that that is what you intend to do and drop the thing, because you will drop it! Just get it over with! The only other negative I can think of is the gas tank. 2.6 gallons is freakin' small, but 65 mpg. is awesome. I'm getting more like 45-50 because I can't stop winding it out and riding it in less than optimal conditions, but it still beats the heck out of a big V-Twin or a 4cyl sport bike on fuel economy. Do not buy a 250 street bike. They are just too small for the freeway. They're great for learning or for a parade, but terrible for commuting. I bought this as a balanced alternative to a bike I couldn't afford and a bike I was afraid I would feel underwhelmed by. I have not been let down. I have disclosed a lot of negatives here, but that's human nature. Ultimately, I love this bike! It's really a great efficient commuter, and if you're feeling frisky, you can pull a U-wey and go back and explore that dirt lane into the brush you passed back there. You've got time on the way home, right? Options are awesome! If you are thinking about this being a best-of-both-worlds option, it is! I really love this bike and don't regret buying for a second! Thanks for reading, and I hope this helps!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

Felton, Palau

Reviewed on 2011-02-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This has been a great bike, it has never let me down. It is mostly ridden off-road and does a commendable job for a dual sport. It's a little heavy, but for trail riding and a little on-road riding, I couldn't ask for anything more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Hughes

Roseto , Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-04-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is, in my opinion, the best all around dual sport ever made. It is extremely reliable and unbelievably capable for a variety of different riding conditions. In the first year I owned this bike I put 5300 miles on it which consisted of 60/40 road and offroad. Riding in the Northeast is like riding on a stone row as we have lots of rocks that don't move and this bike handles it like candy. On the road it shines as well with plenty of torque to get around in traffic on a daily commute. More aggressive tread is needed for offroad and gearing is a bit high for tight and technical trail riding. If you are looking for a do-everything dual sport, look no further and buy this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Goober

Wellston, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2008-04-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just traded for the DRZ400S and couldn't believe that you could have this much fun on the street. I had a Suzuki Intruder but have always been a dirt bike man at heart. This bike eats up the bumps and jumps you'll find on Oklahoma roads and handles way better than I thought a dirt bike would on the street. It has plenty of power for the highway and rides as well at 100 mph as it does at 50 mph. With some better tires I'd bet it would hang with my RM on the trails. If you want to ride the trails and then ride your bike home or to work - GET THIS BIKE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Philip

Fresno, California

Reviewed on 2008-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is great. I've had it less than a year, and I ride it to work every day, rain or shine. I've already put over 4,000 miles on it, and have only had to change the oil as far as maintenance. One weekend I rode it to Pismo Beach/Oceano dunes from Fresno (170 miles). I rode right from the road, onto the beach, and into the back of the dunes, NOT ONE CHANGE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

Yuma, Arizona

Reviewed on 2007-12-26

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the first bike I've ever owned and I could not be happier. I haven't touched a thing on the bike since I bought it a month ago. It's everything a Dual Sport is supposed to be. Good responsiveness, easy to operate, works great on or off road. I need knobbies and the gel seat. The stock seat is painful and the stock street tires are not great off-road, but lots of sandy spots out here. I also need to lower the suspension, but I've been pleasantly surprised at the stock set-up. I'm using it mostly as a commuter bike with some fun on the way home off-road and whenever I can on the weekends. For a newbie with motorcycles, I couldn't have asked for better. It is a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kent

henderson, Nevada

Reviewed on 2007-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have rode and raced offroad for 10 years in the deserts of Nevada. Have rode Yamaha's and KTM's both were excellent race and practice bikes. When I decided to slow it down I went looking for a reliable/durable dual sport. I think I found it in the DRZ. Have gone on several day long rides and a couple of 500 mile weekend rides, 90% of it off road. When I get back all the stock stuff still works ie turn signals, lights, etc... My friends on KTM's can not say that. Personally I hade to do a few aftermarket items to improve power and suspension. I did go on a couple of rides prior to the upgrades and the bike was ok, although it did not have the throttle response and the suspension was soft. Went to the a pumper carb, and front springs, did not change valving and large tank. Best of all they are a great $ value even if you choose to do the upgrades it is less money than anything else in it's class.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

keith

baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2007-03-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 2005 DRZ400S was my first bike. This thing is perfect!! I ride it hard in the dirt, and hard on the street up to 105mph (that's what the speedo said!). I have ridden for hours on the street and the seat has been no problem for me but like the bike, I am skinny. I have had it for 2 yrs and still love it!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 51 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: